Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Tuff Stuff

Delta Mustad Hoofcare
- Item #10630
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Finally, a hoof conditioner and toughener that is also a show quality cosmetic. That is a tough combination to beat. Tuff Stuff® is so effective that after treating an egg with it, you can drive a nail through without cracking the shell.

- Strengthen brittle, shelly, mushy, or cracked hoof walls
- Protect scuffed toes
- Guard against fungus, caustics, and bacteria
- Maintain hoof wall’s natural moisture

Favorite Features

  • Will not wear away after application.
  • More effective than oil-based products that actually block moisture absorption.
  • Tuff Stuff® is an acetone-based application with a cellulose bonding agent that moisturizes the hoof from the inside out.

Sizing It up

7.5 oz w/ applicator.


Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tuff Stuff is rated 4.7759 out of 5 by 58.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from tough as nails My farrier suggested that I get this product for my gleding. He goes barefoot and recently got a crack in his hoof. This stuff is Great! It's been 6 months now and the crack is almost grown out. Thanks for saving his foot!!!
    Date published: 2013-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! During a MN summer, my horse is working in a sand arena and is stomping flies in the pasture. Her feet tend to get dry and shelly. Last summer, I tried Tuff Stuff and was very happy with the results. Once a week I put it on the nails and around the lower part do her hoof. The shelliness was gone and no loose or lost shoes.
    Date published: 2013-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best I have used My horses feet are naturally brittle (appaloosa feet) and ever since I starte using Tuff Stuff he feet have stayed so healthy and clean looking between trims. This is the best stuff I have ever used and it WORKS!
    Date published: 2012-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonder Worker My paint gelding is now 14 and for well about 14 years his hooves are a great deal of WORK. I have been using this product for about a year and a half now and will continue to use it! With a new supplement and this product we are making leaps and bounds!
    Date published: 2012-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great!~ Worked great to help get my horses feet back under him. He was on irrigated pasture and this helped keep his feet from drying out completely!
    Date published: 2012-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I use this on my shelly footed TB mare immediately after she's shod and about once a week thereafter. I've noticed a HUGE improvement in the 6 months I've been using this product, her feet are much harder and she hasn't thrown a shoe in months. Even my farrier has commented on how much better she looks!
    Date published: 2012-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I have a Clydesdale with huge soft feet and Tuff Stuff really makes a difference. Regular use helps keep his feet strong.
    Date published: 2012-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Great product for brittle and soft hooves!
    Date published: 2011-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great hoof protectant I used this product several years ago when I was bathing my grey mare for shows every week but she has been retired for 5 years and I forgot all about it. Last year I moved to coastal Carolina and we started having a terrible time keeping her shoes on. They are corrective and necessary to keep her sound and I tried all the products the locals recommended with no luck and this product popped into my head. I've been using it weekly for 2 months now and we haven't lost a single shoe! It's economical as well as one application a week is all you need. It lasts forever.
    Date published: 2011-10-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice shine Easy too use product. It dries fast, though has a strong smell. It gives the hooves with a noticeable shine. I have not noticed too much off a difference in chipping though. I apply it about twice a week.
    Date published: 2011-07-31
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from It works but has drawbacks. This stuff does actually toughen up hooves but I don't like using this long term because it contains acetone and that does dry out the hooves over time...acetone is nail polish remover basically. It doesn't go very far either so if you are using it to toughen up hooves in the shortest possible time while starting a horse on hoof supplements it works great for that but not for long term use. There are better products out there.
    Date published: 2011-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from always a good choice! my mare was throwing shoes left and right, and ripping hoof off with them, as soon as I started using Tuff Stuff my farrier noticed an incredible difference! I will always use this product and recommend it to friends
    Date published: 2011-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse seems to almost have thrush problems.I use tuff stuff to keep his hoof from getting to moist .The only problem is the stuff will dry up fast in the bottle . But its good stuff.
    Date published: 2011-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps Hooves Healthy I have a thoroughbred with sensitive feet that I've been using this product on since he was trimmed last. I've been using it about twice a week and I think it has really helped strengthen his hooves and keep his shoes on longer. I wish this came in a bit bigger bottle though, because I've been going through this one very quickly. Also, I wouldn't necessarily call this a "show quality cosmetic" ... It makes his hooves shiny for about 15 minutes, but they get dull again after that so unless you plan on applying it right before your class, I'd go with an actual hoof polish. For every day use though I really like this product.
    Date published: 2011-03-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Interesting Don't have a formal opinion yet on this product but I will say this, after one application on two different horses, it used up alot....
    Date published: 2011-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! My APHA mare has soft soles. She's barefoot and only has problems after being trimmed. She's ouchy for a few days after being trimmed, even with my farrier leaving some extra sole for protection. He suggested that I try using Tuff Stuff instead of putting shoes with pads on her. It has done wonders. I apply it right after she gets trimmed and every other day for a week. Then I go down to once a week depending on the weather. I wouldn't be caught without it in my tack box!!! I love this product! She's still barefoot and not nearly as ouchy after being trimmed. Plus it helps keep the hooves from cracking.
    Date published: 2011-01-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay Product I use this as my show hoof conditioner. It does not last very long and the hoof quickly looses it's shine. It easily picks up dirt and has to constantly be reapplied. I don't know how it works as a hoof "toughener", but I would not suggest it for a show cosmetic. At the next show I will be trying something else.
    Date published: 2010-12-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tough As Nails! My horse has never been without shoes, but this winter I decided the take off his hind shoes. I started using this product about 4 weeks before the farrier removed the shoes. He has not had a single problem and his hooves are still in excellent condition! Even the farrier was impressed with how strong and resilient his hooves were after the shoes were removed!
    Date published: 2010-12-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helps some with chipping hooves. Tuff Stuff helped some with my horses chipping hooves. I had to put it on twice weekly, because it wore off quickly.
    Date published: 2010-09-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tuff Stuff This is a great product, especially if you have problems with cracks in the hooves!
    Date published: 2010-08-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does what it says I wouldn't say this is a good hoof conditioner but it definitely toughens the hoof and is good for filling in nail holes. Smells strong like nail polish remover.
    Date published: 2010-07-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does what it says I wouldn't say this is a good hoof conditioner but it definitely toughens the hoof and is good for filling in nail holes. Smells strong like nail polish remover.
    Date published: 2010-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It lives up to its name! My farrier uses this for all his horses - he reccommended I buy it to use daily on my mare whose hooves have become insanely brittle this year. So far all I've seen is improvement. Hopefully it continues!
    Date published: 2010-06-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great stuff tuff stuff works great. easy to put aplication on .bottle is easy to handle and it works great. I already see improvement in a very short time period.
    Date published: 2010-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Been using it for years, helps keep there feet from chipping and nails from becoming loose.
    Date published: 2010-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from so much better than keratex i used keratex for a long time before i switched to tuff stuff and never got good results, but once i switched within 3 weeks of using it 2x a week i saw a huge improvement in my geldings feet. and its cheaper than keratex
    Date published: 2010-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grooming Box Staple This hoof dressing is a MUST HAVE in drier arid climates! Our farrier always applies this right after the horses have been shod, and recommends about 2-3 times per week for a normal footed horse. Works great on problem feet, helps to hold in moisture and prevent cracks. Really helps with unshod feet as well! Dries in a few seconds and doesnt attract dirt or leave an unnatural sheen.
    Date published: 2010-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Product!!! My TB mare has VERY soft feet. Before I started using Tuff Stuff, she would chronically throw shoes. Now, I use it once a week, and she hasn't thrown a shoe since. Tuff Stuff fills the nail holes, hardens her hooves, and gives them a nifty shine. Highly recommended!
    Date published: 2010-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My blacksmith told me to use this My blacksmith told me to use this because it was really good stuff.
    Date published: 2010-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tuff Stuff is Good Stuff This product works as advertised and has improved our mare's hoof condition immensely. No more hoof cracks or thrown shoes.
    Date published: 2009-12-17
    • 2015-05-27T09:25CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_55
    • loc_en_US, sid_630, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.