Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Super Comfort Iron Pads

Item #16038
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Say "Goodbye!" to losing a stirrup while riding, these pads provide superior grip for added security. 

You can easily attach the Super Comfort Iron Pads to your own stirrup irons and they are guaranteed to stay firmly in place. These unique Super Comfort Iron Pads are made of treaded rubber which wrap around your entire iron, thereby eliminating foot to steel contact that often causes a rider to lose their stirrups. 

Favorite Features

  • Reduces impact to help alleviate added stress on the knees
  • Helps keep heels down
  • Easily attaches in less than 5 Minutes
  • Helps improve body and leg position
  • Treaded rubber lasts for years of wear
Sizing It Up

Should be sized down by a half size for jointed irons.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Super Comfort Iron Pads is rated 4.8876 out of 5 by 89.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Will never go without them! I have had these on my stirrups since 2009. I have used the same pair of iron pads through several different sets of stirrup irons. They have never lost their grip and after spraying with the hose and only a tiny bit of scrub they look black as ever. I got these mainly because where I live its always muddy and they have held up through 5+ rides a day for 6 years. Worth the investment!
    Date published: 2015-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from In love with these stirrup pads I started using these stirrup pads about 3 weeks ago and have notice a huge difference. I had been losing my stirrups recently on my new horse and I thought these would be worth the try since I had heard some good reviews about them. I am so happy that I bought these they have definitely made a difference with keeping my stirrups. They also have helped my foot not to slip in the stirrups (not completely losing my stirrups) even when my boots are wet or a little on the muddy side. I have also noticed that in using these stirrup pads my ankles have not been hurting as much during and after riding. I also think that these stirrup pads are worth the price. I don't think I will ever go back to regular stirrup pads again!
    Date published: 2015-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Huge difference! As someone who is notorious for loosing her stirrups and finishing a course stirrupless these made a huge difference. The irons that I got with (stole for) my saddle came with these on but as soon as I started riding in them my feet slipped significantly less. I'm never going back. They are hardly noticeable and I definitely feel comfortable taking these into the show ring.
    Date published: 2015-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! I wanted to try these, so my husband bought them for my birthday: never going back to regular pads! Very comfortable and feel very solid in them. They're terrific! Liked them so much I bought my mom a pair for Christmas.
    Date published: 2014-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Grip I have used these for a few weeks now and they are definitely more comfortable and I have yet to lose my stirrup despite wet, muddy conditions.
    Date published: 2014-10-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from The stirrup pads I was usually previously lasted a month tops (usually only a couple of weeks). A friend recommended these. I have only had these a couple of weeks, but so far so good. They were easy to put on and have stayed in place. Time will be the real test.
    Date published: 2014-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must have! I have the comfort pads set up with the bendable stirrups, and my leg is amazing! I tend to lose my stirrups or have them shift on me while jumping, but not anymore. I've only ridden in them around 10 times, but I can't imagine riding without them now. They are easy to put on, just make sure you order a size below your pad size if you have the bendy stirrups. Comfort pads = life.
    Date published: 2014-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Had them for years! I bought these a few years ago and they are still going strong (used 6-7 days a week!) If you are looking for an 'in between' the regular stirrup pads and a fancy stirrup cushion, they are worth a try. Not too difficult to put on once you get the hang of it, and I have never had to adjust mine, they have stayed put this long. Ordering another set for my other saddle. If they get muddy or ring dirt stuck in them, they brush out easily with a hoofpick brush too.
    Date published: 2014-05-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not worth the money These were the only replacement pads that Smartpak carried that would work for a 5" stirrup. They are fine to ride in but not worth the extra money over a regular replacement pad. And while the zip ties do the job, they seem like a cheesy solution for install. And I would not go in the show ring with these so their use is limited.
    Date published: 2014-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from <3!!!! Look a little funky but do the job!!!They are super no slip!!!
    Date published: 2013-11-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent These pads do help a bit with grip in wet conditions. No real noticeable difference any other time.
    Date published: 2013-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing little guys I love these pads! They really are worth the money. I can't say how durable they are yet, since I've only used them on my jumping saddle a handful of times. They really help keep your heels down, and secure your feet in the irons. Will be buying another pair!
    Date published: 2013-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very tough I really like these, they are very thick and durable and will last MUCH longer than regular stirrup pads, which I've been changing out every 8 months or so. I can't say that I never lose a stirrup but the pads make them much easier to hold onto! Only drawback, the ties that secure them leave sharp little points on the underside of the stirrup. There might be a way to rotate the tie so it can be cut off inside the stirrup, but that experiment will have to await the next pair, which hopefully won't be for a couple of years!
    Date published: 2013-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! The pads are durable, no slip, and give great support. They give great traction- whether I'm riding in my Ariat paddock boots OR Dubarry's! They are more expensive than other pads, but well worth the money!
    Date published: 2013-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Stirrups pads I really like these pads, a little expensive but now that I have been using them I think they are worth ever penny. They are comfortable and stay on the ball of your foot great. Would recommend!
    Date published: 2013-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good product I am very happy with this product. I was using the sandpaper style before and i really hated them,they were very slippery.The design of the Super Comfort Pads allows for consistent contact. They are grippy,but, I don't feel worried that my feet would get stuck if I got into trouble, it's not like they are superglued to your foot. Think of them as a tire with good tread as opposed to bald tires.they actually remind me of mini tires b/c they are made of a similar rubber. I do think they are over priced for what they are and the fact that you attach them with zip ties cheapens them,but at the same time,I'm not sorry i purchased them. I think they will last a long time. I suggest leaving a long end on the ties and pushing the excess through the opposite holes,it just looks cleaner,not that anyone is looking at the underside of your stirrups
    Date published: 2013-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install and super comfy! These pads were easy to install and super comfy, I wouldn't say they are super grippy but they are secure.
    Date published: 2013-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gripping stirrup pads Love these pads!! I ride young & green horses a lot. I have lost a stirrup less often since using these pads because these pads wrap all of the way around the stirrup.
    Date published: 2013-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I was really nervous about spending $30 on this product. After riding in them for a few weeks, I'm so glad I bought them! They provide the perfect base for a stable leg. I haven't lost my stirrup since I've started using these pads! The package says to buy a size down if you have jointed stirrups, but I found the size I got worked fine since the joints didn't go to the bottom of the stirrup. Overall a really great purchase!!
    Date published: 2013-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stirrup pads I bought these for my daughter, 11 yrs old. I was sick of stirrup pads that don't fit in the metal groove on the bottom of her stirrups, and these looked grippy so we gave them a try.Installation is easy, just zip ties, I tightened them with a pair of needle nose pliers I keep in my tack box but I could have just tightened them by hand. You'll need nippers or scissors to trim the excess zip tie ends.When she rode in them, I noticed that her legs and feet were under her (in good hip heel alignment) and I didn't have to yell at her to get her legs back and her heels down. She tells me that her boots dont slip out of the stirrups anymore. These stirrup pads seem to allow the ankles to more comfortably flex down in to a heels down position, while securely gripping the bottom of the boot. The rider can relax a little bit more. And for my daughter, this actually gave her a more lovely riding position. I definitely recommend!
    Date published: 2013-01-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for stability I've used these on and off for years and have found them to be helpful for stability and less foot movement in the stirrup. I prefer it over the sandpaper stirrup pads. This recent pair was purchased for my daughter and she likes them too.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these So comfortable. Think I'll get some for my daughters too.
    Date published: 2013-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just $30 and a game changer Bought these and never lost a stirrup again, something I'd had a problem with. Now, *six years* later, these things are still going strong. They last and last. Yesterday I rode in some regular stirrups without this pad... I felt unstable and my toes started to ache. So if you have any tendency to arthritis or joint pain, I think these things are stupendous. These + some heavy steel filis stirrups and you are set for years.
    Date published: 2012-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from pricey, but worth it I had a trainer tell me years ago to try these stirrup pads and I finally gave in and bought a pair. I hadn't tried them yet because of the price, but it has definitely been worth the money! I tend to let my feet slip out of the stirrups, but these help me keep them in!
    Date published: 2012-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product These are awesome. In the "If you don't have'em, buy 'em" category. Really durable, really work. Great grip and good on the feet. I have sensitive, bony feet that used to go numb in the irons. Not a problem anymore. Also, losing a stirrup is a rarity.
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stirrup Iron Pads! I wouldn't say you're never going to lose a stirrup again, but they sure as heck make it a lot harder to anymore. I think they also absorb a little bit of shock too, but I have no way of scientifically proving that! I got my husband to put these on for me as he's stronger, and I did not want them to move a centimeter. I just wish you didn't have to see the ends of the zip-ties underneath. Be careful of scratching your leathers, you just have to learn to put up your irons a little differently is all. I recommend them to anyone I see.
    Date published: 2012-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Comfort Iron Pads I love these iron pads! I found that I was often losing my stirrups from under my feet because I had transitioned from a flat-going hunter to a very powerful and bouncy saddleseat horse. These pads help keep my feet planted in the stirrups and I feel way more secure! Nice and grippy and durable. Great product.
    Date published: 2012-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more lost stirrups for me My trainer kept telling me to buy these but I didn't think they really would make a difference. My last set of pads were ready to be replaced so I decided to give them a try. I'm amazed at how much this helps me keep my stirrups. I would definitely recommend them for jumpers especially.
    Date published: 2012-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does what it says I've been using these iron pads for about three months now and it's made a BIG difference in my ridding. My feet NEVER slip out of the stirrups like they were before. When cantering I would become tense, afraid that my feet would slip out then become off balance. Now instead of raising the stirrups I can have them low and my feet stay put.
    Date published: 2012-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more losing stirrups These are quick to install and really provide good grip. Although a bit pricy for stirrup pads, they should last a long time.
    Date published: 2012-01-04
    • 2015-08-30T14:26CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_80
    • loc_en_US, sid_6038, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.