Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

The Cantering Chef Horse Treats

SmartPak
- Item #19141
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Cantering Chef has baked up something unique for your horse! His tasty horse cookies combine the freshest natural ingredients, including scrumptious rolled oats and molasses. Choose from three delicious flavors:

  • Blackberry Vanilla - flavored with natural blackberry flavor and pure vanilla extract
  • Apple Cinnamon Raisin - flavored with natural apple flavor, cinnamon and raisins
  • Peppermint Crush - flavored with peppermint oil
  • Banana Blast - flavored with natural banana flavor
These oven-baked goodies make the perfect bite-sized rewards. They've been tested and approved by our own horses and ponies, so your horse is sure to love them!

You Might Like
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    The Cantering Chef Horse Treats is rated 4.619 out of 5 by 84.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Picky Horse Approved I've given these treats to at least 5 different horses (two known to be picky) and they ALL do their little head nod of approval (blackberry vanilla flavor). I do wish I could break them in half like the Nickerdoodle treats (usually split those into fourths since those too have a higher price tag), but overall I'm happy to see the horses really enjoy them!
    Date published: 2015-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The horses really seem to like these I got the cinnamon apple raisin flavor. All of the horses seemed to like them, they're just a bit pricey, so it's not something I'll buy on a regular basis.
    Date published: 2015-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious! Houdini loves them! They were a big hit with Houdini and all the other horses at the barn. They smell wonderful! A definite "buy again"!
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from get these every year My horses love these cookies. This year we got peppermint. They smell wonderful.
    Date published: 2015-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses LOVE these cookies! I purchased the apple cinnamon raisin flavor. Horses absolutely LOVED these cookies! Looks like I'lll have to keep these on hand from now on.
    Date published: 2015-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful way to indulge your deserving equine! These were a huge hit with the whole crew! They look and smell heavenly!Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse can't get enough!! I bought these treats a month ago and my horse still tries to eat the whole bag every time she sees them! The bag is a very nice size as well as the treats! The quality and quantity of this product is matched very well with its price!
    Date published: 2014-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses love them! This is a great treat and the horses love them and are good for them!
    Date published: 2014-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great snack! My horse loves these! He begs me for them constantly. I highly recommend them as a fun fall treat!
    Date published: 2014-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bot this cookies for my pony and she loved then will be beying them again soon
    Date published: 2014-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses love these cookies! Both my horses like these cookies They love each flavor, and don't seem to have a preference. All the other horses at the barn like them as well.I purchase a bag of these every month. (As a side note, they also smell GREAT!)They are a hard cookie, and would not recommend to any horse with any sort of chewing problems.
    Date published: 2014-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horseooved tem. Got about 2 weeks ago and horse likes them very much.
    Date published: 2014-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from An instant barn favorite! I bought these cookies a couple weeks ago and the horses loved them- they look and smell like people cookies- I will have to order more very soon.
    Date published: 2014-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from He cant get enough of them My horse loves these, he would eat them all day everyday if I let him!
    Date published: 2014-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse LOVES the Blackberry Vanilla! My horse LOVED these treats! Will be re-ordering!!!
    Date published: 2014-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must be tasty! I have these treats in banana, blackberry vanilla and peppermint. My horse LOVES all of them, but I mainly give her the peppermint and blackberry vanilla. I give my goats the banana flavored ones, especially my nanny goat who LOVES banana's. Never seen any of them spit it out, so it must taste pretty good! Once they see or hear me open the packet, they all come rushing to me to get one.
    Date published: 2014-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One satisfied pony! I bought Cantering Horse Treats for my QH Pippin in the Banana Blast flavor as he'sbonkers for bananas. Well, he seems to love these horse treats just as much. Agreat choice for a treat for your horse.
    Date published: 2014-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses loved them! Not only did my horses loves these, my dog loved them, too!  I like a bigger treat that takes my horses a couple seconds to finish them.  Then I feel like I didn't have to give them as many :)
    Date published: 2014-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious horse cookie! Fantastic horse treats! Well loved by the horses. Apple cinnamon raisin is the best. I tried the blackberry vanilla today and my guy loved them. He's used to me giving him all kinds of odd flavored treats though. They are a crisper cookie, so I do not recommend them for horses who have difficulties chewing.
    Date published: 2014-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent treats! I bought one 3lb bag of each flavor for my horses for Christmas, and they've all been a complete hit. My oldest mare doesn't care for apples or peppermints, and while she still turned up her nose at the peppermint-flavored ones of these treats, she scarfed down the apple-flavored ones without batting an eye. Everyone else likes all the flavors equally well. The only downside is you can't break the individual cookies in half, so be careful if you have a greedy horse that likes to gulp things down and hardly bothers to chew.
    Date published: 2014-01-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Healthy and Delicious I've been trying to move away from some of the other horse treats out there that are loaded with preservatives and artificial flavorings. I was hoping for horse treats made of better ingredients that were still tasty, and the Cantering Chef did not disappoint! I ordered the Cinnamon Raisin and Banana flavors and my OTTB loved them! The unique flavors are enough to get a lip curl from even the pickiest eaters, and the quality of ingredients makes me feel less like I am giving him junk food. I highly recommend!
    Date published: 2014-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wish I could eat them myself! great healthy treats loved by even the picky horses in the barn!
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from YUMMY! I gave these treats to a friend for her horses and they are awesome!
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT TREAT! I have bought several flavors of this treat and my mare loves all of them. I haven't tried the peppermint yet but I am sure she would like them too. They come in a great resealable bag that makes them easy to store and I have had one bag for a couple of months and they are still soft/chewy and fresh. Great treat for the price!
    Date published: 2013-10-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Treat Both of my horses will do anything to get another one of these cookies. These are their favorite treats! They smell good enough for humans to eat! The raspberry vanilla is their favorite flavor but they will eat any of them happily.
    Date published: 2013-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My gelding ate them up! Shipped with my smartpaks which I love!!!! No hassle at all!! And my big loved them!!
    Date published: 2013-08-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Only the picky one won't eat Bought the peppermint ones for my thoroughbred mare who is picky about treats (I should know better than to try new treats with her). She ate a few then turned her nose up at them. However they were a winner with every other horse I tried to give them to, especially my retired gelding who loves anything in treat form. He was begging and begging for them. They are really hard and crunchy so don't break, but they are a good size and the horses seem to be good with the crunchy texture.I just wish my mare wasn't so finicky! :)
    Date published: 2013-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Horses Loved Them I bought the Cinnnamon Apple Raisin, they smelled great and my horse (as well as the others in the barn) went crazy for them!
    Date published: 2013-04-18
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't care for them I purchased the Apple Cinnamon Raison flavor and when I opened the bag I thought that they smelled delicious. I figured the horses would love them. Unfortunately, none of the horses in the barn cared for them and wouldn't even eat them. The one that eats everything did attempt to eat the cookie, but spit most of it out and was uninterested after that. I'm a little disappointed and next time will have to avoid The Cantering Chef.
    Date published: 2013-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from smell like heaven Both of my horses love these. The vanilla scent is heavenly -- I want to eat them myself!!
    Date published: 2013-03-14
    • 2015-05-28T10:05CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_77
    • loc_en_US, sid_9141, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.