Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Union Hill Saddle Pads

Union Hill Corporation
- Item #14514

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Union Hill Saddle Pads are designed to offer a quality product at a value price. Compare these pads to any "economy" pads out there and you'll be sure to make this the pad that you use every day!

Favorite Features

  • VELCRO billet strap
  • Girth loop to secure your saddle
  • Outside is made of 50% cotton, 50% polyester with a 100% polyester lining
  • Lightly foam filled for extra cushion
  • Looking for a dressage version? Click here to see Union Hill Dressage Pads!

Sizing It Up

22” spine with 21” drop

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The EcoGold Stabilizer&trade Hunter Pad is a the ...
    Description:
    The EcoGold Stabilizer&trade Hunter Pad is a the ultimate pad for professional and show circuit riders who desire a sharp looking pad with all the bells and whistles. All parts are 100% breathable and provide the maximum protection from impact ...
    We thought about what we want as riders ...
    Description:
    We thought about what we want as riders when we're shopping for saddle pads. Then we brought it to life. Outstanding quality, classic styles, and unbeatable prices. A great schooling pad at an unbeatable price. Favorite Features Breathable to help ...
    The Mattes Correction Pad system is ideal for ...
    Description:
    The Mattes Correction Pad system is ideal for horses that are either out of shape/from or returning from an injury, where incremental correction may be needed as the horse’s back and shoulders gain muscle tone. It is also good for ...
    The Medallion Super Quilt High Profile Saddle Pad ...
    Description:
    The Medallion Super Quilt High Profile Saddle Pad is made from 100 % polyester pile fabric specifically designed for saddle pads. Special fiber denier and pile heights are combined to make a superior quality, high density pile. This fabric makes ...
    The Back on Track Saddle Pad creates soothing ...
    Description:
    The Back on Track Saddle Pad creates soothing thermal heat using exclusive, state-of-the-art ceramic-infused fiber. This saddle pad effectively warms up your horse prior to work and helps keep muscles loose and supple. It also promotes an accelerated recovery time ...
    Mattes Pads are known worldwide for their quality ...
    Description:
    Mattes Pads are known worldwide for their quality and design innovations. Following this tradition of excellence, Mattes is proud to present the E.A. Mattes Couture Collection. The Couture Collection offers a multitude of quilt, sheepskin, and binding colors, allowing you ...
    A classic barn staple gets a subtle update! ...
    Description:
    A classic barn staple gets a subtle update! We thought about what we want as riders when we're shopping for saddle pads, then we brought it to life with outstanding quality, classic styling, and unbeatable prices. Favorite Features Lovely rope ...
    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Union Hill Saddle Pads is rated 4.6598 out of 5 by 97.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice! Bought this to use under my dressage saddle. Fits very nicely and is perfect across my horse's big/high withers. There is also a little extra padding at the withers.Has full velcro keepers and cushion of the pad is very decent - has more cushion/thickness than I expected for the price. Very good deal. Burgundy color looks wonderful on his black coat too!
    Date published: 2012-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pad! Love it! This quality of this pad is excellent-the material is great and it is quite thick. I will definitely order more. I use it with my dressage saddle and it fits great.
    Date published: 2012-04-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value pad Nice pad. Excellent price. Was able to buy several and always keep a clean, freshly laundered pad.
    Date published: 2012-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value I am extremely pleased with the quality of this pad for the price. I will definitely be purchasing more in the future!
    Date published: 2012-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice pad. I got this to use under my equipedic pad because the baby pads didn't have a girth strap and kept slipping. It's a little thick for my liking with the equipedic pad, but I'm sure it would be perfect with a half pad. It's a little short as well, but the color is fabulous and seems like it's a nice quality pad.
    Date published: 2012-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gift! I got this saddle pad as a Christmas present for a friend of mine. I am in college so I was looking for something affordable and nice. It came in her future eventing colors so I got it and had it monogrammed with her initials. I got the saddle pad and was thrilled with how it came out. It was beautiful! The quality of the pad is very nice. She has only used it a handful of times so I can't speak for longevity. It was a perfect gift and now she is working really hard toward her first event!
    Date published: 2012-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Value Ordered this saddle pad after reading the reviews...glad I did!! Had this embroidered with my farm logo and it is gorgeous. I use this pad under my Mattes half pad and I plan on ordering more!!
    Date published: 2012-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new go-to pad Absolutely fantastic pad at such a low price. I had mine monogrammed, and I will definitely not be afraid to use it at shows. I plan on ordering more for schooling and showing. The only caveat? The light blue trim and the sky blue embroidery don't match exactly, but it still looks great.
    Date published: 2012-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful SaddlePad I ordered this for my daughter for Christmas. The personalization looks great! I'm sure she will love it!!
    Date published: 2011-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Value Pad Nice size, looks good, and holds up well to washing. I can use this pad with my jumping or dressage saddle.
    Date published: 2011-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great value The pad is not too thick, not too thin. It fits my all purpose perfectly and looks nice on my horse.
    Date published: 2011-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great saddle pad! This is a great saddle pad! It's not too thin, but also not super thick either, perfect. I also had the pads monogrammed and they look great, I've had lots of compliments already. I washed both and they came out looking new. Will buy again!
    Date published: 2011-06-29
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from disappointed and not impressed I have not had a chance to use this saddle pad yet, so I can't comment on the fit or durability. When I pulled it out of the box I was not at all impressed and a little disappointed. I got the navy color with the light blue trim and a light blue monogram. I wish I had gotten a different color, I don't like the light blue trim with the darker colored pad. The monogram looked okay, but not great. The stitching on the pad is awful, there are little holes where you can see the white padding underneath. The thickness of the pad looks pretty good. Overall, I wish I had not bought this saddle pad, it looks very cheap.
    Date published: 2011-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY Good Purchase! Pad purchase arrived earlier than expected, great fit! Looks very good with my saddle! Stitching A1!
    Date published: 2011-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value for a great pad This saddle pad is really nice for the price.... I ordered in with a monogram and it arrived quickly and looked beautiful. I would definitely buy another one.
    Date published: 2011-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pad This pad is great quality and a good price! I had it embroidered and it shipped really fast. I was impressed.
    Date published: 2011-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value! I ordered two of these pads and received the free embroidery. The staff at Smartpak called me to ask me if I wanted the embroidery done a different way (I had made a mistake when ordering)I'm very happy with my pads, they wash great and are very well made for the price.I have been buying from Smartpak since they started and have never been unhappy with my purchases .
    Date published: 2011-03-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great economy pad I bought several and got them embroidered as gifts. They are very nice. My only complaint is that it didn't wash as well as some of my others have and shrank slightly even with air drying.
    Date published: 2011-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite saddle pads, ever I have two of these pads and I don't think I will ever buy anything else. They are the perfect size, really nice materials and well constructed. They are a great thickness - enough to provide some padding (we also use a Roma fleece half-pad) but not too bulky. They seem to stay very clean, but if they do get dirty, they wash right up and come out looking brand new. Definitely one of my favorite products, and I highly recommend them!
    Date published: 2011-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing, I wish I bought more! I got this while SmartPak was having their free embroidery. I wish I had gotten a few more! This is an awesome saddle pad (much softer and "comfy" compared to Dover Saddlery's pads).It is bigger than Dover's pad, so it's definitely going to make me happy! I like my pads to run a bit big so I can use them with a large variety of saddles. This will definitely look great with my dressage saddle and my CC saddle :)
    Date published: 2011-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very impressed with this pad I am a bit of a saddle pad snob. I observe quality, thickness and lengths so I was a little skeptical ordering a pad sight unseen online and having it embroidered which meant no returns. I took the chance after reading all the rave reviews and I am so happy I did. This saddle pad has become my favorite. Not only does it look great, especially embroidered, but the pad seems to keep clean longer than any other pads I've used. I am not taking my pads home as often for cleanings. This is a wonderful pad and I will definitely be ordering some more!
    Date published: 2011-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Pad This is a high quality pad! Superb look and quality for the price and it looks really good customized. The quilted pattern gives it a lot of class.
    Date published: 2011-03-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So Far, So Good--Somewhat Big I like this pad well so far. It is a little bit big for my Arab and sometimes bunches on the side, but other than that I'm happy with it. I like the thickness and soft liner material. Might be a little bit hot in the summer but is great for the winter!
    Date published: 2011-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Quality Pad... GREAT PRICE! Awesome pad! Thick and contoured, but not too thick! Have three of the colors... gorgeous and wash well without fading! For the money... best pad I have ever used!
    Date published: 2011-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Saddle Pads These are the best saddle pads for the money. They are very sturdy & attractive, hold up very well to daily use, wash beautifully and don't shrink. I love them so much, I decided to stock up.
    Date published: 2011-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great saddle pad i have 5 union hill saddle pads and i love them. they wash up really well and are very durable. i love getting them embroidered. they are nice enough for showing but i school in them daily as well.
    Date published: 2010-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Pad This is a great pad for the price. It's thick enough to use alone, but not too thick to use a half pad with it. I like the color too.
    Date published: 2010-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pad!! one of the best saddle pads. nice enough for shows or everyday riding very cushioned and the stitching id wonderful. recommended personalizing it as it makes it look even better!!
    Date published: 2010-12-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fits small horses well Have not had it long enough to really be fair to the product. It's a nice thickness to protect your horses back and saddle. I believe your saddle should fit and if your adding allot of products under you saddle, you should get a saddle that fits.My horse is almost white and I bought the black. Usually white hair sticks to my black pads. This seems to be very resistent. Will see what happens when it's washed?
    Date published: 2010-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of My Favorite Pads These Union Hill pads are perfect for schooling, and the wither relief is great! They are the perfect thickness (easy to use a half pad without too much bulk, but not too thin for use alone). Also, they wash extremely well with little to no fading (and I machine wash these pads *a lot*)! The beautiful monogramming is the icing on the cake. I would not hesitate to recommend these pads to anyone.
    Date published: 2010-11-13
    • 2016-02-09T14:37CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_91
    • loc_en_US, sid_4514, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.