Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Ultra ThinLine Sheepskin Comfort Half Pad

ThinLine
- Item #16794
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Ultra ThinLine Sheepskin Comfort Half Pad is the preferred pad of some of the best riders in the world and for good reason! Ultra ThinLine products provide exceptional benefits for both horse and rider, helping to reduce rider movement, protecting the horses back, and creating a better saddle fit.  Increases performance in how horses lift their backs, and all riders will sit closer, quieter, and be able to do more with lighter aids!

Coordinate with ThinLine Shims for Trifecta and Sheepskin Comfort Half Pads.

Favorite Features

  • Constructed with Ultra ThinLine sewn on top of the highest quality cotton
  • 100% pure medical grade sheepskin under the panels and at the front roll
  • Pockets to insert shims to help with minor saddle fit adjustments.

Sizing

Medium- Fits most saddles up to 17.5". Measures 19" wide between the rolls, and 23.5" long including the rolls. 

Large- Fits most saddles larger than 17.5".  Measures 20.5" wide between the rolls, and 25" long including the rolls.
What Customers Say:

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
How to Use Your ThinLine:

ThinLine recommends that any basic ThinLine or Ultra ThinLine pads be used between your saddle and a regular saddle pad. While you can use ThinLine pads
 
directly on the horses back the lifespan of the pad may be shortened. When used over another pad the average lifespan is 7-9 years. Pads used directly against the horse are not warrantied. Some ThinLine or Ultra ThinLine pads may come with a crease where the pad has been folded to be bagged and shipped. These creases will disappear when warmed to body temperature. (1-2 rides)
 
Combo or full pads, like the Cotton Comfort, Sheepksin, or Felt pad lines, may be used alone.

Care Instructions for Sheepskin Pads:

ThinLine sheepskin products are made with 100% medical grade merino wool on a real (non-synthetic) hide. Please follow care instructions carefully to ensure you product stays under warranty and to ensure product durablity.
 
For Regular Maintenance – The most important thing to know about sheepskin is that it hates to stay wet. If you ride the sheepskin against the horse or get it thoroughly soaked make it is dried quickly. Place the pad sheepskin up in a cool environment. In humid climates use a fan to blow over the pad. Sheepskin must be allowed to dry fully between rides. Once the pad is dry, a light brushing of the sheepskin with a pet brush will separate the wool fibers and help to keep the wool fluffy and resilient for the next ride. Ride, flip sheepskin side up in your tack room, brush occasionally. A simple daily/post-ride brushing is all your pad needs if not too sweaty from the ride.
 
Washing Sheepskin—Pads should only be washed when absolutely necessary, which should only be about 2-3 times in it’s lifespan if the above maintenance care is followed. Sheepskin saddle pads are best washed by hand in cold water using one of the following 3 approved products: Eucalan, Johnson & Johnson’s Baby Shampoo, or Ivory Snow Flakes.  These products have been tested on sheepskin and are covered under warranty.  You may machine wash (although hand wash is preferred) in a front loader, no agitators against the pad, single wash cycle only. Remove excess water in the pad by carefully squeezing the water out or placing in your washing machine on the spin cycle.
 
Drying Sheepskin— Sheepskin saddle pads should be laid flat, sheepskin up, out of the sun preferably under a fan. No dryers or other heating devices. The ThinLine shim may slow drying time so placing absorbent products such as heavy duty paper towels or shami’s such as sham wow inside the pocket will absorb water, speed the drying time and keep your sheepskin in better shape. Don’t over stuff pockets or the sheepskin may stretch. Do not brush or pull sheepskin when wet.
 
To keep the rolls clean and extend washing cycles, especially on white pads, you can lightly spray Scotch Guard the rolls.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Back on Track Saddle Pad creates soothing ...
    Description:
    "The Back on Track Saddle Pad creates soothing thermal heat using exclusive, state-of-the-art ceramic-infused fiber. This saddle pad effectively warms up your horse prior to work and helps keep muscles loose and supple. It also promotes an accelerated recovery time ...
    "This top quality pad optimizes close contact between ...
    Description:
    "This top quality pad optimizes close contact between horse and rider. The Deluxe Classic Half Pad from Equine Comfort is 100% Australian Merino Sheepskin, which helps eliminate pressure points and prevents saddle sores."
    "We thought about what we want as riders ...
    Description:
    "We thought about what we want as riders when we’re shopping for saddle pads, then we brought it to life. Outstanding quality, classic styling, and unbeatable prices. A great schooling pad for dressage at an unbeatable price. Imported. Outer Fabric: ...
    "The ACavallo Hexa Gel Micropile Half Pad is ...
    Description:
    "The ACavallo Hexa Gel Micropile Half Pad is new technology designed to provide comfort for your horses' back. Combined with the structure of the pad, the fabric and an ""open cell foam"" lining provides comfort for your horse while maintaining ...
    "Top Manufacturers Join to Develop the “Ultimate Saddle ...
    Description:
    "Top Manufacturers Join to Develop the “Ultimate Saddle Pad” A joint effort of ThinLine® and Back on Track® has resulted in the Contender II Saddle Pad which is undeniably the most technically advanced saddle pad available in the world. The ...
    "Wither Relief Half Pads focus attention on the ...
    Description:
    "Wither Relief Half Pads focus attention on the withers, an area in which many horses can experience discomfort. Addressing wither problems with an ergonomically designed cut out area, Wither Relief Half Pads help relieve wither pressure and improve saddle fit. ...
    "The Dressage Competition Saddle Pad is just the ...
    Description:
    "The Dressage Competition Saddle Pad is just the right combination of class, glitz, and innovation! This premium pad features glittering piping set with additional rhinestone along the quilting. The functional fiber lining ensure breathability. And most importantly the 8mm foam ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Ultra ThinLine Sheepskin Comfort Half Pad is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 73.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not that durable I bought mine about two years ago. I wish the thin line material fit the shape of the quilted portion better, it doesn't stay tucked up and tends to smush down on the withers of my wide backed horse. Seems fine on other horses. My issue with the pad is that the sheepskin is ripping. I own one horse that I ride 4-5 times a week so I haven't been very hard on it for the amount of damage it's showing.
    Date published: 2016-08-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very comfortable I really like this pad because it benefits both the horse and rider. It's very well made but it does run large. Definitely get the the medium- I have a 17" saddle and it about a solid inch too big. Regardless, it's well made with thick sheepskin and I do think it was a good purchase. Kinda hard to clean, which is annoying, but overall I recommend this is you want your horse to be nice and comfy.
    Date published: 2016-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed I typically ride 30-80 miles per week over some pretty extreme terrain, so my horse's saddle really has to fit to avoid him having a sore back. He has a hard to fit back, so I had a saddle custom made for him a few years ago. It has worked really well with just a 1/4 inch wool felt pad, but he just turned 20, and after a winter off from work (due to my injury), he has lost some muscling along his top line and just behind the withers and needed a little extra padding and shock absorption. The Ultra Thinline Comfort Sheepskin Pad was exactly what I needed. It fits perfectly under my endurance saddle. I have ridden him in it from 12 to 40 miles at a time since receiving it and he has continued to be comfortable. I added the front shims to help with his loss of muscle behind the withers and it was just the thing. I've seen several reviews complaining about how hard it is to install the shims, but it took less than 5 minutes to put in both sides. I just folded the shim in half and slid it into the pocket with my hand, then worked the edges into place a little at a time. Easy!
    Date published: 2016-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Back Pad I originally ordered a Mattes Half Pad, but it was a bit too built up in the front and tilted my saddle back. I exchanged it for the ThinLine pad and it fits well-- no tipping. I like that it has the sheepskin roll in the front and back, unlike the Mattes which only has it in the front. My horse seemed happy and more willing to go forward and stretch with this pad. My sister has used this pad with her dressage saddle for years, and it's held up great.
    Date published: 2016-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing quality! Beautifully made, saddle is a 17" and medium fits nicely. Can't get over how nice the construction and materials are. Never paid this much for a pad but I think it was well worth it!
    Date published: 2016-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Protection~ I purchased this ThinLine pad about three weeks ago, and have really good results with my mare. My saddle fits her quite well, so I didn't want a pad that was going to fluff up to much. I needed a pad that created good contact between rider and horse, but also maintained the good fit. This pad does that. And it has absorbs impact quite well, which is why I purchased the pad. Very happy!
    Date published: 2015-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hands down, best half pad ever. I've been trying several different half pads trying to improve my saddle fit on my super narrow horse. Don't waste time like I did looking at other options, just get this pad. I got the 3/16" shims as well, they are made of the ThinLine material and made all the difference. With shims, it helped correct 95% of my fit issues: pommel and cantle not level, super uneven sweat pattern, tack always slipping forward. The short and sweet is to invest in this piece of tack; it's got real, excellent quality sheepskin, it's got the ThinLine, plus it's shimmable and the shims are ThinLine as well, not squashy foam. Oh, and the billet straps on it are actually long enough to go on the billets of my jumping saddle. I purchased the medium, it fits my 17 and 17.5 saddles very nicely. I use AP/jumping saddle pads and they are a hair shorter than this pad, so the sheepskin sticks over a little bit, but that's probably why Melp was invented. As far as durability and usable life goes, there is one of these in the stack of schooling tack at my barn, it gets used by lessoners all the time and it has probably been around awhile. The sheepskin is still fluffy, none of the stitching is coming out and when I used it to see if I'd like the pad, even shimless it helped saddle fit a ton. So take care of it and it will last.
    Date published: 2015-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very cushy! I got this to replace a very old Thin Line pad and I'm very happy with it. Lovely fleece. It looks great and Dakota seems very comfortable.
    Date published: 2015-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I wouldn't ride my mare without this pad! I have a mare with a very sensitive back. She's had the vet/chiro etc. and her saddle fitter suggested this pad. I've had it for over 4 years, never washed it, and used it for every single ride. At first, I didn't think I would use it in competition because it is black, but there was such a remarkable difference the one time that I didn't use it that I wouldn't ever ride her without it again.
    Date published: 2015-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So happy!!!! this is one of the very best horse purchases I have ever made! My TBs back and withers were always sensitive after I rode him... The first time I used this pad I had the best ride ever on him...I am so so happy that I discovered this pad! My TB is too!!!!!
    Date published: 2015-06-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice quality I really liked it but it was so thick that it did not look right under my saddle so I sent it back.
    Date published: 2015-05-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice pad A bit thick but best to be safe with a tight shorter backed horse. Do not order large if you have a 17.5 in saddle it will indeed be too long
    Date published: 2015-05-04
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from fell apart Like another reviewer, my pad fell apart. I am vigilant about caring for my tack. I did not wash it, always used with another pad, it wasn't dirty, stored in a climate controlled tack room, in its bag. Used probably less than 50 rides, though I had it for 2 years or more... the sheepskin pulled away from the pad and disintegrated. It was SO expensive And I love the thinline part, but I would not get another. For the price, it needs to last. This is ridiculous. For what it's worth, I think the horse liked it.
    Date published: 2015-04-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great half pad, runs large I've been using this for two years now, and it works great, and is holding up well. My horse is very happy with it. the only complaint is that it did run large. I have an 18" dressage saddle, purchased a large pad and there are several inches of extra pad.
    Date published: 2015-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a difference a good half pad makes Although I have only used this pad a total of 3 times I feel so passionately about how well it works that I thought I'd write a review.I have used an ogilvy memory foam jump pad under my Devoucoux Socoa for the past year. I noticed over time that my horse bites at the cross ties as I tack him up with the ogilvy. When I ride I also feel unbalanced and as if I am shifting off to one side. As I tacked up my gelding with the thinline I noticed him go to bit the cross tie before stopping when he realized something had changed. I immediately felt more centered in my saddle and closer to the horse, a feeling that I did not receive when using the ogilvy. I feel that this pad offers the best shock protection out of most of the others on the market.In terms of fit I have an 18" saddle and the medium was perfect for me.
    Date published: 2015-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely 100% worth the investment! I purchased a new Thinline pad for my horse to help create the perfect saddle fit. It is absolutely one of the best investments I ever made - he's comfortable and forward moving! The pad is super high quality too!
    Date published: 2015-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable, Warm and Cozy A beautiful product that all of my horses enjoy. It gives them a lot of comfort and I like that.
    Date published: 2015-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves this! I could tell the second I tacked my horse up he loved the pad. Our rides have only gotten better since I purchased this! It's a really great deal and I would recommend this to anyone!
