Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Tipperary Sportage Helmet

- Item #14850
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The ASTM-SEI certified New Sportage 8500 from Tipperary includes all of the features that the original Tipperary helmet is most famous for. Listening to riders' feedback they have integrated the original style, fit and ventilation that made it the most comfortable and one of the lightest helmets on the market.

Favorite Features

  • Lightweight, high density ABS material provides superior resistance to high impact
  • Functional low profile
  • Drop back shell for increased protection and a secure fit reducing helmet rotation 
  • Reflective band for safer rides in low light conditions
  • Ventilation system provides increased airflow for a cooler, more comfortable ride
  • Soft touch leather with reinforced nylon harness
  • Soft, rubberized, low profile flexible visor

ASTM-SEI F1163-15 certified.

Sizing It Up

Helmets Comparison Chart


Customers Also Shopped For
Helmet not smelling too "fresh"? The Helmet Deodorizer ...
Helmet not smelling too "fresh"? The Helmet Deodorizer by Charles Owen kills odors and bacteria in the lining and leaves a pleasant citrus fragrance. 150 ml.Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska ...
The SmartPak Bradley Flower Belt is beautifully constructed ...
The SmartPak Bradley Flower Belt is beautifully constructed of American leather with a hand rubbed finish and cute flower detailing that will match with any riding outfit! Favorite Features Beautiful details including antiqued sliver-tone Bradley flower conchos, etched belt buckle, ...
The Classic Belt by C4 is taking the ...
The Classic Belt by C4 is taking the belt industry to a new level! Bight fun colors mix and match your favorites! C4 belts are constructed from a soft flexible plastic called Thermoplastic Elastomer (TPE) which is extremely durable standing up to ...
Our SmartPak Daisy Belt is beautifully crafted from ...
Our SmartPak Daisy Belt is beautifully crafted from American leather with a hand-rubbed finished and cute daisy detailing!Favorite Features Classic silver-tone buckle Decorative rivets and teal daisy pearled enamel center Interchangeable belt buckle Coordinates perfectly withThe SmartPak Daisy Bracelet Made ...
The Troxel Intrepid Helmet provides an ultralight, low ...
The Troxel Intrepid Helmet provides an ultralight, low profile design created for the performance-oriented rider. Favorite Features Woven honeycomb mesh keeps debris out of strategically placed vents while channeling fresh air throughout the helmet interior Dri-Lex adding maximizes moisture diffusion ...
The Solstice Tall Buckle Boot by SmartPak is ...
The Solstice Tall Buckle Boot by SmartPak is the perfect balance of style and function! Great for the barn and everyday use. Favorite Features Rugged soles and waterproof foot bed construction Easy case, nubuck construction Soft leather, minimal break in ...
out of 5
97% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Tipperary Sportage Helmet is rated 4.779816513761468 out of 5 by 436.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cool light weight and comfortable I have had several helmets. this is by far my favorite. So much so that I purchased two of them to have on hand for my grandchildren to use when they visit. It is cool in the summer heat, light weight and there is no whining when I ask them to helmet up!
Date published: 2016-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from looks great only worn once but so far I think I'll really like it! looks great!
Date published: 2016-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super comfy This is the most comfortable helmet I have every worn. I thought the AYR8 was comfy, until I tried this on. Wow. Lightweight, lots of airflow, and just fits great. Have been able to keep it clean and not stinky by wiping down the liner and rinsing the foam pads.Downsides? It's ugly as sin. I can overlook that for the comfort. The other downside is thin fabric on the foam fitting pads comes off. The fabric is meant to hold the pads in place to the helmet with Velcro.
Date published: 2016-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safety, comfort, $ Comfortable for all season wear and easy care. This is my third one!
Date published: 2016-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soooo Comfortable! The fit and profile of this helmet is much better for me than my previous brand. It is very light and doesn't press down onto my glasses, which was a big problem with my old helmet. It is priced comparably to my old one, but I'm not one to say anything bas about brands that might be perfect for others. I don't think I have a big head, but the XL fit me great.
Date published: 2016-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Tipperary After 15 years with my first Tipperary helmet and a major fall last October I thought it was long over due for a new helmet. This helmet runs small compared to my first helmet, my fault for not measuring. I like all the open vents for the hot climate I live in. I haven't worn it yet but expect it to last just like the first helmet. Great design and quality.
Date published: 2016-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So comfortable I may forget to take it off! This is the best helmet I've ever had -looks great also
Date published: 2016-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit Fits well and comfortable. Like the coverage on back of the head for safety
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my Life I have been riding/training for over 50 years. I always wear a helmet. The Sportage is lightweight, well-ventilated, and the most comfortable helmet I've found. I took a horrible fall at full speed a few days ago - the first unplanned dismount in many, many years - and landed against a tree on my head, shoulder, and hip. I'm am positive that without this helmet, I could still be lying there in the wilderness. The helmet stayed in place, even with a Da Brim. I highly recommend this helmet, and encourage all riders to wear whatever helmet fits you best.
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stays cooler than my last helmet! This is a great schooling helmet. It's lightweight, fits my big head, and the vents keep my head a lot cooler than my heavier, non-vented helmet.
Date published: 2016-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit, lightweight and as attractive as helmets can be. I believe saving brain cells (those still functioning,) is more important than appearance. I don't find helmets to be beauty aides.
Date published: 2016-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit This helmet is so comfortable. The ventilation is great---finally I am not hot! Honestly, I forget I am even wearing a helmet! Worth the extra money!
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and light weight. When I first got the helmet, it was a little big, but it comes with plenty of foam "shims" to help with sizing. I also felt like it was a bit mushroom heady when I first put it on, but I quickly got over that and realized that it is actually quite sleek. So far haven't gotten too hot in it, either. I would definitely recommend this helmet as an excellent lower price point schooling helmet.
Date published: 2016-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looking helmet! This is an excellent helmet; has a nice low profile; the vents are nice and offer a bit of cooling in the summer, and during the winter do not noticeably let in more cold. I especially like the foam inserts that come with the helmet; I can quickly snug up the helmet when needed by adding one. I also like the bag that comes with it; I keep my helmet in the bag and it helps keep it cleaner. This is my second purchase of this helmet - I love it. and last week in my riding class, I looked around and nearly everyone riding wore this helmet!
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight and great fit This is the second Tipperary Sportage helmet I've purchased. I love this helmet, so lightweight I wear even when I'm off my horse. I live in Texas and it's a cool helmet even in summer. Best fit for me too!
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Helmet on the Market I absolutely love the Tipperary Sportage helmets. Great coverage and very lightweight. I get hot very easily in the summer and this is the only helmet that doesn't make me overheat.
Date published: 2016-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good fit, cool in the summer I purchased this for my husband who is just learning to ride. We had a hard time finding a helmet to fit him that wasn't super pricey. This fit the bill. Fits well and keeps his head cool. I like it so much I may have to get one too!
Date published: 2016-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super comfortable helmet! I use nothing but Tipperary helmets for schooling! They fit well and are wonderfully ventilated!!
Date published: 2016-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and looks good This helmet looks great and fits great! Haven't fell off so I don't know if it "works" but I happy with it.
Date published: 2016-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet I have been wearing this helmet to run barrels in for over a year now and I love it. It's lightweight, comfortable, breathable, and low profile. I can't even tell I'm wearing it. I love it. I wear it every single ride. Highly recommend this helmet especially for the summer months.
Date published: 2016-02-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable Glad I bought this, it's much cooler than my old one.
Date published: 2016-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! I bought this a couple years ago and I could not be happier! It has great air vents and also has a nice low profile look.
Date published: 2016-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite Helmet! I have purchased a lot of helmets over the years and this is by far my favorite! I am the sort of person who only reads 3 star reviews when considering purchasing a product - so to cut to the chase...I rarely give anything 5 stars.I bought the brown version of this helmet and unlike the pictures, it has a very nice matte coco brown finish rather than the sheen look that you see in the pictures on SmartPaks website. Functionally it is super comfy, has a low profile (so is more attractive to wear than most helmets), it does not feel hot or heavy or give you a headache after a hard day of riding, and polishes up nicely after use.I am very pleased with this purchase and am definitely going to purchase another one, possibly the black or grey color.This product is well worth the cost and the name is classy to boot! "Shops the world ol' boy, let me just grab my Tipperary and then we'll pop over a few fences before Tea Time..."
Date published: 2016-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helment I love how it feels an how light it is. Plus it doesn't move all over when i am ridding stays in place.
Date published: 2016-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Schooling Helmet I have been riding in this helmet for a month now and I am very pleased with it so far. I wanted something lightweight, breathable, comfortable, safe, and affordable for schooling. This helmet meets all of those needs. I have the color cocoa, the most neutral color in my opinion. My showing helmet, a Charles Owen ayr8 is a size 6 7/8 and I have a size medium in this helmet if anyone is looking for a size comparison. I ride with my hair in my helmet in both helmets. Overall a great schooling helmet and the best ventilationed helmet I've tried.
Date published: 2016-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet! I already owned one and loved it. Bought this helmet as a gift for my aunt, fits her perfect! Sizing is great, in other helmet brands she would have had to get it a bit small or a bit big.
Date published: 2016-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet I bought this helmet a couple months before it was shipped. It was on back order. Loved it - the fit, the weight, ventilation, however I sent it back as it was billed at the regular price rather than the sale price. Didn't need a helmet immediately, so will watch for another sale and purchase it then.
Date published: 2016-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Number 1 helmet! I have this helmet for 3 of my children and myself. I love how the helmet covers more of the neck area than most other helmets. It is also very comfortable with the padding inside.I also highly recommend SmartPak. Every purchase from them has been a positive one.
Date published: 2015-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfy Fit I bought this as a gift for my daughter and she loves the color and sporty look of the helmet (not overly formal). She hasn't tested its impact ability yet, but I rest easier knowing that shes wearing a helmet for all of her horse shenanigans. I debated between a medium or large for her abnormally oval head and settled on a medium. It is tight on the sides, but still comfortable to wear. Overall, I would rate this product as a good buy.
Date published: 2015-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great first helmet This is my first helmet so maybe I am just excited that I don't have to adjust straps every single time I ride. But, I've been borrowing helmets from the barn where I ride and from friends for a couple of years now and this is the most comfortable one I have ever worn. There are plenty of different sizes of foam that easily velcro in place to give you a "custom" fit. The ventilation is a nice touch, too. Very happy with this helmet.
Date published: 2015-12-28
  • 2016-10-25T12:17CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_33, tr_403
  • loc_en_US, sid_4850, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders