Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Tack Sponges

Item #10344
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

12 pack of small tack sponges.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    97% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tack Sponges is rated 4.764 out of 5 by 89.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good basic sponge Nothing special about the sponges. Work well, do the job, come in a big pack of them so you don't have to buy many of the all the time.
    Date published: 2014-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love'em Who doesn't love tack sponges. Easy to use and clean. We use them on tack, boots, bags, and even to wipe off a dirty horse face!
    Date published: 2014-06-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Where have the edges gone? I need to start by saying i don't ride. I'm a full time Texas potter an I use these sponges in the throwing and glazing process. Although they are very similar they are a much nicer sponge than the traditional "clay sponge". These sponges are more dense, less "floppy", they hold water nicely and they last longer. However, the sponges don't look exactly like the ones currently featured in the product photo. The "old" sponges had edges....they resembled the shape of a hockey puck. The new sponges have rounder edges and would be comparable to the outer shape of a doughnut. Good sponge overall and you can't beat SmartPak customer service. I hope this helps.
    Date published: 2014-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Good size and dense sponge seems like it will last long.
    Date published: 2014-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great I love how cheap these are, and that they come in packs of twelve, being an avid tack cleaner (cleaning my tack at least every ride) these work great and rinse nicely
    Date published: 2014-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value This is a great product for the price! I saw the same ones at Tractor supply for $10! Love them!
    Date published: 2014-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! Great to clean everything and anything around the barn.
    Date published: 2014-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough little sponges Great tough little sponges...just the right size and thickness for applying leather cleaners & conditioners...won't crumble...love these little sponges!!
    Date published: 2013-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sponges! These are great little sponges to clean with! You always need several on hand, one for the saddle soap, one for your oil, and of course one for your boot cleaner. Then you need extras for when you lose one, which happens often. :) These hold up well, and wash out after use.
    Date published: 2013-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love them! I keep them in a big plastic jar in my tach room and always have them on hand to clean up my tach after each ride. They wash up great, and last!
    Date published: 2013-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Tack Sponges! These sponges are the best for cleaning tack, although they don't get in the small crevices (but what sponge does?). They are very absorbent and I clean mine after I am done with them and get a few uses of each. Would buy again and again!
    Date published: 2013-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from tack sponges- The Best!! These are the best sponges I have ever bought. I ordered these in June and I'm still using the first one! I rinse and reuse. The sponge has not crumbled so far after several uses. I have a lot of tack and clean often but I still believe I won't need to buy anymore for 1-2 years! Yay me; sorry SmartPak ! (haha)
    Date published: 2013-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It will take me a lifetime to use these sponges! Great quality sponges. I didnt get what all the fuss was about...how tack sponges could have 68 positive reviews. But now I get it :-)
    Date published: 2013-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't Live Without! I use theses little sponges constantly and daily, mostly for cleaning tack. They rinse clean easily with some antibacterial soap and water, so I get a lot of use out of one before throwing it out for a new one. They are just simple little sponges but they are essential!
    Date published: 2013-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hold Up Well Great to have a package of these around. They last forever and are very absorbant. I find I use less saddle soap to get the same results with these sponges as opposed to a damp cloth.
    Date published: 2013-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Sponges Ever!!! I use to be extremely careful cleaning my tack because I knew that if I pressed to hard, the sponge would scratch my tack. They would start to fall apart after only 1 or 2 uses and I just thought that that was how all cheap sponges were. Well, I bought these to replace them and because of people singing their praise and I am so happy with this purchase. I have been using the same two (One for soap, one for conditioner) for over 7 months and not once have they scratched my tack or shown the slightest sign of falling apart. They're kind of stiff when dry of course, but once you get them wet they become extreemly soft and pliable. They are the best tack sponges I've ever had and once (If ever) these are done, I will not hesitate to buy more. They're so cheap and I Highly recomended!
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value Very good value of the money. I've done quite a bit of cleaning and oiling since I purchased these, and had been impressed with them. They do tend to squish down when you've been using them for a few minutes, but once they've dried out they come right back up and are ready to go again. They've held up very well during use, and I think they will last quite a while. I prefer to use a car wax sponge for mink oil, but for liquids and cremes these work great.
    Date published: 2012-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Sponges! Love this pack of sponges! They're really good quality and they hold water and soap really good! They also rinse out nicely! I love how Smartpak makes them cheap and affordable, at local tack stores these sponges are about $13 for a 12 pack!
    Date published: 2012-11-18
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from OK at first- but stop being "spongey" In the time it takes to wash one pair of boots, these sponges lose their shape. They only re-absorb when put in the water once or twice, then they just stay flat when squished and don't absorb anything. Makes cleaning difficult and frustrating. I almost wonder if I got a bad batch or something, but that seems strange. I love Smartpak, but the ones I get at my local tack store work much better.
    Date published: 2012-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Sponges! These sponges are perfect for cleaning everything from tack to your horse's eyes, nose, dock, or boo-boos. Great for scrubbing buckets or wiping off horse boots. Their small size is also very convenient. Love!
    Date published: 2012-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from sponges these are perfect size for my daughter's small hands
    Date published: 2012-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from unbeatable value! These little sponges are tough and they get every job done easily and efficiently. Best of all, you CANNOT beat Smartpak's prices and selection. This has converted me completely to a Smartpak shopper.
    Date published: 2012-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from handy size These little sponges are great to get in to small areas. Durable and inexpensive.
    Date published: 2012-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Quality for a Low Price For the price its great. You can let them get junky and nasty and then throw them out when they fall apart. Hold just enough product. Love these!
    Date published: 2012-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Do their job Love the size, do their job perfectly. My local feed store charges $10 for a dozen, love the price here!
    Date published: 2012-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from handy and perfectly sized sponges My grand daughter loved using these tack sponges to clean her riding equipment. They are a perfect size to reduce waste of expensive leather cleaners and conditioners.
    Date published: 2012-04-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from barn staple/good value This bag of sponges are a great value to have onhand for tack cleaning. They are not so dear if one is lost or quickly destroyed. And the dozen can last a long time if just rinsed off and kept dry
    Date published: 2012-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy Keeping all of the lesson horse's tack clean takes a lot of work but these great little sponges do it perfectly. We go through a lot of sponges because of the amount of tack we clean and the frequency and these come at a perfect price and hold up against the wear and tear for a little while.
    Date published: 2012-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ear plugs i got the hot tip to cut these in half and use them as ear plugs. We go through 10 of these a week in our riding school and this is a far more economical solution to even cotton.
    Date published: 2012-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little sponges These are great little tack sponges. A good value.
    Date published: 2012-01-13
    • 2015-05-25T10:02CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_77
    • loc_en_US, sid_344, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.