Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

The Ultimate Hoofpick

Item #14949
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Tired of wimpy, hard-to-hold hoofpicks that force you to do all the work? From the first time you hold it in your hand, you’ll know that the perfectly ergonomic Ultimate Hoofpick is solidly built, worth every penny and the last hoofpick you'll ever need. From mud like concrete and snow like icebergs, to feet with clefts deep as the Grand Canyon, the Ultimate Hoofpick gets the job done, quick and easy.

Favorite Features

  • Easy to hold
  • Strong and reliable

Sizing

Junior - 6.5"
Ultimate - 8"
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Tired of seeing you horses mane and tail ...
    Description:
    "Tired of seeing you horses mane and tail full of tangles and dirt? The EZ All Shine & Detangler leaves the manes and tails soft and manageable with just a small amount gel. The professional strength gel made from a ...
    "The new green formula of EZ All has ...
    Description:
    "The new green formula of EZ All has even more cleaning power and a fresh natural scent. A little of this natural and safe cleaner goes a long way. Only a few ounces is needed for each wash. Apply the ...
    "The ultimate hoof pick! This hoof pick was ...
    Description:
    "The ultimate hoof pick! This hoof pick was designed to remove even the hardest elements that become compacted in horses' hooves. The strong end square edged metal pick drives easily into hard elements such as clay, snow, and mud. It ...
    "The HandsOn® Gloves are a all-in-one revolutionary glove ...
    Description:
    "The HandsOn® Gloves are a all-in-one revolutionary glove that will change the way you bathe and groom forever! Created by animal people for animal people HandsOn Gloves reach far beyond the traditional curry combs, mitts and scrubbers on the market ...
    "The Jelly Scrubber works great as a bathing ...
    Description:
    "The Jelly Scrubber works great as a bathing mitt. The Jelly Scrubber is a soft, flexible curry that's great for short-haired dogs or thin-skinned horses. Large nubs on one side are great for washing out the deep down dirt while ...
    "The Microfiber Mitt will quickly become an essential ...
    Description:
    "The Microfiber Mitt will quickly become an essential part of your grooming routine! This safe and soft microfiber product is perfect for wiping down your horse both before and after workouts. Microfiber is suitable for even the most sensitive areas ...
    "Say goodbye to hard to remove dirt with ...
    Description:
    "Say goodbye to hard to remove dirt with the Oster Coarse Curry Comb! The specially designed coarse fingers will massage the coat and loosen dirt for an overall cleaning. This will become you're new favorite curry in no time! Imported." ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    The Ultimate Hoofpick is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 103.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Hoof Pick EVER! This is the BEST hoof pick I've ever used. My horse needs his hooves cleaned out really well, every day. It's easy to hold and is able to clean out all the packed in crud, that here in Arizona, seems to become similar to concrete in the arid heat. It's also solidly made and I foresee it lasting a very, very long time.
    Date published: 2016-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for picking hooves with sliders and when hooves are packed with clay are very dense material because it doesn't slide in you hand and is sturdy so it doesn't bend.
    Date published: 2016-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding!! I just bought this and am so happy I did because it is wonderful. I read all the reviews and ordered the smaller size, which fits my small hands perfectly. The handle is easy to grip and the pick itself is strong, sturdy, and fits into all the narrow crevices in my horse's hooves. Yes, it is rather expensive for a hoof pick, but it is well worth the extra cost.
    Date published: 2016-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ultimate! It doesn't matter the weather or environmental conditions...this hoof pick works quickly and effectively with minimal effort. It is a large, heavy hoof pick.
    Date published: 2016-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoofpick EVER! I've been using the same one of these for about four years, and it's still going strong! The only reason I'm buying another is that I'm traveling to more clients' barns these days and want to keep one at home and one in my truck. I have relatively large hands, but I would still recommend the "Junior" version - it's the same size as one of the generic brushy ones, but with a grip that really fits the hand. The "Ultimate" is actually weirdly large, and, having used one for the first time at another barn the other day, it's pretty hard to hang on to. I never actually use the brush on the other ones, so I don't miss not having one! This is a tool you'll use literally every time you ride - don't cheap out!
    Date published: 2016-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hoof pick I have used. The metal portion does not bend like other generic hoofpicks.
    Date published: 2016-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great This is the best pick I have used. Definitely worth using. No bending and always gets under the mud an sand.
    Date published: 2016-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoof pick ever!!! Perfect Shape! Fits my hand and gives me the leverage I need to get out even packed hard mud and dirt. Certainly makes my life easier!
    Date published: 2016-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Hoof Pick You will have to pry this out of my cold dead hands before I ever buy another hoof pick. Works great on packed in mud. The junior size is the same size as a normal hoof pick
    Date published: 2016-04-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not really impressed Okay so this is the first hoofpick I have bought. There are plenty laying around at our barn and free for anyone to use. I bought this product based off reviews and bloggers... Over all I wasn't super impressed. I like the hoofpicks with brushes, its more convenient. This one is very sturdy unlike a cheap counterpart and the jr size fit my small hands very well. However, you can get the job done with a cheaper pick. I do have to say though if you aren't prone to loose it, its not a bad investment as it feels sturdy and like it can stand the test of time. However, time will tell, Ive only had mine a month or so.
