Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Super Comfort Iron Pads

Item #16038

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Say "Goodbye!" to losing a stirrup while riding, these pads provide superior grip for added security. 

You can easily attach the Super Comfort Iron Pads to your own stirrup irons and they are guaranteed to stay firmly in place. These unique Super Comfort Iron Pads are made of treaded rubber which wrap around your entire iron, thereby eliminating foot to steel contact that often causes a rider to lose their stirrups. 

Favorite Features

  • Reduces impact to help alleviate added stress on the knees
  • Helps keep heels down
  • Easily attaches in less than 5 Minutes
  • Helps improve body and leg position
  • Treaded rubber lasts for years of wear

Made in USA

Sizing It Up

Should be sized down by a half size for jointed irons.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Super Comfort Iron Pads is rated 4.898 out of 5 by 98.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just $30 and a game changer Bought these and never lost a stirrup again, something I'd had a problem with. Now, *six years* later, these things are still going strong. They last and last. Yesterday I rode in some regular stirrups without this pad... I felt unstable and my toes started to ache. So if you have any tendency to arthritis or joint pain, I think these things are stupendous. These + some heavy steel filis stirrups and you are set for years.
    Date published: 2012-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from pricey, but worth it I had a trainer tell me years ago to try these stirrup pads and I finally gave in and bought a pair. I hadn't tried them yet because of the price, but it has definitely been worth the money! I tend to let my feet slip out of the stirrups, but these help me keep them in!
    Date published: 2012-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product These are awesome. In the "If you don't have'em, buy 'em" category. Really durable, really work. Great grip and good on the feet. I have sensitive, bony feet that used to go numb in the irons. Not a problem anymore. Also, losing a stirrup is a rarity.
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stirrup Iron Pads! I wouldn't say you're never going to lose a stirrup again, but they sure as heck make it a lot harder to anymore. I think they also absorb a little bit of shock too, but I have no way of scientifically proving that! I got my husband to put these on for me as he's stronger, and I did not want them to move a centimeter. I just wish you didn't have to see the ends of the zip-ties underneath. Be careful of scratching your leathers, you just have to learn to put up your irons a little differently is all. I recommend them to anyone I see.
    Date published: 2012-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Comfort Iron Pads I love these iron pads! I found that I was often losing my stirrups from under my feet because I had transitioned from a flat-going hunter to a very powerful and bouncy saddleseat horse. These pads help keep my feet planted in the stirrups and I feel way more secure! Nice and grippy and durable. Great product.
    Date published: 2012-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more lost stirrups for me My trainer kept telling me to buy these but I didn't think they really would make a difference. My last set of pads were ready to be replaced so I decided to give them a try. I'm amazed at how much this helps me keep my stirrups. I would definitely recommend them for jumpers especially.
    Date published: 2012-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does what it says I've been using these iron pads for about three months now and it's made a BIG difference in my ridding. My feet NEVER slip out of the stirrups like they were before. When cantering I would become tense, afraid that my feet would slip out then become off balance. Now instead of raising the stirrups I can have them low and my feet stay put.
    Date published: 2012-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more losing stirrups These are quick to install and really provide good grip. Although a bit pricy for stirrup pads, they should last a long time.
    Date published: 2012-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these pads! A few of the ladies at my barn had these pads and when I needed replacements I decided to give these a try. They came highly recommended and after my first ride in them I knew why, they are absolutely wonderful. The pads are very comfortable on the ball of the foot and offer excellent slip resistance. All around excellence for the price!
    Date published: 2011-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cheap and very effective for foot stability, these were not a replacement but placed on a second saddle, original pair 5 + years and still perfect
    Date published: 2011-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Secure Grip for Stirrups! This is a great product, have used before & just reordered for new stirrups. Considerably helps for knee/ ankle pain for arthritis etc. Keeps those irons in place, with a very secure feeling. Highly recommend for green horses & jumping. I have tried other replacement pads- these by far are the best. The price is a little high for what they are, but worth it.
    Date published: 2011-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Aaaahhhhhh There were a great addition toy stirrups. Try truly do relieve leg fatigue and are super comfortable as their name says.
    Date published: 2011-10-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy these!!! I have to confess, when I first saw these I thought I would never actually pay money for them. They seem expensive, smell funny, and look, well, weird. I was given a pair of these for free as a sample when they first came on the market so I felt obligated to at least TRY them. Pardon me for shouting, but YOU MUST BUY THESE. I never, EVER, lose my stirrups anymore and positioning my feet in the irons is a breeze because they don't slide around. Plus, the rubber gives just enough for extra comfort but still leaves a good feel under your foot. They look awesomely technical, but are a must for beginners. They are also easy to install and come in every size imagineable. I have since purchased three more sets.
    Date published: 2011-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Easy to do, and great for those rainy days when normally your foot was slide. Also very comfy!
    Date published: 2011-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing. I don't know how they do it. I used these stirrups on this crazy pony I ride named owen. My best friend rachel has these and has told me how wonderful they were. As I was riding and he got a little bucky and was jumping SIDEWAYS i really needed a good grip and my stirrups. these suckers stayed glued to my feet! truly amazing! And when rachel falls off every so often they let go so her foot doesnt get caught in the stirrup. I'm really amazed and would recommend this product to any of my friends!
    Date published: 2011-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from super comfort iron pads Loved these-even used a pair for my western stirrup irons-my foot is so secure and comfortable! Makes sitting trot way easier!
    Date published: 2011-08-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far a winner! I mostly ride hunter under saddle and some over fences on the breed show circuit and I bought these stirrup pads on the recommendation of a friend who is an eventer. She couldn't say enough good things about how well they keep you from losing a stirrup and how comfy they are. I put them on my stirrups while at a show and had only ridden in them a couple of times (and really like them!) before going into my first riding class. My horse is normally unflappable and going to the left we had no issues. To the right, he suddenly realized that "OMG, THERE ARE CATTLE JUST OUTSIDE THE ARENA" and made a quick hard right, unceremoniously dumping me. While in mid-air I remember thinking "Oh please, don't let my foot get hung up in the stirrup with these new pads." Thank goodness, my foot came out with no problems, even though while in the saddle they felt very secure. So far, I love them!
    Date published: 2011-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My feet were slipping in the stirrups after jumping through the water complexes on cross-country. These add the traction I needed. I did wrap a couple loops of black Vetrap around them to prevent them from scratching my calfskin saddle though. The only thing I don't like is the appearance of the zip-tie knobs under the iron after you attach them. But they work really well!
    Date published: 2011-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these!!! I just got my first english saddle, and i needed stirrup pads, AND I AM IN LOVE WITH THESE!! They are very nice, and my foot never slips out of my stirrup. I ride a horse with a very uncomfortable canter, and i always loose my stirrups, but with these i never lose them. ALSO! I used to get really bad back pains after i rode, and my knees used to hurt, but now, i am never in pain after i ride!! THESE ARE AMAZING!!!
    Date published: 2011-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for children Purchased these for my daughter who has difficulty keeping those heels down...these pads really offer stability and grip.
    Date published: 2011-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from fantastic buy i love these pads. i have recommended them to all of my barn buddies and they love them. they do what they say
    Date published: 2011-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stirrup Pad These are some of the most comfortable stirrup pads ever, and they help stabilize the leg. I think they must run large as I have a 5 inch fillis iron and the 5 inch pad was too wide to fit inside. I had to use the 4.75 inch pad, which fits well.
    Date published: 2011-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pricey but hopefully worth it! I bought these when I needed to replace my son's stirrup pads. He was having trouble keeping his heels down because he said the (old) stirrup pads were slippery feeling. He had worn them down significantly, which I'm sure caused the slipperiness, but they'd also worn much more than my daughter's pads which are about the same age, so I decided to try these pads. They are definitely the right amount of grippy, his position has already improved tremendously within about 2 weeks. They were easy to put on. Time will tell if the investment was worth it!
    Date published: 2010-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THESE! I LOVE these pads!! super comfy without being bulky. They provide a nice grip without forcing false heel flexion. After my years of riding my ankles are shot and these make it so much easier to ride all day!
    Date published: 2010-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it! these stirrup pads are seriously the best. I use them with my Herm Sprenger Stirrups, and they hold traction like no other! Great on sloppy days, wet days, and when your boot isn't very grippy anymore.
    Date published: 2010-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lifesaver for middle aged knees I didn't think they would make that much of a difference, but these pads have really saved my knees and ankles. They also alleviated occasional numbness in the ball of my foot on longer rides.
    Date published: 2010-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good buy I'd seen my trainer and a couple other riders at my barn with these pads, and since I had been having a frustrating time keeping some traction between my boot and the stirrup pad during wet weather, I gave them a go. Huge improvement. I feel much more secure. Now, it won't be the all-mighty magical equitation fix (I have a tendency to shoot my leg too far forward), but because it offers a better grip, you can focus your attention to other details of your ride apart and not worry about your feet slipping.
    Date published: 2010-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Love these. My feet do not move or slip as with other stirrup pads. I do wrap them when I'm not riding since I notice they can scratch my saddle.
    Date published: 2010-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY Pleased Love this product, excellent fit on the stirrup.Appears to be durable, but can't really say as I just got it. Has cushion for my older joints, while maintaining a solid surface for flexing my ankle. Modest price.
    Date published: 2010-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfort Pad Review These pads are easy to put on and wear like iron. They help with shock absorption and can be used with every discipline. I have a set for each saddle. Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2010-06-09
    • 2016-02-13T14:55CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_88
    • loc_en_US, sid_6038, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.