Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Ultra ThinLine Sheepskin Comfort Half Pad

ThinLine
- Item #16794
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Ultra ThinLine Sheepskin Comfort Half Pad is the preferred pad of some of the best riders in the world and for good reason! Ultra ThinLine products provide exceptional benefits for both horse and rider, helping to reduce rider movement, protecting the horses back, and creating a better saddle fit.  Increases performance in how horses lift their backs, and all riders will sit closer, quieter, and be able to do more with lighter aids!

Favorite Features

  • Constructed with Ultra ThinLine sewn on top of the highest quality cotton
  • 100% pure medical grade sheepskin under the panels and at the front roll
  • Pockets to insert shims to help with minor saddle fit adjustments. Click here to purchase the ThinLine Shims

Sizing It Up

Medium- Fits most saddles up to 17.5". Measures 19" wide between the rolls, and 23.5" long including the rolls. 

Large- Fits most saddles larger than 17.5".  Measures 20.5" wide between the rolls, and 25" long including the rolls.



You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    A unique pad ergonomically designed to fit your ...
    Description:
    A unique pad ergonomically designed to fit your horse for maximum comfort, theProfessional's Choice Comfort-Fit SMx H.D. Air Ride Western Pad is streamlined to move and bend with the horse's movement, creating the perfect interface between your horse and the ...
    A top seller, this cotton base design gives ...
    Description:
    A top seller, this cotton base design gives your Ultra ThinLine a whole level of performance. As an added benefit, this pad is also shimmable. FavoriteFeatures Improves rider equitation Maximum rider and saddle stability Contoured wither profile creates a comfortable ...
    Providescomfort,Protection, and shock absorption for you and your ...
    Description:
    Providescomfort,Protection, and shock absorption for you and your horse in a thin, no-slip pad. Favorite Features Ultra ThinLine utilizes open cell technology to absorb shock and reduce back strain andsoreness for both horse and rider Can help improve saddle fit ...
    Ideal for horses that are out of shape ...
    Description:
    Ideal for horses that are out of shape or returning from an injury, the Comfort Fleece Correction Pad System is made with100% Merino Sheepskin, allows for excellent circulation, and provides superior padding for distribution of pressure points. Favorite Features Open ...
    The Equine Comfort ProductsSheepskinContour Pad is lightweight and ...
    Description:
    The Equine Comfort ProductsSheepskinContour Pad is lightweight and breathable to regulate temperature and wick moisture away. Made from genuine sheepskin. Favorite Features Open channel design alleviates pressure on the spine for a more comfortable fit Designed to fit the shape ...
    This top quality pad optimizes close contact between ...
    Description:
    This top quality pad optimizes close contact between horse and rider. The Deluxe Classic Half Pad from Equine Comfort is 100% Australian Merino Sheepskin, whichhelps eliminate pressure points and prevents saddle sores. Favorite Features Absorbs and wicks away moisture Provides ...
    ThinLine represents some of the highest qualityProtective saddle ...
    Description:
    ThinLine represents some of the highest qualityProtective saddle pads on the market, and theThinLine Western Square Pad is no exception. Favorite Features Protects your horse's back by providing excellent shock absorption in a thin pad Utilizes open cell technology to ...
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Ultra ThinLine Sheepskin Comfort Half Pad is rated 4.5231 out of 5 by 65.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I wouldn't ride my mare without this pad! I have a mare with a very sensitive back. She's had the vet/chiro etc. and her saddle fitter suggested this pad. I've had it for over 4 years, never washed it, and used it for every single ride. At first, I didn't think I would use it in competition because it is black, but there was such a remarkable difference the one time that I didn't use it that I wouldn't ever ride her without it again.
    Date published: 2015-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So happy!!!! this is one of the very best horse purchases I have ever made! My TBs back and withers were always sensitive after I rode him... The first time I used this pad I had the best ride ever on him...I am so so happy that I discovered this pad! My TB is too!!!!!
    Date published: 2015-06-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice quality I really liked it but it was so thick that it did not look right under my saddle so I sent it back.
    Date published: 2015-05-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice pad A bit thick but best to be safe with a tight shorter backed horse. Do not order large if you have a 17.5 in saddle it will indeed be too long
    Date published: 2015-05-04
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from fell apart Like another reviewer, my pad fell apart. I am vigilant about caring for my tack. I did not wash it, always used with another pad, it wasn't dirty, stored in a climate controlled tack room, in its bag. Used probably less than 50 rides, though I had it for 2 years or more... the sheepskin pulled away from the pad and disintegrated. It was SO expensive And I love the thinline part, but I would not get another. For the price, it needs to last. This is ridiculous. For what it's worth, I think the horse liked it.
    Date published: 2015-04-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great half pad, runs large I've been using this for two years now, and it works great, and is holding up well. My horse is very happy with it. the only complaint is that it did run large. I have an 18" dressage saddle, purchased a large pad and there are several inches of extra pad.
    Date published: 2015-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a difference a good half pad makes Although I have only used this pad a total of 3 times I feel so passionately about how well it works that I thought I'd write a review.I have used an ogilvy memory foam jump pad under my Devoucoux Socoa for the past year. I noticed over time that my horse bites at the cross ties as I tack him up with the ogilvy. When I ride I also feel unbalanced and as if I am shifting off to one side. As I tacked up my gelding with the thinline I noticed him go to bit the cross tie before stopping when he realized something had changed. I immediately felt more centered in my saddle and closer to the horse, a feeling that I did not receive when using the ogilvy. I feel that this pad offers the best shock protection out of most of the others on the market.In terms of fit I have an 18" saddle and the medium was perfect for me.
    Date published: 2015-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely 100% worth the investment! I purchased a new Thinline pad for my horse to help create the perfect saddle fit. It is absolutely one of the best investments I ever made - he's comfortable and forward moving! The pad is super high quality too!
    Date published: 2015-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable, Warm and Cozy A beautiful product that all of my horses enjoy. It gives them a lot of comfort and I like that.
    Date published: 2015-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves this! I could tell the second I tacked my horse up he loved the pad. Our rides have only gotten better since I purchased this! It's a really great deal and I would recommend this to anyone!
    Date published: 2014-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I expected. Bought this pad about two weeks ago for a birthday present to myself. I had been going back and forth on this pad and a few others. I'm very happy with my purchase and noticed a positive change immediately while riding my older mare who is usually tough to get softened up and moving out. I truely feel this pad has made the difference and given her more comfort while riding. I had heard different opinions I sizing but I bought the medium and it fra perfect under my 17" Prestige-Nona Garson.
    Date published: 2014-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this half pad for my sensitive mare. I liked being able to customize and shim for a perfect fit. Nice fleece and extra cushioning with the thin line padding.
    Date published: 2014-09-16
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Pretty but doesn't last I ride two horses a day and am religious about using a baby pad. While I love the traditional look of the pad and the modern function, I have gone through 2 pads in a year and a half. The sheep skin litterally melts away and the fleece peels off the pad rendering it useless. I do not think it's a good buy and will not be getting another sheep skin product from Thinline, unfortuanately
    Date published: 2014-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pad, great value, runs big. I love this pad- it does what it advertises. I feel a closer contact with my pony and he feels more supple and more willing to bring his back up when I use this pad.My pony is hard to fit a saddle to because of his narrow build but flat back, and this pad keeps my saddle from sliding up on him. I have a similar Mattes sheepskin pad that was more expensive than my ThinLine. The Mattes looks beautiful but unfortunately does NOT help keep my saddle in place. I would choose the ThinLine over the Mattes again and again.My only critique is that this pad runs big. I have a 17.5" saddle and bought the Medium, and it's just slightly too big. Wish I would have gone with the Small, it would be a cleaner fit/look around the edge of my saddle. Oh well, it still works great!
    Date published: 2014-06-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoying it thus far! Really liking it thus far, will be interested to see if it helps with my horses friction rubs.
    Date published: 2014-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Pad I bought this pad to replace the same, very old, ThinLine Sheepskin Pad. The new one is working well, and based on experience, it'll last many years. I think it tends to run a little big. If you're not sure which size to get, try the medium first.
    Date published: 2014-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pad for sore backs My Dutch Warmblood got a sore back because he needed his saddle re-fit. My poor baby was letting me know every time I tried to saddle him that he didn't want it on his back. After using the thin line sheepskin pad one time he stopped complaining about getting saddled and since the saddle has been fitted the soreness is slowly reducing. What more do you want from a pad?
    Date published: 2014-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this half pad! This pad is high quality and very well constructed. It is TTS (bought for my daughter - 16.5 in saddle. Would definitely fit up to 17 in saddle as well). My daughter likes that she can really feel her horse; definitely promotes close contact with the horse. Our gelding seems happy and comfortable as well (although we really didn't have issues before). Spendy but definitely worth it! I will be buying one to replace my older Mattes half pad for my own horse.
    Date published: 2014-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So happy I splurged! After years of having this half pad on my wish list I am so happy to have finally made the plunge and spent the money on this pad! This half pad is high quality and the the thin line technology is incredible! My OTTB has arthritis in this back and needs extra encouragement to stretch out and move while riding in the indoor arena during the winter months. I have seen an improvement in his movement using this half pad. I have also noticed my slight lower back pain I experienced during riding has completely gone away! I have a 17" saddle and I ordered a medium size pad (and it fits great). I am so happy to have made the investment both for my horses back and for mine. This pad was well worth the price!
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible Used this for the first time today and I loved it! It's high quality so I expect it will last for many years to come. My horse willingly stretched through his back and used his hind end. At first I was worried it was too thick and it would make me feel high off my horses back, but it really didn't. I ride multiple hard to fit thoroughbreds and I feel this half pad will improve their comfort making it we'll worth the price! The medium fit my 17.5 county dressage saddle perfectly!
    Date published: 2013-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth.the.money I actually bought this last pad for my best friend.  She sometimes rides my husband's horse (he and I both have one of these pads for our horses) and was wowed by the half pad.  the comfort level, the lift it gives to the saddle - amazing.  makes the ride better for everyone.  One of the trainers at our old barn used mine all the time - I think she was sad to see us go because she had to buy her own!  I cannot recommend this enough.
    Date published: 2013-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this pad! I bought this pad for my previous horse, a high-and-hollow withered TB who had sore back issues and was impossible to fit. Once I started using this pad, the back issues disappeared. I love this pad! I have not yet used the shims, but I love that there is always that option to adjust the saddle (slightly) to my horse as his back changes.
    Date published: 2013-10-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from comfort pad Good fit,got this for my guy who was having soreness in his back,has a good saddle fit but likes the extra softness this pad gives...so far so good,is his old self again,stretching down and using his back
    Date published: 2013-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Supreme Half Pad I bought this for my mare, who has a tendency to be cold backed. Pros: The sheepskin is rich and thick, and the ThinLine material of the pad is impressive. It is a great all-around half pad to protect your horse's back and to customize your saddle fit. Cons: In response to some reviews, I ordered a large to go with my 18 inch saddles, and it is a little too large. I think the regular size will work fine for most people. It adds bulk to your saddle, so you may find the girth fits a lot tighter. It is very expensive, but I think I will have this for years to come.
    Date published: 2013-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saddle pad! I have a 17" Tad Coffin english saddle and ordered the medium in white. It fits perfectly. This is the best saddle pad I've ever had, well worth the money. Fits both saddle and horse very well!
    Date published: 2013-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Huge fan! I have been a huge fan of Thinline products for years, and this half pad is one of my favorite products they make. My mare likes a good sheepskin pad on her back, and I like the Thinline for mine. This is a great combination that doesn't make your saddle too bulky. She is forward and relaxed and round with this pad on. Several boarders at the barn have purchased this pad since seeing her go in it.
    Date published: 2013-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best half pad i have ever owned!!! Great half pad! Protects my horses back and looks great under my saddle. I have purchased many fleece half pads before but liked that this one incorporated thinline technology into it without being heavy or bulky like some fleece pads that contain gel.
    Date published: 2013-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cant Say Enough About this Pad! Wow, I can’t even begin to explain how happy I am about this pad. I normally wouldn't "splurge" on something like this but I am SO happy I did. I was getting horrible lower back pain every time I rode, I would get off and could hardly walk. After researching chiropractors in my area I decided I'd try one last thing. The first time I rode in it, I couldn't believe it, I got off and absolutely NO pain in my back! I've been riding in it for a couple weeks now and my pain has not come back! Jumping, dressage, trail rides EVERTHING I've done with this pad and no sign of pain. I couldn't be any happier!!! Like others have said, it is a little bigger than normal fleece half pads but it fits both my dressage and jumping saddle fine. Both are a 17” and I got the medium pad.
    Date published: 2013-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Fluffy! My first thoughts when I opened the bag were "It's so fluffy I'm gonna die!" This pad is beautiful, soft and a good thickness. I'm used to the Beval wool pads and this one isn't as thick as those but its definitely thicker than a Wilkers wither pad. The Thinline technology feels very supportive and it looks amazing under my saddle with the sheepskin rolls. Overall an amazing product, definitely worth the price for me!
    Date published: 2012-12-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it! I love thinline! Their products are great. They stoo the saddle from slipping as well as act as a great bounce pad. I needed this for my tb cross who has a high wither and a lot of "negative space" or area behind the shoulder and below the wither with no muscle of bone. I was able to fit 2 inserts in it and it finally makes my saddle fit well. Happy it has worked out!
    Date published: 2012-12-07
    • 2016-05-27T16:09CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_63
    • loc_en_US, sid_6794, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders