Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SunShield Longsleeve Shirt by SmartPak

- Item #20137
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Look smart in this form-fitting, long sleeve shirt and feel even smarter knowing that it is protecting your skin from 98% of harmful UV rays. This shirt's lightweight, Australian Versatex material offers the best sun protection available, so you can leave your sunscreen at home during those long summer days at the barn. The SunShield's athletic look and feel makes it a great asset to your riding wardrobe, whether at the barn or in the show ring. Add a sweatshirt or jacket and you can wear it to the barn in the winter, too!

Favorite Features

  • UPF rating 50+
  • 3/4 zip neck line

Sizing It Up

Customers Also Shopped For
The perfect combination of style and function! Favorite ...
The perfect combination of style and function! Favorite Features 100% smooth knit polyester with TopShield moisture management wicks moisture away from body, leaving you dry and comfy. The fabric is specially treated with an anti-microbial agent that inhibits the growth ...
A sophisticated, comfortable solution for showing, this shirt ...
A sophisticated, comfortable solution for showing, this shirt defines what show style should be: a great look, a good fit, and complete functionality. Favorite Features 88% nylon/12% spandex Opti-Dry Technology wicks away moisture Power mesh underarm panel for stretch and ...
Soothing relief for sore shoulders, aching backs and ...
Soothing relief for sore shoulders, aching backs and stiff necks. Ideally suited for pain in your shoulder, neck and spine, this comfortable tee uses your own body heat to create soothing relief. You'll feel tension and soreness melt away! Black. ...
The Gwen Performance Mock by Noble Outfitters has ...
The Gwen Performance Mock by Noble Outfitters has the look that you want with all the added features and benefits you're looking for! Favorite Features Stretch mesh back panel for added breathability Reverse coil YKK zipper at front Stock tie ...
The Under Armour Layered Up Jacket is constructed ...
The Under Armour Layered Up Jacket is constructed from a lightweight woven fabric that delivers superior comfort and durability. Favorite Features Under Armour Storm technology repels water but staysSoft and breathable Princess seam create a slimmer more streamlined silhouette Generous ...
Stay cool, comfy and dry in style with ...
Stay cool, comfy and dry in style with a personalized polo made just for you! The Personalized Ladies Wicking Polo Shirt is crafted from 100% polyester pique knit with TopShield moisture management technology. This anti-microbial treatment inhibits the growth of ...
out of 5
89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


SunShield Longsleeve Shirt by SmartPak is rated 4.52317880794702 out of 5 by 151.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from sunshield longsleeve shirt bought this shirt a few weeks ago. Usually buy products. The material was fine, but I thought the shirt ran a little small.
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this shirt!! I absolutely LOVE this shirt. I now how the light pink, hot pink and the blue. I am 5'3 and 135 pounds and the medium fits me perfectly. It's not skin tight but looks very nice with jeans or breeches. I wear them to keep the sun off my arms and it also covers the back of my neck. It's cool even if it's really hot outside. I highly recommend this shirt because it looks great, washes great, and really protects from the sun.
Date published: 2016-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Holds up good I have to keep the sun off my skin these shirts work well
Date published: 2016-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My all time favorite for summer I already own three of SunShield Longsleeve Shirts. This is my fourth one. I like everything about this sun shirt- it fits beautifully and true to the size, colors are nice, feel is wonderful, and it dries quickly. I have normally a hard time with anything non-cotton or non-linen, but this shirt does not bother me all.
Date published: 2016-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great but shows EVERYTHING I like these shirts, and this is my second year using and 3rd time purchasing. Fit, and ability to do what it is supposed to do is excellent. Colors are nice BUT if you want the shirt to look nice only wear it to ride, not to clean tack, stalls, or anything else that might get something on the shirt. It stains very easily including from your sunscreen on your face/neck. That is my main complaint. I still have my old ones and use them when in the garden or doing yardwork (when nobody will see my stains). They are cool enough although I'll still sweat a lot on a hot day in them. But it beats gooey sunblock, skin cancer, and sunburns. They hold up ok in the wash, but don't get them near velcro or other things that will snag the shirt. The average ratings is due to how easily it stains.
Date published: 2016-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and comfortable I ordered this shirt in Tropical and could not be happier with my purchase. It is not only a beautiful color, it is comfortable and easy to wear while riding. I hate to worry with my clothing while working with my horse and trying to learn myself as well. This shirt gave me that along with the protection I needed from the sun, as I burn easily. I was not hot in it either, even wore it on a lake and river cruise when it was in the 90's.I am not heavy but I am not thin, either (5'6" and weight 149). I have heavier upper arms, very muscular. This shirt fits me. I have ordered two other brands and sent them back because even in a size large, the upper arms were too tight. I am ordering a second one in the same color and a third in grey. I like it that much!
Date published: 2016-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Shirt! I walk my dog everyday at lunch. This shirt has been fantastic to protect me from the sun, so I don't have to wear so much sunscreen. It's also nice on cooler days, so I don't have to bring a jacket. We have had a couple of 90 degree days. This shirt did an excellent job of protecting my skin without making me too hot. Infact, I think it may have helped keep me cooler. I will be getting more for mowing and gardening in. The sizing is excellent. I generally wear 1x-2x in t-shirts. I tried the XXL and the XL and decided on the XL. Returning for an exchange was very easy and fast. I am currently without horse, but I am sure this would be my go-to shirt for riding in the summer. Oh, also it washes beautifully. No shrinking.
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light weight I bought this SunShield shirt for the brutal FL sun. Most sun shirts are to heavy for me. This shirt is very light weight. Love it!
Date published: 2016-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from RedHead in TEXAS This is the best thing EVER for riders (or anyone outside in the sun)! Pretty skeptical with temps toping 90s most days, minimal breeze, so on... but the material is so light and silky; it makes me feel like I don't sweat. I bought three, will be order one for everyday of the week!
Date published: 2016-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the color and fit! I bought this as a gift for my mom for Mother's Day and she loves it! Pink is her color and the shade of pink this shirt comes in is bright but not too neon or anything. We live in East Tennessee so the humidity and sun combined is brutal, but she reports this shirt has kept her cooler than a cotton t-shirt she typically rides in.
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice shirt Love this shirt. Runs a little large. I had to exchange for a smaller size. Very comfortable and looks nice too.
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good protection I have worn this shirt once so far and really like it. It seems to be a little thicker than I imagined and I wasn't wearing it in the heat of the day, but it was very comfortable and kept me sunburn free. I like the pink too because I ride my horse to my lessons and have to go on the side of the road for a little ways. We definitely stand out in this color.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I was extremely hesitant on trying this shirt as I've always stuck to tailored sportsmans but I absolutely love it. It's extremely breathable and comfy. Even in 90 degree weather it keeps me cool and comfortable. Highly recommend these!
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice shirt Bought this shirt in large and had to return it and exchange it for a medium.The shirt is well made and very comfortable.I'm older but very fit and the medium fits perfectly.
Date published: 2016-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very comfortable I really like this shirt, it is super comfortable, fit well, and looks like it will hold up. The material is soft, which I like, and not overly thin or see through. My only problem with the SunShield Longsleeve Shirt is the collar seems to sit awkwardly. It is almost too short (I'm guessing) and doesn't lie smoothly. It really is a minor issue, and would not prevent me from buying this shirt again.
Date published: 2016-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy It's hard to find tops for busty women. This XL fits great- not too tight.Good price.
Date published: 2016-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cool shirt for summer! This is a great shirt for summer to keep sun rays off you. It's very cooling.
Date published: 2016-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Shirt Bought this shirt in hot pink for my daughter. Beautiful color. Nice material.
Date published: 2016-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very comfy Comfy and thin for layering. Roomy, but I don't think too much to order a smaller size unless you are always on the border of sizing.
Date published: 2015-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved it so much I bought more... I was a little reluctant to get this long sleeved shirt for the summer because I usually run hot even in the winter, but the older I get I feel that with all the outside time I spend with my horse I needed the added protection. Well I was pleasantly surprised on how cool it kept me even for a long sleeve shirt in the hot humid MD summers.
Date published: 2015-12-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not a summer shirt Good base layer. Too hot for summer. Sizes are inconsistent. Two shirts in the same size fit like two different sizes.
Date published: 2015-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Shirt This is my second shirt and am expecting it to hold up as well as the first one. Well made, nice material with attention to detail. Sizing does run a little big.
Date published: 2015-09-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great sun protection for riding I'm sick of sunscreen when riding, as it tends to insulate the heat on my skin and cause even more sweating, and then it just slides (or is wiped in irritation) right off (mainly my arms) - but in mid 90s degree heat, you need protection! I bought this shirt about a month ago and have ridden in it ever since, and I'm a fan. I still get hot, of course, because it was the middle of summer in Texas, but at least I don't have to worry about getting burned. I imagine it will be really nice as the weather cools down.My one complaint is that, quite unsurprisingly, the white shirt gets dirty and the stains do not want to come out. My horse loves to slime me, and my shirt got stained on its first outing. I don't mind since I ride at my own private barn, but if I were to wear this schooling at my trainer's barn or at a show, I would pick a darker color. I initially chose white because I figured that would be the coolest possible color. Oh well! Stains don't affect its performance.
Date published: 2015-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Summer Shirt for at the Barn This was my second SunShield shirt purchase. They are great for everyday use in the summer.
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps you cool Definitely the coolest of all the sun shield shirts I have. Keeps you cooler than even tailored sportsman or eis shirts!
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Shirt! Very comfortable. Dirt repellent. Sweat resistant.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job! This is actually my second purchase of this shirt. The first was tourquoise and this second was white. White tends to get really dirty, really quick if your grooming, longing, tacking up your own horse. Also stay away from velcro as it can snag your shirt.Bought these for sun protection, this year I'm really focusing on the. They look nice when riding, are a little over sized in my opinion, and have great long sleeves to cover you, even when arms are extended with reins.
Date published: 2015-08-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Odd fit, but decent I grabbed this on sale, and sized down after reading some reviews saying that it ran big. However, even the XS was quite boxy (I'm fairly slim but not crazy skinny, so I was surprised at how loose it was). I know they're not supposed to be skin-tight, but I wanted something a little more fitted. Also because I sized down, it's a little too short to stay tucked into my breeches. In terms of quality it is durable, cute color, and has held up well to life at the barn. It's not as cooling as some other shirts may be, but I think it'll be great for riding in spring/fall weather.
Date published: 2015-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great shirt! Great color .. great fit .. great shirt!!I also have the more expensive name brand version of this shirt and I like this one better. In California sun protection without overheating is essential - this shirt fits the bill perfectly!
Date published: 2015-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality I bought this about 2 weeks ago and love it. I wasn't sure about it when I bought it because I wanted a nice shirt to do cross country in, but didn't really have $100 to drop on a long sleeve summer cooling shirt that some of the other brands have. But I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised when I wore it because it is almost even more comfortable than an Ariat long sleeve cooling shirt that I have. The material is much more lightweight and cooler in general, as my Ariat shirt has heavier material all over and then the fragile "cooling" material that starts at the armpits and goes all the way down the length of the sleeves. This smartpak shirt was better because all of the material was lightweight, cooling, stretchy, and sharper looking in general. And I can wear it just in general for other things too, it's very versatile. I would highly recommend it and I like it better than my Ariat one.
Date published: 2015-08-04
  • 2016-10-21T11:39CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_139
  • loc_en_US, sid_10137, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders