Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

SSG Hybrid

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #17554
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The SSG Hybrid is the best of both worlds, offering both classic appearance and superior grip.
Genuine cabretta leather back and synthetic leather with aquasuede palm for grip. The SSG Hybrid has excellent breathability along with exceptional durability and comfort. Imported.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SSG Hybrid is rated 4.5714 out of 5 by 28.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Gloves! These gloves are wonderful. I love riding in them. My hands never get sweaty like they used too. The grip is wonderful! I have a horse who drops his head and tries to get control of the reins. With these gloves, the reins do not slip anymore! These gloves help me keep contact with my horse's mouth.Wonderful product. I will buy these gloves again. I am curious to see how long they last.
    Date published: 2013-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves Fit great and long lasting! This is my third pair-in the past 5 years:) only have one horse, but still, they last. What I want!
    Date published: 2013-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, non-gross gloves These gloves fit so well, are very comfortable to ride in, and are a great price. I used to ride in Roeckls but found that they got very smelly in hot weather - the SSGs do not have this problem and are significantly cheaper.
    Date published: 2013-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these gloves! These gloves are awesome! I've had mine for about a year, and even after riding in them 4+ times a week, they're in great condition. The stretch-panels are great - the gloves aren't restrictive at all. I recommend to anyone looking for a durable and comfortable schooling or show glove.
    Date published: 2013-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Gloves I had a pair of these for several years and finally outgrew them (and they had a few holes in the fingers). Out of all of the gloves I just decided to order up a size on these and they are just as great as I remember. The suede is very grippy on the palm side and they have a nice sharp look on the back side. The one problem for me was that as they got older and wrinkled a bit, the wrist bunched up a little bit so over fences you could see a gap of skin between my show shirt and glove... but that's not too big of a deal. These are definitely great and are definitely comparable with more expensive gloves. Great buy!
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice, lightweight glove I've only used these gloves once, but so far, I like them. They are very lightweight but provide a good grip on the reins.
    Date published: 2013-04-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Some issues I originally ordered these gloves in December, but the first pair I received fell apart the second time I wore them! (Index finger split from tip to second knuckle when I went to wrap a polo - not exactly hard labor!) I was pretty surprised because a lot of the ladies at my barn have these gloves and they all love them. So I called Smartpak and (predictably!) they were very helpful - took back the old pair and said they'd send a replacement ASAP. Unfortunately the gloves were on back order at that point, but I received the replacement almost a week before the estimated ship date so that's all right. New pair seems much heartier - I imagine I just had a defective pair the first time, but I still gave the durability a 3 to reflect the initial problem. Otherwise a very nice pair of gloves for a very reasonable price!
    Date published: 2013-03-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value They look & fit great. Not sure of durability yet as I haven't had them long. I bought them to use at shows & it's too cold right now so I haven't tested them out.
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these gloves!! These are great gloves! They are thin and flexible but still offer protection. They seem to be holding up well and the fit is good.
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best gloves ever! Words cannot describe how much I LOVE these gloves! I have them in black and brown, and they're so stylish! My fingers tire easily if gloves are too thick, and these are thin but strong, an the elastic around the knuckles makes them SO comfortable. Even though they're thin, the palms provide AMAZING grip, and are VERY strong. I only noticed slight wear after a year of very heavy use, after I'd lunged a horse that tried to take off in the opposite direction. Even after that there are no holes, just wear in the suede. AMAZING.
    Date published: 2012-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite gloves I love these gloves, I have them in black and white for showing. They are very comfortable, and when they get dirty, I just wear them, and wash my hands with gentle soap, and let air dry. They are great!
    Date published: 2012-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Gloves SSG is the only brand of gloves that consistently fits me well, and these are no exception. I have long, narrow hands and fingers and it's hard to find gloves that don't pull or bunch. I got these specifically because there is a smooth seamless patch on the ring/pinky finger for the reins since my previous gloves (also SSG, but canvas and suede) were giving me major blisters when my horse decided to fight the bit. Blister problem solved, and, as an added bonus, I find myself more aware of rein and hand position - never a bad thing - in order to utilize the patch. These gloves are thin and buttery, which makes them excellent for soft contact and they don't get too hot. I also like that instead of a narrow fastener at the wrist they have a big velcro patch on the back of the hand so you can really cinch them in and they still look good without pinching off circulation. I have been using them almost daily for a couple of months and they show no signs of wearing through or ripping. I feel confident that they will take me through the winter into the next show season!
    Date published: 2012-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great look for the show ring I needed a new pair of gloves a few days before leaving for Nationals, so I took a chance and ordered these over the phone. Smartpak expedited the shipping at no extra charge, and the gloves are great quality - the top part of the glove is nice quality leather, and the palm / finger side is a great, lightweight, grippy, ultrasuede-like material. I'll be wearing these all next season in the show ring!
    Date published: 2012-10-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very happy with these gloves I'll start by saying I'm very picky when it comes to gloves, and this is my second pair of the SSG Hybrids. Over time, my first pair did stretch out and get pretty worn out in the fingers, but they lasted well for the price. They're really comfortable, and give a very close feel on the reins. My first pair was brown, second pair is black. Even when brand new, neither color bled dye onto my hands as a lot of black gloves tend to do.
    Date published: 2012-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful & Comfortable Got these for at home use, but they are definitely nice enough for the show ring. Only gave a 4 on durability b/c I've only had them a short time.
    Date published: 2012-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from In love! These gloves are great! Very soft and flexible. Not to thick but still provide excellent protection from blisters! The stretchy fabric across the knuckles is perfect and help with fit for my long fingers.I have the brown and look very nice, I use them day to day as well.
    Date published: 2012-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SSG hybrid glove These gloves are GREAT. They are very true to size and feel sooo great on my hands. They are ultra comfortable and kind of stretchy because the synthetic leather and other materials are so thin and soft. Great value, very nice product. :)
    Date published: 2011-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty Gloves These gloves are really good looking. Thin and comfortable. Great grip to them even when wet. I used them at Eq. Finals and they were great.
    Date published: 2009-10-06
    • 2015-08-26T12:40CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_23
    • loc_en_US, sid_7554, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.