Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

SSG Work N Horse Lined Glove

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #17562
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The SSG Work N Horse Lined Glove is a great price lined leather glove with dome fastener cinch and closure. Rein reinforcement. 

Imported.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SSG Work N Horse Lined Glove is rated 4.1579 out of 5 by 57.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these gloves! Super warm. Great for doing barn chores and they look nice enough to wear outside the barn.
    Date published: 2014-02-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality for the price I bought the light tan colored gloves because the other color was out of stock. It does show stains easier, but overall am very happy with the quality. They are very warm! I do find them a bit bulky between the ring finger and pinky when holding the reins, I would recommend them more for barn chores or very cold weather and switch gloves for riding.
    Date published: 2014-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They're great! We bought these as a gift and the recipient is very pleased. She said that they are really nice, warm and comfortable - good winter gloves. Not too bulky.
    Date published: 2014-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very nice glove Bought this glove to ride in and drive.  Very nicely made leather glove.  Great fit!  SSG always fits true.  Soft leather, nice details.  perfect for what I needed. Wish there was a tough exterior work version of this glove!
    Date published: 2013-12-28
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from The gloves are pretty but that is where it stops. I wore them for one ride and there were holes in several of the seams. Not worth the money. 
    Date published: 2013-12-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Stiff and hard to use fingers in! I bought these gloves for winter wear about 2 years ago, so I was expecting them to be broken in now. They are lined and do keep my hands warm. Generally I wear ssg crocheted back gloves. The downside is that the gloves are stiff, making it almost impossible to ride in or put on halters or adjust keepers. For light work and for warmth they are nice but i hate having to change out or take off my gloves to put on my bridle. Maybe a serious dose of oil will fix it.
    Date published: 2013-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great gloves at a great price! I bought these a little while ago for work (I do turn in/out, feeding, stalls, etc) for a local equestrian center. Since I'm on a budget, I was looking for something that would protect and keep my hands warm for work and also function as a winter riding glove. These definitely fit the bill! Though they're asthetically not exactly what I'd prefer for riding (can't get rid of hunter tendencies after 12 years haha!) they are thick enough to keep my hands warm in Northeast winter, but I can also very much feel the reins when I ride. When it gets below 30 degrees, I wear this with SSG silk liners and my hands are toasty warm :) Definitely a good purchase. 
    Date published: 2013-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 3 years and still going strong! I just added a second pair to my order, and paged back to see when I bought these.  My review was 3 years ago.  I still have these gloves and still LOVE them.  I wear them from fall through early spring and they are holding up great.  Now I'll have a backup pair so when I take them home to wash them I'll have a second pair ready and waiting in my trunk.
    Date published: 2013-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best work/riding gloves ever! These gloves fit "like a glove." The fingers and thumb fit well without gaping like they often do at the wrist and thumb. They are lightly lined but not enough to make you too warm, and they are easy to do most tasks without having to take them off because they fit so well. They are really riding gloves but I've been using them everyday for all my barn chores and they're the best I've found in years of trying different styles.
    Date published: 2013-04-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disapointing... I am very disapointed in this glove. They are not especially warm, and did not hold up well at all! I purchased them in the late fall, and wore them for most of the winter. Maybe I just have high expectations, but I want gloves that last more than one season. The seams on these gloves has literally disinigrated. The reinforced stiching on my index fingers has come off, leaving wings off the fingers, one middle finger is completely unstitched and the filling has a hole in it exposing my bare skin, and the stiching around both of my thumbs is almost completely gone, giving my thumbs much more molibilty but about to fall off the gloves. I thought these were great gloves when I got them- super soft and comfy, but they clearly can not hold up to barn chores. If you are looking for a warm glove for driving your car these would do, but I can not reccomend using them in the barn for any purpose.
    Date published: 2013-04-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did not last I wore these gloves for 6 days (riding 3 horses a day and doing light barn work each day). On the 6th day the stitched on the index fingers popped!! While they are still wearable I question the durability of a product that does not last a week without some kind of failure!!
    Date published: 2013-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Gloves Ever! I finally found the perfect pair of work gloves. Super well made, stylish and comfortable. I will buy these again and again.
    Date published: 2013-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These gloves are great!! They are warm but not bulky. The outer leather is soft and very nice to ride in or to just wear for barn chores. Good price when compared to other brands.
    Date published: 2013-03-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Awkward Fit The gloves are warm. They are sort of ranch work gloves, but they have an awkward fit in the thumb to pointer finger area. That triangle for me fits very strange and tight.
    Date published: 2013-03-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from wish they fit better The thumb is tight ...neds to be cut longer so the thumb can move more freely..and I ordered the largest size there was and they are just too tight.....otherwise I really would like them. I will give them to a friend who has much smaller hands
    Date published: 2013-02-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bit tight compared to other SSG I always use SSG gloves - 9 out of 10 times. This pair, however, is a bit tight around the fingers. No other SSG gloves were so tight, so perhaps I got poorly measured item or this particular design runs small. I don'w know how long this pair will last, but it probably won't, because I have to keep pushing my fingers in. I don't think I will buy this pair any more.
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was very pleased. I purchased these gloves for my trainer's assistant for Christmas. Since I wear the same size she does, I tried them on and immediately ordered myself a pair. I can't really respond to the durability, yet, but I can say that I don't think she has taken them off since she received them. We have had a very unusual cold spell here, and she keeps saying how warm they are. Mine should come next week with my SmartPak order.
    Date published: 2013-01-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wish there were half sizes This is a nice glove except for sizing. The 6 was too small and the 7 is too long for my fingers. I thought the 7 would work so didn't return them but I keep having to take gloves off to tack up or blanket my horse. When it's -5C that's the LAST thing I want to do!
    Date published: 2013-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific gloves! I bought these gloves for my trainer's assistant for Christmas. She was thrilled! They are soft, supple, and very warm, but still have enough feel on the reins. I'm going to order a pair for myself.
    Date published: 2012-12-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from nice but- I bought these because I wanted a traditional looking tan or brown leather glove. They were a bit snug, but since I didn't actually buy them for warmth I took out the thinsulate lining. Now the fit is great. They look great. The leather is thin and grippy. There is something odd about the tanning of the leather though- they have a funny smell, turned my silver ring black, and left my hands feeling a bit pickled. So I'm not entirely certain I'd recommend them.
    Date published: 2012-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice glove Nice, soft glove with a little insulation against the cold. Easy to ride in and work with. Not for the really cold weather but good to around 35 degrees.
    Date published: 2012-11-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs small These gloves seemed to be a great deal! The thinsulate lining didn't seem annoyingly thick (as is the case with many other winter gloves), and the leather was soft. However, they were just too small. The length of the fingers is too short, making the gloves restricting and difficult to flex. Nice gloves, but had to return them. I wear a size 7 surgical glove, and the 7 here was too tight-- Size up!
    Date published: 2012-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight and warm I wear these gloves mostly for riding, but do barn chores in them sometimes too. They are thin enough to have good feel but still keep my hands warm.
    Date published: 2012-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm but not bulky Great light weight glove. Warm but not bulky. Love these gloves. I use them to ride in as well as do barn chores.
    Date published: 2012-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase I wasn't sure when I received these gloves that they fit, but the leather is very pliable and they stretched nicely to fit.They are durable, water resistant and best of all warm enough for barn chores!!
    Date published: 2012-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super "in between" Gloves I purchased these gloves for everyday chores, but can be used for riding as well. The thinsulate is effective, providing sufficient warmth on most days. The leather is soft and not too thick, so you DON'T have to take them off in order to secure or undo blanket or halter fittings. The sizing was spot on, nice fitting glove (not too slender, yet not overly roomy). This is a terrific country classic look and a superb value at $20!
    Date published: 2012-01-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice gloves at a good price Like the glove and thinking about getting another pair in brown. Got the natural pair and of course they stained while doing barn work... as would be expected. Gloves that fit a little tight but stretched well. I measure 7 1/2 bought an 8 and they still were pretty tight. Overall I really like the gloves. They're only somewhat warm but easy to work and ride in. Buy them big if you want your hands to be closed while you ride.
    Date published: 2012-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! Great glove and warm, warm, warm!! The only thing I am not 100% crazy about is the cinch buckle on the wrist. The leather on the strap is real thin and I don't know how durable that will be. Otherwise, they're awesome riding/ work around the barn gloves.
    Date published: 2011-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite winter gloves I just bought my second pair of these gloves. The first ones lasted about 3 winters before getting a small hole in the end of a finger. They fit really well, are very warm and are soft enough that they are comfortable to ride in and still feel the reins.
    Date published: 2011-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice and warm I was concerned that these gloves would be too thick at first, but they are very soft, toasty warm and don't let the reins slip. Highly recommended.
    Date published: 2011-12-09
    • 2015-05-24T08:22CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_55
    • loc_en_US, sid_7562, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.