Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Tipperary Sportage Helmet

Tipperary
- Item #14850
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The ASTM-SEI certified New Sportage 8500 from Tipperary includes all of the features that the original Tipperary helmet is most famous for. Listening to riders' feedback they have integrated the original style, fit and ventilation that made it the most comfortable and one of the lightest helmets on the market.

Favorite Features

  • Lightweight, high density ABS material provides superior resistance to high impact
  • Functional low profile
  • Drop back shell for increased protection and a secure fit reducing helmet rotation 
  • Reflective band for safer rides in low light conditions
  • Ventilation system provides increased airflow for a cooler, more comfortable ride
  • Soft touch leather with reinforced nylon harness
  • Soft, rubberized, low profile flexible visor

ASTM-SEI certified.

Sizing It Up

Helmets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    97% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tipperary Sportage Helmet is rated 4.7778 out of 5 by 369.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite helmet! This is my...3rd Sportage! I love this helmet - it's comfortable, feels sturdy without being heavy, and looks decent when on. Love the vents too.
    Date published: 2015-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent helmet I had my original Sportage for about 4 years before I fell in it. I will say that it didn't move in the fall and while I did sustain a concussion, my injury would have been much worse without it. I liked the fit, durability and air flow so much, I bought a replacement identical to my helmet damaged in the fall.
    Date published: 2015-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Helmet yet I have purchased four helmets in the past 4 years because each time after wearing them for riding they either got very uncomfortable or actually gave me a headache. The Tipperary Sportage has felt great, in fact I forget I have it on!!! I did have to adjust the fit with the pads and Velcro provided. They had a good video on fitting their helmets on their website www.phoenixperformance.com . I am very pleased with the price too.
    Date published: 2015-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Riding Helmet - Affordable This is a great, affordable helmet. It fits well, and it's good looking.
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from comfortable This is my second Tipperary helmet. I love the light weight and thesleek look of it.
    Date published: 2014-12-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed This was a replacement because the interior fabric of my previous Sportage came apart, apparently due to sweat. And, compared to other riders, let alone people, I don't sweat all that much. I expect this new one to do the same, but I'm purchasing another brand helmet anyway because I can't keep the straps away from my ears, and that:s really annoying.
    Date published: 2014-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Helmet, especially for large heads! I recently purchased a different helmet from SmartPak in the largest size they offer. When it arrived I was disappointed that it was too small, even with all the 'adjustment' padding removed. Imagine my delight when I discovered I could return it and try another helmet! Thank you SmartPak!The Tipperary Sportage is one of the few helmets available for 60 cm head circumference so I requested it as a trade/replacement. When it arrived I was pleasantly surprised that it did indeed fit and was true to the marked size (unlike some others that seem to run a bit smaller than an accurate measurement). I was also pleased that the materials and finish of this helmet are noticeably better than the other (very popular brand) helmet I started with. It's a light weight helmet with full coverage that is comfortable and doesn't look like a mushroom perched on my head. The day it arrived I put it on to check that it wouldn't develop pressure points after extended wear. I forgot I had it on after a few minutes and wore it for several hours without noticing it. Now that I've seen the Tipperary Sportage in person I would highly recommend it even if you're head is smaller. But if you have a large-ish head I suspect you'll be as pleased as I am with one.
    Date published: 2014-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! I LOVE this helmet, and my trainer said it's perfect.
    Date published: 2014-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good air flow i live in Las Vegas, HOT this helmet fits good and cool in the desert sun :) i get a lot of complements on how nice it fits and looks.
    Date published: 2014-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet Felt a little tight on the sides when I first tried it on but I don't even notice when I'm riding. This is my second Tipperary helmet and I love it.
    Date published: 2014-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2nd one I've owned. LOVE IT. There's nothing bad to say about this helmet. It's comfortable, durable and great looking.
    Date published: 2014-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sticking with the Tipperary! I owned an old Tipperary Sportage helmet that had lived a long and hard life, so it was time for a new helmet. I have trouble finding helmets that fit my head right and don't give me a headache, so after trying a few other styles/brands I decided to go back to the Tipperary. Great for schooling in, breathable in the Texas heat here, fits snugly but not too tight, I feel like there is more coverage of my skull and base of my neck than other helmets. The new Tipperarys don't have the shiny finish look that the old ones did, but I really like how the new ones look. I got it in Cocoa color and color seems pretty close to what's shown on the website. It runs pretty true to size as well and is super comfortable! Love my Tipperary and will not wear any other helemet (at least for schooling). Very reasonable price, even for this very budgeted horseback riding mom! ;)
    Date published: 2014-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wish I bought this a year ago Having an epiphany and realizing my current helmet was not fitting me as it should; I pulled up SmartPak, and began researching helmets. When I saw this had almost 400 reviews-i had to go with it! THANK YOU, SmartPaker's!! This is the best fitting, most comfortable, SAFEST helmet I have ever owned!! I'm amazed by the low price, and I could not be more pleased with this purchase. Nuy this helmet!!!
    Date published: 2014-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No complaints I wanted something budget friendly, low profile, and breathable. It fits the bill perfectly! Much better fit than my troxel spirit.
    Date published: 2014-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Didn't know a helmet could be so comfortable! Wish I had looked at the helmet many months ago!! Fantastic fit, and extremely cool, especially in very hot humid weather! I bought this based on other SP Reviews, and am very pleased!
    Date published: 2014-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bubble Head No More! This is my second Tipperary helmet. It is lightweight, sleek, comfortable and now comes in a variety of colors. I like that it seems to have some neck support. Also comes with a variety of pads that you can use to perfect the fit.
    Date published: 2014-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safe and fits well!!! I have owned a Tipperary Helmet since they started making them. I hate to say that I have had two falls where my head hit the ground and those helmets did their job. One cracked and the other didn't but I still replaced them as suggested.
    Date published: 2014-09-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wrong shape This is a good looking helmet and seems well vented. It does not however fit my head. The sides are tight even though the size is L. The Troxel helmet is made for a rounder head. So if your head is rounder than it is oval don't use this helmet.I will rate it well, but only because the quality seems fine.
    Date published: 2014-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Airy and comfortable! Took this trail riding a few times now, I am in love!!!
    Date published: 2014-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My third Tipperary! I had the first generation, second generation, and now this one. After a fall, the good news is I got to buy the this one. Comfort & price make this helmet the best for me.
    Date published: 2014-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Geat Air Flow This is the first helmet I have had that actually keeps my head cooler and helps my overall body temp so I can focus on my riding, not how uncomfortable I am. Vents work great. Awesome fit too!
    Date published: 2014-08-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Tipperary Sportage Helmet I'm a little disappointed in the helmet as I bought one a year ago in Portland OR and it fits perfect and is a size M. I ordered a M and had to send it back because it was to tight, and received a L, it still hurts the top of my forehead but I will keep it in hopes it will relax in that area at some point.
    Date published: 2014-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this on Helmet Day in July 2014 to replace my old Tipp, so thanks to SmartPak I saved some money. Tipperary has gone back to their original design which is much more comfortable than the "improved" version I was replacing. It's a good value for the money. This is my 3rd Tipperary in about 11 years, so obviously I am very happy with the design, fit, and comfort.
    Date published: 2014-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very comfortable might buy it again in another color! looks good, feels good.
    Date published: 2014-08-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very nice, BUT, not large enough for my husband. Bought the XL hoping it would work for my husband. It is such a great price for this helmet. So sad it was just a tad too small for him. Mine fits well. Nice style and quality. Glad there is an affordable product like this. I’ve never worn a helmet before. I’m hoping this one is comfortable and easy to wear.
    Date published: 2014-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Woohoo! A helmet that fits and is less than $100! I have a large head that sizes me out of helmet options that are $200 or less. I like the Charles Owen Pro II helmet, but I am not an eventer and I needed something that would breathe as I live in a very hot sunny climate. I went to Rolex and tried on all sorts of helmets and the cheapest one that fit and was certified was going to be the rather toasty Charles Owen Pro II Skull Cap. In a last effort, I ordered the Tipperary Sportage (they were out of the XL size at Rolex). I was SO happy when it came in and not only fit but also looked very streamlined (I still look slightly like a cue ball but a much more low profile one). It has multiple airflow vents, a very attractive finish (I got the cocoa color). And the price is fantastic when you consider the next option was going to be the $209 helmet! I am very happy!
    Date published: 2014-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tipperary makes the best helmets! I have a Tipperary helmet I bought after my OTTB tossed me off, cracking my beloved old Troxel. I recently acquired a new student who is the granddaughter of a good friend and neighbor. He bought her a nice pony who lives here and I wanted to buy her a nice present to celebrate her having her own first pony. (That does only happen just once for any of us). She had ridden using my Tipperary a couple of times since she had outgrown her previous helmet and loved it. Now, THAT helmet cost nearly $200 and I wanted her to have something like mine, but couldn't justify spending that much for a helmet for an 11 year old girl. This one was somewhat pricey, but I know you get what you pay for and figured she'd wear it quite awhile anyway. Also, knowing that people's heads are usually shaped round or oblong or whatever and if mine fit her then another Tipperary would fit her as well then I ordered this one for her, in the color most like mine. She was thrilled with it and it fit her great. Now she will be well set up for next year's 4H, lessons, trail rides and whatever having her own pony will bring!By the way, I ordered it in the graphite color, since mine is black, of course and she wanted one as close to what mine looked like as possible. It looks quite close to black, except with a texture that helps keep it looking clean. I have to be pretty careful where I sit mine, since it has the suede type finish, is dead black and I want it to stay nice looking as long as possible. So if you also love this brand helmet, this style would be an easy-care alternative to the suede ones. And it comes in a lot of other colors!
    Date published: 2014-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the Tipperary Sportage Helmet! I have tried multiple helmets and have ended up not liking them because they were not comfortable and did not fit well. This one fits well and buying through SmartPak gave me the option to return it if I didn't like it. I wore it around my house for a while and felt pretty confident that I wouldn't want to return it. Then when I finally got out with my horse and wore the helmet, I was really happy with it. It fit snugly and comfortably. And no slipping down on my forehead which has been a chronic problem with the helmets I've had in the past. The test of time will tell me about its durability and long-lasting comfort.
    Date published: 2014-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Comfortable! I've been wearing this a couple weeks now, very comfortable. Comes with some spare padding to make sure you get the right fit. Great vents for summer riding, lightweight. Make sure to adjust the chin strap so that it is snug, otherwise a forceful head bang (aka rapid exit from the saddle) could disrupt the way the helmet sits on your head/ protects. You really cannot beat the price and value. I feel quite confident that if I took a head slamming fall I would replace the helmet, might not be the case if I had spent the $600 plus of other trendy helmets.
    Date published: 2014-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet Great fit,very cool,and excellent price in todays overpriced helmet market
    Date published: 2014-07-09
    • 2015-05-26T09:49CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_30, tr_339
    • loc_en_US, sid_4850, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.