Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Tipperary Sportage Helmet

Tipperary
- Item #14850
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The ASTM-SEI certified New Sportage 8500 from Tipperary includes all of the features that the original Tipperary helmet is most famous for. Listening to riders' feedback they have integrated the original style, fit and ventilation that made it the most comfortable and one of the lightest helmets on the market.

Favorite Features

  • Lightweight, high density ABS material provides superior resistance to high impact
  • Functional low profile
  • Drop back shell for increased protection and a secure fit reducing helmet rotation 
  • Reflective band for safer rides in low light conditions
  • Ventilation system provides increased airflow for a cooler, more comfortable ride
  • Soft touch leather with reinforced nylon harness
  • Soft, rubberized, low profile flexible visor

ASTM-SEI certified.

Sizing It Up

Helmets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    97% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tipperary Sportage Helmet is rated 4.7822 out of 5 by 381.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect color! I bought this for my granddaughter and she loves it!
    Date published: 2015-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight Very nice lightweight helmet. Fits well a little on the snug side. Came with several extra foam shims to adjust the fit. Good looking.
    Date published: 2015-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It fit perfectly from the first time I put it on. This helmet replaces a similar Tipperary Sportage I bought about 6 years ago. It is lightweight and fits perfectly.
    Date published: 2015-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Cool The first time I wore it, I could feel a breeze on my head, no lie. I needed a smaller size than I measured, though (went with a small and not a medium). Favorite helmet. Still looks great after carrying around in the Noble Outfitters backpack.
    Date published: 2015-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits great! I've worn a few times now and I really like it. Very comfy, love the coverage of the back of the head area. Feels very well made. I wear a 6 7/8 hat and went with a Medium. It's definitely snug- not too tight, but just right.
    Date published: 2015-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most Comfortable Helmet Ever! I have several helmets, and this one is by far the most comfortable ever. Fits like a glove right out of the box! I've had several compliments already on the style and profile, which I love. Light weight and cool - I don't see me using a different helmet again.
    Date published: 2015-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight and comfortable Fits great, true to size, and perfect for hot summer riding.
    Date published: 2015-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from loved this helmet! this fits much better than my troxel and with the inserts that come with it fits perfectly! very light!
    Date published: 2015-05-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Seemed okay, just didn't fit Seems to be well constructed, light, etc, but fits more of a rounded head. Tight enough front to back, but really loose on sides; like I said, more of a rounded shape than my head is. Easily returned and exchanged.
    Date published: 2015-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Air Vented Helmet I bought this helmet as a Western gaming /Schooling helmet. It fits really great, nice features.I bought the Brown one, I wear a 7 1/8 and got a medium.
    Date published: 2015-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stays in place during barrel race. This is my second Tipperary Sportage helmet and I love it! It stays in place during my runs and is so comfortable I forget I have it on. It is also much cooler than a cowboy hat in the summer and warmer in the winter.
    Date published: 2015-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Protection! This helmet offers great protection for the head and neck. We use it as my daughter's schooling helmet, and it has worked out great. Very comfortable and priced right. We are now on our second Tipperary helmet!
    Date published: 2015-04-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable and Ventilated I decided I needed my own helmet, and I was looking at another brand until I saw how much more protection you get for your money with this helmet. I measured my head with their instructions, expecting the helmet to be low profile... It is not really, although it does fit. (Maybe I have a strange shaped head?) Like the reviews stated it has awesome ventilation! I used a few of the extra pads and it fits perfect. One surprise is that it came with a Tipperary Sportage helmet bag, which is very neat! Overall a very nice and well made helmet.
    Date published: 2015-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite helmet!! I first bought this helmet three years ago and I absolutely love it!!! It has lasted beautifully and been through so much weather. I have also done quite a few hunter jumper schooling shows and it was great. I have also had quite a few falls and this hasn't cracked at all and it kept me safe. Just ordered a new one since show season is coming up and my other one was beginning to fall apart. I would recommend this helmet to anyone!!
    Date published: 2015-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 2nd Tipperary Sportage LOVE this helmet - this is a replacement for the one I have had for 4 years, as I like to replace mine a little sooner than suggested due to the TX heat [when it might be sitting in my car for a while, etc]. And I wear it every time I ride, which is 3-4x/week on average. Speaking of the TX heat this helmet has great airflow and is fantastically comfortable. Sizing runs true so measure your head and figure out what size you need. It comes with small and large pads to customize the sizing. This fits my head much better than the Troxel helmets I have had in the past - nothing bad about Troxel, this just has a better shape for me.
    Date published: 2015-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite helmet! This is my...3rd Sportage! I love this helmet - it's comfortable, feels sturdy without being heavy, and looks decent when on. Love the vents too.
    Date published: 2015-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent helmet I had my original Sportage for about 4 years before I fell in it. I will say that it didn't move in the fall and while I did sustain a concussion, my injury would have been much worse without it. I liked the fit, durability and air flow so much, I bought a replacement identical to my helmet damaged in the fall.
    Date published: 2015-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Helmet yet I have purchased four helmets in the past 4 years because each time after wearing them for riding they either got very uncomfortable or actually gave me a headache. The Tipperary Sportage has felt great, in fact I forget I have it on!!! I did have to adjust the fit with the pads and Velcro provided. They had a good video on fitting their helmets on their website www.phoenixperformance.com . I am very pleased with the price too.
    Date published: 2015-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Riding Helmet - Affordable This is a great, affordable helmet. It fits well, and it's good looking.
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from comfortable This is my second Tipperary helmet. I love the light weight and thesleek look of it.
    Date published: 2014-12-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed This was a replacement because the interior fabric of my previous Sportage came apart, apparently due to sweat. And, compared to other riders, let alone people, I don't sweat all that much. I expect this new one to do the same, but I'm purchasing another brand helmet anyway because I can't keep the straps away from my ears, and that:s really annoying.
    Date published: 2014-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Helmet, especially for large heads! I recently purchased a different helmet from SmartPak in the largest size they offer. When it arrived I was disappointed that it was too small, even with all the 'adjustment' padding removed. Imagine my delight when I discovered I could return it and try another helmet! Thank you SmartPak!The Tipperary Sportage is one of the few helmets available for 60 cm head circumference so I requested it as a trade/replacement. When it arrived I was pleasantly surprised that it did indeed fit and was true to the marked size (unlike some others that seem to run a bit smaller than an accurate measurement). I was also pleased that the materials and finish of this helmet are noticeably better than the other (very popular brand) helmet I started with. It's a light weight helmet with full coverage that is comfortable and doesn't look like a mushroom perched on my head. The day it arrived I put it on to check that it wouldn't develop pressure points after extended wear. I forgot I had it on after a few minutes and wore it for several hours without noticing it. Now that I've seen the Tipperary Sportage in person I would highly recommend it even if you're head is smaller. But if you have a large-ish head I suspect you'll be as pleased as I am with one.
    Date published: 2014-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! I LOVE this helmet, and my trainer said it's perfect.
    Date published: 2014-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good air flow i live in Las Vegas, HOT this helmet fits good and cool in the desert sun :) i get a lot of complements on how nice it fits and looks.
    Date published: 2014-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet Felt a little tight on the sides when I first tried it on but I don't even notice when I'm riding. This is my second Tipperary helmet and I love it.
    Date published: 2014-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2nd one I've owned. LOVE IT. There's nothing bad to say about this helmet. It's comfortable, durable and great looking.
    Date published: 2014-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sticking with the Tipperary! I owned an old Tipperary Sportage helmet that had lived a long and hard life, so it was time for a new helmet. I have trouble finding helmets that fit my head right and don't give me a headache, so after trying a few other styles/brands I decided to go back to the Tipperary. Great for schooling in, breathable in the Texas heat here, fits snugly but not too tight, I feel like there is more coverage of my skull and base of my neck than other helmets. The new Tipperarys don't have the shiny finish look that the old ones did, but I really like how the new ones look. I got it in Cocoa color and color seems pretty close to what's shown on the website. It runs pretty true to size as well and is super comfortable! Love my Tipperary and will not wear any other helemet (at least for schooling). Very reasonable price, even for this very budgeted horseback riding mom! ;)
    Date published: 2014-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wish I bought this a year ago Having an epiphany and realizing my current helmet was not fitting me as it should; I pulled up SmartPak, and began researching helmets. When I saw this had almost 400 reviews-i had to go with it! THANK YOU, SmartPaker's!! This is the best fitting, most comfortable, SAFEST helmet I have ever owned!! I'm amazed by the low price, and I could not be more pleased with this purchase. Nuy this helmet!!!
    Date published: 2014-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No complaints I wanted something budget friendly, low profile, and breathable. It fits the bill perfectly! Much better fit than my troxel spirit.
    Date published: 2014-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Didn't know a helmet could be so comfortable! Wish I had looked at the helmet many months ago!! Fantastic fit, and extremely cool, especially in very hot humid weather! I bought this based on other SP Reviews, and am very pleased!
    Date published: 2014-09-22
    • 2015-08-26T12:51CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_30, tr_351
    • loc_en_US, sid_4850, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.