Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Tipperary Ride-Lite Vest

Tipperary
- Item #16230

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Tipperary Ride-Lite Vest is a great choice for the beginner or recreational rider. The short-backed style allows for a greater range of motion. Note that the shorter back length does not provide tailbone coverage.  A four-way twist molded channel system allows for better air flow and a close fit.


Favorite Features

  • Removable liner for easy washing
  • Adjustable waist & shoulder straps
  • Floating sternum pad
  • Zippered front

Sizing It Up


Safety Vest Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tipperary Ride-Lite Vest is rated 4.4286 out of 5 by 21.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Still got hurt I have been wearing this vest for a while because I have a horse that spooks quickly. I felt I would be protected but recently he did one of his spins resulting of me hitting the top of my back. I am still taking double strength pain medicine. It has been about a week. I will order something with more protection.
    Date published: 2014-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleased in every way While I haven't had to "test" the effectiveness of this vest yet, I do feel like it is substantial enough that it would offer decent protection in a fall. As a shorter rider, I like that it isn't long in the back and, thus, doesn't interfere with the saddle. The chest straps are extremely adjustable. I can wear it with just thin, summer attire, or, as I found out in a recent early blast of arctic air, it will also fit over my winter coat. I gave it a "4" in durability because I am not sure that the zipper will last as long as the vest. I would like for it to have a little heavier-duty zipper. Overall, though, I am very pleased with this vest. As a plus-sized rider, my choices in vests are very limited, but this one works perfectly!
    Date published: 2014-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good fit Adjustable sides and shoulders along with informative how to fit video
    Date published: 2014-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect For ALL Sizes This vest fits full figured people so well! I have a larger bust than most and I ordered TL and it came true to size. Plus considering my size I could've had a smaller size since I had leftover room. If you are a plus sized rider, this vest is for you! And it ships in 2 days for free!
    Date published: 2014-07-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Vest The vest was a great purchase, it fits comfortably and is very light. I would highly recommend the vest for beginners.
    Date published: 2013-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Fit For My Riding After trying 2 other vests, I struck gold with the Tipperary Ride-Lite!Due to major surgery I needed a vest to protect my mid-section while out on rocky trails. The Ride-Lite covers the affected area well and is so comfortable I hardly know it's on.The vest is super easy to adjust for a perfect fit. The back length is short enough to provide adequate coverage, but not too long that it interferes with the cantle on my Western Dressage Saddle.I would highly recommend it to someone looking for a vest to use in combination with a Western Saddle, for trail or pleasure riding purposes.
    Date published: 2013-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for starters Purchased when I thought I would try eventing. This is a great body protector for those just starting out. Inexpensive, very lightweight, easy to clean, and breathable. You hardly notice you're wearing it while in the saddle! Please note, however, that it does NOT provide tailbone protection.Only gave 4 stars for durability as I have not used it long enough to attest to that, but it seems like it will hold up.HINT*** Youth Large fits most small adults/teens and is $20 cheaper!
    Date published: 2012-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I started eventing this year and needed a vest. Size fits great. It feels bulky when you're not riding but under saddle I don't even realize I'm wearing it. Great first vest to start eventing in & to school in.
    Date published: 2011-07-31
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK for casual riding I bought this to wear while training my 4yo mare. I have a Tipperary eventer vest, but it is too long to wear while riding in my mare's western saddle. I measured carefully and selected the tall large, same as my eventer vest. When I received the vest, it seemed very large. The velcro fasteners around the chest are as short as I can make them, as are the shoulder adjustments. This vest also seems much, much hotter than my eventer vest. The vest cover is washable, but the openings that allow you to remove the foam gape open- maybe there could have been a velcro closure or similar? I guess you get what you pay for, and this really is marketed to the casual or recreational rider.
    Date published: 2011-06-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not bad considering... Vest feels stiff when you put it on but when riding is not noticable. Is nice and light. Velcro allows you to make it fit almost perfectly
    Date published: 2011-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value! Comfortable vest. Great value. I'm tall...5'9 and ordered the "tall" version - perfect fit!
    Date published: 2010-11-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Vest I recently purchased the Ride-lite because of having a double mastectomy. This was the most comfortable product that I tried on and it helped to ease my fears... not of riding but of wrecking and rupturing my chest..
    Date published: 2010-08-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice lite vest I've only tried this once, so this is an initial product review. It did very well. I like how it's not overly bulky. My saddle has a high cantle and the back flap did not interfere with it (yeah!). I did not fall off, so wasn't able to test the cushioning. I found it a little hot (it was 90 degrees that day), but not intolerable. Only other negative is I now have no place to put my cell phone and keys...I used to keep them in my fanny pack, which won't fit now. It needs a pocket for these items.
    Date published: 2010-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great item Very comfortable vest. It is not restrictive like some others while riding or jumping
    Date published: 2009-09-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product for the price This is a great light weight vest especially for the price. We have always been happy with the quality of Tipperary products.
    Date published: 2009-06-10
    • 2016-02-12T14:57CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_20
    • loc_en_US, sid_6230, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.