Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Super Comfort Iron Pads

Item #16038

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Say "Goodbye!" to losing a stirrup while riding, these pads provide superior grip for added security. 

You can easily attach the Super Comfort Iron Pads to your own stirrup irons and they are guaranteed to stay firmly in place. These unique Super Comfort Iron Pads are made of treaded rubber which wrap around your entire iron, thereby eliminating foot to steel contact that often causes a rider to lose their stirrups. 

Favorite Features

  • Reduces impact to help alleviate added stress on the knees
  • Helps keep heels down
  • Easily attaches in less than 5 Minutes
  • Helps improve body and leg position
  • Treaded rubber lasts for years of wear

Made in USA

Sizing It Up

Should be sized down by a half size for jointed irons.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Super Comfort Iron Pads is rated 4.898 out of 5 by 98.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No More Slick Stirrup Pads I bought these at a friends suggestion to prevent my paddock boots from slipping in my irons once the ground gets muddy. I love them! They fit perfectly in my Herm Sprengers and make my foot feel very secure.
    Date published: 2015-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product! These comfort Iron pads are nice looking and work well.Highly reccomrnd.
    Date published: 2015-09-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesom I recently bought this product 2 days before a show. I was worried I wouldn't be used to them by then, but I was, and they work wonders. I can't remember the last time I lost my stirrup!
    Date published: 2015-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfy, feet don't slip I have ridden in these for about a week now. They are much more comfortable on my foot than my old "cheese grater" pads, and my feet don't slide around in the stirrup at all.
    Date published: 2015-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Glad I bought them I was on the fence about these because I wasn't sure I'd like the "wrapping" feature going all the way around, but they look pretty slick on my black dressage saddle. And an added bonus I hadn't accounted for - I do a lot of lunging, and the extra rubber on the edges keeps my stirrups up no problem. No longer need to use a stirrup keeper or do weird things with the leather....just run them up the leathers and they'll stay put!I was a little unsure just how comfortable these would be. I was expecting a material a little more "cushy" like a memory foam, but these are not. Whatever they're made out of, they are comfortable. Between these pads and new boots, I no longer have horrible foot on the ball of my foot.
    Date published: 2015-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW!! I absolutely Love the Super comfort iron pads, they were easy to put on my stirrups I read the directions twice just to make sure I was putting them on right. Once I got one on the second was super easy. I was able to tighten the zip tie by hand, and I cut the ends off with my scissors that I have in my grooming box. The minute I put my foot into the stirrup, I was so glad that I bought these. I now can ride my large mover of a warmblood, with out constantly loosing my stirrups! I highly recommend them.
    Date published: 2015-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why did I Wait So Long? I bought these about a month ago and am recommending them to everyone. They keep my foot steady in the stirrup (no slipping and readjusting your position) but in an emergency you are not locked in like the cheese graters will do. They are softer on my ankles and knees and really were so easy to put on.
    Date published: 2015-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Many people at my barn had gotten these so I decided to try them out! I love them, not only are they comfy, but they are also super grippy
    Date published: 2015-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Will never go without them! I have had these on my stirrups since 2009. I have used the same pair of iron pads through several different sets of stirrup irons. They have never lost their grip and after spraying with the hose and only a tiny bit of scrub they look black as ever. I got these mainly because where I live its always muddy and they have held up through 5+ rides a day for 6 years. Worth the investment!
    Date published: 2015-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from In love with these stirrup pads I started using these stirrup pads about 3 weeks ago and have notice a huge difference. I had been losing my stirrups recently on my new horse and I thought these would be worth the try since I had heard some good reviews about them. I am so happy that I bought these they have definitely made a difference with keeping my stirrups. They also have helped my foot not to slip in the stirrups (not completely losing my stirrups) even when my boots are wet or a little on the muddy side. I have also noticed that in using these stirrup pads my ankles have not been hurting as much during and after riding. I also think that these stirrup pads are worth the price. I don't think I will ever go back to regular stirrup pads again!
    Date published: 2015-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Huge difference! As someone who is notorious for loosing her stirrups and finishing a course stirrupless these made a huge difference. The irons that I got with (stole for) my saddle came with these on but as soon as I started riding in them my feet slipped significantly less. I'm never going back. They are hardly noticeable and I definitely feel comfortable taking these into the show ring.
    Date published: 2015-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! I wanted to try these, so my husband bought them for my birthday: never going back to regular pads! Very comfortable and feel very solid in them. They're terrific! Liked them so much I bought my mom a pair for Christmas.
    Date published: 2014-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Grip I have used these for a few weeks now and they are definitely more comfortable and I have yet to lose my stirrup despite wet, muddy conditions.
    Date published: 2014-10-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from The stirrup pads I was usually previously lasted a month tops (usually only a couple of weeks). A friend recommended these. I have only had these a couple of weeks, but so far so good. They were easy to put on and have stayed in place. Time will be the real test.
    Date published: 2014-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must have! I have the comfort pads set up with the bendable stirrups, and my leg is amazing! I tend to lose my stirrups or have them shift on me while jumping, but not anymore. I've only ridden in them around 10 times, but I can't imagine riding without them now. They are easy to put on, just make sure you order a size below your pad size if you have the bendy stirrups. Comfort pads = life.
    Date published: 2014-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Had them for years! I bought these a few years ago and they are still going strong (used 6-7 days a week!) If you are looking for an 'in between' the regular stirrup pads and a fancy stirrup cushion, they are worth a try. Not too difficult to put on once you get the hang of it, and I have never had to adjust mine, they have stayed put this long. Ordering another set for my other saddle. If they get muddy or ring dirt stuck in them, they brush out easily with a hoofpick brush too.
    Date published: 2014-05-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not worth the money These were the only replacement pads that Smartpak carried that would work for a 5" stirrup. They are fine to ride in but not worth the extra money over a regular replacement pad. And while the zip ties do the job, they seem like a cheesy solution for install. And I would not go in the show ring with these so their use is limited.
    Date published: 2014-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from <3!!!! Look a little funky but do the job!!!They are super no slip!!!
    Date published: 2013-11-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent These pads do help a bit with grip in wet conditions. No real noticeable difference any other time.
    Date published: 2013-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing little guys I love these pads! They really are worth the money. I can't say how durable they are yet, since I've only used them on my jumping saddle a handful of times. They really help keep your heels down, and secure your feet in the irons. Will be buying another pair!
    Date published: 2013-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very tough I really like these, they are very thick and durable and will last MUCH longer than regular stirrup pads, which I've been changing out every 8 months or so. I can't say that I never lose a stirrup but the pads make them much easier to hold onto! Only drawback, the ties that secure them leave sharp little points on the underside of the stirrup. There might be a way to rotate the tie so it can be cut off inside the stirrup, but that experiment will have to await the next pair, which hopefully won't be for a couple of years!
    Date published: 2013-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! The pads are durable, no slip, and give great support. They give great traction- whether I'm riding in my Ariat paddock boots OR Dubarry's! They are more expensive than other pads, but well worth the money!
    Date published: 2013-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Stirrups pads I really like these pads, a little expensive but now that I have been using them I think they are worth ever penny. They are comfortable and stay on the ball of your foot great. Would recommend!
    Date published: 2013-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good product I am very happy with this product. I was using the sandpaper style before and i really hated them,they were very slippery.The design of the Super Comfort Pads allows for consistent contact. They are grippy,but, I don't feel worried that my feet would get stuck if I got into trouble, it's not like they are superglued to your foot. Think of them as a tire with good tread as opposed to bald tires.they actually remind me of mini tires b/c they are made of a similar rubber. I do think they are over priced for what they are and the fact that you attach them with zip ties cheapens them,but at the same time,I'm not sorry i purchased them. I think they will last a long time. I suggest leaving a long end on the ties and pushing the excess through the opposite holes,it just looks cleaner,not that anyone is looking at the underside of your stirrups
    Date published: 2013-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install and super comfy! These pads were easy to install and super comfy, I wouldn't say they are super grippy but they are secure.
    Date published: 2013-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gripping stirrup pads Love these pads!! I ride young & green horses a lot. I have lost a stirrup less often since using these pads because these pads wrap all of the way around the stirrup.
    Date published: 2013-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I was really nervous about spending $30 on this product. After riding in them for a few weeks, I'm so glad I bought them! They provide the perfect base for a stable leg. I haven't lost my stirrup since I've started using these pads! The package says to buy a size down if you have jointed stirrups, but I found the size I got worked fine since the joints didn't go to the bottom of the stirrup. Overall a really great purchase!!
    Date published: 2013-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stirrup pads I bought these for my daughter, 11 yrs old. I was sick of stirrup pads that don't fit in the metal groove on the bottom of her stirrups, and these looked grippy so we gave them a try.Installation is easy, just zip ties, I tightened them with a pair of needle nose pliers I keep in my tack box but I could have just tightened them by hand. You'll need nippers or scissors to trim the excess zip tie ends.When she rode in them, I noticed that her legs and feet were under her (in good hip heel alignment) and I didn't have to yell at her to get her legs back and her heels down. She tells me that her boots dont slip out of the stirrups anymore. These stirrup pads seem to allow the ankles to more comfortably flex down in to a heels down position, while securely gripping the bottom of the boot. The rider can relax a little bit more. And for my daughter, this actually gave her a more lovely riding position. I definitely recommend!
    Date published: 2013-01-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for stability I've used these on and off for years and have found them to be helpful for stability and less foot movement in the stirrup. I prefer it over the sandpaper stirrup pads. This recent pair was purchased for my daughter and she likes them too.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these So comfortable. Think I'll get some for my daughters too.
    Date published: 2013-01-21
    • 2016-02-12T14:58CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_88
    • loc_en_US, sid_6038, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.