Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Tie-Safe Ties

Item #11620
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Tie-Safe Ties are designed to release at a preset tension with a patented VELCRO® Brand closure. Top quality black nylon with brass swivel snap and brass-plated panic snap. 

Customization embroidery font is Block. Sold in singles.

Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Tie-Safe is designed so that 6” of the tie remains attached to the halter, while the rest stays attached to the wall
  • No more broken halters or flying heavy snaps! If they ever release, the repair is instant - just attach the pieces back into place. Greatly reduces the risk of injury to horses and humans

Sizing

Cross Tie: 4’ to 5’4”
Trailer Tie: 2’ to 2’8”

What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The E-Z ON Bucket Cover will take away ...
    Description:
    "The E-Z ON Bucket Cover will take away the worry from setting out feed the night before. The patent-pending design allows free and easy movement of the bucket handles, while securely covering and protecting the contents inside. No more flies ...
    "These Horseshoe Cross Tie Anchor are strong and ...
    Description:
    "These Horseshoe Cross Tie Anchor are strong and durable. 3 inch square mounting plate with hinged pony shoe. Black powder coat finish. Cross ties not included. Pair."
    "The Premier Equine Padded Tail Guard with Detachable ...
    Description:
    "The Premier Equine Padded Tail Guard with Detachable Tail Bag is shaped & padded at top of tail for total protection. It is made with a neoprene outer with non-slip lining, four hook-and-loop straps for even pressure and a long ...
    "Crush-proof, crack-proof, and freeze-proof so you can use ...
    Description:
    "Crush-proof, crack-proof, and freeze-proof so you can use it indoors or outdoors year-round! Molded from the finest corded rubber on the market, nothing matches the pliability and strength of DuraFlex rubber. Made in the USA"
    "No more hunting department stores and formal wear ...
    Description:
    "No more hunting department stores and formal wear shops to find a tie suitable for the show ring! The Showquest Men's Tie is the perfect finishing touch to your show attire. Made in England"
    "Bye Bye Odor™ is a safe natural microbial ...
    Description:
    "Bye Bye Odor™ is a safe natural microbial solution specially formulated to eliminate urine and manure odors. Simply spray stalls, trailers, or kennels daily with enough to give the bedding or surface an even misting and within three days or ...
    "The HG-One is HAYGAIN’s latest development and is ...
    Description:
    "The HG-One is HAYGAIN’s latest development and is ideal for use with 1 or 2 horses or when traveling to ensure that your horse’s diet maintains consistency. Steaming cycle from a cold start is approximately 60 minutes depending on the ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tie-Safe Ties is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 131.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great concept I really love these trailer ties but I cannot use them in my trailer. My trailer tie rings are too wide for the quick release or bull hook ends of the trailer ties.
    Date published: 2016-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tie - Safe I am relieved to have these ties in my horse trailer. I am more confident that in case of an emergency I can get my horses out quickly .
    Date published: 2016-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safely secure I purchased these safety ties based on many positive reviews that I found online. Although my horse has pulled back in the past (once he broke the tie ring off the trailer while tied to be tacked up), he hasn't since I started using these ties. Nonetheless, I do feel better using this tie as opposed to a bungee-type quick release when securing him in the trailer.
    Date published: 2016-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ingenious! Very clever cross ties. I love that if a horse breaks out of them, they will still have a small lead rope hanging from their halter to catch them. Very smart.
    Date published: 2016-06-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nicely made! I had a hard time finding trailer ties that were long enough for my new trailer. which has managers. These fit the bill perfectly. They seem to be made well and are adjustable. I have not used them yet as I have not hauled a horse yet.
    Date published: 2016-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safety First! Purchased these to end the tying and untying of lead ropes in the trailer. The safety release is backed up by a velcro release, which leaves you something to catch your horse with in the event of an escape. A generous length and also adjustable.
    Date published: 2016-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just Right I bought a used trailer, and hadn't realized it wouldn't come with ties. So I used a lead rope tied with quick-release knots until these were delivered. When I put them in, I was pleased to notice that they were exactly the length to which I had adjusted the lead rope. I'm pleased with the purchase.
    Date published: 2016-05-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good enough i have an 11' wide aisle and the cross ties are great but could use a little more length. I am afraid to velcro less than half of the total allowable.
    Date published: 2016-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Secure and safe! This item a friend of mine had for a long time, has lasting quality and functionality. I bought one for myself and have still gotten the same great results! It gives a great piece of mind then hauling someone new or working with a green horse. I love it, it's the only tie I will use from now on.
    Date published: 2016-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works exactly the way it's supposed to! My little mustang can behave like a toddler when it comes to taking a bath. He doesn't cross tie, so I bought only one of these Tie-Safe Ties. When he started acting up and pulling back I thought (for a brief moment) that he would pull the post out of the ground. Instead I heard the velcro starting to come undone. So did he and he was so surprised he just stopped struggling. I know if he had tried harder, he could have gotten out of his bath time but the velcro would have kept all of us safe - which is most important to me.
    Date published: 2015-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from ONLY TRAILER TIES I WILL USE!! I have a 24 year old barrel horse that is as mellow as you can get but one day he was in the last stall of my horse trailer and backed out before I could unsnap him /: thank God no one got hurt but he set back and luckily broke the tie down that was used to tie him. Since then, I have learned my lesson and will only use these safety ties. Also great for training babies ( I have a weanling who is still getting used to the trailer ) and they aren't expensive!
    Date published: 2015-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Ties I bought this for my quarter horse and my mini horse. Used them and they work great. Ties are good quality and price is reasonable.
    Date published: 2015-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very useful I bought this trailer tie to use for our pony. I love the Velcro as I can make it longer to reach my pony's height. The quality and construction is excellent and safe for our pony activites.
    Date published: 2015-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works wonderfully! I use the trailer tie's in my trailer and also on my picket line (attached to a lead rope tied to the high line) for over-night camping. My horse has a bad habit of scratching his ear with his back hoof, which can turn into a disaster when tied to a high line with a regular tie. With the Tie-Safe the velcro just gives way and he walks safely to the nearest patch of grass. I'd much rather catch a horse then call the vet!
    Date published: 2015-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Look like they should work. I've only had the opportunity to use these ties once, but they are well made and look like they should work as described. I bought them because I had a horse get loose with a lead rope flapping around his legs! This should solve that problem should it ever occur again.
    Date published: 2015-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've had horse's pull back in the trailer before and not able to release because of both their halter and the trailer tie not breaking. Extremely scary and will happen to every horse at some point. The horse that did it with me was a very mellowed gelding, he'd been in that trailer 50+ times and the location wasn't new. It was just a freak thing that occurred. I LOVE that these provide resistance before releasing, as most (not all) horses will sometimes give to the pressure and chill out (my mare is an example of this). I have one in each trailer stall and am considering ordering 2 more for cross-ties once my current ones retire.
    Date published: 2015-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good I was worried this would be too forgiving, but I had a horse pull back on it a bit and it didn't come apart, so I'm happy with it
    Date published: 2015-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safe tie for every horse! I use these ties religiously in my facility-every horse will panic or set back at one time or another and these ties with the easy release Velcro save halters, ties rings and horses!
    Date published: 2015-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy trailer tie with extra safety feature I purchased a trailer in January. I wanted a trailer tie with a panic snap, and saw this had the additional Velcro safety feature. I liked the idea so ordered this product. It arrived and I really like how sturdy the trailer tie is; the Velcro is very secure and I don't anticipate any issues with the Velcro not holding up.
    Date published: 2015-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safety always first! I bought these and also the picket or cross ties, and love them. It is worth having a piece of mind when camping and have horses on a picket line. I can sleep much better when camping! LOL
    Date published: 2015-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2015-01-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great, but I would love stainless steel hardware! Hopefully I will never need these cross ties to release my horse, but since I'm working with a green three year old, you never know. And it pays to be safe.I love how sturdy they are, nice big heavy hardware pieces and sturdy nylon. I have no doubt that they will do exactly what they're supposed to do in case of an emergency.The only improvement would be for the hardware to be stainless steel. And yes, I would be willing to pay more for the upgrade in hardware. We will see how long the brass plated hardware lasts.
    Date published: 2014-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2014-11-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from cross ties While I haven't had a horse spook tied with these yet, I have in the past on my old ones that didn't release, taking hide off his face from the halter, and a black eye for me trying to get him released! This is why I gave a 4 star rating as of now, but the ties look well made and the idea of still having something to grab onto to secure the horse sounds great.
    Date published: 2014-09-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cross ties! I just replaced the pair i had for over 5 years! They are dueable and last so long!
    Date published: 2014-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cross tie
    Date published: 2014-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best ties ever This trailer ties are awesome! Lets your horse get away from danger and you can avoid a vet bill! Trust me... been there done that wish I had these ties that day. Strong enough to do the job but break away when needed with out breaking... awesome. won't buy any other tie EVER again.
    Date published: 2014-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from An old favorite! I've used these trailer ties for years! They are slim and streamlined keeping your trailer looking neat and tidy and their release system is consistently effective. I have had a few horses over the years panic when unloading, or even times when I have forgotten to unhook them, and these trailer ties have always done their job! Even after a safety release has been triggered they are easy to reset and continuously reliable!
    Date published: 2014-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing better I have several sets of these cross-ties in several barns, and also use the trailer ties, and love the product. I personally hate the look of most cross tie areas with the abundance of broken snaps tied together with baling twine, etc. Though I still attach these ties to baling twine loops on the walls, and though I can't say that I have never had a broken snap, the velcro attachment is usually the first thing to let go. This does provide better safety because you then don't have the whole broken cross tie continuing to follow the already spooked horse.
    Date published: 2014-07-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Well Does the job, breaks under panic pressure and is easy to put back together. Quality snaps.
    Date published: 2014-05-29
    • y_2017, m_3, d_25, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_117
    • loc_en_US, sid_1620, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders