Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

UltraShield EX Fly Spray

Absorbine
- Item #15691

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Absorbine® has raised the bar in the fly control arena with the introduction of UltraShield® EX - the sweat resistant insecticide and repellent formula that will protect your horse for up to 17 days. This repellent is an enhanced version of the original UltraShield® and sets a new standard for ultimate insect protection.

Favorite Features

  • Kills and repels more than 70 insect species
  • Stays active for up to 17 days
  • Contains multiple sunscreens and coat conditioners including aloe and lanolin
  • Can be used on horses and dogs 

Sizing It Up

32oz

Made in the USA

Fly Control Rotation Reference Guide

View Product Label

Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for some of these products. Please note these items may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    UltraShield EX Fly Spray is rated 4.6526 out of 5 by 285.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does a great job on the flies. Not sticky but stings the eyes so be upwind when you apply it. I have not found it to be lasting several days and reapply it every day.
    Date published: 2015-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A fly spray that works and lasts for night turnout!
    Date published: 2015-09-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Necessary this summer Honestly, I try to use homemade fly spray for my horse, for cost savings and because I'm not a fan of dousing her with chemicals several times a week. I did have to resort to this this summer, and am glad I did. It is the most effective product I've tried by far.
    Date published: 2015-09-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ultra shield Every summer fly spray ultra shield first on my list
    Date published: 2015-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Long lasting and kills all fly's. Easy to use and also good for dogs.
    Date published: 2015-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This works! Ultra Shield EX is the only product that works here. My Vet recommended this spray because the gnats were so bad on my mammoth this year. I am sticking with this product!
    Date published: 2015-08-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works very well on my sensitive OTTB! My OTTB is extremely sensitive and irritated by any flying insect. UltraShield is the only one that enables us to have an enjoyable hack through the woods (full of bugs).
    Date published: 2015-08-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly spray, others are waste of money If you're going to spend any money on flyspray at all, spend it on this one. It lasts more than 30 seconds, unlike most (all) of the rest. There is one other that I like at 2/3 the cost, but I think this one lasts quite a bit longer. With all fly spray -- take a quick moment to brush it in lightly. It's worth it.Good to note, this one also has the BEST sprayer, as I imagine other horse people will appreciate similarly! Worth buying one just to use it for its sprayer for future refills if for some reason you don't like the product.
    Date published: 2015-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! This fly spray works and does not leave an oily residue on the horses.
    Date published: 2015-08-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works ok I bought this about a month ago. It worked for about the first 15 min of our workout but then it's like I haven't put anything on him. I think it would work better in a less humid area.
    Date published: 2015-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gets the job done I have been trying natural remedies and cheaper sprays for the last few years and kick myself for not just going ahead and getting the real thing sooner. It really does work for days. For my jumper I spray it on, then ride, groom, put him away, then ride the next day... no reapplication needed! I also have a retiree that lives outside 24/7 with a large herd (a fly sheet would never last). He gets this spray weekly and does well. The big gallon jug was a steal and will probably last the rest of the summer.
    Date published: 2015-08-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works okay, can't really tell a difference It definitely does not work for the 10+ days that it states on the bottle.
    Date published: 2015-08-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My favorite fly spray I don't really enjoy spraying chemicals on my horses. I prefer to go all natural when possible but this fly spray is very effective so I use this during the buggiest months of the year.
    Date published: 2015-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Expensive but it Works! It is worth spending the extra money on this fly spray because it actually does work.
    Date published: 2015-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Consistent good product Been using this spray for 3 years. It is the best I've found, esprcially for use on the trail and in the woods.
    Date published: 2015-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does The Job This is my first choice for the buggiest part of our hot Virginia summers. Effective, pleasant scent, and doesn't irritate their skin. Works well for 24 hours.
    Date published: 2015-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best working fly spray I've tried most fly sprays on the market and this one works best for my horse.
    Date published: 2015-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for horses living outside! The bugs do NOT mess around in Colorado, especially on the trail. I only get out to the barn about three times a week, and spraying my very sensitive OTTB with this every other day has made a huge difference in her comfort level! I can tell there are a lot less bugs around her when we're riding and when she's in her pen (she lives outside 24/7).
    Date published: 2015-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works! Works well. The continuous spray is a great feature. Doesn't smell horrid like a lot of the other long acting sprays.
    Date published: 2015-07-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I like Flysect Super-7 better, for it's immediate and ability to ward off flies for days
    Date published: 2015-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The REALLY effective fly spray IT ACTUALLY WORKS . Keeps the biting flies off. Love it.
    Date published: 2015-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly spray I have used this fly spray for a few years and really like it. Along with manure management, it really helps to control the flies.
    Date published: 2015-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous product! Great product, works well and doesn't dry or damage hair coats. I love that it contains sunscreen and coat conditioner!!!
    Date published: 2015-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! This fly spray is awesome! I barely have to spray any on my horse... A little goes a long way.
    Date published: 2015-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff works This is part of my overall fly control. This spray works! I have to spray more often than I like, once daily, but it really helps my horses. I have sprayed it in the windows of my barn and when the flies touch the screen they die. I like knowing that it works
    Date published: 2015-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from UltraShield EX Fly Spray really works! I started using this brand of fly spray this year, and I'm highly satisfied with the results. UltraShield EX is very effective repelling flies, gnats, and ticks. Plus, I like the fact that it contains sunscreen and conditioner, so it keeps the coat soft and shiny. It's worth the price, UltraShield EX fly spray really works!
    Date published: 2015-07-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good fly spray Works good and lasts long. I also take care of another horse at the barn and they use a different fly spray and I notice a lot more Flys on their horse.
    Date published: 2015-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well I use this on days when the flys are really bad, and I between use the Ultra Shield Green fly spray. Works really well
    Date published: 2015-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this fly spray! I have been using this for 2 years now and it is the best.
    Date published: 2015-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great and less oily! One of the few sprays that lasts and isn't as oily as some of the others. Very good spray that works on all the swamp/wetland biting bugs we have around here.
    Date published: 2015-06-25
    • 2016-02-08T13:48CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_33, tr_252
    • loc_en_US, sid_5691, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.