Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Tredstep Original Half Chaps

Tredstep Ireland Ltd.
- Item #13215
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE GROUND SHIPPING.
(Find out how)

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Tredstep Elasticized Half Chaps are designed for working riders who need the best in function and fit, this is a great every day half chap. Every shape and size of the Tredstep Elasticized Half Chaps is catered for with an assured fit.

Favorite Features 

  • Elasticized panel hugs the leg like a second skin, giving a fit and comfort like none other.
  • YKK zippers and snaps.
  • Suede. Black or Chocolate.

Imported

Sizing It Up

Sizes are quoted by calf then height from ankle bone to back of knee.

Customers Also Shopped For
A timeless coat will never go out of ...
Description:
A timeless coat will never go out of style! The Essential Ladies Washable Hunt Coat offers the style and quality you want from a show coat, without breaking the bank. Favorite Features Subtle stretch coat enhances freedom of movenemt Machine ...
TheBradley Plus Ribb Knee Patch Breeches are guaranteed ...
Description:
TheBradley Plus Ribb Knee Patch Breeches are guaranteed to beyour favorite breech where comfort and style collide. 2" wide mid-rise waistband is fashionable and helps provide a smooth midsection with great coverage Ribb fabric is stretchy while offering great coverage ...
The Sportif Technical Shirt by Equine Couture is ...
Description:
The Sportif Technical Shirt by Equine Couture is a stretch technical fabric that provides moisture management, making it perfect for use as a show shirt or casual riding top.Favorite Features Half zip neck Stand up collar with stock tie loop ...
A classic black show shirt is perfect for ...
Description:
A classic black show shirt is perfect for the breed and quarter horse classes. The breathable stretch fabric will make you feel just as great as you will look, especially during the warm show season! Favorite Features Sophisticated triminside of ...
TheSmartSlimUltraCapri is the next generation inSmartSlims. It provides ...
Description:
TheSmartSlimUltraCapri is the next generation inSmartSlims. It provides a high spandex level, offering performance-enhancing compression and four-way stretch for a perfect fit with total freedom of movement. Lightweight yet durable perforated mesh-style fabric is quick-drying and highly breathable. Antimicrobial ...
If you want to add aSoft shell coat ...
Description:
If you want to add aSoft shell coat to your show wardrobe but are still looking for traditional styling, this is the perfect choice! TheRJ ClassicsSoft Shell Hunt Coat is made of a solid stretchSoft shell material that is stain ...
This jacket offers an awesome value and will ...
Description:
This jacket offers an awesome value and will be perfect for everyone in your barn. 100% nylon taslon shell jacket with anti-pill black microfleece lining. Wind and water resistant. Nylon poly sleeve lining. Outside zip pockets. Contrast tipped mock collar ...
out of 5
92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Tredstep Original Half Chaps is rated 4.523809523809524 out of 5 by 84.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fit for Petite! I'm 5,1" - 105 lbs with calf size 13.5/ 14. I found really difficult to find the right half chaps that fit. So I decided to buy two half chaps 13/14 and 14/14. Forget the 14/14 they're way too big, instead the 13/14 fit perfectly. They are snug without hurting at all and most importantly stayed, not much of drop.Black color came nice deep dark color, chocolate came darker than the picture so I chose chocolate to match my Ariat brown paddock boots.
Date published: 2015-05-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Leather too thin Wish these had leather that was heavier duty. Not reinforced on inside of calf. Zipper seems durable though. Hopefully they hold up for longer than a season but I am doubtful.
Date published: 2015-04-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from trash fell apart after a month I don't think anything from tredstep has lasted longer than 3weeks tops
Date published: 2015-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these for many years and more to come! These are great half chaps for schooling, easy to clean, keep their shape/elasticity, and look great!
Date published: 2015-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just perfect! FINALLY a great half chap in 14" height! I've got shorter lower legs so it's been impossible to fund great fitting non-custom made chaps. All the other brands start at 15". These not only fit great but look awesome!
Date published: 2015-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Do the job! I measure 14.5 at calf and was 15 for height. I ordered the 15/15 as previous leather ones I tried by the same brand I could not do up in the 14 calf. These however have a stretch fabric section not super stretchy but enough, I might have been able to get away with 14, but decided not to take the chance. The 15 fit fine. I wish chaps came in 1/2 sizes. The suede is a good quality not too soft not to stiff. The snap no problem with them at all. I did not find them hard to snap or unsnap. Nice firm grip on the horse while riding. I would buy again if needed. They are warm and great for winter riding. I think they would be too hot for summer riding over 70. I did see the brown in person and didn't like them as much as the black.
Date published: 2015-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love these! Love these chaps! Sadly, after riding 3 or more horse a day I have the replace about 6-9 months. Yes the snaps are difficult the for a few months but they are the only chaps I buy. They are to comfortable and fitting. I love the fabric much more then leather for schooling. About to order my fourth pair now!
Date published: 2014-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable and fit great! I have trouble finding half chaps that fit my very long and thin lower leg, and these are like custom made! Nice quality, soft, grippy suede. The hardware appears to be durable too. We'll see how the zippers and snaps hold up in the long run, as I've only had them for a couple of weeks, but for the money these are really nice.
Date published: 2014-11-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I want to love these I ride almost every day and abuse these chaps a bit, but they have held up splendidly. I love the variety of sizes which helps my tall but skinny leg find a good fit. However, the snap is so stubborn to unsnap. I have to pull pretty hard to get it to unsnap. I am shocked that the snap hasn't ripped through the strap as it did for another reviewer. Maybe most of the snaps are fine and I could try greasing mine to facilitate release, but it has been annoying enough to make me seriously consider buying a different chap next time.
Date published: 2014-07-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love these! Only had these for a month so far so I can't speak to the wear, but the fit is so much better than my last pair. I do wear a larger size to accommodate large calves, and I love that the ankle is tapered nicely and fits snugly without tons of extra material. easy to zip & button.
Date published: 2014-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product and value Great product, wears well, good price, good fit...great service and information from SmartPak.
Date published: 2014-03-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great half chap! It's the only one that actually fits my scrawny leg and is tall enough! So many size choices make it the best fit out there!
Date published: 2013-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happily surprised and happy with these chaps! I have to say that I am shocked that these fit. I really have a very hard time finding chaps and boots to fit my wide calf, but short legs. They were a bit tough to get on at first, but once on, fit like a glove and are very comfortable, I hardly know I'm wearing them. I am hoping that they will wear well, they seem a little finer than the other chaps I used to wear. I bought the 17/15 size and am thrilled that I am actually able to wear them. 
Date published: 2013-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a pair that fits!!! Just got these and they fit!!  I tried the fuller Fillies and had to send them back for being too tall ( even though they said they were short ).  Also the zipper in the back of the chap was difficult to zip.  I have a very short calf and they are thick! I ordered the 15/17 and they fit perfect!  I love them!
Date published: 2013-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice chaps Bought these for my 11 year old daughter. They are very comfortable she said and a little brushing manages to keep the shavings off of them to keep them nice and tidy. She originally measured a 13/16 but they were too tall and hurt her knee when she bent it. We ended up sizing down and getting 13/15. We've only had them about a month but so far, so good!
Date published: 2013-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from tread step Half chap love these chaps! Fit great and look great. Sizing options are fabulous to get a perfect fit.
Date published: 2013-09-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Super thin Material?! The first thing I was shocked about was how thin the suede was. I cannot imagine it holding up at all if used several times a week. For $90 I was expecting something more durable looking and feeling. Tredstep does have very sturdy zippers, so do these, and the fit is great. But what good is a sturdy zipper and a good fit, if everything else is flimsy?! I think friction on this material from riding will make this bunch and/or pill.These are going back asap!
Date published: 2013-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Comfortable I love my new half chaps. They are so comfortable and look great! I haven't had them long enough to know how durable they are but I have not been disappointed in Tredstep yet.
Date published: 2013-06-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The closest thing to custom Finally a half chap that fits. I am a petit woman and have a real hard time finding a half chap that fits my shorter leg. Tredstep's unique method of sizing by the inch makes for a great fit. The zipper is good quality and I think it will last. The only complaint is the snap which is easy to put on, but hard to get off. I can always count on Smartpak to carry quality products at reasonable prices. Thanks Smartpak!
Date published: 2013-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally, a pair that fits These chaps are great. I had tried the Fuller Fillies chaps in an attempt to find a pair that would fit my calves (I have wide and short ones), but even so, they were much too tall, and a little too wide. So I went searching, because I knew that ones like these had to exist somewhere. I was between Tredstep sizes, so I wasn't sure which to order, and ended up ordering the wrong size. No problem with SmartPak's incredible return service. I had the right size in my hands not too long after. I just wish that they were available in 15/13, 16/13, and 16/14 as well. It would also be nice if there were cleaning instructions included with the chaps.As others have said, the snap at the bottom does get tricky to undo sometimes, but that can be fixed by greasing it a little. They also break in nicely; they fit my summer paddock boots right out of the box, but wouldn't zip over my winter ones when I was wearing them -- no problem -- simply left them on my winter boots overnight and they have always been easy to get on since.I can't say a whole lot about the durability, since I have only used them a handful of times (hence the 4 stars) as I got them less than two months ago, but they seem like they will hold up for a long time to come. I am considering getting another pair, so that I have both colors, I like them so much. The leather seems decently thick (time will tell), and they are the most bang for the buck that I could find without breaking my budget. On the whole, they seem like they will hold up well, and the best part is I could find a pair that fit, something I'd thought impossible.
Date published: 2013-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! I had previously ordered a knock-off brand, super light half-chaps. The old ones I had were sliding straight down my leg on every ride.After reading the other reviews, I purchased these half chaps. I find these to have a very thick durable zipper and snap. Plus, they're thick enough and appear to be durable. On a hunter ride and a dressage ride or three, they haven't slid once. I'm looking forward to using these half chaps daily in my rides.
Date published: 2013-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seem OK These seem thin, and the suede gets rubbed right away upon use. However, they do look durable. I've read all the other reviews, felt in between sizes, so ordered a 14/16, when normally I'd order a 14/17 in most half chaps. They are not super tight, but then they also won't be stretched to the extreme to fit, which puts strain on the zippers. They are very, very comfortable. One of the snaps keeps coming undone during riding -- I think that is due to my not getting a definitive "snap" when closing it. For the price of these, I hope they do last. I had tried the Dublin original suede half chaps first (from a different source), and I didn't like those at all. They seemed even thinner than these. All in all, I like them. Can't say yet that I love them.
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tredstep-BEST Half Chaps! These are exactly as advertised and I love getting what asked for... They're durable and fit well. Snaps may die though (they're not integral to the garment).
Date published: 2013-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most Durable Chaps I've Had The price for these half chaps is what I'd consider "middle of the road"", however, the value is outstanding. I'm just now getting ready to buy a new pair, and I've been riding with the same pair #ranging from a few times a week to a few times a month# since I was 16. I'm 24 now. The only reason I'm buying a new pair is that the snaps on the bottom wore out. These are outstanding value-they hold up phenomenally well. I wouldn't buy another kind.
Date published: 2013-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable Chaps! Can I just say wow! For the price range, these are definitely great chaps. I only really stumbled upon the Tredstep Ireland brand last year & have very quickly become a BIG fan! These chaps feel like a second skin when you put them on--so comfortable! And you get a much more customized fit when Tredstep chaps, since you take your calf & height measurement to order your size. Highly recommend & these go great with the Giotto lace-up paddock boots!
Date published: 2013-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tredstep half chaps Very good quality for the price. They run small, had to return the first two pair. Third time was a charm thanks to Smart Pak free shipping return policy. They are comfortable right from the start.
Date published: 2012-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good so far I can't rate the durability of these half chaps, as I've only had them a few months. The fit is perfect. My only criticism is that the suede could be a tad bit thicker.
Date published: 2012-11-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So many sizes! These are the only half chaps that I can find to fit my size! I just wish the smooth leather tredstep half chaps were less expensive. At least they fit!
Date published: 2012-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Half Chap Good suede half chaps. I'm short and muscular so I am shorter with wider calfs, so I ordered a 15/15. I was going to go with a 14/15 but upon other research learned as the width stretches, the hight of the overall chap decreases. My left calf width is 15, and my right is 15.75" after wearing for a few rides they are much easier to zipper up, but initially had a very snug fit. Love the sizing chart!
Date published: 2012-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite I use these half chaps every time I ride, and have continued to use this brand and style for over 8 years! I've had to get new ones every couple of years when the part of the calf that contacts the horse becomes too smoothed out and loses its grip. A stiff wire brush fixes that temporarily. With every pair i've gotten (3 total), the same issue comes up but it's not a big flaw for me: The snap closure at the bottom gets more and more difficult over time to undo. Its as if its getting rusted shut but there's never any rust. Eventually, the snap either breaks while i'm trying to pry it apart or I cut the whole piece off, which is no big deal because I've never needed it to keep the zipper from sliding up or anything.
Date published: 2012-10-05
  • 2016-07-29T10:27CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_75
  • loc_en_US, sid_3215, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders