Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Tie-Safe Ties

Item #11620
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Tie-Safe Ties are designed to release at a preset tension with a patented VELCRO® Brand closure. Top quality black nylon with brass swivel snap and brass-plated panic snap. 

Favorite Features

  • Tie-Safe is designed so that 6” of the tie remains attached to the halter, while the rest stays attached to the wall
  • No more broken halters or flying heavy snaps! If they ever release, the repair is instant - just attach the pieces back into place. Greatly reduces the risk of injury to horses and humans

Sizing It Up

Sold individually.

Cross Tie: 4’ to 5’4”
Trailer Tie: 2’ to 2’8”

Customization embroidery font is Block.

VELCRO® is a registered trademark of Velcro Industries B.V.
You Might Like
    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tie-Safe Ties is rated 4.6786 out of 5 by 112.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great trailer/cross ties The velcro cross ties are the best! I have used them for years, needed a new pair for a new set of crossties in the barn. I have had horses pull away, they NEVER break, but do come apart with a piece still on the horse to catch him! Excellent product..one of my stable must-haves.
    Date published: 2012-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from EASY AND SAFE I like knowing if my horse slips in my trailer that she can get up and not be strangled. Also, it is strong enough to keep them from putting their heads down all the way while traveling.I like it because they can separate the tie and you just put back together and your not having to purchase another.
    Date published: 2012-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice cross ties in our barn we do not like the bull snaps, these cross ties have the normal snaps, the velcro pull apart is awesome, no one has pulled back to use it yet:-)
    Date published: 2012-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Takes The Worry Out Of Trailer Training I am working with Leuk, my young Moriesian gelding, on trailer loading. After having a bad trailering experience with another horse, I'm using this tie to help ME overcome MY fear of tying in the trailer. How can I teach Leuk to feel confident if I don't? Whew!! Now I can relax and move on to actually closing the door...
    Date published: 2012-02-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great quality All in all, I would highly recommend these cross ties. I love the quality and the hardware is effective and durable. They are quite adjustable, however I do wish they were able to be adjusted a little more. These just barely fit my aisle at the barn.
    Date published: 2012-02-13
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not working out I wrote a review on these when I first got them, but after using them for months I wanted to update my previous opinion. I thought these would be a great safety feature and the perfect thing for my 3-horse slant load trailer. But in reality they have turned out to be a HUGE liability and pain in the neck. I have a 7' tall trailer and 14-15 hand horses. These ties have turned out to be extremely too short for my trailer. The other thing is that I have watched horses try to put their heads down many times, and simply rip the velcro loose. They aren't panicking or pulling back or doing anything naughty. The velcro is just so flimsy and weak that they can rip it loose with barely the flick of a head. I was trailering a horse for a friend - was watching him on the trailer cameras - and I saw him put his head down, then bring his head back up, and the darn tie was ripped loose! I had to pull over, open the window, velcro the thing back together again...get back on the road....horse does it again! He did it 3 times before I had to hook a regular lead rope on him and tie that to the tie ring. So for me, these have been a total waste of money and I am very disappointed. NONE of my horses ever pull back and break stuff, but they are constantly ripping these ties loose without even trying! I just ordered 3 Blocker Tie Rings to hook inside the trailer. I am really worried about metal clanging on metal, but I want something that will release if we get into an accident, and I do NOT trust traditional "quick realease" snaps on trailer ties. I have seen that go bad in a hurry when they won't release, then you're trying to get your hand on the rope of panicking horse.
    Date published: 2012-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great technology, super product My mare has been horrible snapping the cross ties so I invested in a pair of these ties while I retrain her to stand on the cross ties. These are a great quality product, easy to install. And I have confidence that they will stand the test of a busy boarding barn. Thank you SmartPak for providing a great selection of tools to keep my horses safe.
    Date published: 2012-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safety purchase I bought the Tie-Safe for my trailer. Every once in a while my horse panics and will pull back when unloading and will break the trailer tie. Doing this he has pulled his neck out of alignment resulting in costly chiropractic appt. He hasn’t panic since I have bought the Tie-Safe but I feel confident knowing that if he suddenly panics when unloading it will release and won’t hurt himself.
    Date published: 2011-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ordered More!! Got these to tie horses while we saddle, etc. Since our boys are young, they are still learning to stand for longer periods (learning nicely), so I wanted something that would "give" if they panicked. Like these so much, I've ordered more - some for the trailer more for other hitching posts.
    Date published: 2011-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from All barns should use these! SAFEST cross-tie ever. This is a smart design, and it does work. If the horse pulls back / breaks away, a lead is left attached to the horse. Really well-made and quality hardware. Easy to adjust and use. Worth the extra $.
    Date published: 2011-10-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Um, not all there I ordered two pairs of cross ties along with other items. In the first box to arrive was one pair, and in the second, half of the second pair.I have not yet contacted SmartPak about it as we are very busy setting up our new barn.The one complete pair works fine but of course the safety feature hasn't been tested yet. They are sturdy and the metal fittings look durable.
    Date published: 2011-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally - A great trailer tie! After having more of the elastic types break with even a little pressure on them, decided to try these. They are the best out there. Our pony and horse decided to "test" them and it was great to just put them back together. They both have decided not to try again.
    Date published: 2011-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excelent Safety Tie I purchased my first tie a few years ago after I had tried many other ties. I have a large 17h powerhouse of a horse named Dickens and every once in a while he would be startled by one thing or another. The previous ties often parted with a bang and whiplash, sometimes striking either or both of us. Since using the Tie-Safe ties the tie still parts but in a controlled manner without whiplash. Also a section of the tie remains with the horse and provides a handy grip. Since the tie parts more easily, Dickens is not further upset by struggling, which precludes additional problems. I am extremely pleased with this product and recommend this tie over all others.
    Date published: 2011-06-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too short I love the concept of break away ties with velcro - that part is brilliant. However I was really surprised last night when I got these to see how short they are. Even adjusted out as long as they go, when hung up in my trailer, they are going to hold the horse's heads unnaturally high. They will not be able to put their heads down enough to get their heads at wither level. These ties will hold their head way up in the air. I have a very nice aluminum 3-horse slant so it's not like I'm using some freak of nature trailer with trailer ties mounted on the roof or anything. These ties are just unbelievably short. I will need to afix some kind of ring to my trailer tie rings, then attach this to that extra ring to give the horses an extra 4 or 5 inches of space. If I had known this I would not have bought them.
    Date published: 2011-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product Have seen these used for the past 8 yrs at a very busy stable and they have outlasted all others, even when chewed upon by young horses. So I have my own barn now and purchased them for my own use!
    Date published: 2011-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT product super idea, releases under a good amount of pressure. Really like these!!
    Date published: 2011-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of My "Can't Do Without Items" I bought a set of the cross ties and a single trailer tie for when I travel. I absolutely love both versions. My huge, very strong mare came to me with alot of emotional baggage, including fear of being firmly secured (she had gone over backwards in the cross ties and broke her tail with her previous owner). As I continue to work on her confidence, I have gone through a number of bungees and other types of ties before a friend suggested these. Now if my mare sits back (which is getting less and less frequent with time), I don't worry about her getting stuck, breaking equipment, or hurting herself. The velcro doesn't give it up too easily -- gets the message across that she is tied -- but if she continues, it does breakaway, with no harm to my horse or equipment.
    Date published: 2011-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these I got these originally for my trailer. I now use them when I tie to the outside of the trailer, when I need to tie my mare in the stall as well as when I haul. They work beautifully when she panics, no fighting and once free not scared and easy to catch and reconnect to tie back up.
    Date published: 2011-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! I'll never use any other kind of trailer or cross ties. These ties release quickly, are easy to put back together, and have saved me and my horses numerous times. Love them!
    Date published: 2011-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The name is right.......Tie Safe Ties I have some of these ties from about 25 years ago.They are still good, but I decided to purchase more when I noticed the snap was not as tight as it should be. These are now made in Tawain where they used to be in the United States. I noticed that, but the quality still seems to be the same. These are excellent for a horse that pulls back of which I have one.
    Date published: 2011-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I haven't had to replace cross ties since I started using these!
    Date published: 2011-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trailer ties I have only used them twice so far, but I think they work great and I dont have to worry about my horses getting hurt by them if something unforseen happens as the velcro will pull apart.
    Date published: 2011-03-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for stall cross ties Bought these because the ones in the stall were pretty thread bare. The velcro allows for different lengths. My horse stands quiet in cross ties so these work well for us.
    Date published: 2011-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Trailer Ties@ I have one of these ties for each horse in my trailer and they are great! They're definitely the safest on the market. I have a young thoroughbred who has problems with being tied, so trailer ties are naturally an issue. They bring me peace of mind knowing that my horses won't get hurt.
    Date published: 2011-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only cross-tie worth having These safety, release velcro cross-ties have saved me, my barn and my horses numerous times. They release quickly and can be put back together in a flash. I'd never use any other kind.
    Date published: 2010-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth every penny i love these ties in my trailer. i have had the elastic ones break with a bad horse and the hardware went flying, have had a horse pull so hard the slip knot wouldnt give ------- so no more worries with new horses, this is the perfect solution to keep me and the horses safe.
    Date published: 2010-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great safety product I use the trailer tie in my trailer and had it pull apart once. It was easy to adjust and put back together. The barn aisle tie didn't come apart and broke at the quick release. I didn't care for the barn aisle tie as the snap at the end just wasn't big enough to attach easily to a D ring on the side of a halter and would require two hands to move it just right to open it. Definitely a great safety item as both times that I needed them to give the did!
    Date published: 2010-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Works really well, and can be reset for additional use after being pulled apart. Added plus; one piece stays connected to the halter and it is long enough to act as a catch rope on your now loose horse, but not long enough for them to step on or tangle in. LOVE IT!
    Date published: 2010-09-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Multiple uses! I board my horse at a not so up-to-date barn, that uses heavy metal chains for cross ties. Although I never tie my horse to them, I've seen plenty of accidents happen around the not-so-informed wanna-be horse people. I bought a few of these to keep around the barn for people to use, and no matter who is hauling, I hand one off to them to. These have prevented MANY could have been deadly accidents. And the best part is, when a horse escapes, there is a little lead still attached to the halter! Awesome quality too, stitching is good, and velcro is VERY strong. Escape artists can't pull it apart for fun or a quick escape.
    Date published: 2010-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safest Tie This is the only tie I feel safe using with my mare in the trailer. She sets back occasionally, and I wouldn't want her to panic while trailering. I also don't want anything to break that needs replacing! This is a great design.
    Date published: 2010-07-30
    • 2015-08-30T15:05CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_13, tr_99
    • loc_en_US, sid_1620, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.