Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Tie-Safe Ties

Item #11620
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Tie-Safe Ties are designed to release at a preset tension with a patented VELCRO® Brand closure. Top quality black nylon with brass swivel snap and brass-plated panic snap. 

Favorite Features

  • Tie-Safe is designed so that 6” of the tie remains attached to the halter, while the rest stays attached to the wall
  • No more broken halters or flying heavy snaps! If they ever release, the repair is instant - just attach the pieces back into place. Greatly reduces the risk of injury to horses and humans

Sizing It Up

Sold individually.

Cross Tie: 4’ to 5’4”
Trailer Tie: 2’ to 2’8”

Customization embroidery font is Block.

VELCRO® is a registered trademark of Velcro Industries B.V.
You Might Like
    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tie-Safe Ties is rated 4.6786 out of 5 by 112.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safety always first! I bought these and also the picket or cross ties, and love them. It is worth having a piece of mind when camping and have horses on a picket line. I can sleep much better when camping! LOL
    Date published: 2015-02-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great, but I would love stainless steel hardware! Hopefully I will never need these cross ties to release my horse, but since I'm working with a green three year old, you never know. And it pays to be safe.I love how sturdy they are, nice big heavy hardware pieces and sturdy nylon. I have no doubt that they will do exactly what they're supposed to do in case of an emergency.The only improvement would be for the hardware to be stainless steel. And yes, I would be willing to pay more for the upgrade in hardware. We will see how long the brass plated hardware lasts.
    Date published: 2014-11-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from cross ties While I haven't had a horse spook tied with these yet, I have in the past on my old ones that didn't release, taking hide off his face from the halter, and a black eye for me trying to get him released! This is why I gave a 4 star rating as of now, but the ties look well made and the idea of still having something to grab onto to secure the horse sounds great.
    Date published: 2014-09-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cross ties! I just replaced the pair i had for over 5 years! They are dueable and last so long!
    Date published: 2014-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best ties ever This trailer ties are awesome! Lets your horse get away from danger and you can avoid a vet bill! Trust me... been there done that wish I had these ties that day. Strong enough to do the job but break away when needed with out breaking... awesome. won't buy any other tie EVER again.
    Date published: 2014-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from An old favorite! I've used these trailer ties for years! They are slim and streamlined keeping your trailer looking neat and tidy and their release system is consistently effective. I have had a few horses over the years panic when unloading, or even times when I have forgotten to unhook them, and these trailer ties have always done their job! Even after a safety release has been triggered they are easy to reset and continuously reliable!
    Date published: 2014-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing better I have several sets of these cross-ties in several barns, and also use the trailer ties, and love the product. I personally hate the look of most cross tie areas with the abundance of broken snaps tied together with baling twine, etc. Though I still attach these ties to baling twine loops on the walls, and though I can't say that I have never had a broken snap, the velcro attachment is usually the first thing to let go. This does provide better safety because you then don't have the whole broken cross tie continuing to follow the already spooked horse.
    Date published: 2014-07-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Well Does the job, breaks under panic pressure and is easy to put back together. Quality snaps.
    Date published: 2014-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Safety item The Velcro release is such an improvement over the binder twine ties I was using.
    Date published: 2014-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price great product Great price, work well!! Wouldn't look elsewhere for them.
    Date published: 2014-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Feel safe with it I had never heard of these trailer ties until the seller left one for me in the trailer I bought! I was thrilled when I saw it and learned how it worked. I also didn't know they made cross ties until I went on smartpak! Eventually I will order those too. And I will be buying a second trailer tie for the other side of my trailer. It feels good to know that your horse is able to pull away if he needs. I also LOVE the fact that one end of it is a standard snap and the other is a quick release snap. They're both so much easier to use than those stupid bull snaps that require two hands. A little pricey, but worth the piece of mind. No other product like it!
    Date published: 2014-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product Nice quality, easy to use, safe and liked the fact that tension can be adjusted.
    Date published: 2014-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cross ties This product was great and lived up to the price for a pair of cross ties.
    Date published: 2013-09-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good tie I like these trailer ties because they're longer than many. I did have a horse break one, the panic snap pulled out of the part connecting it to the strap, but I'd rather have some breakage than have a horse hung up by a tie!
    Date published: 2013-09-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Safety Feature I bought these because I've had horses freak out in my trailer while waiting to show and the old crossties did not release their heads & caused them to become more upset. Since these are supposed to come undone under extra pressure I feel better about trailering. The only negative thing I could say is that they do not shorten as much as traditional trailer ties.
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from safe! I use one of these ties in my trailer with my mare, who can be a bit dodgy about trailering. She's only pulled back and gotten free once (and it was my fault; I asked her to back out of the trailer and hadn't undone the tie /facepalm!) She wasn't traumatized at all and was quite happy to load even after this experience. Much better than a tie she'd have to fight with, and possibly hurt herself.
    Date published: 2013-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good, functional ties Love these, they look sharp and serve their purpose. I wish it came with a set of spare rings, though. My horse lost his cool the first time he pulled too hard and the tie began to make the velcro ripping noise (I had the velcro adjusted too low and it released too easily) -- then he REALLY pulled. I have since learned to put more tension on the velcro and we haven't had further issues. He stays put, but I know they will release without tearing down the wall and I don't have to look at ratty baling twine.Very glad these have panic snaps and SPRING SNAPS instead of bull snaps -- harder to find this combination.
    Date published: 2013-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I use this instead of a lead rope on the picket line camping. Works great and if horse decides to freak out.. no one gets hurt and still have a way to catch the horse. I ordered a second one
    Date published: 2013-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent purchase Very pleased with this purchase. As described and worth the price.
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great when you need them I have used these ties for a few years. I love the fact that if the horse really pulls back the Velcro lets go and the the cross tie mounting plates are still attached, the horse is fine and there is a short handle to help catch the wayward horse.I have only had to use them a couple of times, but they were a much safer method than the baling twine one I have seen at most stables.
    Date published: 2013-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these ties! I have a horse that is very anxious to get out of the trailer once it's stopped. With these ties, I know that if he pulls back hard, he won't get hurt or break a rope. I still have a small length of tie to hold onto him. Would recommend these for every horse person!
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Cross Ties! I really like this product. . . I had used the trailer tie as a general-purpose tie-up around the barn, especially with a particularly fussy gelding, and it was a good product. Now that I have cross tie posts in place, these were the first choice. They don't stretch and pop like bungees, they can be adjusted for various levels of give or not-give, and they last a long time even in the tough New Mexico sunshine.
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Trailer safe Tie -Safe tie works well for a horse who may set back or be nervous trailering. It is a bit short for my 7 1/2 foot trailer, yet I like the way it releases with no swinging hardware that could injure a horses eye.
    Date published: 2012-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Perfect length and safe if horse was to need to breakaway!
    Date published: 2012-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are The Best These cross ties are the best. You don't need to worry about your horse setting back and getting hurt or breaking their halter. The velcro holds strongly but will let go if a horse sets back and it lets go at the perfect place so you have a short lead with which to catch the horse. It's a great product and I feel totally safe using these cross ties, I know my horse won't get hurt or break his halter.
    Date published: 2012-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems safe and secure The cross ties are very secure, I can't rip the velcro apart, but I can see how a horse struggling could. So, it does not pull apart with light resistance, only when really needed. Plan on getting another set once the ones I currently have wear out.
    Date published: 2012-10-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from The ties seemed to have good quality workmanship. The problem is that they release with very little pressure. After securing my horse with the tie, he turned his head and it let go. Then I couldn't find the rubber keeper in the shavings on the floor, so I couldn't use it again. I would not recommend this product.
    Date published: 2012-09-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from durable product I have not had to test the release of this product but they seem reliable and well made.
    Date published: 2012-09-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Like it, but not advertised great When I read "Cross Ties", I'm thinking I got a set of 2, as you can't really just use 1 cross tie, can you? Unfortunately, I didn't read it close enough or pay attention. What I thought would be a pair, in order to cross tie my horse, was only one, which was useless. I love them, but wish it was more specific
    Date published: 2012-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed I like the idea of the velcro release. Affordable price, seem like good quality and adjust well to different lengths. I also like the smaller snap/clip that you attach to the halter, slightly less bulk. Would buy again
    Date published: 2012-08-13
    • 2015-08-29T00:39CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_13, tr_99
    • loc_en_US, sid_1620, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.