Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SSG 10 BELOW™ WATERPROOF WINTER GLOVE

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #19878
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SSG 10 Below Winter Gloves is a winter glove with supreme protection in cold weather with 4 layers for warmth!

Imported


Favorite Features

  • Proven waterproof protection (Not just water resistant)
  • Thinsulate and exclusive SSG polar fleece lining
  • SSG digital™ palm for superior grip
  • Knitted cuff for extra warmth
  • Stretch knit back for flexibility
  • Designed for -10F

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Roeckl Chester Glove combines grip technology with ...
    Description:
    "The Roeckl Chester Glove combines grip technology with the latest in riding fashion. This classic glove is made from ROECK-GRIP, a very fine synthetic leather with an excellent grip, supple, breathable and elastic. This glove fits like a second skin, ...
    "The SSG Silk Lined Soft Touch glove is ...
    Description:
    "The SSG Silk Lined Soft Touch glove is the most comfortable lined glove you will try. No bulk, extra comfort. Silk - natures best natural insulator! Hook and loop wrist closure for a secure fit. Machine washable. Imported."
    "The Heritage Performance Gloves are designed to perform ...
    Description:
    "The Heritage Performance Gloves are designed to perform in all uses of equestrian riding. This versatile Performance glove delivers superior fit and comfort. Perfect for daily use in schooling, training, competing and pleasure riding. You will appreciate the top quality ...
    "The Roeckl London Glove combines functionality with a ...
    Description:
    "The Roeckl London Glove combines functionality with a sporty and modern design. The discreet piping and fashionable trim combined with high quality materials and a sophisticated fastener make for an outstanding performance glove. This glove is cell phone compatible."
    "SSG All Weather Gloves are unlined, long wearing ...
    Description:
    "SSG All Weather Gloves are unlined, long wearing and machine washable. Soft aquasuede palm. Colorfast and sweat absorbing. Strong elasticized back for a cool comfortable fit. Hook and loop wrist closure. Wears like iron. All colors have black palm unless ...
    "The Roeckl Weldon Winter Fleece Glove is highly ...
    Description:
    "The Roeckl Weldon Winter Fleece Glove is highly versatile and extremely elastic. The backhand and palm on this glove is made from warm, soft, and especially elastic Polartec Power Stretch Pro. The materials' particularly heavy quality guarantees extra warmth, while ...
    "The Heritage Pro-Fit Show Gloves are a classic ...
    Description:
    "The Heritage Pro-Fit Show Gloves are a classic style all leather glove, built with the most modern features for flexibility and comfort. High quality natural leather is soft and grippy These gloves are colorfast and perform well for Hunter/Jumper and ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SSG 10 BELOW™ WATERPROOF WINTER GLOVE is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 169.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Gloves You Need in Winter I live in the Mid-West where we can have some wicked Winter weather. While I have not found any gloves that will keep my hands warm for more than an hour outside in zero degree temperatures without using hand-warmers, these gloves are among the best that I've found for warmth AND comfort for up to an hour. The slim design makes it easier than most Winter gloves to tie rope halters, grip reins, and use equipment with buckles on them. The design is very attractive. The gloves are pricey for my budget, but I keep my horses at home and find myself outside at least twice a day all year around so having comfortable gloves that protect my hands from freezing while also allowing me to safely do chores is essential to my set-up.
    Date published: 2015-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Toasty fingers! I bought these on a whim as my other winter gloves don't quite cut it in the really cold (below zero with nasty wind chills) weather we were getting in WI. These definitely keep the hands VERY warm in the really cold weather. A bit too much when it's warmer or when working, but awesome for being outdoors! Not the best for trying to tack up a horse, but that wasn't why I bought them!
    Date published: 2015-03-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super warm but weird fit These are super warm, exactly what i needed with the crazy snowy weather we've been getting this winter. They do have a bit of a weird fit though, the padding inside makes it difficult to fully close your hands and the fingers a just a tad too short.
    Date published: 2015-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally something that works for me! We had record breaking snow here in S. Ky. Got my gloves just in time! I have horribly cold hands to start with and these kept me warm and dry. Grippy enough to hold supplement paks, and flexible enough to pop a pill from a blister pack.They fit very snug so make sure to upsize if you are between sizes.
    Date published: 2015-02-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from SSG 10 Below Gloves I have a condition where the capilleries in my fingers colapse when the temperature is cold and damp. I've tried a ton of gloves and even though my fingers still get cold, these gloves do the best job yet and keep them dry.
    Date published: 2015-02-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm, workable glove I bought these gloves as replacements for old, worn out waterproof gloves. I'm definitely happy with the purchase! They are very warm and insulated, and thoroughly waterproof. The cuff is long which I like so that there is no chance of water getting down into the glove. They are not bulky and fit nice and snug without being too restrictive. I can easily remove and refasten blanket straps, snaps, and ride with these gloves, while using them simultaneously for working in the cold, wet Northeast winter months.I would definitely recommend these gloves as a winter work glove! For riding I personally feel that they are slightly bulky, just a lot to hold in your hand with a rein, but I'm also not used to riding in gloves.
    Date published: 2015-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly as described These were warm and waterproof and fit nicely. Exactly as described.
    Date published: 2015-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME GLOVES!! Love these gloves! I can pick up chunks of ice out of water tubs and not get my hands cold *or* wet! I have only used them for barn work so far, but as I've worn them more & they've "broken in" a little, I think they'd be flexible enough to ride in.
    Date published: 2015-01-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Clumsy, cumbersome, and useless for working. I have never written a bad review on anything. These gloves are worthless for riding, though they may keep hands warm just when going outside. The synthetic backing is stiff, so the fingers cannot close. The material is so thick, the fingers won't close. I tried one size, my regular glove size, and it was too tight and small. I tried one size up, and it was still too tight and fingers still could not bend. The finger tips stick out to far from the human finger because the glove will not go back onto the hand. The inside lining bunches up when you take the gloves off, such that you cannot get them back on because the lining is bunched up in the fingers. You can't pick anything up with these gloves on, you can't even zip up a zipper. The material is too thick. You certainly cannot ride with them on--you can't close the fingers around English leather reins. I could not think of any good thing about these gloves, until right now--perhaps they would work for hoof trimming and rasping in the cold. They are so thick, they would protect your hand from the rasp. I also have no idea what the flimsy elastic cords are that hang out of the inside and make it impossible to get your hand into the glove. I did not want to bother returning them again, so I cut off the elastic strings and will use the gloves when trimming horse feet. Certainly, I cannot ride with them on.
    Date published: 2015-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Waterproof - yes. Water repellant - not so much I bought these gloves to keep my hands from freezing when I had to get ice from the water trough. Well, my hands stayed dry but the outer layer of the gloves absorbed some water and that froze so my hands did get cold that day. BUT I think if you were to use them for their intended purpose (winter riding) they would be perfect. When I'm not wrist deep in freezing water, these gloves are great! The fit is near perfect (I have shorter thumbs so they're a tad bit long there) and my fingers have great mobility. I've never liked gloves before because I couldn't move my fingers. Not the case with these! They're also really comfortable and look nice. I would highly recommend them. :)
    Date published: 2015-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wicked Good I've had them about a month and the weather has been regularly below zero. My hands have been comfortably warm while spending hours in the barn doing chores. They are a little too bulky for riding &/or making adjustments to your tack or blankets, but my hands warm-up quickly when I put the gloves back on.
    Date published: 2015-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love these! I got these as I was looking for a warm and waterproof glove. These are a very comfortable glove for the most part and now that they are broken in are not as clumsy for most barn work. For riding they are also fine. However,they do not keep my fingers warm below 25 degress unless im really working hard or slip in hand warmers. Temps in the teens or below 0 these would not work at all, but most gloves dont and that's when I use mittens. Also, I have long fingers and ordered the largest size i could without making them too big. I should have gone another size up. these are an 8 and fingers still too short--mostly the thumb part between it and the palm of my hand as it restricts movement and can cramp up my hand. Now that they are broken in a little, they are more flexible but not the greatest. They have held up well but I tend to trash my gloves after a season so I am being careful with them.
    Date published: 2015-01-20
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Failed everything I bought these thinking they would really help me they northern Illinois winters. But no. First they were too small. I measured a perfect 7. I guess I have long fingers because the gloves were half an inch to short on the fingers. I wore them anyway for an evening. Too see if they would stretch. It was about 10 degrees and within minutes my hands were numb. When I tried to ride, it was impossible. I had sausage fingers. I have a pair of $12 gloves from farm and fleet that work so much better! My hands are toasty in below zero temps and they are thin enough and grippy enough to ride in. Don't waste your money on these.
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great work horse of a glove! I've had these gloves for about a month and they are fine for riding and barn chores after they stretched out a bit. I hate the dexterity you lose with insulated gloves but I can manage nearly everything from mixing my horse's supplements in his feed to mucking stalls. The real test came this evening when the temps have plummeted to 8 degrees with 20-30 mph wind gusts. Hands, even fingers, stayed toasty. What I find remarkable is that the barn hose coupling was leaking and the faucet is an outdoor one so I was exposed to the elements while working on it. The water immediately froze on the gloves, my fingers froze together along with the pliers and my fingers remained dry and warm!!!! My husband does not have these gloves and he did not fare nearly as well. I was so impressed, as soon I came in the house and got changed, I sat down to specifically write this review. Very happy with this product.
    Date published: 2015-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves Got these gloves several weeks ago and have worn them almost everyday. They are warm.
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful gloves I bought these last year figuring they would not be warm and I would not be able to use my hands in the barn with them on. Wrong on both counts! I liked them so much I bought them as presents for all best horsey friends!!!!
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sizes run small When these gloves arrived, I immediately put them on to go out to feed horses. I struggled to get them on the first time - extremely tight, and I have small hands. I was looking forward to them keeping my hands warm, but within minutes of going outside to feed, my fingertips were frozen solid. (It was about 25-30 degrees out that day.)I do like the waterproof aspect. They do seem to be very waterproof.I would suggest getting a larger size than you think you need, and don't plan on these things keeping your hands warm.
    Date published: 2014-12-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what I expected I bought these about a month ago after seeing recommendations on them for their warmth and dryness. I'm hoping mine were just the exception. The first time I put them on, the liner inside ripped apart and they never kept my hands dry nor warm.
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love the grip on these gloves! still have my first pair bought 2 years ago, i use them for driving, the new pair is for chores and ridding , recommended them to a friend, and she got them to!
    Date published: 2014-12-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderfully warm, but a bit bulky on my hands... While the gloves are great for keeping my hands warm in snowy Michigan, I did feel that they were a bit bulky. I have long fingers, but slim hands so perhaps they wouldn't be as bulky on someone else?
    Date published: 2014-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome gloves! At first I thought they would be way to bulky and considered returning them but then i decided to try them and absolutely loved them! Super warm and comfortable. Can be a little bulky but what good winter glove isn't. I even rode in them and they were decent!
    Date published: 2014-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm, durable Just pulled these out for their second season. Noticed that they still look good--no strands, loose seams, etc. Worked well for last year's freezing temps in the Mid-Atlantic. Above 25-30 degrees, they make my hands sweat. Keep my hands perfectly warm in single digit temps. While I don't immerse my hands in water while wearing them, they keep my hands dry while doing barn chores, which sometimes incidental wetness from soaking feed, cleaning water buckets, etc. They're too bulky to put a bridle on, but I can manage blanket hardware just fine with them. My favorite feature is the elastic wrist straps that keep them tethered when you take them off. I did go up one size larger than I use for my SSG All Weather gloves, and they fit perfectly.
    Date published: 2014-11-23
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from way small! I don't know what happened with this shipment but these gloves were so small that I could not get my dominant much past the palm. Even when on, they were so tight I could not move my fingers.
    Date published: 2014-11-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Durable, but not very warm! These gloves should be renamed "30 Above" Instead of "10 Below". I live in the Tundra of Minnesota and specifically purchased these gloves to stay warm on our frequent subzero days. DO NOT keep your hands warm in anything under 30 or so degrees (but I generally have cold-ish hands). You are also unable to ride in them, as they are so bulky that you feel you are riding with oven mitts on and it completely messes up their feel. Would most likely be best for less temperamental climates, but the name of the glove misled me!
    Date published: 2014-11-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from smaller than other size 7 Great value, warm gloves on the one day it got below freezing this month, but I'll go up one size next time
    Date published: 2014-09-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from I guess it's just me I cannot stand these gloves - I have the SSG Winter Training gloves, and adore them, but wondered if these might be even warmer. I'm also probably one of the only people who can say I actually wore these gloves in temperatures that were 10 below zero - in fact, I tried to wear them when it was 20 below in South Dakota for a hunting trip, and within 10 minutes, my fingers hurt so badly I had to go back to the car.So I tried to wear them when I got home for riding in mid-30s weather. They are just terrible - you don't have any dexterity or grip, and they don't keep you very warm. It was like trying to ride wearing oven mitts. Too much bulk at the end of the fingers left me feeling like a clown. I couldn't wait to get them off and go back to my old reliable Winter Ranchers. And the elastic strap to keep them on is a pain in the butt - I was going to cut them off, but thank goodness I didn't so I can return these gloves to SP. And thank goodness for SmartPak's amazing customer service and return policy, or I'd be incredibly bummed I was out the money for these.Honestly, I have two pairs of the Winter Training gloves, and I adore them - do yourself a favor and go try those instead.
    Date published: 2014-04-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from warm gloves These are very warm and comfortable. I only wish the fabric breathed better. I usually have cold hands, but mine were actually sweating in these and then the inside would be damp.
    Date published: 2014-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Useful for barn, dog walking, etc Warm and water-resistant, but do get wet through if dunked in water - as in, when removing ice from frozen water troughs. Dry quickly, through. Good grip.
    Date published: 2014-03-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warmest Riding Gloves I bought these 2weeks ago and wish I had bought themearlier. They are the warmest riding gloves I have now.The only problem I have is that I have big wrists and they are a bit tight around the wrist for me. But the factthey are warm and waterproof makes it worth the little bit of uncomfortableness.
    Date published: 2014-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from how have I lived without these all this time? These gloves are a must for any cold climate riders. I never realized the amount of torture I was putting myself through with other "winter" gloves until I got these. Seriously the best winter gloves, not just for riding, but for doing chores, feeding, especially watering. I live in the Chicago-land area and this 2013/2014 winter has been brutal and unforgiving, but these gloves are a life saver. With all the warmth they provide you'd think they'd be bulky but surprisingly they are not. I have all the warmth without any loss of feel. Highly highly recommend, good job SSG.
    Date published: 2014-03-01
    • y_2017, m_2, d_27, h_15
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_163
    • loc_en_US, sid_9878, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders