Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Troxel Intrepid Helmet

Troxel Helmets
- Item #21207

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Troxel Intrepid Helmet provides an ultralight, low profile design created for the performance-oriented rider.

Favorite Features

  • Woven honeycomb mesh keeps debris out of strategically placed vents while channeling fresh air throughout the helmet interior 
  • Dri-Lex® adding maximizes moisture diffusion and optimizes performance for all-day comfort
  • Self-adjusting SureFit Pro adjusts to the movement of the rider for an unmatched level of comfort and stability during demanding hours in the saddle 
  • Geometric Soft-Tip visor is engineered with shatterproof plastics for maximum durability 
  • Self-locking buckle
  • Troxel's matte Duratec finish provides an understated look 
  • ASTM/SEI F1163-15 certified

Sizing It Up

S (up to 6 7/8)
M (7-7 1/4)
L (7 1/4-7 3/4)

Helmets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Troxel Intrepid Helmet is rated 4.2174 out of 5 by 46.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buying Another I bought this particular helmet because I liked the style and a western rider that I trust Tammy Scronce. I can now give my 100% 5 start rating. I have had this helmet for just over a year (helmet awareness day 2014) and I had a fall last night where I hit my head. I was dazed when I got up, but there is not damage to my head. My helmet on the other hand has a nice crack in the back of it. I am ordering the exact same one to replace it. Great fit and comfort. Highly reccomend
    Date published: 2015-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight, comfortable, and attractive! I haven't owned a Troxel helmet in over a decade, but when it came time to purchase a new helmet recently, I decided to give this one a try. The affordable price and styling made me think it was worth a shot. It certainly was! I love the low profile, and this helmet is even more comfortable than the way more expensive helmet that it is replacing. Great buy.
    Date published: 2015-08-05
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from The Smart Fold technology on this product, for me, made it uncomfortable also after riding for 40 minutes or so I would get a headache.
    Date published: 2015-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So comfy!!! Was concerned due to other reviews saying it ran small, but it fits beautifully!! It is extremely comfortable and low profile! Looks sleek and professional!
    Date published: 2015-06-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice helmet, but ... I bought this very same one in blue 2 years ago and it fits. For some reason this same size but in black is too small.
    Date published: 2015-06-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice helmet, runs small ordered this helmet for my husband. Nice helmet but runs small. Alas I had to return it (although I thought strongly of keeping it for my self and giving him my old very adjustable helmet...)
    Date published: 2015-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Made Helmet This helmet is very well made. We use it in our Therapeudic Riding ProgramFits well and is comfortable for our riders
    Date published: 2015-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm pretty enthusiastic about this helmet. I like the look that it has combined with the price tag. I would be happy to use this as a show helmet in lower level shows. I believe that I have an oval shaped head. This helmet seems slightly short front to back for my head (I ordered an L/XL), due to the number of helmets that I've tried on, I decided that I would just stick with this helmet and hope that it eventually fits my head better. The flip flap fit system seems like a good system. For other people out there having fit/shape issues with helmets; the Aegis dial fit system is what has fit my head the best in the past, the Tipperary and Ovation Protege were both much too round to fit my head.
    Date published: 2015-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great helmet! Very comfortable. Love the wicking liner! No more wet head after a ride.
    Date published: 2015-04-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ok but seems to run small Seems like a decent helmet for the price. Fit me out of the box great but don't really see how it could be adjusted much. My head is 21.5in(size 6 7/8?) and the size M fits me nice and snug. Haven't tried it riding yet.
    Date published: 2015-03-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice helmet for price I needed a new helmet for riding. I wanted one that was durable, yet looked nice. I also didn't want to spend a fortune as it was just for schooling at home. This helmet fit the bill.
    Date published: 2015-03-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from It didn't fit I ordered the same size that has fit me with other Troxel models. But this one was too tight. Ouch. I ordered it to replace one I had lost when my winter's hay supply fell on it during the August 24 Napa Earthquake (that one cracked, but that is to be expected under the circumstances)
    Date published: 2015-01-16
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Awful Fit for Large Heads! I tried this helmet on and was immediately disappointed. It is WAY to small for my head, even the large. My hat size is 7 3/8 and there is no way the large is going to fit anything even remotely close to that. I've been looking for a helmet that is less bulky than my Troxel Spirit, which this one is, but the only helmet that seems to fit is the Spirit because it had the dial adjustment.
    Date published: 2014-12-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Helmet I bought this helmet when I started competing. I like how it isn't really expensive, but looks like it's a "fancy" helmet. Fits good, other than the sizing being a bit weird compared to other (that size by letters).
    Date published: 2014-11-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the way it fits Really like it. Would suggest it to anyone who asked.
    Date published: 2014-11-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid Choice / Very Good Value I bought this helmet several weeks ago and have riden many times with it. It is very comfortable and has decent adjustments for a custom fit. It does run small. I measured my head before ordering, but the medium was just a bit tight. The matte finish cleans up nicely after a dusty ride. The vents open on top should allow nice air flow, although my riding has been indoors so I really cannot tell.
    Date published: 2014-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Price! This is a really nice helmet for the price. Many adjustments so it fits well and looks great. My first helmet arrived with a strap that had been attached with a twist in it but the return was quick with no cost and the replacement was 100%. Very pleased with my purchase.
    Date published: 2014-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable Much more trim than our older model. Helmet is very comfortable and well fitting.
    Date published: 2014-10-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Strange fit/sizing I really wanted this helmet to work because I like the look of it and the price is right, but I couldn't get the fit to my satisfaction. Even with adjustments to the lining and CinchFit system, the large was too big and the medium was too small. I'll regretfully be sending this one back.
    Date published: 2014-08-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice helmet for the price This helmet fits really well and is comfortable. I have gotten compliments on how nice it looks. I just wish it had a few more vents- not quite as cool as my previous vented helmet. Can't beat the price!
    Date published: 2014-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable for someone who doesn't like helmets I am one of those people who has never willingly worn a helmet so I took a long time researching helmets to find one that I was confident in buying, I have been very happy with the light weight and low profile, I can almost forget that it is even up there.
    Date published: 2014-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet! I bought this helmet on National Helmet Awareness Day and I am so glad I did! It's VERY hot her here in the summer and this helmet's lightweight design allows for increased airflow for every day riding / training. It is also completely adjustable and fits me well.
    Date published: 2014-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet, super comfortable and airy I originally ordered this a month ago but the medium didn't fit. They definitely run a little small so if you are on the large end of a size you might want to try a size larger. Besides having to wait over a week for them to process the return and get my new one sent out it has been great! I love the low profile and how it looks like an expensive helmet. It looks like some of the styles that are popular now as show helmets. It is super ventilated and I love the cinch fit system. So comfy!
    Date published: 2014-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet; great price! I bought this as a schooling helmet for it's lightness and ventilation. It's very customizable due to the adjustable cinch strap and option flip folds inside. I also appreciate it's lower profile.
    Date published: 2014-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought this a couple of weeks ago for my granddaughter and she loves it.Fits very well, is comfortable and very nice looking
    Date published: 2014-06-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice Helmet but not meant for wide heads I have always liked troxel helmets, and so far they have all fit me. Unfortunately, this one didn't. Both the M and L were putting pressure on my temples which hurt. I have a wide head, so I think this was made more specifically for people without wide heads. Other than that, it looked like a very nice helmet, but we have returned both due to the fact that they didn't fit well.
    Date published: 2014-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet, even greater value! I bought this helmet with a gift card as an everyday helmet. I liked it so much I wore it to all of my shows this season in lieu of my show helmet. Time to buy a second for special occasions!
    Date published: 2014-06-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for Schooling I bought this helmet to replace my old one of 7 years (same model). I like the snug fit around the head. The chin strap is a little awkward to fit correctly. Can easily become twisted. My husband has the same helmet and the chin strap fits him horribly with his larger sized head. Otherwise I am a fan of this helmet. I like the grey color also.
    Date published: 2014-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light, airy, nice fit and look! I used to swear by the Troxel Legacy Gold helmet for schooling. I ordered the Intrepid in a small (same size I wore in the Legacy Gold). The Intrepid runs larger than the Legacy Gold but the fantastic customizable fit system (padding plus auto-fit back) made the Intrepid work perfectly. I love the air vents. Looks nice enough to wear to local shows as well.
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice! I bought this product a few weeks ago. It breathes great and makes me feel very safe
    Date published: 2014-04-02
    • 2016-02-07T15:12CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_43
    • loc_en_US, sid_11207, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.