    Date published: 2016-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great hoof pick this thing is sturdy! I will probably never have to buy another hoof pick in my life! really gets all the crud out of the hoof and the Jr size fits perfectly in my hands. The regular size would probably be too big for most ladies.
    Date published: 2016-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best hoof pick ever! this is the perfect shape. it spares your wrists, gives good leverage and really gets into those tight places without any discomfort for the horse or yourself. so glad I bought this!!!
    Date published: 2016-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Hoof pick!! I've been using mine for over a year now and I just gave one to my Granddaughter for her horse.
    Date published: 2015-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very glad I purchased this hoofpick I have carpal tunnel and other arm issues and I find this hoofpick is very comfortable to hold and is great picking the hooves without a lot of strength on my part. I have three little barefoot miniature horses and I love this hoofpick.
    Date published: 2015-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life changing My life before the Ultimate Hoofpick: "Why would anyone spend that much money on a hoofpick?"My Life after the Ultimate Hoofpick: "Oh, never mind, I totally get it now."You have to try it to fully understand its magic. I am a groom and it wasnt until some clients bought the Ultimate Hoofpick (which I then used when grooming their horses) that I realized I needed one for my personal grooming kit too.So great for tough arena sand, snow-packed tootsies, and general mud mayhem.
    Date published: 2015-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great product This is the second Ultimate hoofpick I own. I bought two so my granddaughter would have one of her own. I would not use any other kindAWESOME
    Date published: 2015-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! I love this hoof pick! It is super comfortable and incredibly sturdy. It might seem like an excessive amount to spend on a hoof pick, but you will love picking out your horses feet with this hoof pick.
    Date published: 2015-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saves my hands! I have arthritis and a bad wrist, so the leverage and sharp tip make this my favorite new tool. The only thing I would like is a bristle brush on the end like the ones on standard picks.
    Date published: 2015-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdiest Hoofpick I've had this hoofpick for over a year and it's held up great. Definitely worth investing the extra couple bucks rather then constantly needing to replace poorer quality ones. Works great on the ice balls the form in their hooves during the winter. The "Junior" size is best for an adult woman with average sized hands, the "Ultimate" size is too big.
    Date published: 2015-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super strong and will last! I originally bought this because my barefoot trimmer recommended it - she said it has lasted the longest of any hoofpick and that it has a nice strong tip that won't bend. I decided to buy it and I completely agree. The bevel on the end is nice if you need to even take off some sloughing pieces of sole. Doing this with my old $2 hoofpick usually ended up bending it.
    Date published: 2015-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hoof pick This brand is the ultimate hoof pick. I have both sizes and prefer the larger one. I didn't think that hoof picks could be that different until I used one of these. They really do make it easier. So well made and sturdy.
    Date published: 2015-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Strong and easy to use Good sturdy product! Easy to use, beats all other picks I've ever used!
    Date published: 2014-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hoof pick ever Gets into little crevices better than anything else, also the most wedged in rocks & mud come out easily. I've never spent so much on a hoof pick before but someone at the barn had one, I tried it, & couldn't go back to a normal one after that.
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2014-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Handle, Strong Pick I have two of these hoofpicks and would not spend a winter without them.I bought one a year or two ago and it's as good as the day it arrived.It easily gets ice and snow, or hard packed dirt/mud. Great product!
    Date published: 2014-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from FITS YOUR HAND This hoof pick fits your hand and works with the motion of picking out hooves! The point is great and really digs into the adobe that surrounds the property!
    Date published: 2014-11-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great quality hoof pick This hoof pick stands up to caked-in Washington winter mud that bent my other one. I would have given it 5 stars if it had a brush. I still have to use both, as the brush is handy in cleaning out the extra dirt.Be warned that you don't get to pick the color; it is chosen for you when you order. I got yellow. :(
    Date published: 2014-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great feel I just bought this hoof pick and it is awesome. I've been around a while and held quite a few in my hands and this one is tops!
    Date published: 2014-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect hoof pick in a junior version! Love the ultimate hoof pick, but it's definitely for bigger hands-this pick is perfect for the adult or kids with smaller hands.
    Date published: 2014-07-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Useful A little expensive and bulky, but works well. Good grip on handle.
    Date published: 2014-05-13
    • y_2017, m_5, d_23, h_5
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_99
    • loc_en_US, sid_4949, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders