Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

The Ultimate Hoofpick

Item #14949
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Tired of wimpy, hard-to-hold hoofpicks that force you to do all the work? From the first time you hold it in your hand, you’ll know that the perfectly ergonomic Ultimate Hoofpick is solidly built, worth every penny and the last hoofpick you'll ever need. From mud like concrete and snow like icebergs, to feet with clefts deep as the Grand Canyon, the Ultimate Hoofpick gets the job done, quick and easy.


Favorite Features

  • Easy to hold
  • Strong and reliable
  • Comes in a variety of colors (we pick the color for you!)

Sizing It Up

Junior - 6.5"
Ultimate - 8"

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Soft Rubber Curry Combs help remove mud and ...
    Description:
    Soft Rubber Curry Combs help remove mud and loosen matted dirt for quick grooming. Black, Blue Glitter, Pink Glitter or Purple Glitter. (Glitter makes grooming more fun!) Favorite Features Fits comfortable in your hand Durable Fun color options! Imported.
    Remove ticks with ease, with Tick Ease! Your ...
    Description:
    Remove ticks with ease, with Tick Ease! Your key to the easiest, fastest, and safest tick removal for people, dogs and horses. Favorite Features The Killer Dual-Tipped Tick Extractor featuring thin tipped tweezers for crawlers and specially designed slotted scoop ...
    The Oster Fine Curry Comb is the perfect ...
    Description:
    The Oster Fine Curry Comb is the perfect solution for sensitive areas! The fine fingers will gently clean and massage dirt and dandruff away. Favorite Features Rubber control-touch handle for added comfort and better grip Promotes Shine Imported.
    Cavallo Simple Boots are multi-purpose hoof boots that ...
    Description:
    Cavallo Simple Boots are multi-purpose hoof boots that are excellent for all-terrain hoof protection for the barefoot horse. Allows natural expansion of the hoof wall as well as increased blood circulation. Absorbs shock so your horse's legs don't need to! ...
    A good bot-worm control program includes eliminating bot ...
    Description:
    A good bot-worm control program includes eliminating bot eggs from your horse. The Bot Egg Knife's special shape is designed to reach into crevices where bot eggs are found. Favorite Features Stainless Steel Easy to use, grip handle Sizing It ...
    Modeled after a Fire Fighting Fog Nozzle. The ...
    Description:
    Modeled after a Fire Fighting Fog Nozzle. The Ultimate Hose Nozzle has an adjustable spray pattern from a near solid stream to broad fan. Plus exclusive two-way shut-off, allowing you to turn it on OR off in either direction! Made ...
    The Sheepskin Groom Mitt is made out of ...
    Description:
    The Sheepskin Groom Mitt is made out of top quality 100% Australian Sheepskin. Watch as it effortlessly absorbs and removes dust from horses, boots, saddles/ tack, and even your show coat! This mitt can be used wet or dry and ...
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    The Ultimate Hoofpick is rated 4.75 out of 5 by 92.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best hoof pick ever! this is the perfect shape. it spares your wrists, gives good leverage and really gets into those tight places without any discomfort for the horse or yourself. so glad I bought this!!!
    Date published: 2016-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Hoof pick!! I've been using mine for over a year now and I just gave one to my Granddaughter for her horse.
    Date published: 2015-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very glad I purchased this hoofpick I have carpal tunnel and other arm issues and I find this hoofpick is very comfortable to hold and is great picking the hooves without a lot of strength on my part. I have three little barefoot miniature horses and I love this hoofpick.
    Date published: 2015-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life changing My life before the Ultimate Hoofpick: "Why would anyone spend that much money on a hoofpick?"My Life after the Ultimate Hoofpick: "Oh, never mind, I totally get it now."You have to try it to fully understand its magic. I am a groom and it wasnt until some clients bought the Ultimate Hoofpick (which I then used when grooming their horses) that I realized I needed one for my personal grooming kit too.So great for tough arena sand, snow-packed tootsies, and general mud mayhem.
    Date published: 2015-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great product This is the second Ultimate hoofpick I own. I bought two so my granddaughter would have one of her own. I would not use any other kindAWESOME
    Date published: 2015-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! I love this hoof pick! It is super comfortable and incredibly sturdy. It might seem like an excessive amount to spend on a hoof pick, but you will love picking out your horses feet with this hoof pick.
    Date published: 2015-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saves my hands! I have arthritis and a bad wrist, so the leverage and sharp tip make this my favorite new tool. The only thing I would like is a bristle brush on the end like the ones on standard picks.
    Date published: 2015-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdiest Hoofpick I've had this hoofpick for over a year and it's held up great. Definitely worth investing the extra couple bucks rather then constantly needing to replace poorer quality ones. Works great on the ice balls the form in their hooves during the winter. The "Junior" size is best for an adult woman with average sized hands, the "Ultimate" size is too big.
    Date published: 2015-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super strong and will last! I originally bought this because my barefoot trimmer recommended it - she said it has lasted the longest of any hoofpick and that it has a nice strong tip that won't bend. I decided to buy it and I completely agree. The bevel on the end is nice if you need to even take off some sloughing pieces of sole. Doing this with my old $2 hoofpick usually ended up bending it.
    Date published: 2015-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hoof pick This brand is the ultimate hoof pick. I have both sizes and prefer the larger one. I didn't think that hoof picks could be that different until I used one of these. They really do make it easier. So well made and sturdy.
    Date published: 2015-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Strong and easy to use Good sturdy product! Easy to use, beats all other picks I've ever used!
    Date published: 2014-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hoof pick ever Gets into little crevices better than anything else, also the most wedged in rocks & mud come out easily. I've never spent so much on a hoof pick before but someone at the barn had one, I tried it, & couldn't go back to a normal one after that.
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Handle, Strong Pick I have two of these hoofpicks and would not spend a winter without them.I bought one a year or two ago and it's as good as the day it arrived.It easily gets ice and snow, or hard packed dirt/mud. Great product!
    Date published: 2014-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from FITS YOUR HAND This hoof pick fits your hand and works with the motion of picking out hooves! The point is great and really digs into the adobe that surrounds the property!
    Date published: 2014-11-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great quality hoof pick This hoof pick stands up to caked-in Washington winter mud that bent my other one. I would have given it 5 stars if it had a brush. I still have to use both, as the brush is handy in cleaning out the extra dirt.Be warned that you don't get to pick the color; it is chosen for you when you order. I got yellow. :(
    Date published: 2014-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great feel I just bought this hoof pick and it is awesome. I've been around a while and held quite a few in my hands and this one is tops!
    Date published: 2014-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect hoof pick in a junior version! Love the ultimate hoof pick, but it's definitely for bigger hands-this pick is perfect for the adult or kids with smaller hands.
    Date published: 2014-07-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Useful A little expensive and bulky, but works well. Good grip on handle.
    Date published: 2014-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST Hoof Pick With this year's polar vortex, the ice balled up in my horse's feet was bending every hoof pick! I finally got "SMART" and ordered the ultimate pick! Really. Got that ice out in seconds and no broken bent pick! Well worth the investment.
    Date published: 2014-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Save money just buy this hoof pick first It's pricey I know but if you live in an area where it snows or gets muddy do yourself a favor and just buy this hoof pick. It will be priceless when you have to deal with ice balls or concrete hard dried mud!
    Date published: 2014-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hoof pick EVER! I bought this hoof pick about a month ago…SO much easier than all the previous picks I've tried! The others would bend or not be sturdy enough for that mud that sets up like cement in my horses' hoofs. This one is sturdy, no bending, and takes less force to clean out the mud. I love it!
    Date published: 2014-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It!! I used this hoof pick at the barn recently and thought this is THE BEST hoof pick ever. I was so thrilled that Smart Pak carried this product and size. It fits perfect in the hand and so easy to use. No need for a brush.
    Date published: 2014-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from durable and comfortable to use I love the feel, balance, and durability of this hoof pick!
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from A hoof pick that gets it done I tried several. Other picks truly are wimpy by comparison. 
    Date published: 2013-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the Money! I bought this hoofpick because I needed something durable to pick ice and snow during the winter months here in upstate New York. This hoofpick is definitely worth the money. It's extra long and you never have to worry about it curving or bending. A great addition to my tack box.
    Date published: 2013-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Easiest hoofpick to use, makes the hoof very easy to clean. Although it is a little bit on the expensive side, it is well worth the money for the ease it provides
    Date published: 2013-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Who knew a hoofpick could be life changing? I had no idea that I needed this hoofpick until I bought it. My horse is really good at creating a cement-like substance in his hooves that was always a nightmare to remove, but not anymore! My only regret is that I didn't buy it years ago.
    Date published: 2013-06-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from very good but pricey Super good leverage- I have spinal issues & arthritis & love the longer handle. It really removes mud & packed in grunge the first time. But I found this product @ Dover for $3 less.
    Date published: 2013-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It practically picks the hoof itself It may seem to be a high price for a hoof pick but this will last you forever. No more bent hoofpicks with mushed brushes on the end to replace. Do not order the smaller variety. You need to get the Ultimate, as shown.
    Date published: 2013-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best hoof pick ever I have a horse with craters for hooves--this bad boy picks out the stuff and done!! For my old guy this is great, less time bending the hocks!!
    Date published: 2013-04-22
    • 2016-05-04T16:33CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_88
    • loc_en_US, sid_4949, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders