Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Leather and Cotton Web Halter

Tory Leather Co.
- Item #12082
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Web cheeks and nose with leather reinforced ends, snap throat and adjustable nose, double crown buckles and solid brass hardware. Leather with navy cotton or hunter green cotton. 

Don't forget to complete your horse's look with the Tory Leather Lead!

Please note, this leather halter is not a breakaway halter.

Please note: If selecting embroidery, please allow an additional 1-2 days for delivery. 

Made in the USA

Favorite Features

  • Ends of webbing are reinforced with leather
  • Adjustable noseband to fit different sized horses
Key Specifications
  • Material: Leather, cotton
  • Breakaway: No
  • Metal Type: Brass
  • Customizable: Embroidery

Sizing

Horse or Cob

What Customers Say:

Specifications

Material Leather, cotton
Breakaway No
Metal Type Brass
Width 1"
Customizable Embroidery
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Make sure you are prepared for worst case ...
    Description:
    "Make sure you are prepared for worst case scenarios with the Emergency Halter. This halter is combined with a lead rope so it is ready to use if ever faced with an urgent situation. Perfect to place in the front ...
    "The Hybrid Halter genius design was invented by ...
    Description:
    "The Hybrid Halter genius design was invented by Kalley Krickeberg's Horse Education Company. The Hybrid Halter is a combination halter for universal use. With the Hybrid Halter you will have improved training results, better control, and more convenience when compared ...
    "The SmartPak Beta and Cotton Breakaway Halter gives ...
    Description:
    "The SmartPak Beta and Cotton Breakaway Halter gives breakaway a whole new look! Heavy cotton webbing combined with brightly colored, and durable beta make this halter sturdy and eye catching. The easily replaceable break-away tab makes it safe and convenient! ...
    "Why We Love This Each halter is handmade ...
    Description:
    "Why We Love This Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather. Favorite Features Double stitched 1” nose and cheek pieces with contrasting soft padding Adjustable chin strap Rolled throat piece, convenient snap at throat ...
    "Rockin' SP tack is all about delivering quality ...
    Description:
    "Rockin' SP tack is all about delivering quality tack and the Rockin' SP Foal Halter is no exception! This Hermann Oak leather halter provides a high-quality, well-fitting option for your foal. It really is smarter gear for smarter riders! Made ...
    "The fashion-forward designs of these halters are made ...
    Description:
    "The fashion-forward designs of these halters are made with premium materials and attention to detail such as fashion hardware and colors. Box-stitching at stress points for added strength and a rolled throat for comfort."
    "Why We Love This The fashion-forward designs of ...
    Description:
    "Why We Love This The fashion-forward designs of these halters are made with premium materials and attention to detail such as fashion hardware and colors. Box-stitching at stress points for added strength and a rolled throat for comfort. Coordinate with ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    97% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tory Leather and Cotton Web Halter is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 38.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very soft. Feels "broken in." Pretty halter that is nice and soft. I wish I would have purchased the cob size. My AQHA has a small head and many of the reviews said the halter ran small. I did not find this to be so. It's working out, however.
    Date published: 2015-05-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really nice but a bit small I can't speak for its durability just yet, but this halter looks awesome. It came pretty quickly for being custom too. The only problem I had with it is that it was too small initially for my 17.1hh ISH who usually fits in horse sized halters. I had to purchase a longer crown piece. But it stretched out to fit him well after a couple days, so it turned out fine and I really like it!
    Date published: 2014-12-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from replacement has been great SmartPak replaced the first one that had a broken snap. The replacement has been wonderful. Soft even though wears it outdoors in all weather.
    Date published: 2014-10-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Leather and Cotton Web Halter This is a very nice halter, soft yet sturdy! Color is pretty and far more classy than just a regular nylon halter. I did decide to get the embroidery ... but in hindsight, unless SP decides to put it on the cheek piece, I wouldn't do it. The horses name was put on the noseband. Lettering is just fine - just not my favorite place for the horse's name!
    Date published: 2014-09-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Quality, Nice Looking, Too Small This seems to be a good quality halter, especially the fittings (which are almost too substantial for the webbing they use). There was a review earlier that stated the 'horse' size would suffice for larger horses, I did not find this to be the case at all. This is a very average size 'horse' size. :) I had to return it because of this and did not see a larger size available. I would recommend it for the average sized horse. Webbing might be a tad thin for the bigger boned horses anyway, depending on how it's used.
    Date published: 2014-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Halter! I bought this maybe a month ago when my horse broke his breakaway (the Baker halter). I hadn't really liked his previous one and it wore out within a month or two so wanted a change. This was it! Nicely made with durable, but soft, fabric and leather and good hardware. Great price! Quite fair for good quality! Fits great (true to size) and very adjustable! My chestnut gelding looks super snazzy in the navy blue!
    Date published: 2014-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit! This halter fit my difficult to fit horse perfectly, a custom halter wouldn't have been better! It seems to be very well made, it looks and feels like it will last for years.
    Date published: 2014-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit! This halter fit my difficult to fit horse perfectly, a custom halter wouldn't have been better! It seems to be very well made, it looks and feels like it will last for years.
    Date published: 2014-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this halter! I have had this halter for a year or so. I love the combination of leather and cotton along with the personalization. I don't use it everyday, but it is perfect for trailering and for pictures. As I write this I have just ordered one for my best friend as a birthday present.
    Date published: 2014-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from In LOVE I bought this halter two years ago and it only now is starting to look a bit dirty. No fraying or breakage on this halter for two years. I ordered this in navy and the white embroidery looks beautiful.I still get compliments on it today. If the halter I have now ever wears down or breaks I won't hesitate to buy it again. I only wish it came in a couple more colors! The picture i posted is from this year, the halter is two years old in it.
    Date published: 2013-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply the best For the money you cannot buy a better halter. It's good looking and sturdy.
    Date published: 2013-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Going for Halter #2 I bought this halter about two years ago and it's been great. I got the hunter green, which is more subdued than the picture here on the website. I had my horse's name embroidered in white on the noseband and it looks fabulous! I got tons of compliments but even better, there is NEVER a mistake as to whose halter it is (and we all know how things "walk away" in any barn). I think I even once ran the halter through the washing machine, which isn't great for the leather but it still made it through! Finally, after much wear and hard use, one small section under the chin has frayed away. The halter doesn't owe me anything - it has lasted for a long time with minimum care. I feel I got my money's worth, so I am probably going to order another one.
    Date published: 2013-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent halter Nice halter that is durable.
    Date published: 2013-07-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Halter I prefer this cotton webbing halter to the ones with nylon webbing.The leather and hardware look like quality and I think this halter is made in the USA which is a bonus.It's a bit pricey and hard to find so thank you SmartPak for carrying it.
    Date published: 2013-06-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Maybe I got a dud? This halter is very attractive, however proves not to be very durable. My horse pulled back for a few seconds on the cross ties and it totally stretched the webbing out and made the halter too big for her face. The cheek pieces are awkward and don't lay flat against her face. I ordered a cob size (she is a 4 yo warmblood with a baby face) and it fit well- initially. The crown piece also broke within a week of using it- not sure how!
    Date published: 2013-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best halter ever Wow, I don't usually get excited about a halter but this has been a truly wise purchase. Looks great and has the added safety of having leather where you need it in a pulling emergency. I keep getting asked where I got it and naturally I say Smartpak, and my friends just nod...of course that's where you got it. Don't hesitate, this is not flimsy, and has quality leather and cotton webbing. If you have a really HUGE horse you might find the webbing narrow, but not any more than a decent leather halter. I bought a cob size for my small quarter horse and it fits just fine.
    Date published: 2013-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better in person This halter, that in the photo seemed a bit too brightly colored, is in fact very nice, and not too bright at all. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the leather (nice and thick) and the cotton webbing which is not too thin at all. I bought the cob halter for my 14 h 2 in quarter horse and it fits perfectly. My beautiful dark gold palamina mare is well dressed in the dark blue and leather of this halter. It may run big in the horse size, but since you can adjust both sides of the headstall as well as the nose band there should be no problem with fit. Great quality, absolutely worth the cost.
    Date published: 2013-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty and functional I LOVE these web halters. I've had them for multiple horses. this one was purchased for a student's new horse. It's the first one I've had monogrammed. I wasn't so sure at first about the monogram being on the nose but it looks great!The halters hold up really well to daily use and are certainly MUCH safer than a nylon halter as well as more attractive than a leather halter.
    Date published: 2012-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Won't be the last one! Great halter - fits well, good quality. Will repurchase if/when it needs to be replaced.
    Date published: 2012-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth the price I have purchased several of these over the years. They last pretty well for the price, and I like knowing that it will break if necessary.
    Date published: 2012-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I was shopping around for a leather halter and decided to try this instead. I am so glad!! I love this halter, I have the blue on a dark bay QH/Morgan. It is super cute and very unique. Adjustable, fits well, and seems to be very high quality. Buy this halter, you'll love it!!
    Date published: 2012-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made and looks nice! Have had these halters for 2 years now and they are on my horses for 12 hour turnout everyday so they get abused. I have never conditioned teh leather or cleaned them and they still look good! The do run a bit big.
    Date published: 2011-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great halter Great quality halter...well worth the money!
    Date published: 2011-10-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from i got this for my granddaughter. the halter is really beautiful. the embrodiary across the nose is perfect. only problem is that the horse pulled back and broke the clip ring. it did not tear the nylon, just broke the ring. i wish it had been a stronger metal. aside from that, it is a very attractive halter, very unusual.
    Date published: 2011-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for Turnout I've had my eye on this halter for a few years now, but never had a reason to buy it. Now that my gelding is required to wear a halter for turnout, I finally had my reason! I wanted a comfortable and soft halter that still provided the safety of a breakaway crown... bonus that it came in his color! The cob size tends to run a bit large, as it barely adjusts small enough to fit him and he can usually fit into horse sized headgear.
    Date published: 2010-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter Nice looking halter. It fits the horses well and is ajustable.
    Date published: 2009-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-11-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-11-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from A little small My horse has a big head, but still fits into a normal horse size with everything. The crown on this halter is a little small, and it looks funny on him.
    Date published: 2009-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty Good What I like most about this halter is that you can get your horses's name on it. The halter is a little large so it is flimsy, I don't mind but some do. Durability is ok, I have had this Halter a little over 6 months and have a couple of stands hanging off. I also have to condition the leather periodically.
    Date published: 2009-07-19
    • y_2017, m_2, d_20, h_15
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_33
    • loc_en_US, sid_2082, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders