Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

The Tailored Sportsman Trophy Hunter Mid-Rise - Front Zip

Tailored Sportsman, LLC
- Item #18605
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Complete your stylish look in the hunter ring with the Tailored Sportsman Trophy Hunter Mid-Rise Breeches, designed with Tailored Sportsman’s modern fit. This breech features the same style as the wildly popular Trophy Hunter - Front Zip but with a more modest rise at 1" higher. Made in the USA.

Favorite Features 

  • Clarino™ knee patches
  • Four-way stretch
  • Comfortable, mid-rise style
  • Stylish 2" wide waist band
  • Euro styled seat
  • Two brass horse designed snaps
  • Zip front closure
  • VELCRO® brand ankle closures
  • Lightweight, woven 73% cotton/20% polyamide/7% Lycra®

 Sizing It Up

24-36R, 26-30L

Knee Patch Breeches Comparison Chart

Customers Also Shopped For
Why We Love ThisThe TS Low-Rise Breeches are ...
Why We Love ThisThe TS Low-Rise Breeches are backed by Tailored Sportsman's proven quality and style at an affordable price. These breeches are ideal if you'd like to brighten up schooling with fun and fashionable colors, but also offer the ...
The Ariat Olympia Low Rise Front Zip Breeches ...
The Ariat Olympia Low Rise Front Zip Breeches exemplifies a merger of European features and Ariat fabric technology. Schoeller fabric bonds a breathable stretch fabric to comfortable cotton twill creating a material that is durable, weather resistant, and retains its ...
Tradition just got better - Dress to perform ...
Tradition just got better - Dress to perform with confidence and style in the Tredstep Symphony Rosa Side Zip Knee Patch Breeches. Tredstep's Classic Motion Fit design combined with TS Evolution fabric redefines traditional standards resulting in a range of ...
The Romfh Sarafina Knee Patch Breech has an ...
The Romfh Sarafina Knee Patch Breech has an exceptionally flattering fit with it's strategically placed contoured waistband it's the perfect fit around your waist and hips! Favorite Features Micro polyurethane fabric Machine washable Mid Rise Sizing It Up Ladies 24-34R, ...
The International Breech is made with a super ...
The International Breech is made with a super light and stretchy fabric. It provides comfort while keeping you cool. The ultra flattering true-waist fit and ankle length inseam are added perks while you're in the saddle. Favorite Features Flattering Fit ...
Look no further for the perfect blend of ...
Look no further for the perfect blend of style, comfort and functionality! This low rise front zip breech with Euro-seat will be the perfect addition to your everyday riding wear. The easy care stretch fabric not only looks great, but ...
out of 5
98% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


The Tailored Sportsman Trophy Hunter Mid-Rise - Front Zip is rated 4.666666666666667 out of 5 by 51.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit for long legs These are fabulous! I prefer a higher waist and these are not only flattering they're more 'classic'Thanks TS!
Date published: 2015-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit! I love the quality that the mid-rise trophy tailored sportsman breech offers. They are resilient and hold their color well.
Date published: 2015-08-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from High rise, not mid rise After trying on (1) the Trophy Hunter Low-Rise Side Zip, (2) the Low-Rise Trophy Hunter Front Zip, and (3) the Mid-Rise Front Zip, I have come to these conclusions (I'm 5'3", 120lbs, normally a size 4 in jeans) about the Tailored Sportsman breeches:Low-Rise Side Zip: is a true low rise pant. The size zipper gets kind of wrinkly and you will see a bulge in the zipper after washing. But it's not a huge deal. Still a good quality pant. Hits below the waist at my hips.Mid-Rise Front Zip: If you compare the rise of these to a pair of Levi's jeans that are described as mid rise, you will find these to be much higher of a rise. In my opinion, these should be described as High Rise. They hit me just below my ribcage at the highest point of my waist.Low-Rise Front Zip (Item #16228): In my opinion, these are the "just right" version of all the Trophy Hunters. Although they are marked as Low Rise, they are in fact a bit higher of a rise than the Low-Rise Side-Zip breeches. These are perfect for me. My favorite breeches of all time.Hope this helps!
Date published: 2015-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent breeches These breeches are well made and extremely comfortable. I purchased the 30L. I like the fact they are made in the USA. The quality of the material is superb. Though they are pricey, I think they are well worth it. I'm very happy with my purchase.
Date published: 2015-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Breech Great product, always durable, ALWAYS look great!!
Date published: 2015-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love I bought this in long so that it fits more like a high rise. (I'm 5'6 120 lbs- bought 26longs). Very happy. The buttons do pinch a little when you bend, so tucking in a shirt helps. Might try the side zip next. Love as much as my high rise full seat romphs; have yet to find a pair I like as much as them until now!
Date published: 2015-06-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fit well and well made. Pleased to say they fit me well! Not too low on waist, not too high.
Date published: 2015-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tailored Sportsman Trophy Hunter Mid-rise These are the best fitting and most comfortable breeches I've ever owned!
Date published: 2015-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fit! These are the only breeches I purchase. I'm a little wide in the hips and narrow in my waste- these breeches don't gap in the back while I'm riding. They always look good and I love the color selection available
Date published: 2014-10-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love brand, weird fit. I usually wear the Children's 16 Trophy hunter as I am petite, but I wear a 26 in these. I like the rise but theyre very tight in the waist, not sure why, I would be interested to know if anyone else has had this issue. They fit perfectly everywhere else, except painful in the waist. Might be returning them, may just suffer through it. On the positive side, TS always makes very durable, amazing breeches so I'm hoping I can find these in a fit I like more.
Date published: 2014-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from fit is not for me I own a lot of the low rise Trophy hunter breeches and one pair of mid rise side zip so I thought I would love the front zip. Wrong. The fit was terrible on me. The waist was cut in so small that it was painful to zip so they went back. I really do not understand why I can wear the side zip mid rise and not the front zip. Something is odd on the cut of these sad to say. Overall these are of course the same excellent quality that all Tailored Sportsman breeches have so if you are really slim in the upper hip then maybe they will fit fine.
Date published: 2014-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'll never wear any other breeches! I have always wanted to buy a pair of Tailored Sportsman's but was put off by the price. I finally broke down and bought them and after 5 minutes of wearing them, I swore I will never buy another type of breeches again! They feel great and the fit is so flattering. The mid-rise is great if you like me have a bit of a muffin top. I got the size that I thought would be slightly tight because other reviewers said they run large and they fit perfectly. My only complaint is that the underside of the hooks will rub my abdomen but if you tuck in your shirt it doesn't bother me.
Date published: 2014-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! These pants are extremely comfortable & flattering (which is pretty hard to get with riding pants). Fit & length are perfect (I'm 5'4", 135# & bought 30R). They wash great. Haven't used them enough to comment on durability.
Date published: 2014-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, flattering and comfortable! I love these breeches! The fit is perfect and the breeches are flattering, even if you are not perfect. I got them to wear at a show and felt like I looked great in the ring and while walking around the grounds in these. The material is very nice and not slick on my saddle and I felt secure, even when my silly young horse jumped around a little.
Date published: 2014-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice breeches...not for me... These TS breeches are very nice but did not fit my "shape" I'm straight not curvy and these have a smaller waist and a fuller hip than I do...I do think that if my waist was smaller they would fit,, 5'5" 133. They are a very nice fabric, substantial but not thick or stiff, the knee patches are a rusty tan not a light tan like the breeches. (I "exchanged" these, THANK you SmartPak... for another brand... they fit GREAT)...
Date published: 2014-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit, super comfortable. I love these breeches. So comfortable, wash well and look great.
Date published: 2014-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding! I bought these as a Christmas gift for my daughter.  She LOVES these breeches!   These are her second pair of Tailored Sportsman.  She now has two styles, but she adores these.  They fit like a glove and are super comfy.  She said they make her feel "professional!"
Date published: 2014-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these mid rise breeches! I never liked the fit of the tailored sportsman breeches...but I love the mid rise trophy hunters...I now own 4 pair, 2 side zip and 2 front zip...very comfortable and extremely flattering!
Date published: 2013-11-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice, but not for me I believe this was my 11th pair of breeches to try from SmartPak. I am a very hard shape to fit; skinny legs, but wider waist. These seemed like nicely made breeches, but beware that the tan pair does not have light colored knee patches as pictured. The knee patches are the typical orange/rust color that Tailored Sportsman usually have.
Date published: 2013-08-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Breeches I like these breeches. Mid ride is mid rise... I would love for them to be a tad higher rise but... I don't wear low rise, so... Seem to be of good quality and wear...
Date published: 2013-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best breeches These are the best breeches ever. Very comfortable and the midrise keeps everthing tucked in. A little pricey but they are worth it.
Date published: 2013-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love these breeches I wear breeches everday. I have a number retired TS breeches but find myself reaching these colored ones first. I have blue, navy and brown so far. These are really comfortable and look cleaner after some time in the stable. I prefer the midrise and front zipper, its almost like wearing jeans, really comfortable jeans.
Date published: 2013-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most Comfortable Breeches Ever I have tried many brands and styles over the years. I found these to be the most comfortable and durable of them all.
Date published: 2013-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I almost never write reviews I actually never liked the old Tailored Sportsmans AT ALL (Royal Hunter or Supreme Hunter) and only moderately liked the TS Cotton Schooler (the calves were too big, the longs weren't long (they hit me about mid-calf! It was ridiculous), the fabric was too thin (and revealing) and wore poorly, they still had that long strip of velcro that stuck to everything). So I basically gave up on the brand for the last 3 or 4 years.But these are the best pair of breeches I have ever owned. The fit is perfect (I'm tall so low rise is too low, and I don't like the look of regular rise), they're actually truly long, the calves are fitted, the velcro is a small patch. The fabric is stretchy but not too stretchy (as I've found with too many breeches these days - blecchhh - many have this slippery, thin, running tight quality - NOT flattering - or grippy in the saddle) - it still has a nice substance/weight to it that hides my lumps and bumps and doesn't bind anywhere. I love the front zip, euro seat style, and it's hard to find that in a mid-rise.I've tried almost every other similar breech on the market (in style and price point)- and these are head and shoulders above the others.I would say these fit true to size to maybe on the larger side compared to other brands - I tried about 5 other brands all in the exact same size and style and these had the most generous fit - or maybe they're just cut incredibly well. (No waist gapping, no straining across my thighs or butt - and I'm not the super skinny type - sort of average for my height). I would say if you are in between sizes you might want to size down in these. Otherwise, go with your regular size.I've only worn them once so far, so I can't speak to the durability, but it really seems like it will be a non-issue
Date published: 2013-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GReat value for a great product Bought these on a whim. I needed some new show breeches and didn't want to pay for new pikeur Ciara's. I ordered up due to the fact that they were a higher rise pant. The fabric is nice and breathes well. Fits just as we'll as my pikeurs just run on the small side. Really love the mid rise. Will definitely order these again!!
Date published: 2013-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Only one problem I love my Tailored Sportsman breeches. I loved the fit of the front zip, but because I don't usually tuck my shirt in, I would get a pinch everytime I sat down. I returned these for the side zip Tailored Sportsman breeches.
Date published: 2013-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love as Always! I've been a tailored girl for years, every once in a while ill try a different brand, but I always return it and go back to what I love!
Date published: 2013-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mid-rise is perfect compromise! Ok, I can't speak to durability because I sadly had to return these breeches. What I really liked: The fabric is nice and the mid-rise is the PERFECT height for a short-waisted person such as myself - regular rise breeches come up to my bra (ok, not quite, but almost!), while the low rise breeches gap at the back. The mid-rise is the perfect compromise. The euro seat is a nice style update. The tan color is perfect for the show pen. Light enough to be more modern than the green-beige, but dark enough to be slimming and hide those inevitable dirt smudges. I really really really wanted to love these breeches! Unfortunately, they just were not flattering on me. I'm 5'6" and very hourglass shaped. I wear a 32R in most breeches. Unfortunately, I think these are shaped for somebody with a straighter build. They were a little big in the waist, snug in the thighs, and made my butt look...square-ish. I realize I don't have a breech model's body, but I just couldn't get over how odd these made me look. The Pikeur Ciara side-zip breech looks great on me...just not so great on my wallet...but unfortunately I can't make myself like how any of the Tailored's fit...and at this point, I've tried them ALL! (Thank goodness for SmartPak's liberal return/exchange program for sized items!)I would note, the front-zip version of this breech does fit slightly higher than the side-zip version.
Date published: 2013-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent - Love These These are the best breeches I have ever worn. The fit is great, the material is the perfect weight and feel. Like some other reviewers, I also have a curvy figure and have no problem with these breeches. My straighter figured riding friends also wear these and love them. I've yet to meet anyone they didn't fit. These are the only breeches I wear now. More colors would be great!
Date published: 2013-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fitting Breeches These mid rise pants are the best! Not to low and not to high. Perfect fit especially if you have curves. They wash like a dream, and are perfect for showing or schooling....love the euro seat.
Date published: 2013-02-25
  • 2016-10-21T11:38CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_49
  • loc_en_US, sid_8605, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders