Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Training Surcingle

Item #17452
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

 

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Professional Training Surcingle is made of webbing and leather. Elastic insets allow for equal pressure distribution while girthing and comfort while in work. Multiple Dee rings placed for use with any type of training system. Leather lined girth and padded leather pommel. Stainless steel hardware.

Favorite Features

  • Durable
  • Equal Pressure Distribution
  • Multiple Dee Rings
  • Stainless Steel Hardware

Sizing It Up

One size.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    This Leather Lunge Caveson is made of durable ...
    Description:
    This Leather Lunge Caveson is made of durable leather. Adjustable cheek pieces and snap at the throat. Padded noseband and chin piece for extra comfort. Three rings at noseband. Brown. Horse size.
    The Web Training Surcingle is made of high ...
    Description:
    The Web Training Surcingle is made of high quality webbing. The adjustable leather straps with roller buckles on both sides and padding around the wither ensures a perfectly comfortable fit. Five top D rings and center D ring at the ...
    A great value and a must-have for any ...
    Description:
    A great value and a must-have for any horse's training! Brown leather training surcingle with appropriately placed Dee rings. Roller buckles at girth for easy adjustment. One size.
    Smarter gear for smarter riders! A great training ...
    Description:
    Smarter gear for smarter riders! A great training tool, the Rockin' SP Leather Training Fork was designed utilizing the same smarts, obsessive attention to detail, and insight of world champion riders as our other Rockin' SP products. Featuring the great ...
    The Tory Leather Vienna Side Reins are used ...
    Description:
    The Tory Leather Vienna Side Reins are used while lunging the horse to help develop balance and flexion. Used with a training surcingle or saddle while lunging, it attaches to the girth with either a snap or girth loop. Reins ...
    Dressage trainer's dream! Three color metered lunge line ...
    Description:
    Dressage trainer's dream! Three color metered lunge line is a great training aid. Colored divisions for 10m, 15m, 20m diameter circles. Canvas line with a brass snap and a rubber stop. Made in the UK.
    The Pessoa Lungeing System was invented by international ...
    Description:
    The Pessoa Lungeing System was invented by international show jumping rider Nelson Pessoa. The Pessoa Lungeing System is designed to encourage balance and a gradual build-up of topline. The Pessoa Lungeing System consists of an easy-to-put-together array of ropes, clips ...
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Training Surcingle is rated 4.661 out of 5 by 59.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very High Quality Looked high and low for a good quality lunging surcingle. Was a little apprehensive about this one since the price was so reasonable. What a pleasant surprise. It's y high quality leather and very well made. I like the addition of the elastic in it to provide some give to the horse since surcingles don't have any elastic on the girth.
    Date published: 2016-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality and it fit!! I have a large warmblood mare that we have had a hard time fitting with a surcingle and was thrilled that this one fit. It is well made and durable- the quality is better than more expensive ones I have bought.
    Date published: 2015-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice surcingle -good quality for the money. I like the easy clean materials.
    Date published: 2015-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice This is my first training surcingle purchase. I have generally used whatever surcingle was available at my barn through trainers, friends etc... I had some ideas of what things I did and did not want in a surcingle, and this one met all my criteria. I like first that it is mostly leather, and nice leather at that. I also like that it comes with a girth, and the girth has center rings. It has fit every horse I have put it on so far, but I am doubtful that the girth is large enough to accommodate our 17.1 hh Oldenburg mare. However, I can merely use a larger dressage girth if needed. It is built nicely, is sturdy, and cleans up easily. It has lots of different rings to use with pretty much any attachments you could think of.
    Date published: 2015-11-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have only had a chance to use this a few times so I can't speak for durability. But this is a really nice surcingle. The quality of the leather appears to be very high, I love the many options the multiple D-rings provide, and it cleaned up really well after lunging. Definitely recommend this product!
    Date published: 2015-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality. I recently bought this for my mustang. The quality was beyond my expectations. Smells like a fine pair of imported leather shoes that I will never be able afford as I spend all my money on horses. It also fits her comfortably.
    Date published: 2015-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value I've been using this surcingle several times a week for a little over 6 months now and it's holding up great. I use my own girth instead of the one that came with it because it was a little too big for my boy (14h3 Arabian cross). It's easy to clean, and works well with my side reins. You can't beat the price, especially for one made with leather. Highly recommend.
    Date published: 2015-02-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for the price So far I'm very happy with purchase. Biggest downside is the girth doesn't fit the largest horses. Fortunately, it buckles on both sides, so I just use another girth. However, this does mean you lose the d ring between the legs. If you use those, you'll either need a girth with it, or (for the penny punchers) a loop of twine works well.For the price though, it has rings in all the right places, has leather billets for safety, and is reasonably cushioned. Since I'm trying to fit ponies to warmbloods, I knew someone wouldn't fit, and the removable girth makes that an easy adjustment.
    Date published: 2014-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value! I recently bought this for my 15.2 TB gelding. It fits like a glove. I love the elastic for comfort, and was so impressed with the girth I'm in no hurry to use a dressage girth instead. Thank you SmartPak for another great product at a very reasonable price.
    Date published: 2014-10-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for warmbloods This item arrived very quickly and when I first opened it I was very pleased with the quality of this item. Unfortunately this was followed by great disappointment when I went to the barn to put it on my warmblood and it was not big enough for him. This item should have longer billets and girth to fit larger horses as it appears to be a great quality product. Now I have to return it and find another surcingle.
    Date published: 2014-09-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great surcingle! Very nice quality and is holding up well. Approved by dressage trainer at my barn. And great price!
    Date published: 2014-07-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent Quality Training Surcingle Much better quality than expected considering the price and country of origin. So far it is holding up well to use several times per week. It was one of the better options as it has multiple rings for attachments. I just love that the girth part has elastic: Makes it much more comfortable for my horse in training.
    Date published: 2014-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice quality I am quite happy with the quality of this surcingle. It seems to be well made and with good quality, supple leather. I did have to use a hole punch to enlarge the holes... wouldn't you think the manufacturer would match the hole size to the buckle tongue size?! Anyhow, I'm happy with it and expect it will last for many years.
    Date published: 2014-05-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ok for light use I've use this every day since I got it. While I do enjoy the elastic portion on the surcingle, I don't enjoy the cheapness of the leather. This won't be good for everyday use for very long. It's simply not durable enough. I would recommend it for those who are trying out a surcingle at this price point but not those who are well experienced and need something as durable as their horse
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Jerry-rigged to work w Pessoa I previously reviewed this, disappointed that it didn't work w the Pessoa system. Before going thru the return hassle and the upcharge, I picked up 2 carabiner clips (not "keychain") from the hardware store. Works well! Awkward photo while mare wanted to leave the barn instead of have her photo taken.
    Date published: 2014-04-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Does NOT NOT NOT work with Pessoa Training System Sircingles are WAY to small to get the Pessoa snaps thru. Very disappointed because the description says works with ANY training system. Of course, SmartPak is always great about returns/exchanges, but it's annoying.
    Date published: 2014-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the money I like the fact that this surcingle has leather billets which will break if your horse gets caught up on something. Although the leather billets are a little stiff, I oiled mine with Hydrophane leather dressing a few times and they are better. Will need to do this a few more times.
    Date published: 2014-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made surcingle for bargain price After combing my local feed and tack stores for a good quality training surcingle, I decided to order one online instead. I came across this one and couldn't be happier. I paid less than I would have locally and it is a better quality surcingle with more rings than any that I could find locally.
    Date published: 2014-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it!! This surcingle is great! Yes, the leather may be a bit stiff at first, but it softens easily. Wonderful quality! Fits my high withered TB very well. And the elastic sides are phenomenal also. I don't know why not all surcingles have elastic sides!
    Date published: 2014-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than expected for the price! As others have noted, this is a really nice surcingle for the price. Often, ones I've purchased made overseas would bit an elephant and almost never would fit my young horses. I purchased this to use on a yearling Old/Arab cross (who will probably end up 16.2) and it fits her on the smallest adjustment. The quality and craftsmanship is much better than I've typically found in surcingles I've bought in the past. My last one had metal grommets in the nylon billets and it was almost impossible to adjust. I love the leather billets! They were a little stiff and I soaked them in oil before I used it. I am sure this will last a long time.
    Date published: 2013-10-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Equipment for the Price The surcingle was better than expected with sturdy construction and very nice appearance. Some of the holes were a bit small to get the post on the buckle through them and took a bit of muscle but they will stretch out soon enough. The leather on the girth belts was dry so I treated it immediately with conditioner and it took it fine. There were plenty of rings and places to hook training aids on, and it will fit a wide range of horses. I'm happy with it.
    Date published: 2013-09-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well made surcingle I love the quality and the value for the money. I wish it had a longer girth to fit easily over a saddle because it is difficult to use for long lining when the horse is fully tacked up.
    Date published: 2013-07-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good purchase I was very impressed with the quality for the price.
    Date published: 2013-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great alternative for quick exercising I was looking for something that would allow me to exercise my horse with side-reins and allow him to have a quick work-out in a frame when I didn't have the time to fully tack him up and ride for an hour. Especially those really cold winter days in the arena! This product is great, more than enough length to go around my thoroughbred and has plenty of clips for me to adjust to whatever position I would like my side reins in. Amazing product for the price!
    Date published: 2013-06-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yes This is a nice surcingle for the money. The billet straps are a little rubbery feeling, but overall, it is definitely doing the job. It has a nice weight-- substantial enough to stay put. The webbing and leather on the upper part is soft and flexible, giving a nice fit. I am very happy with this surcingle, and glad I bought it. I've been using it for about a week on my TB. I believe it will hold up well.
    Date published: 2013-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Surcingle I was amazed at the quality of this surcingle at the price. I had a cheap, web one where the non-roller buckles would get stuck on the hole grommets and it was soooo frustrating. So, I had resigned myself to spending the money and getting a good quality one. When I saw this particular model, I thought it can't be much better than the one I have at this price, but then in reading the reviews, everyone who had bought one said it was great quality and value. So, I took the chance and didn't regret it. The slight elastic between the leather pieces allows for give without slippage. The billets are leather and are easy to buckle and adjust. There are enough D rings to be able to attach long lines and/or side reins in whatever configuration you need. I am very, very pleased with this purchase and have already recommended it more than once.
    Date published: 2013-04-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality This surcingle is good quality and the blue fabric with the brown leather is attractive. Haven't had it long enough to comment on the durability, but I was happy with the first few uses and expect it to hold up well. Lots of rings so you can place attachments at different levels depending on what you need.
    Date published: 2013-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Surcingle I was quite surprised by this when it arrived. It has elastic in the surcingle on both sides, and the rings are very well placed. The only reason I gave it 4 stars on quality, is the leather could be a smidgen better, but really picky! Great purchase, excellent price. Definitely would recommend.
    Date published: 2013-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice surcingle Good quality with leather pads. It is light weight which works for me. I agree with the other positive reviewers.It also arrived quickly which is great because when I order something I am usually in a hurry to use it.
    Date published: 2013-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality. Used to attach side reins to girth - makes lunging much easier.
    Date published: 2013-02-18
    • 2016-05-01T17:19CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_57
    • loc_en_US, sid_7452, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders