Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

The Ultimate Hoofpick

Item #14949
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Tired of wimpy, hard-to-hold hoofpicks that force you to do all the work? From the first time you hold it in your hand, you’ll know that the perfectly ergonomic Ultimate Hoofpick is solidly built, worth every penny and the last hoofpick you'll ever need. From mud like concrete and snow like icebergs, to feet with clefts deep as the Grand Canyon, the Ultimate Hoofpick gets the job done, quick and easy.

Favorite Features

  • Easy to hold
  • Strong and reliable

Sizing

Junior - 6.5"
Ultimate - 8"
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Tired of seeing you horses mane and tail ...
    Description:
    "Tired of seeing you horses mane and tail full of tangles and dirt? The EZ All Shine & Detangler leaves the manes and tails soft and manageable with just a small amount gel. The professional strength gel made from a ...
    "The new green formula of EZ All has ...
    Description:
    "The new green formula of EZ All has even more cleaning power and a fresh natural scent. A little of this natural and safe cleaner goes a long way. Only a few ounces is needed for each wash. Apply the ...
    "The ultimate hoof pick! This hoof pick was ...
    Description:
    "The ultimate hoof pick! This hoof pick was designed to remove even the hardest elements that become compacted in horses' hooves. The strong end square edged metal pick drives easily into hard elements such as clay, snow, and mud. It ...
    "The HandsOn® Gloves are a all-in-one revolutionary glove ...
    Description:
    "The HandsOn® Gloves are a all-in-one revolutionary glove that will change the way you bathe and groom forever! Created by animal people for animal people HandsOn Gloves reach far beyond the traditional curry combs, mitts and scrubbers on the market ...
    "The Jelly Scrubber works great as a bathing ...
    Description:
    "The Jelly Scrubber works great as a bathing mitt. The Jelly Scrubber is a soft, flexible curry that's great for short-haired dogs or thin-skinned horses. Large nubs on one side are great for washing out the deep down dirt while ...
    "The Microfiber Mitt will quickly become an essential ...
    Description:
    "The Microfiber Mitt will quickly become an essential part of your grooming routine! This safe and soft microfiber product is perfect for wiping down your horse both before and after workouts. Microfiber is suitable for even the most sensitive areas ...
    "Say goodbye to hard to remove dirt with ...
    Description:
    "Say goodbye to hard to remove dirt with the Oster Coarse Curry Comb! The specially designed coarse fingers will massage the coat and loosen dirt for an overall cleaning. This will become you're new favorite curry in no time! Imported." ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    The Ultimate Hoofpick is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 103.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST Hoof Pick With this year's polar vortex, the ice balled up in my horse's feet was bending every hoof pick! I finally got "SMART" and ordered the ultimate pick! Really. Got that ice out in seconds and no broken bent pick! Well worth the investment.
    Date published: 2014-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Save money just buy this hoof pick first It's pricey I know but if you live in an area where it snows or gets muddy do yourself a favor and just buy this hoof pick. It will be priceless when you have to deal with ice balls or concrete hard dried mud!
    Date published: 2014-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hoof pick EVER! I bought this hoof pick about a month ago…SO much easier than all the previous picks I've tried! The others would bend or not be sturdy enough for that mud that sets up like cement in my horses' hoofs. This one is sturdy, no bending, and takes less force to clean out the mud. I love it!
    Date published: 2014-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It!! I used this hoof pick at the barn recently and thought this is THE BEST hoof pick ever. I was so thrilled that Smart Pak carried this product and size. It fits perfect in the hand and so easy to use. No need for a brush.
    Date published: 2014-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from durable and comfortable to use I love the feel, balance, and durability of this hoof pick!
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from A hoof pick that gets it done I tried several. Other picks truly are wimpy by comparison. 
    Date published: 2013-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the Money! I bought this hoofpick because I needed something durable to pick ice and snow during the winter months here in upstate New York. This hoofpick is definitely worth the money. It's extra long and you never have to worry about it curving or bending. A great addition to my tack box.
    Date published: 2013-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Easiest hoofpick to use, makes the hoof very easy to clean. Although it is a little bit on the expensive side, it is well worth the money for the ease it provides
    Date published: 2013-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Who knew a hoofpick could be life changing? I had no idea that I needed this hoofpick until I bought it. My horse is really good at creating a cement-like substance in his hooves that was always a nightmare to remove, but not anymore! My only regret is that I didn't buy it years ago.
    Date published: 2013-06-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from very good but pricey Super good leverage- I have spinal issues & arthritis & love the longer handle. It really removes mud & packed in grunge the first time. But I found this product @ Dover for $3 less.
    Date published: 2013-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It practically picks the hoof itself It may seem to be a high price for a hoof pick but this will last you forever. No more bent hoofpicks with mushed brushes on the end to replace. Do not order the smaller variety. You need to get the Ultimate, as shown.
    Date published: 2013-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best hoof pick ever I have a horse with craters for hooves--this bad boy picks out the stuff and done!! For my old guy this is great, less time bending the hocks!!
    Date published: 2013-04-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Couldn't tell if pick was pointed I ordered this based on the reviews. Unfortunately it is nothing spectacular and I was looking for a point and not a flat head. Fortunately a friend ground done the head to a point for me.
    Date published: 2013-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! I purchased the Ultimate Hoofpick Jr. and it is the best! Fits in my hand perfectly and much easier to use than a "normal" hoof pick. Definitely worth the money!
    Date published: 2013-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product This is the best pick I've ever used. It fits my hand perfectly plus has a great point on it. Thanks.
    Date published: 2013-04-16
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing Maybe my friend's oversold this hoofpick, because I don't really get what the hype is about. Yes, it works, but so does the one I bought for $1. Don't get me wrong, it's a nice hoofpick - just not worth $15 to me.
    Date published: 2013-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Ultimate Hoofpick - Very Handy! The Ultimate Hoofpick is the best hoofpick I have ever used! At first the sharpness of the pick means you need to be careful - keep your hands out of the way! :) But the strength and heft of the handle is wonderful! It is good to have a solid handle to hold and for the pick to not bend with use.
    Date published: 2013-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ultimate Hoofpick is Great! The Ultimate Hoofpick is more expensive than most picks, but it is well worth it. The handle is easy to grip, especially if the hoof is packed with mud/dirt/clay. With the point being strong and sharp (watch your hands until you get used to it!) it makes picking out hooves much easier.
    Date published: 2013-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Hoofpick!! I like how sharp the tip is, the size I bought was a little larger than I expected (girth wise) but it fits quite nicely in my hand and the tip is extremely durable at getting hard dirt out of hooves. Definitely not a wimpy hoof pick!!
    Date published: 2013-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite hoofpick These do an excellent job of getting packed mud and gravel out of your horses hooves easily. Last year I bought the large size and liked it so much I decided to buy a smaller one. We use Easy Boot Gloves on our horses (5) hooves and are constantly cleaning hooves and boots - this hoofpick makes our work much easier. Adding a small brush to the hoofpick could be a nice feature.
    Date published: 2013-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great!! I love this hoofpick. It fits in your hand nicely. Just the other day I had to pry a rock that was wedged in my horse's shoe and this hoofpick did not bend back under force like others have done. It's just the right shape to dig out the dirt without fear of hurting the frog too.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoof Pick ever Handle perfect for leverage - angle is perfect and there is NO chance this will bend like cheaper ones. Perfectly shaped tip.
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great hoof pick (but very sharp) My old hoof pick was getting dull and it was taking me a while to pick out my horse's feet so I decided to try this one. I got the junior and it's the right size. I have cut myself a few times using it though. My horse is barefoot, and it slipped off her hoof, cutting my hand. I guess I was used to using the dull hoof pick, and I've gotten more careful. Over time, the sharp corners have rounded out a bit, so it's gotten a little safer. So overall, I am pleased with it and recommend it. I thought I would miss having a brush on the back, but I haven't really needed one.
    Date published: 2013-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoof Pick Ever... I love this hoof pick.. it is a must have for any barn.Great grip, great pick, wonderful value.
    Date published: 2012-12-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from what a hoof pick!!! This hoof pick works well but it is very heavy... It does not work as well as i thought it would.... But it is very easy to find.
    Date published: 2012-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Won't be without Jr hookpick is same size as standard hookpick and does an amazing job of getting up underneath not matter how hard it's packed down. Don't let the cost sway you! I would buy another if it's lost!
    Date published: 2012-06-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice hoof pick Nice hoof pick but don't lose it -- they're expensive! The smaller size is plenty big for both my hands and my horses hooves (16 HH AQHA).
    Date published: 2012-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfectly named Love how much easier this is to use. Especially when aging wrists don't always cooperate. Great product!
    Date published: 2012-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hoofpick ever! I have larger hands, so I was worried about the junior size being to small. I read the reviews and ordered the junior size as the reviews had suggested. I'm so glade I did! It's the perfect size, and it works wonderfully! You will be amazed at how easy it is to clean hooves! I'm ordering more for gifts!:)
    Date published: 2012-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best hoofpick ever I got the pink one and it fits perfectly in my hand. It is so easy and quick to use. Love it and worth the extra bucks.
    Date published: 2012-03-15
    • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_5
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_99
    • loc_en_US, sid_4949, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders