Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Tredstep Custom Fit Half Chap

Tredstep Ireland Ltd.
- Item #19544
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Tredstep's Custom Fit, as the name suggests, reaches a new level in fit and performance. The use of exquisite soft oiled leather enables the Custom Fit legging to mold to your leg while maintaining full flexibility and a secure feel. A truly stylish chap with an elegant top line and subtle details. Fitted with an outer stretch panel alongside a rear zip for ease of fitting and expansion of leg muscles while you ride. YKK zippers and snaps.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tredstep Custom Fit Half Chap is rated 3.871 out of 5 by 31.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent fit for thin calves I bought these half chaps for my daughter as she has exceptionally long but tall calves and they are the only ones that fit. They break in and fit her beautifully. The zipper isn't the strongest and we had to replace (with Smartpak's guarantee) but are very happy.
    Date published: 2014-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tredstep custom fit chaps I have not used the new chaps, but have had a previous pair which I have used for the past 3 years and love the fit and function as well as look of the chaps. After 3 years use the stretchable leather on the back of the chaps has frayed and the nylon strap which fits under the boot came unsewn requiring several repairs. I still ordered 2 additional pair because I have liked them so much.
    Date published: 2014-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Half Chaps As a professional, I wanted a nice pair of half chaps to ride in everyday. I am super pleased with these! The first time I put them on, someone asked if they were a pair of Ariat Monacos! It took them a minute to realize they were half chaps, which is exactly what I was looking for. They fit great, the leather is nice, but sturdy and feels like they'll hold up well. My ONLY complaint, is I wear them with a pair of the Tredstep Giotto back zip paddocks. The snap at the top of the paddocks to cover the zipper is awkward under the chap. However, I have noticed as the chaps break in, this is becoming less and less of a problem.
    Date published: 2014-08-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks great I got these about a month ago and the strap on the bottom is long and they had to fall a little bit but they look great and work well.
    Date published: 2014-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful fully-line half chap My calf measures 13 so I bought a 13/18 - these are tight! particularly around the very top of the chap. I've oiled and haven't worn them a ton but they are getting better - but from the get-go they were nice to ride in. Good feel, they look like tall boots and the rear zipper is very nice. If there is a negative it is that the elastic under the foot is a little long but that can be remedied. I wear spurs and put these over the top versus spurs on top - they work great. Just need to find the right pair of pants to wear them with..... skinny jeans are okay but not perfect and my breeches were almost too thick with the leather knee patch. But really, really nice half chaps.
    Date published: 2014-08-18
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from not great for wide calves Ok here is the problem with these for me: I measured my calf and it was just under 17 inches wide, following the instructions to the letter. And the height was 16 on the dot, again following instructions. The problem is, they zip from top down. So when I go to try to zip them, on me, the zipper starts just above the very widest part of the calf. I can't get the zipper even started which is necessary to engage the "stretch" part- I can't even get the zipper moving at all. Same goes for the deluxe Tredstep chaps, I ordered both in 17/16. The zipper should really start at the bottom/narrower part of the leg and then it would have some momentum. Very frustrating. I also had someone hold the chap pulling on the stretch panel, and at the widest part it was really only 16". So not sure if it would have fit anyway, but I will never know if it even came close because of the design.
    Date published: 2014-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit and look!!! I bought for competition purposes with paddock boots, covers most of zipper on ariat paddock boots and looks great. Great fit does not give you the square calf width, actually curves to leg after a couple times. Go up an inch for calf width runs small in that area for some people.
    Date published: 2014-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft leather and so comfortable! I have only worn a few weeks, but so far I love them. Snaps and zippers are easy to use and they fit great with my Tredstep Paddock boots. I have tall skinny calfs and the 13/18 fit perfect. Literally no break in needed.
    Date published: 2014-01-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not the Best I bought these a few months ago and at first, they were great. Fit is spot on, the leather's great, and they look like tall boots. However, they don't last very long. The zipper at first just stuck, but then it started splitting and finally, completely broke. I was debating just replacing the zipper, and then I found that on the back, where the not leather stretchy part is, that it was almost totally worn through. Only lasted me about 2 1/2 months.
    Date published: 2013-09-04
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Runs small zipper is impossible to workToo hard to manage while on the back of the calf.
    Date published: 2013-07-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Look Great! I recently bought these half chaps after a lengthy search online. I love them- they look like tall boots and I have gotten several compliments. I wear them over my Ariat paddock boots which works fine. I think they run true to size- definitely tight at first, but now they are easy to zip up while still staying tight on my leg. I can't comment on the durability since I've only had them a few weeks.
    Date published: 2013-04-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love these half chaps I hate shopping for boots and half chaps because I can never find anything that fits me. These are the first that I've seen come in a 15/15. These replaced my schooling half chaps, which only fit because they were suede with velcro- I could fold down the top to make them shorter, and the velcro gave them a wide range of fit. These are almost perfect- I've never had a pair of half chaps that fit as well as these. To be truly perfect I'd prefer that they came in more increments than just whole inches. A 15.25" or 15.5" calf width probably would have been better for me, especially with some of my thicker breeches, but a 16" would have been way too big. The zipper is a little bit annoying. I have a pair of Ariat half chaps that zip up the back like this, so I already knew how to "contort" to get the zipper to catch. But with the zipper being very small and the half chaps being a titch tight, they're rather hard to zip up. I found that after I get them up a couple of inches, the best thing to do is stick my thumb on the inside of the zipper and pointer finger on the outside and not bother with the zipper pull. These are also pretty spendy and cost more than my "show" half chaps. Assuming they stretch out a tiny bit and the zipper doesn't break, I can't really complain, though. They fit great and they look very smart. If they made a "Custom Fit" dress boot, I'd buy that, too!
    Date published: 2013-04-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice but not for me I tried twice on these half chaps, but still couldn't get the size right, despite following the sizing directions to the T. I gave up after 2, and after I learned my current were acceptable for the clinic I was ordering them for. I think they could work for some people, but the zipper was almost impossible to make work - but that may have been just because they were still too small.
    Date published: 2013-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! Okay, I am short. And, I am a curvy girl, but not curvy enough for the Fuller Fillies stuff. I have a rotten time finding boots and half chaps that fit. They usually go up way, way past my knee. These don't! They fit exactly the way they say they will. I LOVE them! They are pretty. Look very much like a tall boot (although, my trainer sill makes us wear real tall boots to show). They are breaking in very well. They are much easier to get on over breeches than jeans. Great leather. I am worried about the zipper, as it seems a little in the small toothed side. But, so far they are fine. The zip up from the bottom is not my preference, but I am getting used to it. They are snug without being uncomfortable, they have nice grip in the saddle and they look smart. If I were Ariat, I would be worried about this company!
    Date published: 2013-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great chaps at good price These chaps are true to size and appear to be nice quality
    Date published: 2013-01-12
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed I ordered these to replace my older Tredsteps that I really liked. These are a new design & run very large. I gave up after trying two different sizes. I also didn't like that they went to a smaller zipper & not a YKK zipper.i return them so never used them so i can't rate durability.
    Date published: 2012-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy with purchase I got these in a 14/19 and was very happy with my purchase. They took a few days only to break in and literally molded to my leg within a week. They are easy to clean with leather cleaner and some mink oil keeps them soft and protected. I have gotten many compliments on them. The zippers have held up so far but I haven't had them long enough to really comment on overall durability. I probably could have even gone a size smaller but they still look fantastic.
    Date published: 2012-08-28
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Zippers!! The half chap leather is nice.. but getting these half chaps zipped up will make you insane!! The zipper is super small (read: the zipper pull is small and hard to grip and the zipper teeth are tiny making them hard to set in the groove to zip up) and the position of where they lay on the half chap is absolutely NUTS! What were they thinking?!You literally have to contort your body to get these things on... I don't have time nor energy to fight with my half chaps... they went back to SmartPak!
    Date published: 2012-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best half chaps so far! I needed a pair of half chaps that were reasonably priced, yet looked like a quality boot.These half chaps have exceeded my expectations. The quality of the leather is superior and because they come in so many sizes, they fit very well. It is actually hard to tell that I don't have on an actual field boot. The elastic that goes under the boot is a little long, as mentioned in other reviews, but that was easily remedied. I would certainly recommended these and will buy them again.
    Date published: 2012-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing these are amazing. i could not ask for more.who could? they form to you and are just loose enough. love the color and feel.the snap did break off and coulnot be fixed. they were replaced withot a problem. being a man and finding clothing can be challanging. these were perfect though and lasted for nearly 2 years!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Date published: 2012-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceeded my expectations! I love these chaps and can't say enough of how happy I am with this purchase. The chaps are like glue once you're in the saddle, your leg never moves! Sizing is a bit tricky - I tried on a 14/18 in suede and they fit beautifully - when I bought the 14/18 in the Custom Chap they zipped right up (which is not a good sign to me because the leather will stretch). I returned the 14/18 and got a 13/18 instead, which was virtually impossible to zip up because they were so tight. After a few hours of wearing them on my bare legs with lots of Lexol, I rode in them with riding tights underneath and have never looked back. They only took a few days to really fit my leg "custom" and I will NEVER buy anything but the Tredsteps! I am an Ariat lover, but now that I have strayed and bought the Tredsteps, I'll most likely always buy Tredstep for chaps. I have had SO many compliments on the chaps and how beautiful they look on. I really recommend getting the smaller size and stretching them to your leg - you will love how molded to your leg they become! The leather quality is fantastic as well! My only criticism would be that the zipper, though sleek and classy, is a bit small and hard to grab. This I can overlook for how elated I am with the chaps overall.
    Date published: 2012-04-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Strap too long The strap that goes under your boot is a bit too long, but very good quality leather and fits very well. Be sure to know your calf measurement because they do not stretch!
    Date published: 2012-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love These Half Chaps I got these for Christmas and these half chaps are way better than my old ones. I had to have someone help me put them on the first 2 or 3 times but after that I could do it and now they fit perfectly. I'm glad I went with a tighter size because they might have gotten to loose if I hadn't. They broke in relatively quickly and I get compliments on them all the time. The zippers are really nice too. A couple times I thought for sure I was going to break them trying to get them on, but nope, they survived. Hopefully they last a long time and if they do I will for sure buy another pair.
    Date published: 2012-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE!!! I look like I'm wearing beautiful tall boots! These fit SO well, are made with beautiful leather, they're perfect!! I have 12/17, which are a little tall right now so I'm keeping them unbuttoned until they drop at the ankle so I don't get that break over behind the knee. The only complaint is the strap that goes under the boot is way way way to long, but my local shoe/luggage repair guy fixed them easily. These are amazing!!!!!!
    Date published: 2011-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Half Chaps LOVE these half chaps. They actually fit my calves (12") and are tall enough (17"). The only issue I have is that the elastic that goes under my paddock boot is too long.
    Date published: 2011-11-04
    • 2015-08-29T13:11CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_30
    • loc_en_US, sid_9544, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.