Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Tipperary Sportage Helmet

Tipperary
- Item #14850
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The ASTM-SEI certified New Sportage 8500 from Tipperary includes all of the features that the original Tipperary helmet is most famous for. Listening to riders' feedback they have integrated the original style, fit and ventilation that made it the most comfortable and one of the lightest helmets on the market.

Favorite Features

  • Lightweight, high density ABS material provides superior resistance to high impact
  • Functional low profile
  • Drop back shell for increased protection and a secure fit reducing helmet rotation 
  • Reflective band for safer rides in low light conditions
  • Ventilation system provides increased airflow for a cooler, more comfortable ride
  • Soft touch leather with reinforced nylon harness
  • Soft, rubberized, low profile flexible visor

ASTM-SEI F1163-15 certified.

Sizing It Up

Helmets Comparison Chart

Imported.

Customers Also Shopped For
The SmartPak Fox Head Belt is beautifully crafted ...
Description:
The SmartPak Fox Head Belt is beautifully crafted of American leather with a hand-rubbed finish and translates easily from the barn to everyday use! Perfect gift for yourself, or the equestrian enthusiast in your life! Favorite Features Silver-tone fox head ...
Helmet not smelling too "fresh"? The Helmet Deodorizer ...
Description:
Helmet not smelling too "fresh"? The Helmet Deodorizer by Charles Owen kills odors and bacteria in the lining and leaves a pleasant citrus fragrance. 150 ml.Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska ...
The Classic Belt by C4 is taking the ...
Description:
The Classic Belt by C4 is taking the belt industry to a level! Bight fun colors mix and match your favorites! C4 belts are constructed from aSoft flexible plastic called Thermoplastic Elastomer (TPE) which is extremely durable standing up to ...
The SmartPak Bradley Flower Belt is beautifully constructed ...
Description:
The SmartPak Bradley Flower Belt is beautifully constructed of American leather with a hand rubbed finish and cute flower detailing that will match with any riding outfit! Favorite Features Beautiful details including antiqued sliver-tone Bradley flower conchos, etched belt buckle, ...
Our SmartPak Daisy Belt is beautifully crafted from ...
Description:
Our SmartPak Daisy Belt is beautifully crafted from American leather with a hand-rubbed finished and cute daisy detailing!Favorite Features Classic silver-tone buckle Decorative rivets and teal daisy pearled enamel center Interchangeable belt buckle Coordinates perfectly withThe SmartPak Daisy Bracelet Made ...
The Troxel Intrepid Helmet provides an ultralight, low ...
Description:
The Troxel Intrepid Helmet provides an ultralight, low profile design created for the performance-oriented rider. Favorite Features Woven honeycomb mesh keeps debris out of strategically placed vents while channeling fresh air throughout the helmet interior Dri-Lex adding maximizes moisture diffusion ...
The Solstice Tall Buckle Boot by SmartPak is ...
Description:
The Solstice Tall Buckle Boot by SmartPak is the perfect balance of style and function! Great for the barn and everyday use. Favorite Features Rugged soles and waterproof foot bed construction Easy case, nubuck construction Soft leather, minimal break in ...
out of 5
97% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Tipperary Sportage Helmet is rated 4.78066037735849 out of 5 by 424.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and light weight. When I first got the helmet, it was a little big, but it comes with plenty of foam "shims" to help with sizing. I also felt like it was a bit mushroom heady when I first put it on, but I quickly got over that and realized that it is actually quite sleek. So far haven't gotten too hot in it, either. I would definitely recommend this helmet as an excellent lower price point schooling helmet.
Date published: 2016-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looking helmet! This is an excellent helmet; has a nice low profile; the vents are nice and offer a bit of cooling in the summer, and during the winter do not noticeably let in more cold. I especially like the foam inserts that come with the helmet; I can quickly snug up the helmet when needed by adding one. I also like the bag that comes with it; I keep my helmet in the bag and it helps keep it cleaner. This is my second purchase of this helmet - I love it. and last week in my riding class, I looked around and nearly everyone riding wore this helmet!
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight and great fit This is the second Tipperary Sportage helmet I've purchased. I love this helmet, so lightweight I wear even when I'm off my horse. I live in Texas and it's a cool helmet even in summer. Best fit for me too!
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Helmet on the Market I absolutely love the Tipperary Sportage helmets. Great coverage and very lightweight. I get hot very easily in the summer and this is the only helmet that doesn't make me overheat.
Date published: 2016-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good fit, cool in the summer I purchased this for my husband who is just learning to ride. We had a hard time finding a helmet to fit him that wasn't super pricey. This fit the bill. Fits well and keeps his head cool. I like it so much I may have to get one too!
Date published: 2016-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super comfortable helmet! I use nothing but Tipperary helmets for schooling! They fit well and are wonderfully ventilated!!
Date published: 2016-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and looks good This helmet looks great and fits great! Haven't fell off so I don't know if it "works" but I happy with it.
Date published: 2016-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet I have been wearing this helmet to run barrels in for over a year now and I love it. It's lightweight, comfortable, breathable, and low profile. I can't even tell I'm wearing it. I love it. I wear it every single ride. Highly recommend this helmet especially for the summer months.
Date published: 2016-02-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable Glad I bought this, it's much cooler than my old one.
Date published: 2016-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! I bought this a couple years ago and I could not be happier! It has great air vents and also has a nice low profile look.
Date published: 2016-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite Helmet! I have purchased a lot of helmets over the years and this is by far my favorite! I am the sort of person who only reads 3 star reviews when considering purchasing a product - so to cut to the chase...I rarely give anything 5 stars.I bought the brown version of this helmet and unlike the pictures, it has a very nice matte coco brown finish rather than the sheen look that you see in the pictures on SmartPaks website. Functionally it is super comfy, has a low profile (so is more attractive to wear than most helmets), it does not feel hot or heavy or give you a headache after a hard day of riding, and polishes up nicely after use.I am very pleased with this purchase and am definitely going to purchase another one, possibly the black or grey color.This product is well worth the cost and the name is classy to boot! "Shops the world ol' boy, let me just grab my Tipperary and then we'll pop over a few fences before Tea Time..."
Date published: 2016-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helment I love how it feels an how light it is. Plus it doesn't move all over when i am ridding stays in place.
Date published: 2016-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Schooling Helmet I have been riding in this helmet for a month now and I am very pleased with it so far. I wanted something lightweight, breathable, comfortable, safe, and affordable for schooling. This helmet meets all of those needs. I have the color cocoa, the most neutral color in my opinion. My showing helmet, a Charles Owen ayr8 is a size 6 7/8 and I have a size medium in this helmet if anyone is looking for a size comparison. I ride with my hair in my helmet in both helmets. Overall a great schooling helmet and the best ventilationed helmet I've tried.
Date published: 2016-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet! I already owned one and loved it. Bought this helmet as a gift for my aunt, fits her perfect! Sizing is great, in other helmet brands she would have had to get it a bit small or a bit big.
Date published: 2016-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet I bought this helmet a couple months before it was shipped. It was on back order. Loved it - the fit, the weight, ventilation, however I sent it back as it was billed at the regular price rather than the sale price. Didn't need a helmet immediately, so will watch for another sale and purchase it then.
Date published: 2016-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Number 1 helmet! I have this helmet for 3 of my children and myself. I love how the helmet covers more of the neck area than most other helmets. It is also very comfortable with the padding inside.I also highly recommend SmartPak. Every purchase from them has been a positive one.
Date published: 2015-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfy Fit I bought this as a gift for my daughter and she loves the color and sporty look of the helmet (not overly formal). She hasn't tested its impact ability yet, but I rest easier knowing that shes wearing a helmet for all of her horse shenanigans. I debated between a medium or large for her abnormally oval head and settled on a medium. It is tight on the sides, but still comfortable to wear. Overall, I would rate this product as a good buy.
Date published: 2015-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great first helmet This is my first helmet so maybe I am just excited that I don't have to adjust straps every single time I ride. But, I've been borrowing helmets from the barn where I ride and from friends for a couple of years now and this is the most comfortable one I have ever worn. There are plenty of different sizes of foam that easily velcro in place to give you a "custom" fit. The ventilation is a nice touch, too. Very happy with this helmet.
Date published: 2015-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Most comfortable helmet I have tried. I like the fact that this helmet uses pads to change the fit, however, I would like to have a few more included for an even better fit.The shipping was fast but the helmet I received was manufactured in 12-2014, so by the time I received it, it has been on the shelf for about 20% of the recommended useful life of an equestrian helmet. I will need to replace it sooner than I would like.
Date published: 2015-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable and cool! This is my third Tipperary helmet. The fit is better then more expensive helmets and I like the low profile, no bobble head. I also enjoy how cool it is durning the summer. Highly recommend you try on out for yourself.
Date published: 2015-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from comfortable fit and stays put! This is by far my favorite helmet. I love all the large vented air holes!
Date published: 2015-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable Of all the helmets I have worn this is by far my favorite. It is so light and comfortable.
Date published: 2015-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from like this helmet worth the wait. really like the way it comes down in the back.
Date published: 2015-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the feel and fit Like it alot, had to use the slimmer pads to make it fit correctly...
Date published: 2015-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product & great service! Although i have used it only few times since i got it - i really love my new helmet.It is as promised - lightweight, ventilated, fits well, looks much less bulbous than my previous helmet.Adjustable by using different sized padding and not via mechanism, but it works well for me.Smarkpak service was flawless - delivered right on time, very useful customer service when i thought there is an issue with delivery but there wasn't any :)
Date published: 2015-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my first "real" helmet purchased and I couldn't have made a better choice. The helmet fit perfectly, is very light, and for someone who is not used to wearing a helmet, was very easy to get used to.
Date published: 2015-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy plus I've been using troxel helmets since I started riding and my sportage is hands above in comfort and fit.
Date published: 2015-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit great fit, VERY comfortable -- am hoping it is "cooler" than my other helmet.
Date published: 2015-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet! This is the second Tipperary Sportage Helmet I've bought and I still love it! It's a great value, comfortable and has plenty of vents for a cooler ride in the summer. Replaced the old one after 5 years and a sweaty summer!
Date published: 2015-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price, great fit, great product! This is my third Tipperary Sportage. I always have a primary and a back-up for my Schooling helmets. My third was knocked onto concrete by my horse and not wanting to take a risk, I discarded it. The Tipperary really hugs your head nicely and comes down over the entire skull in the back, but it is not bulbous like other helmets and doesn't make my head ache when worn for long periods. Yay Tipperary!
Date published: 2015-08-27
  • 2016-08-31T11:14CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_33, tr_391
  • loc_en_US, sid_4850, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders