Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
7:00am - 10:00pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SSG Hybrid

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #17554
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SSG Hybrid is the best of both worlds, offering both classic appearance and superior grip.
Genuine cabretta leather back and synthetic leather with aquasuede palm for grip. The SSG Hybrid has excellent breathability along with exceptional durability and comfort. Imported.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Finally a pair of riding gloves made with ...
    Description:
    "Finally a pair of riding gloves made with the Dressage Rider in mind! The Tredstep Dressage Pro Gloves are made with patented FlexiGrip design with the finest lamb skin leather and True Touch synthetic leather palm for a flexible, secure ...
    "The Heritage Premier Show glove is the number ...
    Description:
    "The Heritage Premier Show glove is the number one choice of our top athletes. Exclusively made with a new technically advanced material that insures a tacky grip on the reins and allows moisture to pass through from your skin to ...
    "The Roeckl Winter Hampshire Glove will protect you ...
    Description:
    "The Roeckl Winter Hampshire Glove will protect you from the wettest, coldest, and windiest winter riding weather. Exterior: Finesse (a textile leather that’s elasticized, breathable and machine washable) Lining: Prima Loft Imported."
    "The SSG Silk Lined Soft Touch glove is ...
    Description:
    "The SSG Silk Lined Soft Touch glove is the most comfortable lined glove you will try. No bulk, extra comfort. Silk - natures best natural insulator! Hook and loop wrist closure for a secure fit. Machine washable. Imported."
    "A lightweight and elegant close fitting glove, made ...
    Description:
    "A lightweight and elegant close fitting glove, made from ROECK-GRIP, which provides superior grip, suppleness, and breathability. The Winter Chester gloves have a laminated fleece lining that provides additional warmth. The Roeckl tab fastener across the back of the hand ...
    "The Heritage Performance Gloves are designed to perform ...
    Description:
    "The Heritage Performance Gloves are designed to perform in all uses of equestrian riding. This versatile Performance glove delivers superior fit and comfort. Perfect for daily use in schooling, training, competing and pleasure riding. You will appreciate the top quality ...
    "The Roeckl London Glove combines functionality with a ...
    Description:
    "The Roeckl London Glove combines functionality with a sporty and modern design. The discreet piping and fashionable trim combined with high quality materials and a sophisticated fastener make for an outstanding performance glove. This glove is cell phone compatible."

    Reviews

    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SSG Hybrid is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 40.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Gloves Ever! This is my second pair of these gloves. Best gloves ever.
    Date published: 2016-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth it! I have had these gloves for at least 4 years now and they have held up so well. The gloves have not gotten any holes or tears and only just now is the fabric on the fingers starting to wear slightly. They are durable enough for everyday riding and stylish enough for showing.I also have nerve damage in my left arm and these are the only gloves I have found that do not rub at my arm and agitate the skin there. When trying other gloves I would often have to take the left glove off a few minutes into my ride but with these I am perfectly comfortable. I believe it has something to do with how the edges of the glove are flared and do not sit tight around the wrist. The glove fits snug through the hand and then flares/loosens slightly at the wrist.
    Date published: 2016-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Affordable show glove Very affordable, breathable for summer and good quality.
    Date published: 2016-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great feel! Nice & light weight. Perfect for the show ring!!!!
    Date published: 2016-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect fit---
    Date published: 2016-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tougher than they look! These are great gloves, they look and feel great! And, they are surprisingly tough and are with holding up to daily schooling!
    Date published: 2015-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! I love these gloves! They are comfortable and super grippy! plus they look nice too!
    Date published: 2015-09-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2015-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Show Gloves Ive been wearing them as show gloves for the past 3 years. I love them. I can't say much about durability because they are only used about once month. I do love them very much and they look great especially for the price.
    Date published: 2015-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit and grip
    Date published: 2014-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable! These gloves are very comfortable in hot weather. I wore them in hot, humid weather for several hours and didn't break a sweat. The fingers are just right - not too long for this short fingered gal!
    Date published: 2014-07-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from AMAZING GLOVES They are very very comfortable and light! The channel on the knuckles are a nice touch for airflow! I love these gloves, but the seam between the leather and suede on the fingers are tearing. It's alright because you can seem them, but they definitely don't hold up as well I would have liked. :(
    Date published: 2014-04-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from They were good, not very durable I bought these gloves as a birthday present to me (in September 2013). They looked and fit great! I ride in a lesson about once...maybe twice a week (on occasion). In January 2014, I noticed a big tear in the gloves. It's not on the seam where I could stitch it again either. I'm very upset at the durability of these gloves... I think I might just purchase these at the local tack store, then I'd be able to take them back.
    Date published: 2014-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thrilled I own a pair of winter SSG Pro Show gloves, and I decided I needed some lightweight gloves for shows/warmer weather. I have had success with SSG before, and these gloves do not disappoint. They fit well, and they are very light but strong. I would definitely recommend them.
    Date published: 2013-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Gloves! These gloves are wonderful. I love riding in them. My hands never get sweaty like they used too. The grip is wonderful! I have a horse who drops his head and tries to get control of the reins. With these gloves, the reins do not slip anymore! These gloves help me keep contact with my horse's mouth.Wonderful product. I will buy these gloves again. I am curious to see how long they last.
    Date published: 2013-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves Fit great and long lasting! This is my third pair-in the past 5 years:) only have one horse, but still, they last. What I want!
    Date published: 2013-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, non-gross gloves These gloves fit so well, are very comfortable to ride in, and are a great price. I used to ride in Roeckls but found that they got very smelly in hot weather - the SSGs do not have this problem and are significantly cheaper.
    Date published: 2013-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these gloves! These gloves are awesome! I've had mine for about a year, and even after riding in them 4+ times a week, they're in great condition. The stretch-panels are great - the gloves aren't restrictive at all. I recommend to anyone looking for a durable and comfortable schooling or show glove.
    Date published: 2013-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Gloves I had a pair of these for several years and finally outgrew them (and they had a few holes in the fingers). Out of all of the gloves I just decided to order up a size on these and they are just as great as I remember. The suede is very grippy on the palm side and they have a nice sharp look on the back side. The one problem for me was that as they got older and wrinkled a bit, the wrist bunched up a little bit so over fences you could see a gap of skin between my show shirt and glove... but that's not too big of a deal. These are definitely great and are definitely comparable with more expensive gloves. Great buy!
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice, lightweight glove I've only used these gloves once, but so far, I like them. They are very lightweight but provide a good grip on the reins.
    Date published: 2013-04-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Some issues I originally ordered these gloves in December, but the first pair I received fell apart the second time I wore them! (Index finger split from tip to second knuckle when I went to wrap a polo - not exactly hard labor!) I was pretty surprised because a lot of the ladies at my barn have these gloves and they all love them. So I called Smartpak and (predictably!) they were very helpful - took back the old pair and said they'd send a replacement ASAP. Unfortunately the gloves were on back order at that point, but I received the replacement almost a week before the estimated ship date so that's all right. New pair seems much heartier - I imagine I just had a defective pair the first time, but I still gave the durability a 3 to reflect the initial problem. Otherwise a very nice pair of gloves for a very reasonable price!
    Date published: 2013-03-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value They look & fit great. Not sure of durability yet as I haven't had them long. I bought them to use at shows & it's too cold right now so I haven't tested them out.
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these gloves!! These are great gloves! They are thin and flexible but still offer protection. They seem to be holding up well and the fit is good.
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best gloves ever! Words cannot describe how much I LOVE these gloves! I have them in black and brown, and they're so stylish! My fingers tire easily if gloves are too thick, and these are thin but strong, an the elastic around the knuckles makes them SO comfortable. Even though they're thin, the palms provide AMAZING grip, and are VERY strong. I only noticed slight wear after a year of very heavy use, after I'd lunged a horse that tried to take off in the opposite direction. Even after that there are no holes, just wear in the suede. AMAZING.
    Date published: 2012-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite gloves I love these gloves, I have them in black and white for showing. They are very comfortable, and when they get dirty, I just wear them, and wash my hands with gentle soap, and let air dry. They are great!
    Date published: 2012-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Gloves SSG is the only brand of gloves that consistently fits me well, and these are no exception. I have long, narrow hands and fingers and it's hard to find gloves that don't pull or bunch. I got these specifically because there is a smooth seamless patch on the ring/pinky finger for the reins since my previous gloves (also SSG, but canvas and suede) were giving me major blisters when my horse decided to fight the bit. Blister problem solved, and, as an added bonus, I find myself more aware of rein and hand position - never a bad thing - in order to utilize the patch. These gloves are thin and buttery, which makes them excellent for soft contact and they don't get too hot. I also like that instead of a narrow fastener at the wrist they have a big velcro patch on the back of the hand so you can really cinch them in and they still look good without pinching off circulation. I have been using them almost daily for a couple of months and they show no signs of wearing through or ripping. I feel confident that they will take me through the winter into the next show season!
    Date published: 2012-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great look for the show ring I needed a new pair of gloves a few days before leaving for Nationals, so I took a chance and ordered these over the phone. Smartpak expedited the shipping at no extra charge, and the gloves are great quality - the top part of the glove is nice quality leather, and the palm / finger side is a great, lightweight, grippy, ultrasuede-like material. I'll be wearing these all next season in the show ring!
    Date published: 2012-10-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very happy with these gloves I'll start by saying I'm very picky when it comes to gloves, and this is my second pair of the SSG Hybrids. Over time, my first pair did stretch out and get pretty worn out in the fingers, but they lasted well for the price. They're really comfortable, and give a very close feel on the reins. My first pair was brown, second pair is black. Even when brand new, neither color bled dye onto my hands as a lot of black gloves tend to do.
    Date published: 2012-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful & Comfortable Got these for at home use, but they are definitely nice enough for the show ring. Only gave a 4 on durability b/c I've only had them a short time.
    Date published: 2012-04-04
    • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_4
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_34
    • loc_en_US, sid_7554, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders