Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

SSG Winter Training Glove

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #12095

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SSG Winter Training Glove is an all purpose lined winter glove for training, handling, and riding. The back of glove has Thinsulate lining for heat retention without the bulk while the palm is lightly lined providing a better feel on the reins without sacrificing warmth.  Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Thinsulate lining to create and maintain warmth
  • Knitted cuff helps to keep the cold out of your glove with weather protection up to -32 degrees!
  • Outer material is drum dyed soft leather for a better grip on the reins

Sizing It Up

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The SSG Digital Gloves are the ultimate in ...
    Description:
    The SSG Digital Gloves are the ultimate in feel, grip, breathabliity and finally... durability. Attractive digital pattern increases grip and wear. Show ring appropriate. Machine washable.
    The Heritage Extreme Winter glove was designed for ...
    Description:
    The Heritage Extreme Winter glove was designed for riding in the coldest weather conditions. The Extreme Winter glove is made with all waterproof materials, 3M Thinsulate insulation and Polar Fleece liner making this one of the warmest riding gloves available! ...
    The Roeckl Winter Hampshire Glove will protect you ...
    Description:
    The Roeckl Winter Hampshire Glove will protect you from the wettest, coldest, and windiest winter riding weather. Favorite Features Cozy Prima Loft lining Lightweight warmth Elastic wrists can be adjusted with the roll bar strap Metallic Roeckl logo on the ...
    A lightweight and elegant close fitting glove, made ...
    Description:
    A lightweight and elegant close fitting glove, made from ROECK-GRIP, which provides superior grip, suppleness, and breathability. The Winter Chester gloves have a laminated fleece lining that provides additional warmth. The Roeckl tab fastener across the back of the hand ...
    These classically styled gloves are unbelievably comfortable and ...
    Description:
    These classically styled gloves are unbelievably comfortable and exceedingly durable. Favorite Features Soft pigskin palm for grip Soft pigskin finger rein reinforcements Cool knit crochet back for comfort and style Imported. Sizing It Up To determine your glove size, measure ...
    The Roeckl Ultimate Winter Glove was created with ...
    Description:
    The Roeckl Ultimate Winter Glove was created with a special synthesis by combining WINDSTOPPER Soft Shell with ROECK GRIP technology making it a very popular choice for cold weather riders. This brand-new Gore Soft Shell quality material requires no additional ...
    Why We Love This The Tuff Rider Winter ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Tuff Rider Winter Riding Boots have a waterproof PVC upper and neoprene ankle flex that allows for greater comfort in the stirrup. The upper lining is a durable mesh with PU foam and tricot. The ...
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SSG Winter Training Glove is rated 4.4714 out of 5 by 70.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm and stylish I bought these gloves after trying on a friend's pair. They are very warm without being bulky. The knit cuffs keep them secure and the grip is excellent. I have always been a fan of SSG and this pair does not disappoint. I have not owned them long enough to rate the durability.
    Date published: 2015-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from warm and durable I bought a pair of these gloves last year and loved them and I bought a new pair this year that were a little bigger and fit much better. They are very warm and I think it would be hard to find any riding gloves that are warmer but they are defiantly not warm enough for -32, which is hilarious. I live in New Hampshire and it gets to -20 and colder. I don't ride when it's that cold but I do ride in the single and negative single digits and my fingers freeze! I like these gloves because I can have a good feel on the rains and if I move my fingers enough they stay warm enough. They are also very durable. I do everything in them, I never take them off and they are also good for driving when the steering wheel is to cold to touch. I can also get them a little wet and it doesn't effect them but I haven't tried them out when it's supper wet. My sister always has to bring mittens and her riding gloves because hers aren't as warm and they aren't as durable. I would defiantly recommend these gloves but keep in mind they aren't as warm as they say.
    Date published: 2015-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these gloves These are great gloves. The leather is soft and fit my hands perfectly. They are exactly what I wanted a warm pair of gloves that I can wear putting on and off halters and horse blankets without having to take them off. So glad that I bought these gloves.
    Date published: 2015-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best winter gloves I've ever had! Great fit. So warm. Soft lining. I love that they are thin between the fingers in order to not be too bulky around the reins. Good grip. just great all around. And truly keep my fingers warm more than any other winter gloves have. I've ridden in them down to 20 degrees and stayed toasty!
    Date published: 2015-01-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice gloves but not as warm as they claim I live in Montana and ride two miles down the road from my boarding barn to my trainer's year-round. My boy and I have ridden down there in wind, rain, snow--the rule is that you come for your lesson unless the air temperature is below 10 degrees. These gloves are not that warm. -32 is laughable; my hands are cold at 20 above in the sun. Silk glove liners help. It is true these gloves provide a better feel on the reins but it's at the sacrifice of warmth. That being said, these are probably the warmest winter riding gloves I've tried, which is why I just bought a second pair. Very true to size. The first pair are still 100% beautiful on the outside, they're just not warm at all anymore. So they'll now be fall gloves. When someone finds the holy grail of REAL winter riding gloves please let me know!!
    Date published: 2014-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm, but fingers are thick These gloves are super warm and cozy, but the fingers are a little thick and make it difficult to close your fingers around the reins. I have what I thought to be the exact same pair (lost one glove which is why I went to buy another pair), but my older pair had a thinner material around the side of the fingers, instead of leather all around, which made it easier to grasp things. Still a great glove! Fingers definitely stay toasty.
    Date published: 2014-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the gloves I had a pair for almost 8 years & loved them. The new pair seems to be just as comfy & warm with good feel.
    Date published: 2014-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Far, So Good (and WARM!) I bought these gloves for winter riding (indoor, but not heated). I had a pair when I was younger, and I remember them lasting a long time and being pretty warm.They're a bit thick, but considering the level of warmth it's an okay tradeoff (plus, I imagine that as they break in they will feel a little less bulky). It hasn't been too cold yet (usually in the mid 30s when I ride), and at some points during my rides my hands have actually felt TOO warm in these gloves. I don't have great circulation to my hands/feet, so the gloves must really be working!I'm hoping that as the temperature drops, they will continue to keep my hands nice and toasty!
    Date published: 2014-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves I love these gloves. They're thick and warm but not too thick to put on a bridle. They're nice looking and comfortable.
    Date published: 2014-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps hands warm Great gloves. Soft leather, comfortable fit, snug enough at wrist to keep cold out and tuck into a jacket. **Wish they came in tan or camel!**
    Date published: 2014-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite gloves! I had to purchase these to replace an old worn out pair….I did wear them for everything, even snow shoveling..They are so warm and comfortable. They are my favorite ever!
    Date published: 2014-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best gloves ever!! I have a bought a pair of these glove every couple of years for as long as I can remember ! They are warm, easy to put on and off, very soft and flexible. If I could change one thing about them ….use more durable leather on the pointer finger and thumb tip. They always seem to wear out there first.
    Date published: 2014-03-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I received a pair as a christmas gift and after 1 month the stitching in the fingers fell apart. Very unhappy with the quality considering ssg is supose to be very good.
    Date published: 2014-02-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Winter Gloves! Fit nicely, a little bulky, but warm and comfortable for those cold barn days.. I love them!!
    Date published: 2014-02-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I really like these gloves. It took me awhile to find the right size but the exchanges with Smartpak were super easy and hassle free. I am a size 7 in other SSG gloves but had to drop to a size 5 in these in order for the fingers to not be too long. They are thick but not so thick that it is hard to grip the reins. I can also fasten and unfasten blankets in them. We have had a really cold winter and so far they have kept my hands warm. I cannot speak of overall durability as I have only been wearing them for a few weeks. But I feel that these are going to be great gloves for winter riding and barn chores.
    Date published: 2014-01-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Winter Gloves I bought these about a month ago before the "arctic vortex" hit New England. The gloves fit well - seem accurate size-wise and definitely keep my hands warm. In fact, the only negative comment would be that if your hands are slightly damp before gloving up (from warming bit in hot water for example) then they are a bit hard to slide into.
    Date published: 2014-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very warm glove These gloves are super warm.  In 0 degree weather I was still able to ride.  
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good quality I liked these gloves right away as the leather is nice & soft and they are thick. They feel a little tight, but I am hoping they will stretch a little w/ use. I have only used them once while riding the other day & my hands kept nice & warm on the trail @ 35º. they are a bit bulky but I guess that comes w/ a warm winter glove
    Date published: 2013-12-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good gloves... not that warm These gloves are pretty good as riding gloves go, but they aren't as warm as I would like. They look professional and have good grip to them. I would say they are good to about 20 degrees (Fahrenheit), but after that my hands freeze... 
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm even in New England winters I am so pleased with these gloves. They keep my hands warm and most importantly DRY while doing barn chores but are not too bulky - I can ride in them and still maintain a comfortable feel.
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm, smooth, flexible I bought these gloves for my mother who has arthritis in her hands. They fit well, flex easily, provide the needed warmth, and are handsome enough for a range of situations and events.
    Date published: 2013-12-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good gloves, for a year or two I love the way these gloves look and feel, they are pretty warm and have great functionality - I can buckle a bridle with them on- but sadly after about 2 years both gloves tore at the same seam where the thumb joins the hand.
    Date published: 2013-11-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Supple & comfortable Can't say I've used these gloves yet because its not winter. I do love the soft leather & the fit. I think that even with a lining these gloves will be great for riding. They are very comfortable.
    Date published: 2013-09-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't beat these gloves These are simply the best gloves ever. WARM and classic looking. I have given several pairs as gifts and have always heard back from the recipient that they are their favorite gloves.
    Date published: 2013-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Winter Glove Great glove. Held up to my daughter's wear and tear for almost two years - before she lost one - did not wear out. Although I would not call this a show winter glove because they are a bit bulky for show, it is perfect for around the barn and riding at home.
    Date published: 2013-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Barn Gloves These gloves have been the (2nd) best thing this winter, after my new winter breeches. The gloves are great to ride in, definitely keep my hands warm and aren't too bulky (I can still steer!). Also, I have learned they are mostly waterproof. Being winter, water buckets are icing over and I've had to dip my hands in to remove chunks of ice. These glove keep the water out! No joke, so long as I don't completely submerge my hands, they stay dry!
    Date published: 2013-02-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lovely gloves: sadly not for my hands I was a bit forewarned by some of the other reviews, and felt compelled to add my voice to the pack. If you, as do I, have long, slender hands with narrow palms and long, elegant fingers and thumb, do not buy this glove. You will be sad. On the other hand, if you have the more typical "american" wider, shorter fingered hand, you'll be delighted. I opened the packaged, said, Ooohhh, felt the lovely, squishy soft leather, and tried to slip my hands in. Alas, they were not only smaller in fit than I expected for the size marked, but the fingers and thumb were very short. No way could I wear these gloves, not at all. A friend was there, she said Oh, let me try! she put them on and said, What heaven! So she bought them from me on the spot. Her normal size is like 2 sizes less than me. So, there you go. Roeckle's fit me like custom made. I have been told I have "European" hands. Whatever. Go to the shop, try on Roeckle's and SSG's. Then decide. Either way, these are very lovely, well made, and cozy, but they have to fit, right?
    Date published: 2013-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great pair of gloves! Warm, soft, fit perfectly. Excellent pair of gloves!
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So soft & warm! I already had a pair of mountain horse gloves, but found the plastic grip on them wasn't grippy enough, so I wanted to try something leather. I couldn't believe how buttery soft these were when they arrived! They're not too thick or bulky, and they're really warm. They provide excellent grip too. I use the mountain horse gloves still for grooming, but these are now my go-to winter riding glove. I've had them about a month now, and have been riding in them 5-6 days a week and they aren't showing any signs of wear other than being a little dirty. Love them!
    Date published: 2013-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves Don't even know how long I've had these but it's literally been years and I still love them. They are my go to gloves for barn chores on really cold days. Warmer than the ski gloves I bought for that purpose. I think their flexibility helps account for their warmth over thicker gloves. Usually ride in my other SSG insulated gloves but these are best if its really cold.
    Date published: 2013-01-07
    • 2016-02-11T15:34CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_65
    • loc_en_US, sid_2095, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.