Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 1-800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Tipperary Sportage Helmet

Tipperary
- Item #14850
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
AutoShip and Save Time (Details)

days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The ASTM-SEI certified New Sportage 8500 from Tipperary includes all of the features that the original Tipperary helmet is most famous for. Listening to riders' feedback they have integrated the original style, fit and ventilation that made it the most comfortable and one of the lightest helmets on the market.

Imported.

Helmets Comparison Chart

Favorite Features

  • Lightweight, high density ABS material provides superior resistance to high impact
  • Functional low profile
  • Drop back shell for increased protection and a secure fit reducing helmet rotation 
  • Reflective band for safer rides in low light conditions
  • Ventilation system provides increased airflow for a cooler, more comfortable ride
  • Soft touch leather with reinforced nylon harness
  • Soft, rubberized, low profile flexible visor
  • ASTM-SEI F1163-15 certified

Sizing

What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Charles Owen AyrBrush Helmet blends the latest ...
    Description:
    "The Charles Owen AyrBrush Helmet blends the latest technology with sophisticated design to create the ultimate in equestrian fashion! This helmet features a smooth, matte finish created with an exclusive mark-resistant paint made specially in Britain for easy maintenance. With ...
    "The J3 Helmet is a favorite of the ...
    Description:
    "The J3 Helmet is a favorite of the cross country rider! The unsurpassed design and function of the J3 makes it Charles Owen's most popular jockey skull cap. Low profile for a sleeker look and multiple vents keep you cooler ...
    "This Ovation Schooler Helmet features a sleek look ...
    Description:
    "This Ovation Schooler Helmet features a sleek look with black and black vents for a more uniform look! Can go straight to the show ring and look proper with this helmet. Also features an easy adjust dial fit system, high ...
    "Inspired by women classic hats the Samshield Miss ...
    Description:
    "Inspired by women classic hats the Samshield Miss Shield is equipped with a long visor and a customizable frontal band.Designed on the base of classic Samshield helmets (Shadowmatt and Premium) and has all the same greatsame technical features and benefits! ...
    "The Samshield Shadow Mat Swarovski Helmet combines the ...
    Description:
    "The Samshield Shadow Mat Swarovski Helmet combines the rider's needs, with creative energy, and technical vision. The high quality Polycarbonate outer shell construction combined with variable density polystyrene inside shell provides excellent impact absorption. Swarovski crystals provide a show-ring sparkle; ...
    "Designed for extreme disciplines such as cross-country, the ...
    Description:
    "Designed for extreme disciplines such as cross-country, the Samshield XC Helmet offers a chic modern look, coupled with incredible airflow, and a fit designed to prevent pressure on the forehead. Certifications & Standards: PAS015 (International competition standard) CE EN1384 (European) ...
    "Designed for serious competitors, the Troxel Avalon is ...
    Description:
    "Designed for serious competitors, the Troxel Avalon is a modern low profile platform packed with performance features. Metallic vent stabilizers and state-of-the-art 3D weave mesh give the Troxel Avalon an unmistakable look as well as maximum air intake. A custom ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tipperary Sportage Helmet is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 471.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this helmet! This is the second one of these helmets that I've bought, my first having gone through 7 years of riding, plus several international flights and two moves. This helmet is fantastic! First, if you have a more oval-shaped head like I do, this will fit great. It's actually one of very few schooling helmets that does fit! I especially like the shaping for the ears and how it cups the back of my head. The vents are also wonderful if you're like me and tend to get heat stroke in the summer. All in all, a wonderful schooling helmet for a decent price.
    Date published: 2017-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits great This is my second Tipperary Sportage. I bought it to keep in my horse trailer and my other one in my barn. Fits great, comfortable and well vented. Just wish it had a larger visor
    Date published: 2017-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet I've found Really happy I found this helmet. I haven't been able to find something comfortable enough to actually wear.
    Date published: 2017-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best! This is the second Tipperary Sportage helmet I have puchased. The fit is the best of any helmet I have owned . No more sore red forheads! So comfortable I forget I'm wearing it. Love all the colors, too. Very durable.
    Date published: 2017-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light and comfortable This is the second Tipperary Sportage I have owned. It's a great helmet - attractive, comfortable, light, and meets all safety requirements.
    Date published: 2017-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what my grandson ordered for his birthday! I originally ordered this riding helmut but it was the wrong size. Silly me! SmartPac was so understanding and easy to deal with although it was my mistake. They refunded my money and reordered the correct size and shipped it ASAP for my grandson's birthday. Thank you SmartPac and the new helmut fits perfectly!
    Date published: 2017-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect customizable fit This is my 3rd Sportage Helmet. Cool, lightweight, low-profile, economical.
    Date published: 2017-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from helmet Very good helmet. Fit is great for me. This is my 5th one.
    Date published: 2017-09-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Weird sizing I had an old Tipperary that I love, love, loved. Lightweight, cool, safe. So now that it's time to replace it I was determined to get a new one. My head is a 7-1/4 size. In my old helmet, a Medium fit. So I ordered a medium without even thinking to check the size chart for the newer ones: way too tight. Even the large was too tight. 3rd try (thanks Smartpak, you are the best) the XL was too big and, although I could have made it work with the included padding for a custom fit, it literally looked like I was wearing a lampshade on my head! I looked ridiculous. So disappointed. The quality and the safety are what I wanted but I do not understand what they did with the sizing since last time I bought this brand.
    Date published: 2017-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far its the best helmet I have worn I had a riding accident which made getting a new helmet necessary. I looked at all of them in this price point and decided I liked the style and the positive reviews. I took the sizing chart seriously and ordered a M when I am usually a S or XS. It fits me like a glove and is very comfortable. Unfortunately, I have not been able to return to riding yet. But I am sure it is very well ventilated for our hot humid FL climate.
    Date published: 2017-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my life The 3rd time I wore my new helmet my horse stumbled and fell at a fast trot. I went over him and hit directly on my head. While I was injured (broken nose and wrist), I suffered only a mild concussion from a very bad fall. They replaced it and I'll never wear a different brand of helmet. It did its job perfectly and the service was great.
    Date published: 2017-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight and good airflow I bought this to replace my very pretty embossed leather popular brand helmet - pretty but HOT and heavy. The Tipperary is quite a bit lighter, easy to adjust for fit, and has much better airflow.
    Date published: 2017-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought a Tipperary Helmet last year. A few weeks ago my mare tripped and I went off and hit the back of my head on a tubular steel gate. The dropped back shell kept me from having a head injury. I bought this helmet for my son who recently took on two horses from a friend that had passed away from cancer. Neither horse had been ridden much since her diagnosis and I wanted him to have good protection.
    Date published: 2017-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tipperary Sportage Helmet I haven't used this yet. But my friends who have been using helmets for years, recommended THIS one as the most comfortable!
    Date published: 2017-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Helmet I have purchased many of these over the years and have never been disappointed. Always good, consistent quality.
    Date published: 2017-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet, Great Price This is my 3rd Tipperary to buy... they are lightweight, comfortable and easy to wear! SP had it to me quickly and I LOVE the option for free returns! I couldn't remember what size I wear. I guessed correctly but it was nice to know that it would be hassle-free to exchange if I was wrong.
    Date published: 2017-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable. I sent back two other helmets. This one was roomy, nice!
    Date published: 2017-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Price, High Quality, Fast Ship I am so happy with my purchase of this high quality, lightweight, snug fit, very comfortable riding helmet. I'm training an 8 year old green broke Leopard Appaloosa Gelding, and we do a lot of trail riding on rugged terrain. I feel very safe with my awesome new helmet. I would recommend this helmet to everyone.
    Date published: 2017-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits great! And it's the perfect helmet for those warm days.
    Date published: 2017-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet I had this helmet for about a year before i fell off and landed on my head. It served its purpose and protected my head very well. I am reordering the same color, size and helmet after falling. I love the way it fits. It is very comfortable and has a pretty color.
    Date published: 2017-04-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sadly sending it back. This is a lovely helmet that came highly recommend to me. It's well constructed, light weight with great color and finish so I'm giving it four stars. However the fit is not good for my head size and shape. It fits side to side well but is far too large front to back even with the extra padding. It is also very deep. It covers my eyebrows completely. I don't believe a smaller size would solve these problems. I think it would be too tight right to left. So, minus one star for fit. This would be wonderful for someone who has a much more oval head.
    Date published: 2017-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality, Comfort & Price I am a English trail rider and can often be in the saddle for several hours at a time. I am also a "hard fit" (size XL) when it comes to any kind of head gear, so when I find a helmet that is so comfortable that I can forget I have it on, I am very happy. This is my 2nd Tipperary helmet, it replaces one that was damaged in a fall caused by 2 very inconsiderate dirt bikers. Thanks to my 1st helmet, I was not seriously injured (at age 60) and was able to ride back and for the rest of the weekend (also thanks to my awesome horse, Mr.Chip, who after running away from being chased by the dirt bikers, came all the way back to get me). I am definitely a horsewoman on a budget, so it took a while for me to be able to get this new helmet. I have been using my spare; a good quality helmet, but is not a Tipperary. It is not nearly as comfortable, does not provide as much coverage, and would periodically give me a headache at the end of the longer rides. This newer model also appears to be lighter in weight and even cooler than my 1st one. In addition to the wide range of sizes, it also comes with all kinds of velcro pads that can be placed inside so it can be custom fitted to almost any shape head. A great versatile helmet, especially for the price.
    Date published: 2017-04-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Forgot I had it on! I know its the smart thing to do and after a recent fall, I decided it was time to get a helmet. My friend recommended a Tipperary.I used to hate riding helmets. None that I ever tried ever fit well. Always made me feel off balance. However, I really like this new Tipperary Sportage Helmet. It was nice looking in the Electric Blue and after wearing it a while, I forgot I had a helmet on. My first ride was great! Looking forward to wearing it more. I just wish it had some sort of sun shade on it. We are in high altitude and I'm concerned about protecting the skin on my face too. I have a sun shade hat that I may wear underneath it or buy a Da Brim to put on it. I would appreciate any other suggestions, too. I would give it a five star if it had a removable brim.
    Date published: 2017-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to forget it's a helmet I bought this helmet to replace the exact one I'd had for years. It was time to replace it because of age and then my puppy helped me out by eating the inside liner and foam. The new one is just as good as the old, I love that this is not the "mushroom head" helmets from my youth. I've accidentally worn this into the store, thinking I had put my ball cap back on. Great schooling helmet!
    Date published: 2016-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Comfortable Helmet I really like this helmet. Very comfortable, forget that I have it on..
    Date published: 2016-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good helmet for the price. I like the lower profile. It's not as comfortable as my previous helmet, but fits well.
    Date published: 2016-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet Bought this for my boyfriend and he loves it. Definitely needed a low profile as it looks much better than the schooling helmet I bought.
    Date published: 2016-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light and comfortable Fits well, light and cool to wear, easy to adjust. I'm very satisfied with the price.
    Date published: 2016-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet I bought this helmet about a month ago and was very happy when it arrived. I have not worn it while riding yet, but just by trying it on I am very pleased with how comfortable it fit. As far as sizing, I tried to follow the size chart and I was in the upper end of the head circumference for a Medium, but my western hat size put me in the large. I went with the medium and it fits perfectly. I would recommend choosing your size based on your actual measurement and not hat size. Overall, I am very pleased with this product
    Date published: 2016-10-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fit! Purchased this helmet for my husband and the fit is great. He says it is very comfortable and does not make his head hot. We have only had it for a month, so durability remains to be seen.
    Date published: 2016-10-13
    • y_2018, m_1, d_20, h_5
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_36, tr_435
    • loc_en_US, sid_4850, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 47ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders