Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

ThinLine Contour Pad

ThinLine
- Item #15862
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE GROUND SHIPPING.
(Find out how)

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

ThinLine pads simultaneously provide exceptional benefits for both horse and rider backs!

Use this ThinLine pad between your saddle and regular saddle pad to help absorb impact and distribute weight more evenly to provide a more comfortable ride for both you and your horse.

Favorite Features

  • Absorbs impact
  • Distributes weight evenly
  • Easy to clean (simply wipe or wash)

Sizing It Up

Fits most close contact and dressage saddles up to 18". 
21½” Spine, 25½” Flap to Flap with 14½” Wide Seat. ¼” thick.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Wool Deluxe Classic Half Pad has a ...
    Description:
    The Wool Deluxe Classic Half Pad has a rolled edge in front and back for a secure fit. Made with billet straps.Woolis a 3-dimensionalProtective fiber that forms pockets of air quickly wicking away moisture. Wool's natural springiness relieves pressure points ...
    Mattes pads are designed to be form fitting ...
    Description:
    Mattes pads are designed to be form fitting to reduce pressure points and distribute the rider's weight evenly. All Mattes pads incorporate a high wither with an anatomically correct curvature to prevent pinching or rubbing in the gullet area of ...
    A top seller, this cotton base design gives ...
    Description:
    A top seller, this cotton base design gives your Ultra ThinLine a whole level of performance. As an added benefit, this pad is also shimmable. FavoriteFeatures Improves rider equitation Maximum rider and saddle stability Contoured wither profile creates a comfortable ...
    This top quality pad optimizes close contact between ...
    Description:
    This top quality pad optimizes close contact between horse and rider. The Deluxe Classic Half Pad from Equine Comfort is 100% Australian Merino Sheepskin, whichhelps eliminate pressure points and prevents saddle sores. Favorite Features Absorbs and wicks away moisture Provides ...
    Using state of the art materials, EquiFit has ...
    Description:
    Using state of the art materials, EquiFit has developed and added a highly innovative saddle pad to their line of products. Made using ImpacTeq technology, the ImpacTeq Half Pad brings a level of shock absorption to the existing half pads ...
    The Lettia CoolMax Half Pad provides ultimate comfort ...
    Description:
    The Lettia CoolMax Half Pad provides ultimate comfort andProtection. The quilted design with Coolmax lining draws away excess heat and moisture. This pad also helps relieve uneven saddle pressure and provides extraProtection where needed while maintaining optimum balance and contact. ...
    Featuring the T-Foam technology, the Contour Pad's design ...
    Description:
    Featuring the T-Foam technology, the Contour Pad's design follows the line of your horse's back covering more space behind the shoulder without adding wither or spine pressure. Available with a machine washable, removable fleece cover OR covered in top-quality leather. ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    ThinLine Contour Pad is rated 4.769230769230769 out of 5 by 39.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice, thin pad I love how thin this pad is. It does not add any bulk at all under your saddle, and still gives your horse plenty of support. My saddle is 17", and the pad fits it perfectly.
    Date published: 2014-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Helped My Horse My horse has a rather short, wide back and was experiencing some back soreness. I know my saddle doesn't fit perfectly, but being a college student on a budget I opted for this instead of a new saddle in hopes that it might buy me a little time. Because my guy's back is rather wide, I was looking for something that could provide the comfort he needed without adding a bunch of bulk underneath the saddle. I was excited to try it after reading all of the positive reviews, but was still a little skeptical that it would do everything the manufacturer claimed it would. I could tell a difference after the very first ride! My horse usually takes around 15 to 20 min to start coming through his back and swinging from behind, but he was good to go after about 5 minutes of warmup. I've continued to see improvement with each ride. He is also more consistently on the aids when we are using this pad. After our ride yesterday, I ran my fingers down his back, and his soreness seems dramatically reduced. Hopefully it will continue to get better the longer we use this pad. I haven't really seen any improvement as far as my position or comfort in the saddle goes, but that isn't really something I was having issues with. The pad seems well made and durable. I ordered it black and it sits discreetly underneath my 17.5 dressage and jumping saddles. I have a friend that says she's had her Thinline for about 10 years and it is still going strong. I'll definitely continue to use this pad with my horse. Love Thinline!
    Date published: 2014-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from THIN LINE CONTOUR PAD My horse travels better and appears more comfortable with the pad
    Date published: 2013-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from took me awhile to warm up to this Just fits under my saddle 17.5 neidersuss. Slides if girth isn't pretty tight. I like the padding this pad provides while still being thin.
    Date published: 2013-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Help with saddle fit Nice pad - wish it had better relief through the withers as my mare has really high withers. Seems like it will last, but I've only been using it a few weeks. Recommended by chiro to help with cushioning on a saddle that is in need of adjustment - mare does seem much more comfortable.
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thicker than the "Ultra" I have a TB who is very picky about saddle fit. He is growing and also putting on muscle and changing his topline. He outgrew his saddle from 8 months ago. One of my other saddles was close, but not quite right. I have a Thinline Ultra pad that is a few years old and has held up well. Not quite enough for my guy. After research, it turns out that the "Ultra" is to be used under a well fitting saddle. The origional is thicker (3/8th" vs 1/4") and designed to help saddle fit and to be used with higher impact activities such as jumping.This pad has helped the fit. The contour pad gives good coverage. It would be nice if it was designed to have wither relief, but it molds OK. My TB is much happier. This pad is a good addition to my collection. Overall, more useful than the Ultra.
    Date published: 2012-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this pad to help protect my horse's back on endurance rides and to help keep my saddle from slipping. I love this pad and will probably buy one for every horse that I own in the future! My saddle is not slipping nearly as much on rides and my horse is not getting slapped in the back anymore. I can definitely feel that concussion is not going into my horse's back (though sometimes it is because it is coming back up into mine). I have not noticed a large change in the way that my horse moves, but I still think that the pad is well worth the money!
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from White may have been a mistake... I debated for awhile about whether or not to get this pad in black, but went with white so I could use it at shows. My only complaint it that it gets dirty quite fast, and they say you can clean it with baby-wipes, but that doesn't work. I've yet to try the ThinLine cleaning products or putting it in the washing machine, though, so I have hope that I can get it clean. I haven't noticed a difference in my horse's performance or feel anything different myself in the saddle, but I think it is good for both of us in the long run!
    Date published: 2012-11-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great pad for a back sore horse My horse was having back pain from overcompensating for a serious muscle strain in his hip. For a few weeks he would cringe as I removed the saddle from near his wither area. His back came up very positive on the bone scan and it was recommended that I use a gel pad or equalizing pad to help his back during his recovery.The pad was not the only measure, but it was an important part of his back healing process. Upon re-examination, which included palpation of his back and butt, he was 100% cleared.He has a professionally fit saddle and this works with it perfectly. I will continue to use it. It fits my 17" saddle quite well. You can definitely see it, but it doesn't stick out enough to look tacky.
    Date published: 2012-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I was looking for! This pad gives the extra cushion my horse needs without compromising the fit of my saddle.
    Date published: 2012-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy with this pad I had previously ordered the pad with the sheepskin rolls, but it was much too bulky around my saddle. I exchanged it for this pad, and I am very happy with my purchase. The pad fits well under my saddle and stays in place really well. Luckily my horse and I don't have any current back issues (knock on wood), and I purchased this more to protect her back, so I haven't noticed any changes in my rides. The feel and reputation of the pad gives me comfort that it will help protect my horse's back.
    Date published: 2012-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth Every Penny I was hesitant to buy this pad because of the price, but now it's been a year since I bought it and not once have I ever regretted my decision!! The difference in my horse's willingness to lift his back and relax was incredible and long lasting. Normally it took me 15 minutes to get him to relax and now it only takes 5. Also the quality of his gaits dramatically improved. I loved it so much I bought the Thinline Bareback pad and just simply couldn't be happier. Highly, highly recommend.
    Date published: 2012-01-06
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Disappointed After reading all of the positive reviews, I bought this pad for my two horses who have sensitive backs. I was very disappointed when, after riding both horses with and without this pad several times, I came to the conclusion that it was actually making the ride feel more jarring. It definitely did not help their backs, and after switching back to my old fleece half-pad I noticed that they both seemed more comfortable. The only positive about the experience was that customer service was very understanding and I was able to return the product.
    Date published: 2011-11-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice pad Nice pad, but didn't really improve my horse's sore back, although he is only a little sore. O well, I still use it, in conjunction with my back on track saddle pad which I love!
    Date published: 2011-10-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps My Back I bought this pad because I've been experiencing some back pain after riding, especially jumping. After reading the reviews I figured it was worth a try, even if it was a little pricey. I have been using it for a few weeks and it does seem that I have less back trouble when I use it. The horse I ride seems to be moving better as well. I do wish that this pad allowed more room for the withers, but I like that it doesn't change the fit of the saddle. Of course, the pad went on sale shortly after I bought it...I wish I would have waited a week!
    Date published: 2011-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from WORTH EVERY PENNY! I tried soooo many pads before finally ordering Thinline. My thoroughbred gelding has a weak topline, he's slowly gaining muscle/weight but I needed something to pad his back a bit in the meantime. I tried sheepskin half pads (which added too much bulk and caused my saddle flaps to stick straight out), the Ovation gel pad (which pulled down on top of his withers and was far too heavy)... After reading the reviews posted here, I finally ordered this pad. Thank Goodness!!! My horse is so happy; moving so freely through his back and shoulders. It also helps keep my saddle in place. I have a 17" Bates CC saddle, this pad is barely large enough for it. If I have any complaints it's that smartpak needs to offer the "large" size of this pad as well (offered on most other websites). I like the way it fits my Bates, but anyone with a larger saddle would be in trouble. It measures at 20" spine, 25" flap to flap with 14" wide seat.
    Date published: 2011-09-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Might help the horse... My horse seems to really like this pad. It takes a bit of adjusting to get the proper fit...my horse has kissing spine and our saddle fitter recommended this for back comfort. I thought it would be an extra plus if it helped me with my back as advertised..eh, didn't see much of a difference there!
    Date published: 2011-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good buy My trainer started me using the thin line contour pad and I felt it did a good job cushioning my back as well as adding support for my horse.
    Date published: 2011-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No better pad My mare started having a sore back after I rode everytime. Her saddle still fit quite well. So I bought a new Thinline because the one I was using was 10 years old. As soon as I started using the new one her back would no longer get sore after being ridden. These pads are awesome!
    Date published: 2010-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great absorption, with no bulk this pad is great on all of my horses and ponies. they are all more willing to work and come round and an accidental bump on their back after a fence does not phase any of them. The black pad I bought is very easy to clean, in fact a small rinse every other day is sufficient. Very good buy for the price.
    Date published: 2010-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this pad!! I stole my friends' thinline pad just for fun to see if it made any difference. It made a huge difference in our comfort level. Her strides seemed smoother and more fluid and it was easier to sit tall and influence her movement. I now have a thinline for every horse and every saddle.
    Date published: 2010-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great saddle pad I have priced this saddle pad elsewhere and the cheapest price I could find was $165.00 Smartpak had it for sale for $88.00! What a find. I recently bought a new custom saddle and my saddle fitter recommended this pad to help with a young horses back and to protect my new saddle from the sweat.
    Date published: 2010-02-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Relieves my lower back pain I purchased this based on a friend's recommendation to improve the comfort of my horse. My all-purpose English saddle already fit him pretty well, but she swore by her ThinLine pad in terms of making her horse happier, so I thought it wouldn't hurt. After using this pad for about a month now, I can definitively say the pad has absolutely made MY ride more comfortable and my lower back does not ache as it often did after long rides before I bought the ThinLine. That said, I can't say whether it has improved my horse's comfort or not; he seems to move the same way he did before I used the ThinLine pad. It certainly is not hurting him or making things worse, but I didn't notice a real change in his way of going. (I primarily do trail riding at all gaits and over varied terrain, so a specific difference in how one's horse moves might be more apparent to a dressage or arena-based rider.)
    Date published: 2009-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent investment My young horse is in training and his muscles are in the development stages. The ThinLine pad has been the best investment in the care of his back! I have had my saddle fitted to him, however, he is still changing. This pad keeps him comfortable and through his back during his work. I LOVE THIS PAD!
    Date published: 2009-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product. This pad is great. The fit is perfect, it will not change the fit of your saddle. Keeps everything in place, nice on your horses back. I will always be using this pad.
    Date published: 2009-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great supplemental pad I have a custom dressage saddle but wanted something with a little more cushion for my young horses back. This pad is perfect! It is so thin it doesn't affect the fit of my saddle and my horse seems to love it. Good quality too.
    Date published: 2009-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Won't ride without it Since discovering these pads, I, literally, won't ride any of my horses without a thinline pad. The contour pad falls into the "can't live without" category of riding items. I have honestly noticed positive attitude changes in my horses and their ways of going. They swing more through their backs and generally feel looser. The thinness of the pad allows me to not distrub or alter the fit of my saddles.
    Date published: 2009-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I use the ThinLine Contour Pad on all the lesson horses in the barn. I've seen a significant improvement in their attitudes and comfort. With my own mare, I use the correction pad because she's going to change so much as she gets older (she's 4 yr old). She's very sensitive, and I noticed a difference in her during the first ride and in my back after the 3rd. This is an excellent product that I will be using on every horse in my barn from now on.
    Date published: 2008-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprised I am admittedly surprised at the difference I have noticed after only two days of using my ThinLine Contour Pad. My horse has a significantly shorter right lead stride and with this pad both leads are equal. He is much more willing to collect his stride and his extensions are ground covering. It doesn't change the saddle fit at all, which is good because I have a custom saddle for him. Definitely recommend this product, it is a good investment.
    Date published: 2008-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing!!! I have a horse that is perpetually back-sore (likely the result of a dropped hip). I have tried my fair share of new and different saddle pads with admittedly mixed results, until now! Based on the reviews of other riders I finally decided to try the ThinLine Contour Pad. I can't believe what a difference it has made already, and I have only had it for two weeks! My horse was instantly more relaxed under saddle and his gaits even improved! I couldn't be happier! I highly recommend this pad to anyone and everyone!
    Date published: 2008-08-25
    • 2016-07-23T10:46CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_38
    • loc_en_US, sid_5862, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders