Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
7:00am - 10:00pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SSG Winter Training Glove

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #12095
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SSG Winter Training Glove is an all purpose lined winter glove for training, handling, and riding. The back of glove has Thinsulate lining for heat retention without the bulk while the palm is lightly lined providing a better feel on the reins without sacrificing warmth. 

Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Thinsulate lining to create and maintain warmth
  • Knitted cuff helps to keep the cold out of your glove 
  • Outer material is drum dyed soft leather for a better grip on the reins
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Finally a pair of riding gloves made with ...
    Description:
    "Finally a pair of riding gloves made with the Dressage Rider in mind! The Tredstep Dressage Pro Gloves are made with patented FlexiGrip design with the finest lamb skin leather and True Touch synthetic leather palm for a flexible, secure ...
    "The Roeckl Winter Hampshire Glove will protect you ...
    Description:
    "The Roeckl Winter Hampshire Glove will protect you from the wettest, coldest, and windiest winter riding weather. Exterior: Finesse (a textile leather that’s elasticized, breathable and machine washable) Lining: Prima Loft Imported."
    "The Roeckl Chester Glove combines grip technology with ...
    Description:
    "The Roeckl Chester Glove combines grip technology with the latest in riding fashion. This classic glove is made from ROECK-GRIP, a very fine synthetic leather with an excellent grip, supple, breathable and elastic. This glove fits like a second skin, ...
    "The Roeckl London Glove combines functionality with a ...
    Description:
    "The Roeckl London Glove combines functionality with a sporty and modern design. The discreet piping and fashionable trim combined with high quality materials and a sophisticated fastener make for an outstanding performance glove. This glove is cell phone compatible."
    "Do you suffer from unsightly tan lines after ...
    Description:
    "Do you suffer from unsightly tan lines after hours (or was it days?) in the saddle? The Solar Glove is a combination of skin protection and a longer lasting suntan result from the SOLAR TAN'S UNIQUE UV FILTER FABRIC. The ...
    "SSG Grand Prix is the “perfect feel” English ...
    Description:
    "SSG Grand Prix is the “perfect feel” English show glove, made with Aquasuede Plus: a skin thin, long wearing, machine washable material providing excellent grip and exceptional touch. Reinforced in key areas. Imported."
    "SSG All Weather Gloves are unlined, long wearing ...
    Description:
    "SSG All Weather Gloves are unlined, long wearing and machine washable. Soft aquasuede palm. Colorfast and sweat absorbing. Strong elasticized back for a cool comfortable fit. Hook and loop wrist closure. Wears like iron. All colors have black palm unless ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SSG Winter Training Glove is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 79.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very warm! I bought these and they had my hands sweating when it was 40° outside so I think they will be great as the temps drop. I love the cuffs! It was very easy to feel my reins and my horse's mouth with them on.
    Date published: 2016-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very warm! I bought this product based on its reviews. These gloves have lived up to their reputation! Very warm and comfortable. I will say they run a little small so order a size larger.
    Date published: 2016-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm and fit great Moving to Msine, temperatures much different. Needed warm gloves to ride with, but wanted to still feel the reins. Theses gloves fit the bill!
    Date published: 2016-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves I bought this pair to replace a pair I have had for years and are starting to wear out. I use them around the barn as well as riding. They are worth the price.
    Date published: 2016-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gloves These are wonderful gloves for cold weather riding. My fingers stay warm, they are not bulky and they grip the reins. I also waer these gloves when back country skiing and they are perfect. I recommend them for all winter activities!
    Date published: 2016-01-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from comfortable This is my second pair of these gloves, they are warm and not stiff like some other winter riding gloves. Due to the fact that they are leather they don't last very many winters but the leather is what makes them flexible.
    Date published: 2015-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these glove I bought these glove in the fall to be ready for winter. They have kept me warm in the frigid Northeast weather we have been having. I wear them for everything from barn chores to riding they are holding up very well. I wear them everyday.
    Date published: 2015-02-20
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Fell apart at the seams in 2 months I had a pair of these that lasted 2 winters and I liked them because they're warm enough for Maryland without being too bulky, and even though they're not totally waterproof you can go out in the rain or stick your hand in a bucket for a second without getting soaked through. I bought a new pair 2 months ago. I don't ride in them except for trail rides because I find they are too thick to give a good feel for dressage. I did light barn chores in them for a couple months and they've already fallen apart. I only have two horses and a mini donkey to take care of, so I was only wearing them 2 hours a day, tops. Considering how pricey these are, I feel a bit robbed. To replace them I bought a pair of Schmidt's Thinsulate gloves at Tractor Supply for $7...if those hold up for even a couple weeks it will be a better deal! And the new ones are totally waterproof too.
    Date published: 2015-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have an old pair of these gloves and they lasted for years. I loved them so much I wanted another pair. They are great winter riding gloves!
    Date published: 2015-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm and stylish I bought these gloves after trying on a friend's pair. They are very warm without being bulky. The knit cuffs keep them secure and the grip is excellent. I have always been a fan of SSG and this pair does not disappoint. I have not owned them long enough to rate the durability.
    Date published: 2015-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from warm and durable I bought a pair of these gloves last year and loved them and I bought a new pair this year that were a little bigger and fit much better. They are very warm and I think it would be hard to find any riding gloves that are warmer but they are defiantly not warm enough for -32, which is hilarious. I live in New Hampshire and it gets to -20 and colder. I don't ride when it's that cold but I do ride in the single and negative single digits and my fingers freeze! I like these gloves because I can have a good feel on the rains and if I move my fingers enough they stay warm enough. They are also very durable. I do everything in them, I never take them off and they are also good for driving when the steering wheel is to cold to touch. I can also get them a little wet and it doesn't effect them but I haven't tried them out when it's supper wet. My sister always has to bring mittens and her riding gloves because hers aren't as warm and they aren't as durable. I would defiantly recommend these gloves but keep in mind they aren't as warm as they say.
    Date published: 2015-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these gloves These are great gloves. The leather is soft and fit my hands perfectly. They are exactly what I wanted a warm pair of gloves that I can wear putting on and off halters and horse blankets without having to take them off. So glad that I bought these gloves.
    Date published: 2015-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best winter gloves I've ever had! Great fit. So warm. Soft lining. I love that they are thin between the fingers in order to not be too bulky around the reins. Good grip. just great all around. And truly keep my fingers warm more than any other winter gloves have. I've ridden in them down to 20 degrees and stayed toasty!
    Date published: 2015-01-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice gloves but not as warm as they claim I live in Montana and ride two miles down the road from my boarding barn to my trainer's year-round. My boy and I have ridden down there in wind, rain, snow--the rule is that you come for your lesson unless the air temperature is below 10 degrees. These gloves are not that warm. -32 is laughable; my hands are cold at 20 above in the sun. Silk glove liners help. It is true these gloves provide a better feel on the reins but it's at the sacrifice of warmth. That being said, these are probably the warmest winter riding gloves I've tried, which is why I just bought a second pair. Very true to size. The first pair are still 100% beautiful on the outside, they're just not warm at all anymore. So they'll now be fall gloves. When someone finds the holy grail of REAL winter riding gloves please let me know!!
    Date published: 2014-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm, but fingers are thick These gloves are super warm and cozy, but the fingers are a little thick and make it difficult to close your fingers around the reins. I have what I thought to be the exact same pair (lost one glove which is why I went to buy another pair), but my older pair had a thinner material around the side of the fingers, instead of leather all around, which made it easier to grasp things. Still a great glove! Fingers definitely stay toasty.
    Date published: 2014-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the gloves I had a pair for almost 8 years & loved them. The new pair seems to be just as comfy & warm with good feel.
    Date published: 2014-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Far, So Good (and WARM!) I bought these gloves for winter riding (indoor, but not heated). I had a pair when I was younger, and I remember them lasting a long time and being pretty warm.They're a bit thick, but considering the level of warmth it's an okay tradeoff (plus, I imagine that as they break in they will feel a little less bulky). It hasn't been too cold yet (usually in the mid 30s when I ride), and at some points during my rides my hands have actually felt TOO warm in these gloves. I don't have great circulation to my hands/feet, so the gloves must really be working!I'm hoping that as the temperature drops, they will continue to keep my hands nice and toasty!
    Date published: 2014-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves I love these gloves. They're thick and warm but not too thick to put on a bridle. They're nice looking and comfortable.
    Date published: 2014-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps hands warm Great gloves. Soft leather, comfortable fit, snug enough at wrist to keep cold out and tuck into a jacket. **Wish they came in tan or camel!**
    Date published: 2014-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite gloves! I had to purchase these to replace an old worn out pair….I did wear them for everything, even snow shoveling..They are so warm and comfortable. They are my favorite ever!
    Date published: 2014-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best gloves ever!! I have a bought a pair of these glove every couple of years for as long as I can remember ! They are warm, easy to put on and off, very soft and flexible. If I could change one thing about them ….use more durable leather on the pointer finger and thumb tip. They always seem to wear out there first.
    Date published: 2014-03-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I received a pair as a christmas gift and after 1 month the stitching in the fingers fell apart. Very unhappy with the quality considering ssg is supose to be very good.
    Date published: 2014-02-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Winter Gloves! Fit nicely, a little bulky, but warm and comfortable for those cold barn days.. I love them!!
    Date published: 2014-02-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I really like these gloves. It took me awhile to find the right size but the exchanges with Smartpak were super easy and hassle free. I am a size 7 in other SSG gloves but had to drop to a size 5 in these in order for the fingers to not be too long. They are thick but not so thick that it is hard to grip the reins. I can also fasten and unfasten blankets in them. We have had a really cold winter and so far they have kept my hands warm. I cannot speak of overall durability as I have only been wearing them for a few weeks. But I feel that these are going to be great gloves for winter riding and barn chores.
    Date published: 2014-01-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Winter Gloves I bought these about a month ago before the "arctic vortex" hit New England. The gloves fit well - seem accurate size-wise and definitely keep my hands warm. In fact, the only negative comment would be that if your hands are slightly damp before gloving up (from warming bit in hot water for example) then they are a bit hard to slide into.
    Date published: 2014-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very warm glove These gloves are super warm.  In 0 degree weather I was still able to ride.  
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good quality I liked these gloves right away as the leather is nice & soft and they are thick. They feel a little tight, but I am hoping they will stretch a little w/ use. I have only used them once while riding the other day & my hands kept nice & warm on the trail @ 35º. they are a bit bulky but I guess that comes w/ a warm winter glove
    Date published: 2013-12-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good gloves... not that warm These gloves are pretty good as riding gloves go, but they aren't as warm as I would like. They look professional and have good grip to them. I would say they are good to about 20 degrees (Fahrenheit), but after that my hands freeze... 
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm even in New England winters I am so pleased with these gloves. They keep my hands warm and most importantly DRY while doing barn chores but are not too bulky - I can ride in them and still maintain a comfortable feel.
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm, smooth, flexible I bought these gloves for my mother who has arthritis in her hands. They fit well, flex easily, provide the needed warmth, and are handsome enough for a range of situations and events.
    Date published: 2013-12-10
    • y_2017, m_4, d_21, h_22
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_74
    • loc_en_US, sid_2095, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders