Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Solstice Waterproof Leather Boot

SmartPak
- Item #21358
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This
Fashion, comfort, performance - the Solstice Waterproof Leather Boot has it all! These incredibly versatile crossover boots are just as perfect for barn chores as they are around town as a fashionable, functional footwear choice across the seasons. And they're affordable to boot!

Favorite Features

  • Full leather boot is designed with a classic equestrian look and feel
  • Waterproof interior booty keeps the boot waterproof to the high ankle
  • Thermoregulation interior fabric keeps your feet comfortable in a range of temperatures - from cold, to cool, to warm
  • Full side zipper makes the boot easy to take on and off
  • Discrete, interior calf gussets accommodate a variety of calf sizes while still providing a clean, fitted look and feel
  • Durable sole is riding appropriate and built to withstand a variety of conditions

Sizing It Up

You Might Like
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Solstice Waterproof Leather Boot is rated 4.4013 out of 5 by 152.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solstice Waterproof Leather Boot The boots arrived punctually. Having read the available reviews, I knew to order a size larger than my normal size; the boots fit very nicely, although I have slim calves and the calves stand away from my leg...a minor problem.
    Date published: 2014-12-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I ordered these boots because I was looking for a more "dressy" boot than my Justin Gypsy boots. I normally wear size 11 in Justin boots so I ordered these in size 12. The boots were comfortable and seem to be great quality--only problem is they run rather small size-wise. The size 12 fit like a 10 or 10.5.
    Date published: 2014-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from run small They are perfect in every way but one. I ordered a size bigger so u could wear thicker socks. I'm glad I did because they for like normal sizes. Ex, I ordered a size 10 but the for like a size 9. They are really warm so I don't need the thicker socks. They fit over my jeans and there was maybe one day of break in time. Love them!
    Date published: 2014-12-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from yucky leather i was so looking forward to these! the fit was great, i have a calf that needs to be accommodated, put the boots on and wore around the house, the leather around the ankles creased as if the leather was waxed...........
    Date published: 2014-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Winter in MD Love them. Sexy and functional, with jeans, leggings or britches. Breaking them in with a little waterproofing tack oil.
    Date published: 2014-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots I just tried out my boots and they are so comfortable and talk about water proof. Wow.
    Date published: 2014-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great barn boots I have had these for a few weeks and it was the best purchase I have ever made.
    Date published: 2014-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic so far! Beautiful boots! So pretty, in fact, that I didn't want to wear them to the barn! But today I put them to the test - chores, riding, and a long hand-walk down the road to cool down. Very comfortable and sturdy, too. I actually preferred riding in them than my old favorites. True to size, broke in easily, quality leather and construction, lovely color, sturdy zipper. Haven't tested the waterproof feature and for warmth yet, but so far I just love them!
    Date published: 2014-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Fave Pair of Boots! I bought these last year and have seriously considered buying a second pair for when I wear these out. Most. Comfortable. Boots. Ever!
    Date published: 2014-11-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good boots! So I struggled to find some good work and riding boots. These met the goal. Fairly comfortable. Footbed shape a little uncomfortable but footbed is nice, leather is nice, been riding and working for hours and seems to do the job. Go up a full size at least and make break in a little easier by bending leather all around by hand.
    Date published: 2014-11-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from High hopes I was looking for a comfortable, warm, waterproof boot that I could ride in and would be comfortable to stand in and do my equine massages without having to change shoes, and bonus if these shoes could then go right on my errands with me.I really wanted these boots to be that 'everything' boot for me, but I'm afraid I will have to return them (though I really don't want to!).Pros:- Pretty cute side profile- Nice, sturdy leather, but soft enough that it seems like it would break in quickly- Solid toe protection- Good grip on the stirrup- Seems to resist dirt- Snug enough on medium calves, but not too tight.Cons:- Weird front profile--they stick out at the top which makes them look kind of like galoshes or something. Somewhat unexpected given the gusseted calf and tailored side profile- Don't come in wide sizes for the footbed. I have a slightly wider foot, and the footbed of these boots is just slightly too narrow for me. The nice, protective and rigid structure of the footbed/toe was a little too unforgiving to look like it would stretch- Clunky. Tough to get a nice grip on the horse. Felt sort of like I was riding in snow boots. Maybe good for a casual trail ride, but would definitely recommend breaking them in first, as they are slippery.- Not made for walking. I had really hoped these would be comfy to walk and stand in, but unfortunately, the thick, solid sole makes walking a little weird (kind of like combat boots), and after standing for an hour to do a massage, my back was absolutely killing me- Rubbed the back of my ankle, but I think this would go away once they are broken in- Not incredibly warm... wore them with warm socks, nice fall boot, but would need toe warmers in the colder tempsOverall, I think these would be perfect boots if you have narrow or narrow-medium feet. As it is, they are just a little too unforgiving for me. Really bummed, because they were so close to being a perfect-all purpose boot! Very nice quality, excellent price and seemed like they would be durable.
    Date published: 2014-11-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solstice Waterproof Leather Boot Never had a pair of tall riding boots before. Love them! Very thick and cushy soles! I wish they came in half sizes though just a little bit concerned about the length it I wear them ALL day long!!
    Date published: 2014-11-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super Comfy! These boots are one of the few pairs of boots you can put on that are comfortable immediately. No break-in time required. I've worn them every day all day since I got them :)The only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is because they don't have 1/2 sizes. I'm an 8 1/2, bought an 8 but can't wear thick socks or they're too short in the toe.
    Date published: 2014-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solstice leather boot I love these boots, round up a size if you wear a 1/2 size. The company is great about you returning a pair if they fit tight!
    Date published: 2014-11-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from not for skinny calves These boots seem well made and I love the look of them, but they were huge on my calves. I had read reviews and someone wrote that they didn't work for her larger calves, but they were so large on me I had to send them back.
    Date published: 2014-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice looking boots First I ordered size 7 which is the size I wear and needed to return and order an 8.Wish they came in a 7 1/2. Nice quality and I am looking forward to wearing them but haven't yet.
    Date published: 2014-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boots in the world I bought these about a month ago. I LOVE them. They are so comfy and very well made. I have arch problems and I noticed that it was the first time my feet didn't hurt after riding when I wore them. I recommend them to EVERYBODY!!!! The waterproof feature is great too, though I wish it went higher than the ankle. They are perfect for anything, from riding english or western to brushing horses to mucking out stalls. I love these boots.
    Date published: 2014-10-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sturdy Comfy Boot Loved - height, leather quality and color, foot bed, comfortableDidn't like - clunky, width of calf too big, but I have thin calves....Super boot for barn and horsy events.
    Date published: 2014-10-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Boots! I've had these boots for a year and I've worn them for three seasons out of that year. The boots start out lovely, and they just get better the more you wear them! They are very hardy and when I clean them up they still look brand new, aside from the settling around the ankle. I think they will last for years to come. They are comfortable, stylish, and functional. If Smartpak started making them in black I'd probably buy a pair *hint hint Smartpak* :)I will say that for about the first month I had a VERY hard time zipping them up since they were so snug on my calves. I would put them on and wear them around the house with just thin nylon socks underneath because I couldn't get pants in them. Then I graduated to leggings, then finally skinny jeans underneath. So if they are really tight at first don't be discouraged! They will stretch some. Also, like riding boots, they did settle in the ankle which makes them more comfortable. Now they feel like they were made for me!
    Date published: 2014-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new Boots I gave in to temptation. I am so glad I did they are comfortable to walk in and ride in.I have even used them with a skirt.
    Date published: 2014-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lived up to other people's reviews. Took them to New York City to break them in - wore them all day long for two days and feet never got tired of them. Took them on a weekend-long trail ride weekend the following weekend and they rode great. My riding buddy is ordering some!
    Date published: 2014-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boot to go from barn to dinner I bought this boot 2 weeks ago and I love it. The sole is thick enough that it protects the bottom of your feet from the rocks and cold at the early morning horse shows and you can still go out to dinner that night (after a quick wipe) and still look great!!
    Date published: 2014-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME all around boot I'm 5'10" and wear a 7.5/8M in boots - my calves are 12.5" and measure length from floor to back of knee is 17.5". I ordered size 38 - they fit extremely well - roomy toe and supportive arch. They are a bit loose around the calf but they are the best fitting boot I've found for the money. Boots are super comfortable on the ground and in the saddle. The leather is supple and a great color! Fantastic buy!!!
    Date published: 2014-10-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great boot! I was looking for a nice pair of everyday brown boots. I wear these everywhere! My non-horsey friends love them! I'm not crazy about the sole (would prefer a stitch on), but I love the leather. As far as fit, I wear a regular calf in Ariat tall boots and these fit my calf perfectly over a pair of jeans. I purchased a size 8 since I am normally a 7.5. The foot is just a tad big, but I feel like the 7 would be too small (wish there were half sizes) Overall, really nice pair of boots!
    Date published: 2014-10-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful boots but not for a wide calf I was so excited when I received the boots, they were beautiful. I was so sad that I had to return them because they didn't fit my calf. If you have a wide calf, these are not the boots for you. When I read the product description I thought they would have enough give to fit, but I was wrong.
    Date published: 2014-10-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it! I absolutely LOVE this boot. It is a perfect fit, very stylish and elegant. I have not ridden in it yet, but hope to during colder weather.
    Date published: 2014-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boot at a great price! What an awesome boot! I bought these for riding and working around the barn. They are so comfortable that I can wear them all day with no fatigue. They also look great when away from the barn. I've had several non-horse people ask where I got them.
    Date published: 2014-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very comfortable These boots run narrow which was what I wanted. Had to wear a thin sock but they have stretched. Rode in them and have received a lot of complements.Very comfortable and great quality!
    Date published: 2014-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Boots! These boots are beautiful.....dark rich brown leather and seem really well made. I had recently purchased a well known brand and honestly these are much much nicer! Sadly I am very hard to fit and they don't fit me right but I am struggling with having to return these beautiful boots. SMARTPAK has a free return label in the box! How convenient and over the top helpful is that? Really great company and awesome boots, give them a try! So much better looking in person even though they look nice in the picture too!
    Date published: 2014-09-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful Boot, But Don't Fit Beautiful brown (waxy) leather. Wore around the house for about an hour, and unfortunately will be returning (yeay for SmartPak's fabulous return policy). Leather will have a worn-in look very quickly. Foot bed is comfortable. In Ariat boots I wear a regular height, extra slim calf. The height of these is just a tad too tall for me to where it rubs on the backs of my knees. They are also too roomy in the calf, which I expected, but the placement of zipper makes it poke out on the side which just looks sloppy.
    Date published: 2014-09-25
    • 2015-05-24T08:48CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_151
    • loc_en_US, sid_11358, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.