    Date published: 2014-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I expected. Bought this pad about two weeks ago for a birthday present to myself. I had been going back and forth on this pad and a few others. I'm very happy with my purchase and noticed a positive change immediately while riding my older mare who is usually tough to get softened up and moving out. I truely feel this pad has made the difference and given her more comfort while riding. I had heard different opinions I sizing but I bought the medium and it fra perfect under my 17" Prestige-Nona Garson.
    Date published: 2014-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this half pad for my sensitive mare. I liked being able to customize and shim for a perfect fit. Nice fleece and extra cushioning with the thin line padding.
    Date published: 2014-09-16
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Pretty but doesn't last I ride two horses a day and am religious about using a baby pad. While I love the traditional look of the pad and the modern function, I have gone through 2 pads in a year and a half. The sheep skin litterally melts away and the fleece peels off the pad rendering it useless. I do not think it's a good buy and will not be getting another sheep skin product from Thinline, unfortuanately
    Date published: 2014-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2014-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pad, great value, runs big. I love this pad- it does what it advertises. I feel a closer contact with my pony and he feels more supple and more willing to bring his back up when I use this pad.My pony is hard to fit a saddle to because of his narrow build but flat back, and this pad keeps my saddle from sliding up on him. I have a similar Mattes sheepskin pad that was more expensive than my ThinLine. The Mattes looks beautiful but unfortunately does NOT help keep my saddle in place. I would choose the ThinLine over the Mattes again and again.My only critique is that this pad runs big. I have a 17.5" saddle and bought the Medium, and it's just slightly too big. Wish I would have gone with the Small, it would be a cleaner fit/look around the edge of my saddle. Oh well, it still works great!
    Date published: 2014-06-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoying it thus far! Really liking it thus far, will be interested to see if it helps with my horses friction rubs.
    Date published: 2014-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Pad I bought this pad to replace the same, very old, ThinLine Sheepskin Pad. The new one is working well, and based on experience, it'll last many years. I think it tends to run a little big. If you're not sure which size to get, try the medium first.
    Date published: 2014-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pad for sore backs My Dutch Warmblood got a sore back because he needed his saddle re-fit. My poor baby was letting me know every time I tried to saddle him that he didn't want it on his back. After using the thin line sheepskin pad one time he stopped complaining about getting saddled and since the saddle has been fitted the soreness is slowly reducing. What more do you want from a pad?
    Date published: 2014-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this half pad! This pad is high quality and very well constructed. It is TTS (bought for my daughter - 16.5 in saddle. Would definitely fit up to 17 in saddle as well). My daughter likes that she can really feel her horse; definitely promotes close contact with the horse. Our gelding seems happy and comfortable as well (although we really didn't have issues before). Spendy but definitely worth it! I will be buying one to replace my older Mattes half pad for my own horse.
    Date published: 2014-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So happy I splurged! After years of having this half pad on my wish list I am so happy to have finally made the plunge and spent the money on this pad! This half pad is high quality and the the thin line technology is incredible! My OTTB has arthritis in this back and needs extra encouragement to stretch out and move while riding in the indoor arena during the winter months. I have seen an improvement in his movement using this half pad. I have also noticed my slight lower back pain I experienced during riding has completely gone away! I have a 17" saddle and I ordered a medium size pad (and it fits great). I am so happy to have made the investment both for my horses back and for mine. This pad was well worth the price!
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible Used this for the first time today and I loved it! It's high quality so I expect it will last for many years to come. My horse willingly stretched through his back and used his hind end. At first I was worried it was too thick and it would make me feel high off my horses back, but it really didn't. I ride multiple hard to fit thoroughbreds and I feel this half pad will improve their comfort making it we'll worth the price! The medium fit my 17.5 county dressage saddle perfectly!
    Date published: 2013-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth.the.money I actually bought this last pad for my best friend.  She sometimes rides my husband's horse (he and I both have one of these pads for our horses) and was wowed by the half pad.  the comfort level, the lift it gives to the saddle - amazing.  makes the ride better for everyone.  One of the trainers at our old barn used mine all the time - I think she was sad to see us go because she had to buy her own!  I cannot recommend this enough.
    Date published: 2013-12-03
    • y_2017, m_3, d_20, h_19
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_71
    • loc_en_US, sid_6794, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders