Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Tredstep Donatello Field Boot

Tredstep Ireland Ltd.
- Item #19485
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Tredstep presents the "rebirth" of beautiful, classically designed boots reinterpreted to offer the rider unparalleled performance, comfort, and fit. Incorporating the first ever design of a top class boot which flexes with the rider, this boot enhances the effectiveness and comfort of the riding experience. This innovation is enveloped in exquisite leather and beautiful lines offering unsurpassed sophisticated luxury.

Favorite Features

  • Rear stretch panel and top gusset ensure a slim, contoured fit
  • Innovative ankle flexion design reduces break in time
  • Side spur rests
  • Rolled toe cap
  • Full-length heavy duty YKK coil zipper
  • Imported

Sizing It Up

37 (US 6.5-7)
38 (US 7.5)
39 (US 8-8.5)
40 (US 9)
41 (US 9.5-10)
42 (US 10.5)

 

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Beauty in every step! TheTredstep Medici Dress Boot ...
    Description:
    Beauty in every step! TheTredstep Medici Dress Boot is expertly designed with artful flair and the utmost attention to detail. The Medici Tall boot epitomizes the allure of cutting edge heritage and handmade luxury.Impeccablecraftsmanship using sumptuous hand sourced calfskin leathers ...
    *This item is on close out* Still made ...
    Description:
    *This item is on close out* Still made in Italy! Sergio Grasso products are designed exclusively using carefully selected full grain calf leather. The shapes are cut by master shoemakers using laser technology to create precision seams and a perfect ...
    The Tredstep Medici Field Boot encompasses beauty in ...
    Description:
    The Tredstep Medici Field Boot encompasses beauty in every step. Expertly designed with artful flair and the utmost attention to detail, the Medici Tall boot epitomizes the allure of cutting edge heritage and handmade luxury. Meticulous craftsmanship using hand sourced ...
    TheDeNiro Salento Field Boot is a completely handmade ...
    Description:
    TheDeNiro Salento Field Boot is a completely handmade riding boot that features DeNiro's superb performance and quality Favorite Features Exquisite Italian calfskin WRAT leather preserves long-lasting color, durability, andwater-resistantProtection Grain calfskin liningprovidessuperior quality Full length rear ...
    Combining European elegance and style with Ariat's exclusive ...
    Description:
    Combining European elegance and style with Ariat's exclusive ATS technology, the Monaco series offers "A" Circuit and International Riders top of the line show boots with the chic sophistication, fit and craftsmanship previously only available in custom boots. With its ...
    Ariat's integrated premium technology takes another step forward ...
    Description:
    Ariat's integrated premium technology takes another step forward in Fit, performance, craftsmanship, and innovation -- this is the AriatQuantum Crowne Pro's competitive advantage with a look of confident, elegant authority. Made with a integrated insole system combining honeycomb shank for ...
    Look great, rain or shine! This beautiful all ...
    Description:
    Look great, rain or shine! This beautiful all weather boot is made of the finest 'Leather Look'material, which provides aSoft leather feel with superb wear. The shaft of the boot is cushion lined with moisture-wicking Dri-Lex. The top of the ...
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tredstep Donatello Field Boot is rated 4.5111 out of 5 by 225.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far, I love these boots! My entire barn rides in these boots and loves them, and I'm no exception. I'm super glad I went with the Donatellos! I've ridden in them four times and they're almost broken in. Use the heel lifts that come with the boots until they drop; it kept the back of my knees much happier. These boots were more affordable than a new pair of paddock boots and half chaps, and they look so, so much nicer. Out of the box, they were too tight in the calf (my husband had to zip me up the first few times) and too tall, but after speaking with the super helpful customer service rep at SP, she convinced me I was in the correct size. And of course she was right! I would buy these again.
    Date published: 2016-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boots! I've had these boots for over two years and I love love love them! When I first got them they broke in after just a few rides! They fit the calf well and fit true to the size (8.5 rt), not to mention they look so elegant when they are cleaned up for a show! I rode in these boots several times a week in all weather and they have held up like champs! I am particularly hard on boots due to the fact that my barn is all outdoors and the yard can get very muddy. My only complaints are that just this past show season the elastic laces started to snap, I re-laced them with the extra laces provided only to have them snap again (although it might be because I didn't re-lace them properly), I finally just laced them with normal tallboot laces and they are working well now. What comes down to the "death" of these boots is the zipper. Like I said, I was rough on these boots, and the zipper took the brunt of it. I was walking at the barn with them zipped all the way when the zipper down at the right heel busted open. But other than that, these boots are amazing, high quality boots made with great materials and are a fantastic value! I will definitely be getting another pair of treadstep boots!
    Date published: 2015-12-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Boots for price After 30 years in my Made in England pull on field boots it was time to move on....I have been resistant to boots with zippers feeling that the zipper is going to fail and then I am out a pair of boots. I researched for hours online, tried on boots in tack shops, etc and came down to two pairs, the Ariat Volant and the Treadstep Donatello. The Volant is my hands down favorite, fit was fantastic and I like the zipper on the side of the boot better than on the back. Due to the fact the the Volant does have a bit of a Matrix look to them and they cost $200 more than the Treadsteps I went with the latter. These do have a slimming look in the ankle but the footbed is not as 'beefy' as the Ariat. I wear a size 10 consistently from one boot to another and the 9.5/ 10 in this Treadstep fits well. My foot width is average and I can wear a thicker sock if I want as these feel like there is a bit of room on the sides. My calves measure differently from one to another, 14 3/4" and 15 1/2", so I went with a Regular calf. Boot zips easily on my smaller calf and on the larger zip was a bit snug the first few times I wore them but has 'given' just enough after about 5 wears to zip easily. I wore these the for the first time when I had to go on a 2 hour drive - this helped with the break in at the back of the knee since these boots are a bit tall to start, I ordered Regular height. After two wears the back knee has relaxed a little and I don't notice. I wish these had shine to them but it seams all the new boots have a dull look to them, I will have to try and buff them and see what happens. I have cleaned these once after 6 rides and I did get more black on my sponge and towel than I had expected though I don't see any bare spots on the boots. My one beef has to do with the pricing...when I purchased it was during a 15% off sale but these boots were 'excluded' due to manufacturer restrictions. I did notice that these boots were the same price with all the competition so i went ahead and purchased. Four weeks later they are on sale at another largeHORSE competitor for $60 less! If it was only $25 bucks it would not bother me quite as much but $60....
    Date published: 2015-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots! These boots are great! No comments yet on durability, but instantly comfortable with enough room for my arch and still snug around the cafe. The hidden elastic is very clean looking and the holder for the zipper is a neat idea.
    Date published: 2015-10-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing boots Great boots but have gotten some blisters when walkin in them for too long but other than that super comfy in saddle
    Date published: 2015-10-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall great boots for the price I am on my second pair of treadsteps, except this time around I'm saving them just for the show ring. My last pair was used almost everyday. I found them extremely comfortable and we great to ride in. After about a year or so, they started to discolor, which I believe is because wearing them while washing horses or in the rain. My second pair is holding up nicely so far!
    Date published: 2015-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tredstep Donatello Boots Highly Recommended I received these boots at the end of last month, put them on, hopped on my horse, flatted and jumped. I couldn't believe how comfortable they are! Two tiny little spots on one ankle that I easily remedied with little band-aids. Wore them to a show the next week. I highly recommend these boots. My suggestion is to measure your calf carefully. I returned one pair for being too tight in the calf, went to a medium instead of a regular and they were perfect. They run true to size.
    Date published: 2015-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous!! Excellent boot with beautiful stylish construction. Made with high quality materials and they fit like a glove. Very little breaking in necessary. Super satisfied with my purchase!
    Date published: 2015-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great first pair of boots to own I bought these boots about 9 months ago and still love them! They've helped my leg position tremendously and complete the look of my show outfit. With that being said, the boots do tend to dig into the back of my ankles after breaking in, and drop a good bit. I'm 5'3 and ordered the normal height but regret not buying the tall height. I clean and condition these boots regularly and still get asked if the boots are brand new! Overall if you take care of these boots, they will last a long time and still look brand new.
    Date published: 2015-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boot These boots are really good quality! They even keep my leg in a better form. Love love love these boots!!
    Date published: 2015-07-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Overall Boot I've had these boots for a week now and love them!!! Unfortunatley I am starting to get baby blisters on my heels from the break-in process, but I was expecting this with new boots. They only rub when I walk in then, they fit much better when I ride. Otherwise they look beautiful! I know other people who have bought this same boot, who have had issues with the stitching coming loose, but so far I've had no issues!
    Date published: 2015-07-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I bought these boots from my local tack shop and almost immediately the zipper on one failed. I was able to fix it myself but after a few months of riding (4 days a week) the leather is dull and looks very warn (especially from my stirrup leathers). I clean and condition them regularly, but still am not pleased with how they have worn over time.
    Date published: 2015-06-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Strange Fit, great leather I bought these boots for my daughter last year and LOVED the grippy, soft leather. So this year I ordered a pair for myself for show to replace my Ariats. They did NOT fit me at all. I don't have large calves but they were snug on the bottom half and fit but had a big gap at the top. I could pinch excess. The excess poked out and looked terrible. Very strange. I had to send them back. I'll stick to my Ariats. But Smartpak is AWESOME and I will keep shopping Smartpak
    Date published: 2015-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect tall boot at a great price! I've had these boots for two years now. They are so comfortable and so beautiful. I wear them to school in at home and at the A shows. The detail makes them look like custom boots. They were super easy to break in and have held the original shape thus far. (The zippers are beginning to fail me now, but I've worn them for two years without any other issues.)
    Date published: 2015-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only boot I will buy I am super happy with those tall boots. I have a very slim calf, so these fit perfect. I usually wear a size 8, so I got the 8-8.5 and they fit like a glove. I would highly recommend these boots. They look very nice on.
    Date published: 2015-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Custom Look! I have been a big fan of the tredstep half chaps for years, so I thought I would try the tall boots. The SmartPak agent that I had a live chat with was very knowledged and helpful with the sizing of the boot and I couldn't believe they arrived so fast. They broke in very quickly, after one ride! They are very good quality and I would highly recommend them!
    Date published: 2015-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elegant boot I bought the boots a few weeks before my first show of the season- they fit perfectly, looked elegant and for tall boots broke in smoothly! And were a good price!
    Date published: 2015-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality and Comfortable Boot I recently purchased these boots along with the Ariat Challenge to see which I would like best. Hands down, the Tredstep Donatello won. Though the Ariat Challenge is a nice boot, I wasn't thrilled with the leather and had trouble zipping the boot. The Donatello leather is much more supple. The fit is perfect and they are extremely comfortable. In addition this is a very well made boot. The quality is excellent. I will need to break in the ankle area a bit but that is not unusual for me. Other than that, these are super comfortable and I am extremely happy with my purchase.
    Date published: 2015-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love love love These boots were so supple right out of the box and fit like a glove. I did have to order a half size down from my regular show size though. I can't yet speak for durability, but so far am very pleased with both style and comfort.
    Date published: 2015-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from super comfortable Within a week of wearing them, they were already broken in, and even more comfortable than my old pair of Ariats. Definitely worth it!
    Date published: 2015-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for thick calves! I had a really hard time finding boots. I went to my local tack shop and felt upset when I couldn't zip them up over my calves. Not only that, the people working at the tack shop were rude and made me feel like a fat cow. I bought some fuller fillies but those were way too big. I gave up but decided to take a risk with these boots and I'm so glad I did! They fit me perfectly and zip up with no problem now! So happy with them and they have become my new show boot. If you need boots and have thicker calves, these are the nicest you can get without going custom. Never stop making these!
    Date published: 2015-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Too many great qualities to name! I got these boots approximately three years ago. They still look like new to this day. The leather is great quality. Right out of the box they were comfortable and did not take more than a week or two to break them in. I just rode in them to break them in, no fancy tricks or anything. I did not get a single blister while wearing them! That's how comfortable they are. I have been using them as my schooling and show boots. I am a working student, so I am wearing them to ride multiple horses almost everyday, doing barn chores, etc. After each day at the barn I usually clean and polish them. Once or twice a month if I feel they need to be conditioned I will do that too. But they are very low-maintenance boots. I haven't had any issues with them to be honest. What I really love about them is that they look like you are wearing custom tall boots, while only spending like 1/4 of the price. They contour to your leg perfectly, and have a thin strip near the zipper that makes them stay fitted to your leg. The thin strip near the zipper isn't even noticeable when riding. The spur rests are at a nice spot, and I have no issues with them. Plus, the laces on these boots never untie accidentally. They are tucked in the tongue area, so I have never had to fix them at all. Overall, fantastic quality for a tall boot and at a fantastic price point. Great alternative to customs. Can be used for schooling, showing, or even both!
    Date published: 2015-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice fit! Great fit over my full calf! Very slimming and look more expensive than they are. Feel broken in already.
    Date published: 2015-01-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Boot for the price! So I'm a short lady with wider than average calves.... This combination made it very hard to find boots that fit but not to tall so I wouldn't goose step around. After trying the Tredstep Donatello Plus size I realized the Tredstep boots run pretty large in the calf. I down sized to the Tredstep Donatello's the full was definitely big enough for my wide-ish calves. I'm still in the processing of breaking in my boots, so walking is a bit difficult. I'm hoping they drop a bit. However, riding in them is a dream. One star off for not having this is boot in a short. Sorry Tredstep short ladies have needs too.
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Boots I was going to wait to review these until I'd broken them in better, but I do like them so far. First, they are extremely attractive - I absolutely love the look. The sizing is accurate - I was worried because I normally wear a slim in other boots, but wear a regular in these (this might mean that they run small, so take that into account). They are taking a little bit to break in. I see that a few people buying these boots wore them directly to a show, etc - I've been wearing them to school in and have probably worn them five times or so, but they still haven't completely broken in. I would not wear them to a competition right out of the box - mine are still stiff and have not yet dropped. I noticed a bit of a rub in the ankle for the first time yesterday, but I think that was more a wardrobe malfunction than an actual issue with the boots. Overall, I am very pleased so far.
    Date published: 2014-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only boots I've EVER found that fit everywhere! Since I was kid and started wearing tall boots, I could NEVER find a pair that fit me properly. Boots have come a long way since then, but as an adult it's still been a nightmare finding a pair of affordable boots that fit properly everywhere they're supposed to.I'm 5'10" with about a 16.5" calf, a size 8.5 foot and small ankle. I ride once a week, so it didn't make sense for me to put a lot of money into a tall boot, but I needed something decent because I do show sometimes in the small local circuits.If a boot fit my foot, it was too tight in the calf. If it fit my calf it was too big in the foot. If I bought wide calf sizes, they'd fit my calf but be WAY too big at the top and I'd have to have them altered, etc., etc. And NONE of them were ever tall enough. I literally spent hours researching boots (thank goodness for SmartPak's free shipping/returns or I never would have been able to find these!)I tried a pair of Fuller Fillies (got the LAST pair in the size I needed) and while they were beautiful boots that would've worked, they were too big in the foot and were very large around the ankle for me.I found these Tredstep Donatellos and was able to order a pair of 39 (US Size 8/8.5) - Full - Tall's. I knew I'd be right on the edge of these fitting my calf, so I kept my fingers crossed that they'd be worth the wait after being backordered a couple months.They were definitely worth the wait! They're beautiful boots for the money, and are THE BEST FITTING pair of boots I have EVER - and I mean EVER - had. The foot fits perfectly (I'm a pretty dead-on 8.5), they were more than tall enough, and although they were tight, I got them zipped up over my wide calves. They send you heel lifts, extra laces, and inflatable boot trees, which are nice extras.I did get some rubbing behind my knees and ankles that was pretty bad and made walking in the boots for any length of time painful, but I expected that and just put large band aids in the areas that got rubbed and they were much better to walk in. I was honestly thrilled that I'd finally found a boot that was actually tall enough to rub the back of my knee!I've had these boots about 3 months now, and with only riding once a week, I'm just now getting them broken in comfortably. So far the zippers have held up even with me putting a pretty good strain on them. I have had trouble on one side getting the zipper up all the way because the boots are so tall, but I can snap them at the top so I can ride, although the zipper comes down a couple inches.Once the boots are thoroughly broken in I'm sure I won't have any problem with the zipper going up and staying up. There's a double tab at the top: A thin leather tab with a hole in it that you're supposed to put the zipper through that hooks over the snap part, then a heavier leather tab that snaps over the thinner one to keep the zippers up.I'm so excited to have finally found a pair of boots that provided a solution to my impossible mission of finding a pair of boots that fit my large calves, tall leg and normal-sized foot/ankle! I can't see myself buying anything else after this. Thank you Tredstep and SmartPak!!
    Date published: 2014-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great First Boot This is my first pair of tall boots and I absolutely love them! They are really comfortable even when you first get them and need to break them in the rest of the way. The leather feels already half-way broken in when you put them on, you just need to break down the calf portion and have them fall where you need. For me (7.5 Tall/Medium), the boots are so perfectly fitting that there isn't much "falling" at the ankle (maybe just a bit high behind my knee but they'd be too short if I got them regular). I love these boots and will continue to have them as a first choice if I ever need to get another pair or recommend them. I also love that they aren't too expensive, yet the quality is amazing.`
    Date published: 2014-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots! If you like stiffer leather that can polish to a high shine, this is it! I love the contoured fit of the boot- it fits my narrow ankle AND my curvy calf. They're also durable and look great for a long time. My only complaint is that they DO stretch with use/sweat, so go with half-inch narrower than you think you measure.
    Date published: 2014-12-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from donatello boots I loved these boots so much that as soon as I wore them out I ordered another identical pair.
    Date published: 2014-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I took the plunge with these boots and am thrilled After borrowing my friend's tall boots for a schooling show I knew I couldn't go back to my paddock boots and half chaps. After doing a lot of research for my price point (I'm an undergrad student and fund all of my riding on my own) and looking for designs I liked I went to my local tack shop and took the plunge with the Tredsteps. I love them. They're my first tall boots and I was very concerned with the fit. I have a small ankle with a large calf. Usually this make my life a nightmare in finding half-chaps (the last time I got a new pair it took hours to find a pair that fit properly) and I was expecting that nightmare with tall boots. INstead Tredstep makes so many increments that these boots fit like a dream! They were a bit tight until they broke in, but now they're like a second skin. They've held up to riding every day and even to having to lead my horse through a brook and a three hour hunter pace. I adore these boots and am so happy that I took the plunge into tall boots with Tredstep. I do recommend that if you're unsure of your boot size to go to a store to be able to try them on especially with all of the size options.
    Date published: 2014-11-21
    • 2016-05-25T17:26CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_219
    • loc_en_US, sid_9485, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders