Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SunShield Longsleeve Shirt by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #20137
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Look smart in this form-fitting, long sleeve shirt and feel even smarter knowing that it is protecting your skin from 98% of harmful UV rays. This shirt's lightweight, Australian Versatex material offers the best sun protection available, so you can leave your sunscreen at home during those long summer days at the barn. The SunShield's athletic look and feel makes it a great asset to your riding wardrobe, whether at the barn or in the show ring. Add a sweatshirt or jacket and you can wear it to the barn in the winter, too!

Favorite Features

  • UPF rating 50+
  • 3/4 zip neck line

Sizing It Up

You Might Like
    out of 5
    87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SunShield Longsleeve Shirt by SmartPak is rated 4.4571 out of 5 by 105.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Shirt This is a well made shirt that runs one size larger than you normally wear.
    Date published: 2015-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps the sun off me and cool Living in AZ is tough with the sun. This shirt is cool and protects me from the heat.
    Date published: 2015-03-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stylish Protection From the Sun! Verr happy with my purchase. I've worn the shirt once and thought it was very flattering. Runs a little bigger than I expected but didn't try smaller size since it might have been too tight.
    Date published: 2015-03-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Shirt Just Wish it Was Longer I do love the shirt, nice lite weight, not clingy but I do wish it was longer so it could be tucked in and not come out as easily while being active. Other than the length it is a great shirt for cool (used a Cuddl Dud shirt underneath in 40F) and warm weather riding.
    Date published: 2015-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sun shirt Very. Comfortable. Can't wait to ride in the spring sun.
    Date published: 2015-03-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Runs very big I loved this shirt! and was so mad that it was too big!! The fabric is nice, great quality. This shirt would be perfect if they would just make it alittle more fitted. I ordered an xs and it was too loose, didn't look flattering at all. I wear a size xs in the tailored sportsman ice fill shirt and that fits great! this shirt is much looser which is a shame b/c its a great value! I wish smartpak would improve the fit to be more fitted or offer an xxs, than I would buy all the colors!!
    Date published: 2015-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best schooling shirts This is third shirt I have purchased and they far exceed any other sunshield shirt I've tried. I live in Florida so they are exposed to the sun all year round. They don't fade and wash incredibly well.
    Date published: 2015-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this shirt! I got this as a gift for Christmas. The material is really light weight and I love the color (I got the turquoise one). I currently use it as an extra layer in the cold weather but the material seems breathable and good for the summer as well. I bought a small but returned it for an xsmall so it runs a bit big since I'm normally a small in the similar type of eis and riding sport shirts. My only complaint is that the zipper is a bit sticky, but I can live with that!
    Date published: 2015-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Shirt! I know this shirt is meant to keep cooler in the summer but I bought it for a shirt to use as a layer in the cooler mornings and warmer afternoons in the fall. The shirt wicks away moisture and keeps me cool even though I'm wearing it under a vest or jacket. Also, the stitching is such a nice slimming feature :) Love this shirt.
    Date published: 2014-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for spring and fall I have 5 of these shirts. I love them. They are soft and comfortable and never get in the way when doing barn chores, grooming, riding, or even bathing my horses. They are very versatile. In the spring and fall I can wear them all day at the barn without needing to change to a different shirt because it has turned warmer or cooler.
    Date published: 2014-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice lightweight and flexible This is a nice lightweight riding shirt. Is comfortable and flexible. Good for fall riding and good as a layer under a coat for winter riding. Also breathes so it doesn't hold sweat in. It runs true to size and has more room in the bust then most.
    Date published: 2014-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable & Cool I bought this in grey and tropical...got compliments for style, UV protection on a hot day and the lovely color. I wash in a mesh bag on cold and hang dry. The grey is kinda of silvery detailed with black top stitching. Great with jeans or breeches.No neck tags so no itchy things that need to be cut off.
    Date published: 2014-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Comfortable I ride in the heat of the Southwestern sun. SunShield shirts are great at protecting my skin AND keeping me cool. I don't know how they do it but it works!
    Date published: 2014-08-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not a go to sun shirt however it gets the job done. The material is "heavier" than other competitors which causes when humid temps to have the feeling of over heating even when your not riding. Material snags easily and with only a handful of light uses they look like Ive had them for years. Disappointed as smartpak is my go to for buying but I wont be purchasing these again
    Date published: 2014-07-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not my favorite sun shirt The SunShield shirt does it's job. However, it's a little warmer than other brands that I own. I wish it had ventilation on the sides/under the arms. It doesn't wash up as well as I'd like, and disappointingly has a few horse slobber stains that I'm going to have to spot treat (and this wasn't even from a normal LONG day at the barn for me!). The other thing I don't love is that the material snags easier than I was expecting. A few trips to the barn and this shirt is already looking more worn than it should. Am I in a hurry to buy another one? No, but they're worth it at a sale price.
    Date published: 2014-07-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the color Great colors, soft, comfortable, and cool. I only wish it were vented all the way down the long sleeve.
    Date published: 2014-07-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from SUNSHIELD LONGSLEEVE SHIRT MY WIFE TAKES MEDICINE THAT SUGGEST THAT SHE NOT GET IN THE SUN. THIS SHIRT ALLOWS HER TO BE OUT DURING THE DAY.
    Date published: 2014-07-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fit Love this shirt! I bought 2 more in different colors. Washes well and is protecting me from the Florida sun real well. Sleeves and hem are nice and long to keep me covered.
    Date published: 2014-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice and cool and does the job Fit is somewhat loose but it does help keep you cool.
    Date published: 2014-07-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Liked but didn't love I think this would be a great shirt for temps in the mid-70s, but no higher. I've ridden in it around 80 with no humidity (and no breeze), and it was definitely warmer than a short sleeved shirt when we weren't moving around. The neck in particular was warm - great for sun protection; less great for sweat. I have a few other sun shirts from other non-equestrian manufacturers that dry more quickly and are cooler. Nice looking shirt but I wasn't enamored.
    Date published: 2014-06-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good but a bit heavier than expected I like this shirt and it definitely protects from the sun as claimed. However, it does not breathe as well as I would have hoped. I live in NC and am out in the sun much of the day and this shirt does keep me a bit warmer than a short-sleeved one would, although it does dry quickly. Cannot speak to durability yet- I have only had it for a month. Thin mesh under the arms would be a very welcome update to this shirt, and maybe a slightly stretchier fabric. Overall good but I probably will look for another lighter-weight sun-protection shirt for riding in the summer heat.
    Date published: 2014-06-03
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Runs Small I bought this really hoping it would fit true to the sizing chart. it does not. I wear an XXL top, and all of Kerrits XXL's fit well. I was so excited to find another company, but alas...not to be. I will be returning.
    Date published: 2014-05-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful color-stains came right out in the wash I love the color I got Tropical looks just like the image online. I have washed it a handful of times and seems to be holding up. The first day I got it got pretty dirty with horse grime and general barn gross stuff and it washed out beautifully can't even tell it was stained. Since I've only had it a month I gave it 2 stars for durability since I can't really comment on that. The sizing is a little big. A lot of the popular sun-blocking long sleeve shirts are tight, but this runs a little big. The small fits me fine, but isn't form fitting more a loose fit. For reference I am 5'5" 32D bust. My biggest complaint is the zipper is cheap and the part that touches my neck when it's fully zipped is irritating and itchy. There is no mesh under the arms, which I like because it keeps you cooler on hot sunny days which is when I like to wear my sun protecting shirts.
    Date published: 2014-05-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lightweight This shirt is lightweight and comfortable, which was exactly what I was hoping for. Living in Arizona, I will be able to wear it year round, even through the hot summer.
    Date published: 2014-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I forgot to say this is my second Sunshield Shirt.
    Date published: 2014-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy and Light! I bought this along with a more expensive one from another company, and I love it! I will be purchasing another!
    Date published: 2014-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my second Sunshield Shirt. I bought my first Sun Shield Shirt 2 years ago. It is still in great condition. Fit is good and it is not to hot to wear when the summer days are in the 100's.
    Date published: 2014-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable shirt I really enjoy wearing this shirt. This is the 2nd one that I've bought so that I have variation in colors. It is easy to move around in and a really nice weight for early spring layering. Washes easily and dries quickly hanging up. Haven't worn it in hot weather yet so I can't comment on comfort in warmer temperatures.
    Date published: 2014-04-23
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too hot even for a Louisiana spring day Let me start by saying the shirt is beautiful... well made and the fit is great. I wore it during a mid morning hack on a typical Louisiana spring day. The sun was shining, pretty high humidity as is normal here and 80 degree temp. I got HOT!!! Really hot. I don't consider myself a smelly person but the shirt was rank after my ride. I was embarrassed and had to run home and change before having lunch with my barn mates. I would definitely wear this shirt on cooler days but I cannot imagine wearing it this summer.
    Date published: 2014-04-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice shirt This is a nice, comfortable shirt -like the covered zipperand the cut. Would prefer slightly more fitted, but would recommend.
    Date published: 2014-04-11
    • 2015-05-22T08:36CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_97
    • loc_en_US, sid_10137, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.