Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Tredstep Custom Fit Half Chap

Tredstep Ireland Ltd.
- Item #19544
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Tredstep's Custom Fit, as the name suggests, reaches a new level in fit and performance. The use of exquisite soft oiled leather enables the Custom Fit legging to mold to your leg while maintaining full flexibility and a secure feel. A truly stylish chap with an elegant top line and subtle details. Fitted with an outer stretch panel alongside a rear zip for ease of fitting and expansion of leg muscles while you ride. YKK zippers and snaps.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tredstep Custom Fit Half Chap is rated 3.9756 out of 5 by 41.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good They work great just remember they will probably stretch a little.
    Date published: 2015-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Half Chaps These really fit well. They are the perfect height as they don't cut into the bend of my knee and cause discomfort. They really look great over my Ariat paddock boots. I wish I had gone this route many years ago.
    Date published: 2015-11-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality leather for the price I purchased these half chaps about a month ago. I would have given them five stars, but upon pulling them out of the bag, the little Tredstep metal cap on the right chap fell off and I had to super glue it back on. Otherwise, these chaps fit pretty well.I had a paid of the deluxe half chaps that were great for the price - but I needed something I could polish up and pass as tall boots for schooling shows. As someone who has a shorter leg, the high cut Spanish top really helps to make it look like I'm taller than I am, which is a huge plus in my book. These chaps are difficult to get on the first few times because the leather is thick and stiff. Some Horseman's One Step and a little breaking it did wonders.A word of advice - the calf portion of this half chap sits higher than the sidezip models do, so you may find that you have to order a size up. I normally wear a 15 calf and ordered a 16 to accommodate.
    Date published: 2015-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pretty I bought these a few weeks ago and love them. They're comfortable and very pretty. Hoping they will last!
    Date published: 2015-09-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Zipper and snap issues I bought these half chaps in 2012. First the snaps at the top separated and I had to have them replaced with a local cobbler. Now, the zipper is separating from the leather and I cannot zip them up or down. The leather is in great shape but Tredstep really needs to improve the quality of the hardware on these half chaps. For $149 the hardware should be as durable and long-lasting as the leather. The fit of these chaps is wonderful and I really do like them otherwise. I have emailed SmartPak and am confident they will be able to help with a return or repairs, since I have only ridden in these chaps a few months.
    Date published: 2015-05-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from no. awful save your money for something with quality not this GARBAGE
    Date published: 2015-04-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Zipper problems These are absolutely my very favorite half chaps of any, but, I gave the overall rating because of the zipper. It is a very fine, flimsy plastic zipper that rips. Within a month or so of use, the teeth of the zipper on all three pair I have tried ripped away from the fabric of the zipper at the spot where the top of the paddock boot meets. Then the zipper comes undone from the bottom up while you're riding, About 2 years ago Smartpak exchanged my first pair for a new pair, which had the same problem but I loved the chaps enough to have my local cobbler change to a sturdy metal zipper which worked great. I recently replaced that zipper again to have a backup pair of half chaps. Otherwise the chaps are perfect. Beautiful leather, elegant looking, tailored fit to the leg and the rest of the chap lasts at least two years with moderately heavy use. Recently tried one more time hoping the zipper issue was a fluke on my last two pair. Unfortunately not! With the price of the chap plus two new zippers at $30 each I can't rationalize buying these anymore! Treadstep please put a sturdy zipper in these and i will by them the rest of my riding days!
    Date published: 2015-04-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid every day half chap! This is the second pair of Tredstep custom fit half chaps I have purchased and they are a solid every day half chap. Highly recommended.
    Date published: 2015-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these half chaps! I have had them only a few weeks, so cannot speak to longevity, but I am really happy with these half chaps. They fit snugly, but are very comfortable. I was a bit worried about the rear zipper, based on other reviews, but If I sit down to put them on, it works fine. The first time was a bit of a struggle, but now I can zip them up with no problem if I am sitting. It is worth the extra trouble to have that nice fit! They give a great feeling to my ride, something I hadn't expected. My old half chaps, baggier (and easy to zip) were not doing me any favors. The differencethese make is amazing.They are more expensive, but give a custom boot feel.
    Date published: 2014-12-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent fit for thin calves I bought these half chaps for my daughter as she has exceptionally long but tall calves and they are the only ones that fit. They break in and fit her beautifully. The zipper isn't the strongest and we had to replace (with Smartpak's guarantee) but are very happy.
    Date published: 2014-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tredstep custom fit chaps I have not used the new chaps, but have had a previous pair which I have used for the past 3 years and love the fit and function as well as look of the chaps. After 3 years use the stretchable leather on the back of the chaps has frayed and the nylon strap which fits under the boot came unsewn requiring several repairs. I still ordered 2 additional pair because I have liked them so much.
    Date published: 2014-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Half Chaps As a professional, I wanted a nice pair of half chaps to ride in everyday. I am super pleased with these! The first time I put them on, someone asked if they were a pair of Ariat Monacos! It took them a minute to realize they were half chaps, which is exactly what I was looking for. They fit great, the leather is nice, but sturdy and feels like they'll hold up well. My ONLY complaint, is I wear them with a pair of the Tredstep Giotto back zip paddocks. The snap at the top of the paddocks to cover the zipper is awkward under the chap. However, I have noticed as the chaps break in, this is becoming less and less of a problem.
    Date published: 2014-08-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks great I got these about a month ago and the strap on the bottom is long and they had to fall a little bit but they look great and work well.
    Date published: 2014-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful fully-line half chap My calf measures 13 so I bought a 13/18 - these are tight! particularly around the very top of the chap. I've oiled and haven't worn them a ton but they are getting better - but from the get-go they were nice to ride in. Good feel, they look like tall boots and the rear zipper is very nice. If there is a negative it is that the elastic under the foot is a little long but that can be remedied. I wear spurs and put these over the top versus spurs on top - they work great. Just need to find the right pair of pants to wear them with..... skinny jeans are okay but not perfect and my breeches were almost too thick with the leather knee patch. But really, really nice half chaps.
    Date published: 2014-08-18
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from not great for wide calves Ok here is the problem with these for me: I measured my calf and it was just under 17 inches wide, following the instructions to the letter. And the height was 16 on the dot, again following instructions. The problem is, they zip from top down. So when I go to try to zip them, on me, the zipper starts just above the very widest part of the calf. I can't get the zipper even started which is necessary to engage the "stretch" part- I can't even get the zipper moving at all. Same goes for the deluxe Tredstep chaps, I ordered both in 17/16. The zipper should really start at the bottom/narrower part of the leg and then it would have some momentum. Very frustrating. I also had someone hold the chap pulling on the stretch panel, and at the widest part it was really only 16". So not sure if it would have fit anyway, but I will never know if it even came close because of the design.
    Date published: 2014-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit and look!!! I bought for competition purposes with paddock boots, covers most of zipper on ariat paddock boots and looks great. Great fit does not give you the square calf width, actually curves to leg after a couple times. Go up an inch for calf width runs small in that area for some people.
    Date published: 2014-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft leather and so comfortable! I have only worn a few weeks, but so far I love them. Snaps and zippers are easy to use and they fit great with my Tredstep Paddock boots. I have tall skinny calfs and the 13/18 fit perfect. Literally no break in needed.
    Date published: 2014-01-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not the Best I bought these a few months ago and at first, they were great. Fit is spot on, the leather's great, and they look like tall boots. However, they don't last very long. The zipper at first just stuck, but then it started splitting and finally, completely broke. I was debating just replacing the zipper, and then I found that on the back, where the not leather stretchy part is, that it was almost totally worn through. Only lasted me about 2 1/2 months.
    Date published: 2013-09-04
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Runs small zipper is impossible to workToo hard to manage while on the back of the calf.
    Date published: 2013-07-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Look Great! I recently bought these half chaps after a lengthy search online. I love them- they look like tall boots and I have gotten several compliments. I wear them over my Ariat paddock boots which works fine. I think they run true to size- definitely tight at first, but now they are easy to zip up while still staying tight on my leg. I can't comment on the durability since I've only had them a few weeks.
    Date published: 2013-04-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love these half chaps I hate shopping for boots and half chaps because I can never find anything that fits me. These are the first that I've seen come in a 15/15. These replaced my schooling half chaps, which only fit because they were suede with velcro- I could fold down the top to make them shorter, and the velcro gave them a wide range of fit. These are almost perfect- I've never had a pair of half chaps that fit as well as these. To be truly perfect I'd prefer that they came in more increments than just whole inches. A 15.25" or 15.5" calf width probably would have been better for me, especially with some of my thicker breeches, but a 16" would have been way too big. The zipper is a little bit annoying. I have a pair of Ariat half chaps that zip up the back like this, so I already knew how to "contort" to get the zipper to catch. But with the zipper being very small and the half chaps being a titch tight, they're rather hard to zip up. I found that after I get them up a couple of inches, the best thing to do is stick my thumb on the inside of the zipper and pointer finger on the outside and not bother with the zipper pull. These are also pretty spendy and cost more than my "show" half chaps. Assuming they stretch out a tiny bit and the zipper doesn't break, I can't really complain, though. They fit great and they look very smart. If they made a "Custom Fit" dress boot, I'd buy that, too!
    Date published: 2013-04-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice but not for me I tried twice on these half chaps, but still couldn't get the size right, despite following the sizing directions to the T. I gave up after 2, and after I learned my current were acceptable for the clinic I was ordering them for. I think they could work for some people, but the zipper was almost impossible to make work - but that may have been just because they were still too small.
    Date published: 2013-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! Okay, I am short. And, I am a curvy girl, but not curvy enough for the Fuller Fillies stuff. I have a rotten time finding boots and half chaps that fit. They usually go up way, way past my knee. These don't! They fit exactly the way they say they will. I LOVE them! They are pretty. Look very much like a tall boot (although, my trainer sill makes us wear real tall boots to show). They are breaking in very well. They are much easier to get on over breeches than jeans. Great leather. I am worried about the zipper, as it seems a little in the small toothed side. But, so far they are fine. The zip up from the bottom is not my preference, but I am getting used to it. They are snug without being uncomfortable, they have nice grip in the saddle and they look smart. If I were Ariat, I would be worried about this company!
    Date published: 2013-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great chaps at good price These chaps are true to size and appear to be nice quality
    Date published: 2013-01-12
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed I ordered these to replace my older Tredsteps that I really liked. These are a new design & run very large. I gave up after trying two different sizes. I also didn't like that they went to a smaller zipper & not a YKK zipper.i return them so never used them so i can't rate durability.
    Date published: 2012-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy with purchase I got these in a 14/19 and was very happy with my purchase. They took a few days only to break in and literally molded to my leg within a week. They are easy to clean with leather cleaner and some mink oil keeps them soft and protected. I have gotten many compliments on them. The zippers have held up so far but I haven't had them long enough to really comment on overall durability. I probably could have even gone a size smaller but they still look fantastic.
    Date published: 2012-08-28
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Zippers!! The half chap leather is nice.. but getting these half chaps zipped up will make you insane!! The zipper is super small (read: the zipper pull is small and hard to grip and the zipper teeth are tiny making them hard to set in the groove to zip up) and the position of where they lay on the half chap is absolutely NUTS! What were they thinking?!You literally have to contort your body to get these things on... I don't have time nor energy to fight with my half chaps... they went back to SmartPak!
    Date published: 2012-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best half chaps so far! I needed a pair of half chaps that were reasonably priced, yet looked like a quality boot.These half chaps have exceeded my expectations. The quality of the leather is superior and because they come in so many sizes, they fit very well. It is actually hard to tell that I don't have on an actual field boot. The elastic that goes under the boot is a little long, as mentioned in other reviews, but that was easily remedied. I would certainly recommended these and will buy them again.
    Date published: 2012-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing these are amazing. i could not ask for more.who could? they form to you and are just loose enough. love the color and feel.the snap did break off and coulnot be fixed. they were replaced withot a problem. being a man and finding clothing can be challanging. these were perfect though and lasted for nearly 2 years!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Date published: 2012-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceeded my expectations! I love these chaps and can't say enough of how happy I am with this purchase. The chaps are like glue once you're in the saddle, your leg never moves! Sizing is a bit tricky - I tried on a 14/18 in suede and they fit beautifully - when I bought the 14/18 in the Custom Chap they zipped right up (which is not a good sign to me because the leather will stretch). I returned the 14/18 and got a 13/18 instead, which was virtually impossible to zip up because they were so tight. After a few hours of wearing them on my bare legs with lots of Lexol, I rode in them with riding tights underneath and have never looked back. They only took a few days to really fit my leg "custom" and I will NEVER buy anything but the Tredsteps! I am an Ariat lover, but now that I have strayed and bought the Tredsteps, I'll most likely always buy Tredstep for chaps. I have had SO many compliments on the chaps and how beautiful they look on. I really recommend getting the smaller size and stretching them to your leg - you will love how molded to your leg they become! The leather quality is fantastic as well! My only criticism would be that the zipper, though sleek and classy, is a bit small and hard to grab. This I can overlook for how elated I am with the chaps overall.
    Date published: 2012-04-26
    • 2016-05-05T14:37CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_39
    • loc_en_US, sid_9544, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders