Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SunShield Longsleeve Shirt by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #20137
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Look smart in this form-fitting, long sleeve shirt and feel even smarter knowing that it is protecting your skin from 98% of harmful UV rays. This shirt's lightweight, Australian Versatex material offers the best sun protection available, so you can leave your sunscreen at home during those long summer days at the barn. The SunShield's athletic look and feel makes it a great asset to your riding wardrobe, whether at the barn or in the show ring. Add a sweatshirt or jacket and you can wear it to the barn in the winter, too!

  • UPF rating 50+
  • 3/4 zip neck line

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Machine wash. Tumble dry. Do not iron. Do not bleach.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Favorite Features Woven subtle pinstripe front, collar, and ...
    Description:
    "Favorite Features Woven subtle pinstripe front, collar, and cuffs provides the classic look you want in the show ring Lightweight, stretch Coolmax® fabric back, sides, and upper sleeves wicks away moisture to keep you dry and comfortable throughout your ride ...
    "The UA Sunblock Longsleeve Tee is a must ...
    Description:
    "The UA Sunblock Longsleeve Tee is a must have for sun protection. Approved by the skin cancer foundation, it protects your skin with UPF 50+ keeping you safe from harmful UV rays. This top gives lightweight coverage without weighing you ...
    "Why We Love This The Wrangler Ladies Blue ...
    Description:
    "Why We Love This The Wrangler Ladies Blue Print Ultimate Riding Shirt features a beautiful bold blue print with a metallic sheen making this a stand-out-from-the-crowd shirt! Look sharp in the show ring or for a special event. Imported. Favorite ...
    "CINCH’s Modern Fit shirts are designed for a ...
    Description:
    "CINCH’s Modern Fit shirts are designed for a more tailored look and feel. Ample shoulder room and sleeve length assure a functional fit, while a fitted torso offers a slimmer cut through the body for an all-around great look and ...
    "What's Fall without a classic plaid shirt as ...
    Description:
    "What's Fall without a classic plaid shirt as a wardrobe staple? Made from 100% cotton twill tattersall, the Dubarry Elderflower Brushed Cotton Shirt is functional and stylish. Featuring special details such as felled seams and a clean hem, the shirt ...
    "The Essex Classics Wrap Collar Ladies Show Shirt ...
    Description:
    "The Essex Classics Wrap Collar Ladies Show Shirt neatly snaps into place so no more worrying about lost chokers! With a stirrup print Italian silk trim inside the collar and cuffs, the detail adds a fashionable touch. Made of a ...
    "Why We Love This Flattering styling with the ...
    Description:
    "Why We Love This Flattering styling with the benefits of bamboo fabric! Incredibly soft, strong, and durable, bamboo fabric helps wick moisture away from the body and is fast-drying. The fibers also work to adapt to your body's temperature to ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SunShield Longsleeve Shirt by SmartPak is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 159.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this shirt! I initially bought two of these shirts, in white and silver. I liked them so much, I ordered two more in white. They are fabulous for riding. I get very hot when I ride and this was cool enough that I didn't get hot but also stays warm with a sweater or jacket over it after it turned cold here for winter. I don't much care for the silver color and would stick with white in the future but it is fine for schooling. I ordered an XXL and could have probably worn XL but it still tucks in nicely. The sleeves are plenty long but I just rolled them back and they were fine - even with only a vest and not a coat. Plus, they launder up great - even though they are white/silver!
    Date published: 2016-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price for a nice shirt! Competitively priced in comparison to other sunshirts out there and just as nice! Comfortable to wear even on warmer days. Will be buying more!
    Date published: 2016-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit, nice color, holds the monogram well! Purchased this as a birthday gift for my trainer and had it embroidered with her logo (the logo team at SmartPak is THE BEST). The shirt is fab. It fits perfectly, is a great color, and the logo looks great!
    Date published: 2016-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new favorite shirt This shirt is the BEST! The first thing I noticed when I pulled it out of the box was that the material was exquisitely soft. I mean, it feels softer than silk. I ordered it in Blush and the color is just beautiful. The Alabama heat really put this shirt to the test and it performed flawlessly on several 90+ degree days with super high humidity. I wear long sleeves year round due to my concerns about skin cancer and so I have a whole collection of high tech "sun shirts" to compare this one to, but this shirt is by far my favorite. And despite my mare's best efforts to slime and stain my beautiful shirt, it cleans up wonderfully and looks brand new after each wash (I wash it in cold water and hang to dry). Now I want one in every color!
    Date published: 2016-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keep riding without the burn I bought one shirt just to try it out. The result made me buy 2 dark blue, 1 light blue, 2 pink and 1 grey. The fit is good, they wash up well and I get many compliments. My horse mask put a snag on the sleeve so be careful around rough materials. My arms no longer sizzle from the Arizona sun!
    Date published: 2016-09-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lightweight, Nice fit I bought this shirt for sun protection. It is very comfortable. The fit is a bit loose but still gives you some shape. Sleeves are nice a long.
    Date published: 2016-08-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute shirts We bought several to have monogrammed with the barn logo. These are less stretchy than some of the other sun shirts, so seemed ideal for monogramming. The fit is relaxed and the angled seams/panels seem like they'd be flattering for a range of body types. No clue yet on durability.
    Date published: 2016-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looking and feeling The fabric feels heavier than one might prefer for the Georgia summer, but it's absolutely wearable even on the hottest, most humid days. I bought the grey and it's quite flattering. I no longer get sun rashes which is much appreciated! I plan to wear a flannel underneath when it gets a little colder and I think it should be fine for year around weather. I'm really happy I bought it!!
    Date published: 2016-08-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from sunshield longsleeve shirt bought this shirt a few weeks ago. Usually buy products. The material was fine, but I thought the shirt ran a little small.
    Date published: 2016-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this shirt!! I absolutely LOVE this shirt. I now how the light pink, hot pink and the blue. I am 5'3 and 135 pounds and the medium fits me perfectly. It's not skin tight but looks very nice with jeans or breeches. I wear them to keep the sun off my arms and it also covers the back of my neck. It's cool even if it's really hot outside. I highly recommend this shirt because it looks great, washes great, and really protects from the sun.
    Date published: 2016-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Holds up good I have to keep the sun off my skin these shirts work well
    Date published: 2016-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My all time favorite for summer I already own three of SunShield Longsleeve Shirts. This is my fourth one. I like everything about this sun shirt- it fits beautifully and true to the size, colors are nice, feel is wonderful, and it dries quickly. I have normally a hard time with anything non-cotton or non-linen, but this shirt does not bother me all.
    Date published: 2016-06-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great but shows EVERYTHING I like these shirts, and this is my second year using and 3rd time purchasing. Fit, and ability to do what it is supposed to do is excellent. Colors are nice BUT if you want the shirt to look nice only wear it to ride, not to clean tack, stalls, or anything else that might get something on the shirt. It stains very easily including from your sunscreen on your face/neck. That is my main complaint. I still have my old ones and use them when in the garden or doing yardwork (when nobody will see my stains). They are cool enough although I'll still sweat a lot on a hot day in them. But it beats gooey sunblock, skin cancer, and sunburns. They hold up ok in the wash, but don't get them near velcro or other things that will snag the shirt. The average ratings is due to how easily it stains.
    Date published: 2016-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and comfortable I ordered this shirt in Tropical and could not be happier with my purchase. It is not only a beautiful color, it is comfortable and easy to wear while riding. I hate to worry with my clothing while working with my horse and trying to learn myself as well. This shirt gave me that along with the protection I needed from the sun, as I burn easily. I was not hot in it either, even wore it on a lake and river cruise when it was in the 90's.I am not heavy but I am not thin, either (5'6" and weight 149). I have heavier upper arms, very muscular. This shirt fits me. I have ordered two other brands and sent them back because even in a size large, the upper arms were too tight. I am ordering a second one in the same color and a third in grey. I like it that much!
    Date published: 2016-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Shirt! I walk my dog everyday at lunch. This shirt has been fantastic to protect me from the sun, so I don't have to wear so much sunscreen. It's also nice on cooler days, so I don't have to bring a jacket. We have had a couple of 90 degree days. This shirt did an excellent job of protecting my skin without making me too hot. Infact, I think it may have helped keep me cooler. I will be getting more for mowing and gardening in. The sizing is excellent. I generally wear 1x-2x in t-shirts. I tried the XXL and the XL and decided on the XL. Returning for an exchange was very easy and fast. I am currently without horse, but I am sure this would be my go-to shirt for riding in the summer. Oh, also it washes beautifully. No shrinking.
    Date published: 2016-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light weight I bought this SunShield shirt for the brutal FL sun. Most sun shirts are to heavy for me. This shirt is very light weight. Love it!
    Date published: 2016-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from RedHead in TEXAS This is the best thing EVER for riders (or anyone outside in the sun)! Pretty skeptical with temps toping 90s most days, minimal breeze, so on... but the material is so light and silky; it makes me feel like I don't sweat. I bought three, will be order one for everyday of the week!
    Date published: 2016-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the color and fit! I bought this as a gift for my mom for Mother's Day and she loves it! Pink is her color and the shade of pink this shirt comes in is bright but not too neon or anything. We live in East Tennessee so the humidity and sun combined is brutal, but she reports this shirt has kept her cooler than a cotton t-shirt she typically rides in.
    Date published: 2016-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super light weight
    Date published: 2016-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice shirt Love this shirt. Runs a little large. I had to exchange for a smaller size. Very comfortable and looks nice too.
    Date published: 2016-05-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good protection I have worn this shirt once so far and really like it. It seems to be a little thicker than I imagined and I wasn't wearing it in the heat of the day, but it was very comfortable and kept me sunburn free. I like the pink too because I ride my horse to my lessons and have to go on the side of the road for a little ways. We definitely stand out in this color.
    Date published: 2016-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I was extremely hesitant on trying this shirt as I've always stuck to tailored sportsmans but I absolutely love it. It's extremely breathable and comfy. Even in 90 degree weather it keeps me cool and comfortable. Highly recommend these!
    Date published: 2016-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice fit
    Date published: 2016-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice shirt Bought this shirt in large and had to return it and exchange it for a medium.The shirt is well made and very comfortable.I'm older but very fit and the medium fits perfectly.
    Date published: 2016-05-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very comfortable I really like this shirt, it is super comfortable, fit well, and looks like it will hold up. The material is soft, which I like, and not overly thin or see through. My only problem with the SunShield Longsleeve Shirt is the collar seems to sit awkwardly. It is almost too short (I'm guessing) and doesn't lie smoothly. It really is a minor issue, and would not prevent me from buying this shirt again.
    Date published: 2016-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy It's hard to find tops for busty women. This XL fits great- not too tight.Good price.
    Date published: 2016-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cool shirt for summer! This is a great shirt for summer to keep sun rays off you. It's very cooling.
    Date published: 2016-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Shirt Bought this shirt in hot pink for my daughter. Beautiful color. Nice material.
    Date published: 2016-02-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very comfy Comfy and thin for layering. Roomy, but I don't think too much to order a smaller size unless you are always on the border of sizing.
    Date published: 2015-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved it so much I bought more... I was a little reluctant to get this long sleeved shirt for the summer because I usually run hot even in the winter, but the older I get I feel that with all the outside time I spend with my horse I needed the added protection. Well I was pleasantly surprised on how cool it kept me even for a long sleeve shirt in the hot humid MD summers.
    Date published: 2015-12-22
    • y_2017, m_2, d_26, h_18
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_147
    • loc_en_US, sid_10137, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders