Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Tredstep Raphael Tall Boot

Tredstep Ireland Ltd.
- Item #20394
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Tredstep Raphael Tall Boot defines a new category of tall boots which brings a refinement of design and performance for use across all disciplines. The Raphael has a noble and graceful profile which captures the beauty of Raphael’s own masterpieces. This Tredstep innovation brings together traditional design with a fusion of beauty and enhanced performance. A truly graceful and harmonious boot enveloped in exquisite leather and details. Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Tredstep's Pro-Flex design allows immediate full flexion of the ankle without the need to break in the boot
  • Discreetly covered rear stretch panel on the inside and top gusset provides a contoured fit
  • Made from exquisite Italian aniline calfskin leather with a full grain leather lining
  • Full length rear zip is supported by a flexible spine which helps maintain the height and protect the zip
  • Side spur rests
  • Zip guard to protect your zipper

Sizing It Up

Field Boots Comparison Chart
 

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Beauty in every step! The Tredstep Medici Dress Boot ...
    Description:
    Beauty in every step! The Tredstep Medici Dress Boot is expertly designed with artful flair and the utmost attention to detail. The Medici Tall boot epitomizes the allure of cutting edge heritage and handmade ... using sumptuous hand sourced calfskin leathers ...
    The Tredstep Medici Field Boot encompasses beauty in ...
    Description:
    The Tredstep Medici Field Boot encompasses beauty in every step. Expertly designed with artful flair and the utmost attention to detail, the Medici Tall boot epitomizes the allure of cutting edge heritage and handmade luxury. Meticulous craftsmanship using hand sourced ...
    Ariat Westchester Zip Dress Boots feature traditional and ...
    Description:
    Ariat Westchester Zip Dress Boots feature traditional and refined styling for versatility across disciplines.  Features include: Soft and shineable premium calf leather uppers Contoured fit through ankle High Spanish cut topline Elegant piping details in toe cap, topline, and swagger tab ...
    *This item is on close out* Still made ...
    Description:
    *This item is on close out* Still made in Italy! Sergio Grasso products are designed exclusively using carefully selected full grain calf leather. The shapes are cut by master shoemakers using laser technology to create precision seams and a perfect ...
    Ultimate performance technology meets innovative design in this ...
    Description:
    Ultimate performance technology meets innovative design in this brand new series of English riding footwear using premium leathers, advanced materials and construction. Not only do they have a sleek looking exterior, but the Ariat Volant Tall Boot Front Zip also feature ...
    The culmination of superior innovation and craftsmanship in ...
    Description:
    The culmination of superior innovation and craftsmanship in a truly elegant boot for the world's finest riders. French baby calf leather with a full length, elasticized panel creates a glove-like fit. The oiled inner leg panel provides a secure grip ...
    This elegant equestrian boot is crafted with ultra-soft ...
    Description:
    This elegant equestrian boot is crafted with ultra-soft leather and an elegant square toe design for a traditional look in the show ring. Favorite Features Leather grip panel on inside of calf Full length zipper and elastic gusset Snap closures ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tredstep Raphael Tall Boot is rated 4.0789 out of 5 by 38.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fit makes it hard to love I love the look of these boots, but I have to agree with the lower ratings on fit. I ordered a calf-size up to be safe, but still had a heck of a time getting these on. They are excruciatingly tight around the ankle and lower calf, but then balloon at the widest part of your leg and end up too big there. I've had to replace one of the zippers already, and didn't even get to wear them at the show I bought them for because the OTHER zipper broke as soon as I stood up for my class. (Interestingly, I've since been able to zip that boot up with no busting of the zipper.)Once on and broken in, they do look quite nice. I like the square toe and the soft leather at the front of the ankle. The spanish-cut top molded to my leg really nicely too... They really are beautiful boots; I just hope one day they are actually comfortable to wear.
    Date published: 2016-03-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A really elegant look! These are beautiful boots with a really slim ankle and a sleek overall look. Getting the right fit was problematic and like others I found the boot hard to zip the first few times even when the calf was way too wide. I tried two calf widths, regular and full, and as other reviewers have noted the larger calf width pooched out and gave the boot a really strange appearance in profile. I am hoping for a bit of a drop and wish that the manufacturer would offer a shorter height but I am short and this part of tall boot fitting is always a challenge. I gave the fit rating a "just right" because the boots were neither too large nor too small, just unusual in the calf. Absolutely buy them, but be prepared to work a little when zipping them and fitting them.
    Date published: 2016-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Attractive and hard wearing I have had several pairs of these boots and they have been great for every day, all day, six horses a day use. I think the quality is super and they are really comfortable.
    Date published: 2016-01-06
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great fit, poor durability I purchased these boots almost a year ago. I do ride several horses per day but only wear the boots while riding, and have taken superb care of them. After 6 months BOTH zippers had to be replaced. Now 3 months later the sole of one boot is becoming completely unstitched, the toe is hanging off about an inch. The fit of boots have been great, and they are very comfortable but the bad definitely out ways the good here. I would expect boots with this price tag to hold up much longer.
    Date published: 2015-09-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Limited durability I love the fit and look of these boots, and I regularly receive compliments regarding them. However, I am disappointed in the length of time they have lasted. After 2 years of training/competitions, I am having to consider purchasing another pair of boots. As described by other reviewers, the zipper has separated from the stitching at the heel of one of the boots. This I was able to have repaired. The top snap closures no longer stay secured, and the boots slowly become unzipped during my rides. This has been remedied using electrical tape (similar to securing standing bandages on a horse). This past weekend I noticed that the thin, flexible leather at the ankle is cracked to the point of having holes. I will need to purchase another pair of boots before the next show season. My dilemma is whether to purchase them again assuming they will last only 2 years, or to try another brand. For the price, I expected them to last longer.
    Date published: 2015-09-03
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I expected a lot more These boots were horrible to break in, but we're comfortable after about 8 months. After about a year of riding in them, they have completely broken down around the zipper, near the heel. The sides (not the zipper itself) around the zipper (near the heel) have come apart, and are flopping around (I hide the floppy pieces under the tabs down there that snap).I was quite surprised that these boots are in the condition that they are in, given that they weren't cheap, and I didn't put them through anything extreme. I didn't purchase them from Smartpak, but wanted to share my opinion. If I were you, I'd save up a little more and go with another brand that has better craftsmanship.
    Date published: 2015-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sexy boots Haven't competed in the boots yet, but they fit great and I'm wearing them around the house to get the calves to stretch a teensy bit. Not sure about durability yet.
    Date published: 2014-12-26
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Painful! I bought these boots to replace a pair of Ariats that I'd had for a few years. I thought these looked nicer - I foxhunt and go through tall boots about every 2 seasons, I was hoping these would last longer. I have no doubt that they will last longer, because they're still painful to wear after normal break in, competing, and foxhunting for 8 weeks, 3 days a week. The zipper also broke. They are beautiful, but I don't think they're worth the pain!
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice boots I've been wearing them for about 3 weeks. Breaking in nicely. They were a bit painful behind my heels at first, just while walking. They were very tightly fit to my calves and very tall ( I bought the tall slim size) but they are giving just enough to fit really nicely.
    Date published: 2014-11-11
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from I hate these boots I bought these boots for a horse show because my toe was broken and my show boots were pull-ons and I didn't think I would be able to get them on, so I needed zip ups and I needed them fast. I've had these for...over 6 months now and I still don't feel like they're broken in, the leather is hard, and impossible to work with, I've oiled them a thousand times, tried every trick in the book to get them to supple and it hasn't worked. They're as stiff as a board, and I am giving up on them. Luckily I can fit back in my real show boots now, so it really doesn't matter.
    Date published: 2014-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice boots I bought these boots and then didn't wear them for a bit. I struggled to get them on and thought that I needed to lose a bit of weight first. I was wrong. I finally just made myself wear them and squeezed into them. I needed to have a bit of help to zip them up and they were not comfortable. But by the third time, the stretch panels broken in a bit and wow...they fit like custom now. They look great and are easier and easier to get on now. I'd say the breaking in time is MUCH shorter than with most boots. But yes, if you go tight....they are tough to get on and then break in but they do break in well and quickly. The pro-ankle is really nice and it really is just getting the stretch panels to give. I'm glad I didn't go to large...as I think if they had be super easy to zip up the first time, they may have been too big once broken in. Lovely boots.
    Date published: 2014-06-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful boots, but heels are too tight I loved the over all looks, comfortable foot bed, but once I put my legs in, the curvy design of the heels were too tight and digging into my heels. So, unfortunately, I had to return this pair.
    Date published: 2014-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous boot As a dressage rider with a slim and tall calf it has been a struggle to find the perfect boot. I must have tried on dozens that were either too wide (especially in the ankle) or to short. After trying on these boots I feel in immediate love. They fit like a glove! They need barely any breaking in!! With a 14 inch calf and 19 inch height I am delighted to have the perfect boot. They are well worth the money if you are struggling as well. They are keeping up well and I feel they will last me a long time! I have also gotten tons of complemaints!
    Date published: 2014-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft and beautiful I bought these boots hesistantly about 2 months ago. I say hesistantly because SmartPak says they only drop about 1/2 an inch. If that were the case these boots would have been too tall for my short legs. I wrote to Tredstep and they suggested the boots would drop between an inch to an inch and a half. On that advice I bought them. I don't think the breaking in period was any more painful than other boots I've worn. They're soft, and very elegant looking. I have average sized ankles/feet and I don't find that area to be too narrow or tight. Very happy I gave these boots a try! I've only owned the boots for two months, so I don't feel that I'm really able to rate the durability (which is why I gave that 4 stars), so far they've held up great!
    Date published: 2014-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfection These are my new show boots. If you love the comfort of half-chaps, you will love these boots. From the first ride, they were comfortable. My initial thought was that they would crush down like a pair of socks. They don't. I can wrap my legs around my mare and squeeze and they don't become ankle bracelets. I can't speak to durability because I have worn four times. When my former show boots, now everyday boots wear out, I'll be investing in another pair of Tredstep Raphael Tall Boot.
    Date published: 2013-12-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from poor hardware loved the feel and fit of these boots BUT never even rode in them before the zipper broke.
    Date published: 2013-12-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gorgeous Boot These are really beautiful boots and look more expensive than they are. These look more streamlined and appear to have slightly nicer leather than DaVinci's. Love the square toe and was surprised how nice it looked not to have the laces. Sadly am having trouble getting the right fit. With a 14.5" calf I found the med width too wide and reg width too tight. Could go from size 39 to 40 to get a smidge more width, but size 40 adds a bit too much height for me. Also the footbed feels rather hard, so one wouldn't want to walk around in these all day. Still all in all a lovely boot if they fit!
    Date published: 2013-11-23
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from So Mad I order these boots in the size I measured. When they arrived they were way to small, and I could barely zip them past my ankle. I ordered the next size up, and those were to small as well. This time reaching only my lower calf. Then I ordered the largest calf size they make, and still couldn't get them zipped all the way. The last pair made it to about mid calf. Then I realized that if I had zipped them all the way up, the upper calf would have been way to big. I don't know anyone with legs shaped that way. Its taken about three months to realize that I can not have these boots. Thats three months that I could have spent breaking in different boots.
    Date published: 2013-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Boots So far so good I have worn these boots 6 times and each time they get a little more comfortable. The workmanship and leather are top quality. I'm very tall and these are the first off the shelve boots that are actually tall enough in fact they are a little bit too tall which causes some discomfort but I'm sure they will drop appropriately. Would much prefer a boot that is too tall (hate short boots). The foot of the boot is true to size and love the tapered ankle.
    Date published: 2013-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great crossover boots I was worried that the height would be a little bit short even on the talls but it's right where it should be now. As long as the boots don't drop much, they fit great. I too had the dilemma of whether to go with the 14" calf or 15" calf size. Ended up sticking with the 15" even though there's extra room toward the top of the boot. Again, as long as the boots don't drop or stretch out considerably, they're streamlined enough that I'd rather have the extra room than risk going too small. In the tredstep half chaps, I wear a 14" calf but I believe those have more give than these. If you're in between sizes, you might want to consider trying both calf sizes just to be sure.
    Date published: 2013-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from WONDERFUL! I purchased these after my Ariats died (and boy did they really die!). I first ordered the Da Vinci, but when they arrived they were too large in the calf, so I ordered the Rapheal, and LOVE LOVE LOVE them! The leather is such wonderful quality, the zipper is thick and durable, and I LOVE the tab on the ankle. I didn't expect to love the boot so much without the laces, but they really look sharp and up to date! But most of all, I am just stunned with how well the extra slim calf fits-they fit just like customs! In fact, I had my friend look at them, and she likes them just as well as her $1,200 customs. I have only had these a month, so I did not fill in the durability, but I have a sneaky feeling they're going to last! I highly recommend them to anyone looking!
    Date published: 2013-05-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Such a beautiful boot! I loved the rich look and feel of these boots, and the Tredstep brand was always my go to, but to my sadness, these tall boots just did not fit no matter what size I ordered. Sadly I sent them back. But I had no stress or hassles when I did this, Smartpak was great with my return!
    Date published: 2013-05-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Ankle, Funny Calf These boots are attractive, have nice leather, and a slim ankle, but calf does bulge at the top as other reviewers have mentioned. Unfortunately I fall between sizes with my 14.5 in calf. For Tredstep, 14 is slim and 15 is regular. I chose the regular and found them to bulge at the calf. I had a pair of Ariat Monacos that had a stitching blow out and hoped these would be a good replacement at half the price, but unfortunately for me, the Monacos fit better with their 14.5 inch regular calf.
    Date published: 2013-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots I haven't bought a new pair of tall boots in about 20 yrs!! I already had a pair of tredstep paddock boots that fit really well and I really like so I decided to take a chance and order the Raphael boot. At first I was afraid they were too tall but the lift and inner sole that came with the boots really helped make the break in time easy. I have a high instep so the front stretch panel over the top portion of the foot made the fit perfect. I have gotten many compliments every time I've worn them!!
    Date published: 2013-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love at first zip! I only had 3 weeks to break in a pair of new boots for an upcoming clinic. These were quite honestly about $100 over my budget, but I took a chance. After only a few zips they fit like a glove. The leather is fantastic.I used to event and love to wear field boots. They are so much easier to flex and bend in the ankle. Now that I ride dressage and my 13 year old field boots were dead I decided to switch to a dress boot. These are a perfect cross over. I have enough flexibility (less than a field boot, but more than a strict, stiff dressage boot) to allow my to ride into the dressage ring looking my best, but still feel comfortable in a shorter stirrup over fences.I would own two pair if I could. No lie.
    Date published: 2013-03-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Small calf Ordered regular and then wide and I could not zip either even though measurements indicated I should have been able to wear the regular. (I am a size 9 foot, 8 pant/dress size and average weight). So, I'm still looking for a dress boot. These boots look beautiful and well made though, I wish I could wear them.
    Date published: 2013-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantabulous! These boots were a bit out of my budget but after wearing them for the first time yesterday I would have gladly paid more than I did. the leather is of great quality and they fit like a glove. Very true to size.This is my first pair of show boots that I have bought in over 13 years. My last pair were Ariat field boots and they held up well. It was time I bought something with a zipper. I will be honest, I have had my eye on these boots for several years but didn't want to part with the cash. The Ariats that I had planned on ordering were back ordered and I am actually grateful because these boots are fantastic!I have pretty normal size feet and wear a regular width. The front of these boots, unlike the Ariats has a more square toe which makes them more comfortable.Also, I wanted a slightly siffer boot for dressage without the insane price of custom boots. Even with the softer leather inset in the front of the ankle they feel more stiff than my field boots. They come with blow up inserts to keep them upright and really nice velvet bags. Since I blew my budget the velvet bags and box will have to be my 'boot bag' for a while.
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Boots These boots are beautifully made, and seem to be a great value for the price. Already when I opened the box, I knew that these were exceptional boots. Unfortunately, I ordered two pairs and none fit me quite right. The tall boots were extra tall and due to the cut they will not drop in height. So, I would suggest ordering the regular height if normally you would factor in the drop. Also, the Wides are really wide and looked quite strange on me.
    Date published: 2013-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shockingly Beautiful Boots I dare you to try finding any other boots this nice in this price range. Frankly, I cannot believe the quality of these boots. There is such attention to detail. The zippers remain well protected and seem very durable and high quality. I am so happy I bought these boots!
    Date published: 2012-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice These are lovely boots. Fit me like custom. I have a tall long leg and it can be hard to find boots tall enough to fit (and slim). I love that I can wear them either for dressage or xc. They are a great cross over boot having the slim ankle look of a field but still technically being more of a dress boot.
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    • 2016-04-30T17:05CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_38
    • loc_en_US, sid_10394, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders