Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Ultra ThinLine Trifecta Cotton Half Pad with Sheepskin Rolls

ThinLine
- Item #16925
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
AutoShip and Save Time (Details)

days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Ultra Thinline Trifecta Cotton Half Pad with Sheepskin Rolls is perfect for riders that prefer fit, function, and fashion in a saddle pad. ThinLine developed this pad to give riders the fashion appeal of sheepskin and the shock absorption they and their horses need without the bulk, high maintenance or cost of a full sheepskin pad.

Coordinate with ThinLine Shims for Trifecta and Sheepskin Comfort Half Pads.

Favorite Features

  • Cotton base creates a wither profile and spine free channel allowing the Ultra ThinLine to lay on either side of the spine
  • Does not interference for riders who prefer close leg contact with their horse
  • Will fit under both custom fitted and off the rack saddles because of the pad's sleek design
  • Pockets for shims allow for minor saddle fitting adjustments.

Sizing

Medium: measures 18.5" between the rolls and 24" including the rolls.
Large: measures 20" between the rolls and 25" including the rolls
What Customers Say:

Instructions

Instructions for Use:

How to Use:

ThinLine recommends basic ThinLine or Ultra ThinLine pads be used between your saddle and regular saddle pad. Most customers use cotton or wool pads underneath. While you can use ThinLine pads directly on the horses back the lifespan of the pad may be shortened and it voids the warranty. All pads with felt or cotton backing are made to be used alone. Some ThinLine or Ultra ThinLine pads may come with a crease where the pad has been folded to be bagged and shipped. These creases will disappear when warmed to body temperature (1-2 rides). All ThinLine products can be cleaned/washed using the ThinLine Cleaner or the ThinLine Wipes.

ThinLine and Ultra ThinLine:

Can be wiped clean (we like baby wipes), hosed off, soaked, bleached, or even machine washed (some machines may catch tm, so front loader is best) in cold water. Mild soaps and detergents can be used, but please do not put them in the dryer! Hang to dry (which really isn’t necessary either as ThinLine doesn’t absorb water.) What to watch out for: keep your ThinLine away from chemicals such as Show Sheen.

Sheepskin:

- Maintenance – the most important thing to know about sheepskin is that it hates to stay wet. If you ride the sheepskin against the horse or get it thoroughly soaked make sure you dry it as rapidly thorough drying is best. Sheepskin should be dry between rides. Once the pad is dry, a light brushing of the sheepskin with a pet brush will separate the wool fibers and help to keep the wool fluffy and resilient for the next ride.

- Washing – Sheepskin saddle pads should be hand-washed in cold water using a mild soap designed for sheepskin (we recommend Eucalan, Johnson & Johnson, or Ivory Snow Flakes). Or machine wash in a front loader, no agitators against the pad. Remove excess water in the pad by carefully squeezing the water out or placing in washing machine on the spin cycle.

- Drying – Sheepskin saddle pads should be laid flat, sheepskin up, out of the sun preferably under a fan. No dryers or other heating devices. The ThinLine shim may slow drying time so placing absorbent products such as heavy duty paper towels or shami’s such as sham wow inside the pocket will absorb water, speed the drying time and keep your sheepskin in better shape. Don’t over stuff the pockets or the sheepskin may stretch.

Cotton Comfort Pads – Simple machine wash: cold water and mild detergent (you may bleach the whites). Use a mild/gentle cycle. Hang to dry.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Why We Love This The ACavallo Close Contact ...
    Description:
    "Why We Love This The ACavallo Close Contact Twin Sided Gel Half Pad is designed with the horse in mind. Taking a non-traditional approach, this pad features double-sided gel that delivers the benefits of ACavallo's shock-absorbing therapeutic gel to both ...
    "The Back on Track Saddle Pad creates soothing ...
    Description:
    "The Back on Track Saddle Pad creates soothing thermal heat using exclusive, state-of-the-art ceramic-infused fiber. This saddle pad effectively warms up your horse prior to work and helps keep muscles loose and supple. It also promotes an accelerated recovery time ...
    "Top Manufacturers Join to Develop the “Ultimate Saddle ...
    Description:
    "Top Manufacturers Join to Develop the “Ultimate Saddle Pad” A joint effort of ThinLine® and Back on Track® has resulted in the Contender II Saddle Pad which is undeniably the most technically advanced saddle pad available in the world. The ...
    "Using state of the art materials, EquiFit has ...
    Description:
    "Using state of the art materials, EquiFit has developed and added a highly innovative saddle pad to their line of products. Made using ImpacTeq technology, the ImpacTeq Half Pad brings a new level of shock absorption to the existing half ...
    "The Grip Tech Half Pad combines advanced materials ...
    Description:
    "The Grip Tech Half Pad combines advanced materials to provide an innovative, high-grip solution to saddle slipping! Ready to help you conquer any challenges that come your way, the non-slip foam holds the saddle tight while compression foam provides support ...
    "Equine Comfort Classic Half Pad is a top ...
    Description:
    "Equine Comfort Classic Half Pad is a top quality pad that optimizes close contact between horse and rider. The Classic Half Pad is made from 100% Australian Merino Sheepskin which helps eliminate pressure points and prevents saddle sores. Absorbs and ...
    "The Lettia CoolMax® Half Pad provides ultimate comfort ...
    Description:
    "The Lettia CoolMax® Half Pad provides ultimate comfort and protection. The quilted design with CoolMax® lining draws away excess heat and moisture. This pad also helps relieve uneven saddle pressure and provides extra protection where needed while maintaining optimum balance ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Ultra ThinLine Trifecta Cotton Half Pad with Sheepskin Rolls is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 109.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from ALL AROUND AWESOME!! I love this half pad! My saddle is a little wide for my horses and this helps keep my pals comfy. Also it is shimmable so if I ride a narrow horse it can be easily adjusted to fit them. This half pad is also super easy to clean just throw it in the wash on a gentle cycle with extra water and while it is drying brush the fluff with a brush so it stays fluffy! A size medium works great on my17.5 stubben jump saddle!
    Date published: 2017-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing I bought about a month ago, and i'm obsessed! my tb had an injury and had to stop work for a little and lost a lot of muscle. this pad provides great shock absorption and extra comfort without altering my saddles fit! My mares back soreness is extremely less since I started riding with this pad!
    Date published: 2017-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This pad (size L) fits well under my 17.5" CWD saddle without adding too much bulk, the horse seems more comfortable with the softer ride. I would definitely recommend it!
    Date published: 2017-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Although I have a custome fit saddle there are times when i still need to make adjustments to.keep my boy comfortable. This pad allows me to make those adjustments throughout the season when his weight changes with all the extra work. It allows me to adjust by romoving the shims when his shoulders and withers bulk up during competition season. Great quality and price. Easy to keep clean.
    Date published: 2017-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great half pad! i bought this back in february and i have loved it ever since! it is definitely not an ecogold nor an ogilvy but i love it! the quality is fantastic and the thinline material truly works. the sheepskin rolls are high quality and the pad is easily shimmable. Especially for the price, this is a beautiful half pad that really protects your horse's back. I really recommend this pad if you are not ready to invest in an ecogold or ogilvy because this works just as well for less money!
    Date published: 2016-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Protection I use this pad for my horses that have custom fit saddles. It offers just that little bit of protection and comfort, but without disrupting the saddle fit. I got a ton of uses out of it before having to wash it, and it came out looking like new. However, a word to the wise, make sure it is completely dry before storing it.
    Date published: 2016-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! I absolutely love this half pad! It is soft, light, and provides just the right amount of cushion to help my saddle fit properly. I purchased it after my horse started developing a saddle sore and my other half pad wasn't helping. After two weeks of using this pad the sore is gone and my horese seems very comfortable.
    Date published: 2016-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features and durability Really great saddle pad that I bought to go with my Antares saddle. Easy to clean, I just put it right in the washing machine and let it air dry, I've had mine for about a year and it still looks great! Sheepskin is still in very good condition, unlike other sheepskin pads I have had in the past, and pad itself looks great. Just bought a second one!
    Date published: 2016-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Instantly made a difference! My saddle is custom fit for my mare but we have taken a little time off of riding/showing and I could tell she was getting somewhat back sore as we were getting back in shape as I typically only ride with the Back on Track square pad. She had been scissoring at the mouth frequently, so I naturally got her teeth floated (she was just a few weeks overdue) and it didn't make much of an impact. I'm always hesitant to have TOO much padding under my saddle and was recommended the ultra thinline... I purchased the pad and INSTANTLY saw a difference. My mare no longer scissors at the mouth and had been jumping incredibly. She hasn't had a sore back in the month that I have had this pad. It definitely is ultra thin, and that is what I love the most. I can still feel my horse underneath me and she feels incredible. It's 110% worth the spend!
    Date published: 2016-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality I have the thinline without the sheepskin rolls I use for everyday. I bought this one with the sheepskin for shows. Same great product with the sheepskin adding a little something for show! Big fan of the Thinline products.
    Date published: 2016-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Comfy! Just what my horse needed for his new dressage saddle! He is so happy and so am I! Love it!
    Date published: 2016-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! The medium fit my 17.5" saddle perfectly. Looks great!
    Date published: 2016-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice! I just bought this pad to help cushion my 27 year old Arabs back. My old half pad was too bulky but this one is nice and looks good! I ordered the large and it fits my 18" saddle although it's a bit too big for my pad. But overall I'm pleased with this half pad.
    Date published: 2016-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Pad! I really, really like this pad. I have always used some sort of half pad for protection/assist with saddle fit when riding different horses. This pad makes a noticeable difference when riding, though. I feel more stability in my saddle when riding and I feel the benefits from the shock absorption. I would 100% recommend it- although it seems to run big. A medium is plenty big for my 17.5" saddle.
    Date published: 2016-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truly Made a Difference!! I ordered this pad along with the front shims for my draft cross, whose new saddle was causing some discomfort. She is being brought back into work and has some hollowing beneath the withers behind the shoulders. This pad made a WORLD of difference. My mare was pinning her ears every time I put the saddle on her and not wanting to ride. We've had only 2 rides with the pad, and its almost like I bought a new saddle. She shows no more signs of discomfort and doesn't protest when we tack up. Today we did a 40 min working session, WTC, and then hacked out with some other riders for about 30 min and she was completely fine. I ordered the Medium size and it fits my 17.5" Duett Fidelio perfectly, and I also LOVE the way it looks under my saddle. Mine also came in a large plastic bag with handles, so I store it back in the bag between uses. Despite what I read in earlier reviews, the shims were very easy to insert into place. Maybe the opening was smaller in earlier versions of the pad?
    Date published: 2015-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Product I bought this pad as I needed something I could shim. Though the shims are a little difficult to get in, it is absolutely perfect for what I need. It's not bulky and allows for a close feeling (I don't like the bulk you can get with sheepskin sometimes) and I am giving lots of credit to ThinLine in keeping his back supple and comfortable. I have had no soreness issues entering him back into work, and as his topline builds I will remove the rear shims and use it as is. Happy horse, happy rider!
    Date published: 2015-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great So Far I've only been able to use this half pad a few times (horse is lame...stifle problems...) but I haven't noticed any back soreness or other issues, so as of right now its a 5/5! Classic look, plus compared to an Ogilvy which barely squished down enough to get the first hole through on my girth, this half pad is quite thin which helps keep the saddle secure without extra bulk.
    Date published: 2015-09-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good! Like that I can shim without added bulk under my saddle. Only thing I don't like about this pad is the shims can be difficult to get into the pad.
    Date published: 2015-09-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for MINOR saddle fit adjustments Very pleased with the product so far (only had it for a couple weeks now, so probably 12 rides with it). Fits my 17.5 saddle with room to spare. Fleece rolls front and back provide classic "look" for dressage use. I use it with the front shims to improve fit of my saddle for my moderately high withered TB. He seems pleased with the adjustment. We had been using the ECP merino wool fleece half pad, which is also an excellent product, but we used it to death and needed a replacement. Very happy with the Ultra Thinline half pad!
    Date published: 2015-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made and looks great! This pad looks great and fits well with my saddle and horse. It is very well-made.
    Date published: 2015-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must for all riders! The ThinLine trifecta pads are fantastic! I have one for my TB without the sheepskin rolls that's 3 years old now and still going strong. When my husband got a new warmblood, we immediately bought a thinline for him as well. Both pads are durable and wash easily in the washing machine. My old pad is still as squishy as the brand new one with no lumps or flattened parts. Our horses work so hard for us, it's the least we can do to make sure that they're as comfortable as possible!
    Date published: 2015-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect pad Just what I needed to shim up my dressage saddle, which was out of balance.
    Date published: 2015-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stays in Place This saddle pad was my second choice and I am very, very happy with it! My first choice was the Equine Comfort Products Deluxe Classic Pad which I also liked, but the pad only comes in one size and was about 2-3" too long, and my saddle looked a little lost on it. The Thinline pad is all cotton with sheepskin rolls and because it is cotton, it doesn't slide or move under my saddle. The ECP pad was sheepskin under the cotton pad with rolls front and back, and had a tenancy to shift sideways. The Thinline not only works well on my horse, but it has a streamline and economic look to it - in other words, not much fluff and fussiness.
    Date published: 2015-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality product! This half pad is a quality product! Both my horse and I are more comfortable during our training sessions.
    Date published: 2015-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love my new Thinline saddle pad! It helps protect my horse's back and really kept the saddle in place from dressage to cross country.
    Date published: 2015-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit! This is the second ThinLine Trifecta half pad we have bought and used on Westwyn! We liked the fit and comfort that last year's pad gave so much that we bought the same product to begin the new year with! The pad retains its shape and feel after months of regular use and frequent washings. This lightweight pad doesn't slip around under the saddle, and provides close contact needed in dressage. We won't ride without our ThinLine half pad!
    Date published: 2015-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable beyond belief After two back surgeries I suffer from tight back muscles, disc and nerve problems and while not willing to give up riding my horse I assumed I'd never ride comfortably again. The first night I had this pad I rode two horses and never suffered a single step. An absolute must for any rider with back issues. I have a size medium for a 17.5 inch CWD and it is plenty big enough.
    Date published: 2015-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome but huge. Really could tell my horse was more comfortable the first time I used it...I hope it holds up well. The only negative is that it is huge. I have an 18 county close contact and debated getting med or lrg thank goodness I went with med. can't imagine how big a lrg would be.
    Date published: 2014-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! Got this because my green pony needed some help with saddle fit as she fills out and muscles up. This fits the bill perfectly! Went from needing shoulder shims to back shims as her back changed in shape. She also grew a bit! The only beef I have with this pad is that the shims are fairly hard to put in. Fold them in half, shove them in, and then smooth them out inside and you'll be good. The fleece is really nice and soft and the thinline shock absorbing material is also great. The medium fits my 16.5 inch Jump and 16 inch Dressage saddles well and would probably be just fine for a 17 inch. The white is perfect for schooling/showing, just make sure to keep dirty hands off and it will stay nice and clean!
    Date published: 2014-11-06
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not happy with product I was looking for a half pad with shim pockets that could fit my 18" saddle. This did, but I ended up returning it because of a couple of reasons. It was really hard to get the shims into the pockets, I wasn't crazy about the quality of the sheepskin (it started coming out after one washing), and the channel down the middle was very narrow.
    Date published: 2014-09-28
    • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_1
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_104
    • loc_en_US, sid_6925, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 47ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders