Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SSG 10 BELOW™ WATERPROOF WINTER GLOVE

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #19878

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SSG 10 Below Winter Gloves is a winter glove with supreme protection in cold weather with 4 layers for warmth!

Favorite Features

  • Proven waterproof protection (Not just water resistant)
  • Thinsulate and exclusive SSG polar fleece lining
  • SSG digital™ palm for superior grip
  • Knitted cuff for extra warmth
  • Stretch knit back for flexibility
  • Designed for -10F

Imported

Sizing It Up

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Heritage Extreme Winter glove was designed for ...
    Description:
    The Heritage Extreme Winter glove was designed for riding in the coldest weather conditions. The Extreme Winter glove is made with all waterproof materials, 3M Thinsulate insulation and Polar Fleece liner making this one of the warmest riding gloves available! ...
    The Roeckl Winter Hampshire Glove will protect you ...
    Description:
    The Roeckl Winter Hampshire Glove will protect you from the wettest, coldest, and windiest winter riding weather. Favorite Features Cozy Prima Loft lining Lightweight warmth Elastic wrists can be adjusted with the roll bar strap Metallic Roeckl logo on the ...
    A lightweight and elegant close fitting glove, made ...
    Description:
    A lightweight and elegant close fitting glove, made from ROECK-GRIP, which provides superior grip, suppleness, and breathability. The Winter Chester gloves have a laminated fleece lining that provides additional warmth. The Roeckl tab fastener across the back of the hand ...
    The SSG Winter Training Glove is an all ...
    Description:
    The SSG Winter Training Glove is an all purpose lined winter glove for training, handling, and riding. The back of glove has Thinsulate lining for heat retention without the bulk while the palm is lightly lined providing a better feel ...
    The Roeckl Ultimate Winter Glove was created with ...
    Description:
    The Roeckl Ultimate Winter Glove was created with a special synthesis by combining WINDSTOPPER Soft Shell with ROECK GRIP technology making it a very popular choice for cold weather riders. This brand-new Gore Soft Shell quality material requires no additional ...
    Why We Love This The Tuff Rider Winter ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Tuff Rider Winter Riding Boots have a waterproof PVC upper and neoprene ankle flex that allows for greater comfort in the stirrup. The upper lining is a durable mesh with PU foam and tricot. The ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SSG 10 BELOW™ WATERPROOF WINTER GLOVE is rated 4.2109 out of 5 by 147.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Durable, but not very warm! These gloves should be renamed "30 Above" Instead of "10 Below". I live in the Tundra of Minnesota and specifically purchased these gloves to stay warm on our frequent subzero days. DO NOT keep your hands warm in anything under 30 or so degrees (but I generally have cold-ish hands). You are also unable to ride in them, as they are so bulky that you feel you are riding with oven mitts on and it completely messes up their feel. Would most likely be best for less temperamental climates, but the name of the glove misled me!
    Date published: 2014-11-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from smaller than other size 7 Great value, warm gloves on the one day it got below freezing this month, but I'll go up one size next time
    Date published: 2014-09-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from I guess it's just me I cannot stand these gloves - I have the SSG Winter Training gloves, and adore them, but wondered if these might be even warmer. I'm also probably one of the only people who can say I actually wore these gloves in temperatures that were 10 below zero - in fact, I tried to wear them when it was 20 below in South Dakota for a hunting trip, and within 10 minutes, my fingers hurt so badly I had to go back to the car.So I tried to wear them when I got home for riding in mid-30s weather. They are just terrible - you don't have any dexterity or grip, and they don't keep you very warm. It was like trying to ride wearing oven mitts. Too much bulk at the end of the fingers left me feeling like a clown. I couldn't wait to get them off and go back to my old reliable Winter Ranchers. And the elastic strap to keep them on is a pain in the butt - I was going to cut them off, but thank goodness I didn't so I can return these gloves to SP. And thank goodness for SmartPak's amazing customer service and return policy, or I'd be incredibly bummed I was out the money for these.Honestly, I have two pairs of the Winter Training gloves, and I adore them - do yourself a favor and go try those instead.
    Date published: 2014-04-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from warm gloves These are very warm and comfortable. I only wish the fabric breathed better. I usually have cold hands, but mine were actually sweating in these and then the inside would be damp.
    Date published: 2014-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Useful for barn, dog walking, etc Warm and water-resistant, but do get wet through if dunked in water - as in, when removing ice from frozen water troughs. Dry quickly, through. Good grip.
    Date published: 2014-03-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warmest Riding Gloves I bought these 2weeks ago and wish I had bought themearlier. They are the warmest riding gloves I have now.The only problem I have is that I have big wrists and they are a bit tight around the wrist for me. But the factthey are warm and waterproof makes it worth the little bit of uncomfortableness.
    Date published: 2014-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from how have I lived without these all this time? These gloves are a must for any cold climate riders. I never realized the amount of torture I was putting myself through with other "winter" gloves until I got these. Seriously the best winter gloves, not just for riding, but for doing chores, feeding, especially watering. I live in the Chicago-land area and this 2013/2014 winter has been brutal and unforgiving, but these gloves are a life saver. With all the warmth they provide you'd think they'd be bulky but surprisingly they are not. I have all the warmth without any loss of feel. Highly highly recommend, good job SSG.
    Date published: 2014-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!!! I absolutely love these gloves! I teach lessons, do barn chores, ride in them and it always amazes me at how warm and toasty they keep my hands. These are the only gloves I wear now in the wintertime. And this winter has been particularly harsh in Central PA. Many mornings I was feeding and doing barn chores with a windchill of -20F and my hands stayed warm. Never happened with any other gloves I've tried. My first pair lasted two winters. I just had to replace them because my pointer finger wore through the outer material. I'm ashamed to say that I put black duct tape around the finger so that I could keep them for odd winter jobs to keep my new ones nicer longer. That's how much I love them! I recommend them to all of my students for winter riding.
    Date published: 2014-02-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very warm, however sometimes the inner lining sometimes gets bunched up and it is difficult to straighten out/
    Date published: 2014-02-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice gloves I was looking for a warm pair of barn gloves and purchased a pair of these. Overall, they're a nice pair of gloves. The wrist opening is a little snug so it makes it kind of annoying if you need to take them on and off a lot. However, this feature also helps keep them snug on your hands. Bonus - they have elastic loops inside so you can attach to your wrists, jacket sleeves, etc so you don't lose them when you take them off! They're warm gloves but for the days that it was 20-30 degrees outside, I found myself still wanting another layer of gloves or perhaps a thicker pair. Maybe I'm just a wimp :)
    Date published: 2014-02-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good winter glove, but not at 10 Below I'm a long-time fan of SSG gloves, and I'm happy with these, but the "10 Below" label is misleading. They're good, waterproof work and riding gloves down to about 20 F. Below that, they get cold and fight tightly enough to prevent slipping a heat pak inside. Typical SSG quality: Excellent! The fit is tight and true to size, so be sure to measure around the widest part of your hand (just below your knuckles) and order that number size. I first ordered a small, which is my usual size, only to find they were about child's size. I gave them away (to a child) and measured and reordered a 7. The second pair fits exactly with no room for error. That's two sizes larger than the first pair. If we ever get some above-freezing weather for riding, these will be my primary riding gloves, I'm sure. Especially love the elastic band that goes around your wrist so you can drop the glove to use your fingers without losing the glove on the ground. Nice touch!
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I can move my fingers!! I recently just bought these and they work great in cold weather. I was able to still move my fingers in then which is a big deal to me when it's 0 degrees outside and I want to unlatch a gate or something similar. Very much worth the money!
    Date published: 2014-02-06
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from 10 Below is a joke!! I bought these gloves for our coldest weather. 10 below is an absolute joke!! My hands get so cold at 20 degrees that I can only stay outside for 30 to 45 mins.
    Date published: 2014-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves! we've had an exceptionally cold winter in NC this year. These gloveshave kept my hand warm and dry on cold mornings. They do run a little small so if in doubt I would size up.
    Date published: 2014-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best winter gloves I have ever had Love them. They are warm, water proof and smart looking. i returned the first pair as the gloves ran a size small. SmartPak made returning so easy and sent another pair a size larger - just by calling customer service - and they fit "like a glove". Would definitely recommend these. I live in SC and this year we are having an extremely cold winter. So these come in handy working around the barn.
    Date published: 2014-01-29
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from 10 below what? Fit is comfortable and can tack up wearing them. Yet, if it hits below freezing I need to wear a glove liner with them or my hands freeze. They're not near as warm as other riding gloves I own. It was my hope they would keep my hands toasty when the weather dips into the 20 degree F, yet that's not the case. Since I wore them when the weather was in the 40's F I didn't return. This is not the glove I pick when riding or doing chores when the temperature dips below 32 degree F.
    Date published: 2014-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm :) A little bulky for bridling but nice and warm for riding. In 30 degree weather my hands actually sweat! Love em
    Date published: 2014-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm and Comfortable I got these gloves for Christmas and love them! We have some chilly days in the winter and they jeep my hands warm. The gloves are good quality.
    Date published: 2014-01-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from kind of interesting... These are really a pair of substantial gloves and for those whose hands stay warm in gloves, they would be great. Super supportive of your hands with a snug wristband. My hands/fingers only stay warm in mittens so they would definitely freeze in these gloves in "10 below" weather but for anyone whose hands stay warm in gloves in frigid temperatures, these would definitely keep you warm. They have an elastic band that attaches to your wrist or arm so you can slip the gloves off and they hang from the elastic band.
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from definitely not 10 below... I always have cold hands and these gloves seemed like the perfect winter solution-especially since they're waterproof! Most of my work is on the ground- not riding, so I really needed the waterproof factor. I did find them to be a very tight fit (and I got the large), but perhaps they're made to be very fitted if used for riding. Unfortunately, I did not find them any warmer then my regular, inexpensive, thinsulate gloves, and the snug fit made it difficult to get in and out of them quickly.They seem to be well made, and have reinforcements where the greatest amount of "rub" would occur- but all in all, they're just not for me.
    Date published: 2014-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Phenomenal I bought these gloves for a friend of mine who struggles w cold hands in the winter. She is warm and dry while doing chores they are soft enough to ride in. They are a little too bulky for intricate work but they are great!
    Date published: 2014-01-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too Small I think sizing charts should include S, M, L, XL, etc... I initially ordered an 8, but returned them to hopefully get a size 11 that fits. I have no idea what size an 8 is, but would better understand what a Medium is. I also think that making them sized for men, or women, would be even more beneficial. The pair I got indicated that they were sized via unisex. This appears to be a great glove, but one that I am unable to wear in this extremely cold weather hitting the Midwest right now. I returned mine the day after Christmas, and have not heard from the manufacturer that they received my return, or even shipped out the new pair that I ordered.
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from warm and dry hands These gloves are exactly as advertised. Cleaning water troughs in subzero temps and hands stayed toasty.
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from useful winter glove Warm gloves for the average winter day.  I like the wrist loops on these gloves, to keep them handy when you have to take them off for a fine detail job.  They do run small, especially on the finger length.  I had to try 3 sizes before getting the right one!  They seem very durable, but I haven't had a chance to use them yet.  The cuff is nice and long, keeping your wrists covered.
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Gloves I bought them as Christmas gifts for my grand children and they are enjoying them. They were very excited to be able to ride when the temps are cold.
    Date published: 2014-01-04
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Big disappointment I have previously owned several pair of these gloves, and was happy with them, so I knew what size to order. It is obvious the design of these gloves has been changed. The thumb was set on so high, I could only get half of my thumb into it and then there was absolutely no range of motion. I could not perform the simplest activity with these gloves on, they were so ill fitting. I can't decide whether my pair was mis-made or that the new design was so off. Cannot return because I attempted to wear them so they are not "as new". Extremely disappointed. Will not buy another pair.
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gloves Just a great pair of gloves especially for an active outdoor person. They fit great, they're comfortable and they're warm!
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these gloves! These are the best gloves to wear when the whether is below freezing. Keeps your hands warm while feeding the horses and doing barn chores. Durable and they keep your hands warm even if they get wet with carrying a water bucket.
    Date published: 2013-12-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great gloves, but not very warm I have several pairs of these gloves, and have used them for multiple seasons. They are not as warm as I had hoped. If I'm moving and my hands are warm, then they are okay. However, once you stop moving, your hands get cold very quickly. I recommend these for a cool fall, or early winter, but not for freezing weather in the middle of winter. On the other side, the quality is fantastic. They hold up well, especially with all of the abuse I put them through. I bought my first pair 3-4 years ago, and they're still around!
    Date published: 2013-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truly warm and water proof These are great gloves for around the farm, I don't know that I'd ride in them other than hacking, they are very thick, which makes them very warm. I am a size 7 in every glove I've ever worn and these felt "snug" when I first tried them on but they do fit, they're just thicker than most gloves. Great for dragging the ring in, doing chores, bringing horses in and out, etc. AND - great for grabbing chunks of ice out of water troughs - they are that waterproof.
    Date published: 2013-12-12
    • 2016-02-06T14:36CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_142
    • loc_en_US, sid_9878, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.