Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Solstice Waterproof Leather Boot

SmartPak
- Item #21358
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This
Fashion, comfort, performance - the Solstice Waterproof Leather Boot has it all! These incredibly versatile crossover boots are just as perfect for barn chores as they are around town as a fashionable, functional footwear choice across the seasons. And they're affordable to boot!

Favorite Features

  • Full leather boot is designed with a classic equestrian look and feel
  • Waterproof interior booty keeps the boot waterproof to the high ankle
  • Thermoregulation interior fabric keeps your feet comfortable in a range of temperatures - from cold, to cool, to warm
  • Full side zipper makes the boot easy to take on and off
  • Discrete, interior calf gussets accommodate a variety of calf sizes while still providing a clean, fitted look and feel
  • Durable sole is riding appropriate and built to withstand a variety of conditions

Imported

A note about these boots: Everyone has a favorite pair of boots that are well-worn and full of memories. Every time you wear them, you’re adding wear that tells the story of where they’ve taken you. Instead of making you wait years for that unique, well-worn look, every Solstice boot intentionally looks weathered and broken in right from the start. As soon as you take them out of the box, they’re ready for you to continue telling their story.

Sizing It Up

You Might Like
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Solstice Waterproof Leather Boot is rated 4.3822 out of 5 by 157.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nicely made, comfortable I was looking for a lesser expensive boot that would also work for non-horsey activities, and these fit the bill. I would say they fit a little large, I normally wear a 6.5 in a boot and would have preferred a 6 if they offered it, but these are fine, they are nice enough I overlook being a little big. They clean up nicely and are wearing fine, the break in time was negligible.
    Date published: 2015-04-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really nice boots! I wore these boots all winter in the snowy northeast - casual wear only, no barn work or riding. They have held up great, are easily cleaned and tolerated snow, slush and salt very well. Easy to break in and comfortable right away. I liked that they are tall, and while I have a slim calf, the calf was not tight. The foot is sturdy for walking without being clunky and I liked that they are made of real leather!
    Date published: 2015-04-09
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing After anxiously awaiting the arrival of my new boots for about a week, I was very disappointed when I opened the box. The first thing I noticed on these boots is a large scratch in the leather. Upon closer inspection, I noticed the leather was frayed around the zipper and looked very worn and beat up. The boots I received looked as though someone else had worn them around the barn for several days and did who knows what to them before returning them. Based on all of the very positive reviews of this product, I was tempted to send these back and ask for a new pair. However, the seems on the inside of the boot are very rough and I am worried that it will damage the leather on my CWD saddle. Also, if this is how beat up they look upon arrival, I have serious concerns about how they will hold up being worn around the barn and ridden in.
    Date published: 2015-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Good for short people or wide calfed. Soft and beautiful
    Date published: 2015-03-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful in the box, not on me. I really wanted to like these boots. I tried to convince myself to keep them. I just couldn't do it. The main fault was the way they gapped at the top. They were really tight and challenging to zip, but then at the top where they snapped, they stuck out from my leg and looked really awkward. But then they seemed to almost "pinch" the inside of my leg, under the knee. Maybe I have weird shaped legs? I'm 5'5", so maybe I'm too short? Oh, well...back they went.
    Date published: 2015-03-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Boots A student of mine has these boots and they always looked so good. I have worn other boots like this but they always get drab and dirty with daily wear. I bought these and although they were very tight in calf when I got them every ride and wear they are more comfortable. I usually wear an 8 1/2, so I ordered the nine and I recommend that because they are a tad on the small side. The boot/footbed itself is the most comfortable I have worn and they are very quiet soles on the floor. Wonderful boot, good looking and great value.
    Date published: 2015-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the quality! I have been looking at these for a long time my husband bought them for me for my birthday! So happy to finally get them!
    Date published: 2015-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy sole and footbed The footbed is very comfy and this boot "walks" really well. The waterproof sock part can bunch a little against your ankle which I didn't expect but it's not uncomfortable. I have ridden in them three times now and they are ok to ride in casually, but if you are going to do some serious schooling, get your real riding boots on... I find that you don't have the most flexible ankles, IMO. The leather is great, didn't need to break them in, they really have a waterproof foot. I wear a size 9 and sized up to a 10 and it's perfect. Zipper is nice quality. I like these sooooo much better than even my dubarrys, because the look is less slouchy and more tailored. And just as comfortable to walk in. Based on how I feel in them when I walk, the toes are a little rolled for easier break over. The perfect walking boot AND casual riding boot.
    Date published: 2015-02-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Truly Warm Winter Boots I bought these boots in the winter of 2013/2014 and have worn them 4 to 5 days a week for 2 brutally cold winters in New York state. I spend a lot of time riding horses out (keeping fox hunters going) and training horses in all sorts of terrain & weather. They have held up very well. More importantly, my feet are warm after hours in the saddle. Usually:-). I'm tall and lean so I would love for Smartpak to offer better fit- tall & slim calf- but the ability to stay warm and dry through all the snow suffices for now. FYI, the foot bed runs small, the calves run large and short. They are also very comfortable if you're on your feet for any length of time.
    Date published: 2015-02-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great Value I think this is a great boot for the price. I wear a size 9 1/2 and had to order a size 10. Fits okay!
    Date published: 2015-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots! I'm incredibly happy with these boots. Comfortable, functional and they look great. I am petite with more muscular calves and always have trouble finding tall boots that fit correctly. These were comfortable the first time that I rode in them! So far they are waterproof and seem as they will be good to wear year round.
    Date published: 2015-02-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as comfy as I hoped I keep hoping I'll like these more as I wear them and its turning out to be the opposite. They are well made and have been holding up well thus I gave them 3 stars, but they are not as comfortable as a "down time" barn boot as I hoped. I need something I can go from walking in mud and snow to riding in. Honestly these feel like I'm still wearing my tall boots, but I do manage to get my jeans in them so I don't have to only wear them with breeches...which is what I wanted for winter. But I would recommend skinny jeans or legging/breeches only...when I try to tuck my boot cut jeans in its sometimes takes me 10 minutes to get all the fabric situated so they're not bunched up and get the zippers up. Probably due to tight calf size, and I don't have big calves. Going back to Dublins for the next pair. As a comparision with the Dublins, I think the Dublins kept my feet dryer than these. Not so much a waterproof problem as a sweaty feet problem. My feet are always sweaty and then cold in these and I didn't have that with the Dublins.
    Date published: 2015-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, comfortable boot! I bought this boot to use as a dress boot and it fit my size, 10, perfectly. It is the exact height and calf diameter for wearing my jeans. I have gotten so many compliments, even from strangers and especially friends. They are gorgeous leather boots! Then I rode in them and my goodness they are warm and comfortable. I'm trying not to get them mucky, so they will stay nice, but I want to wear them all the time. This is the first boot I have ever bought without trying it on first, but Smartpak made it easy. I love these boots!
    Date published: 2015-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wear Them from October to April Love love love these boots. Im on my second winter now in the midwest and the are warm, comfortable and waterproof. I wish they made an unlined version for the warmer months...will immediately buy another pair if they ever wear out.
    Date published: 2015-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful boots! I was so excited when I saw these boots! They are the perfect mix of utility and beauty, just what I wanted for mucking in the barn or going to town. Unfortunately, I have calves like a linebacker and, even with the calf gussett, they just refused to zip. With a heavy heart, I returned them. The entire ordering/return process has been super easy. I hope to order from them again soon.
    Date published: 2015-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality and fit. very happy with the quality of the leather and the fit. streamlined style, very comfortable for the barn or shopping. Have worn in the snow and mud, clean up easily and still look great.
    Date published: 2015-02-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from unfortunately,overall fit not as good as hoped I have larger feet, and a slimmer calf, so the boots were loose even with jeans stuffed in. The fit over the ball of my foot was too tight on one foot due to arthritic joint. The boots themselves are great, I has have harder fitting problems. You need to include carriage drivers in your discipline options, as many of us ride also!
    Date published: 2015-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from sturdy and attractive Needed boots that could go from cleaning stalls to riding and these are great. Two friends tried them on with much larger calves did not work for them. But I think they are great.
    Date published: 2015-01-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for slim calves I really wanted to love these, but alas, had to return them. Nice leather, waterproof foot, good styling, but their small foot & wide calf were not a good combination for me. My toes touched the end in the 7 (I wear 6 1/2 in most boot brands) and the calf was a little wide. Customer Service said next size was only 1 cm bigger in leg so I exchanged for the 8 (have never worn an 8 before!) - the foot was fine but there was a HUGE gap at the top of the calf. If you have shapely calves they might be great but be sure to order up in size! Nice thing is that Smartpak is always so great about exchanges and returns!
    Date published: 2015-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from super cute and great price! I love these boots! Comfy straight away and will be broke in quickly. Not too heavy but well made. I ordered a size up. I wear a 9.5 in Keen/Merrell so I originally ordered the 10 in these boots. They were too small :-( switched for the 11 and they fit perfectly!! They will be great for going out with the girls or trudging across the cross country course!
    Date published: 2015-01-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not the best fit. I loved these boots the second I took them out of the box. They fit perfectly in the foot but unfortunately, the calf was way too big. So I have to send them back.If you have fuller calves, they might work for you.
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These have broken in fabulously! I was initially skeptical about how these would break in- I have a larger calf and they were initially tough to zip up. After about a week they feel like they were made for me! Love these boots!!
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit, very comfortable, sharp looking. Excellent customer service. Free return shipping means SmartPak cares. The Solstice boot is brushed leather for a attractive quality leather look. Boots were broken-in the first time wearing them. Excellent protection on trail.
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My daughter loves these boots I purchased the solstice waterproof leather boots for my daughter for Christmas. I ordered them one size up, as suggested by several of the reviews.They fit her perfectly and she says they are super comfortably and warm. They are also Beautiful with very nice quality leather !,She wears them to the barn everyday and they deal with the mud and muck quite well !
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfort, Style and hopefully durability A new pair of boots each year for my lady. These fit her look to a "T". Half the price of the Tufa's and Dubarrys so I don't mind her taking them to the barn before a couple of nights out on the town. Didn't rate the durability...too new. She reports exceptional warmth for New England winters.
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solstice Waterproof Leather Boot I got this boot and was happy with everything except the calf was tight when zipped. Hoping that the elastic and leather stretch some to accommodate leggings being worn under them. Other wise, the boot is an exceptional value and is constructed very well.
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from comfort plus I wanted a nice crossover boot as I am always on the run from the barn to town etc. These boots are perfect, and were comfortable from the get go. I wish they came in black as well. Nice fit. Not the best for super cold weather, but great for when it is not too cold.
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots! I have now worn these boots 8 times since they arrived. The first few days I wore them in town and liked them so much I almost considered making them a non-barn pair. They are super cute with jeans and they are extremely comfortable. I purchased these with the hopes of wearing them to the barn when it was snowy, wet and cold. My normal "snow riding boot" was too bulky to wear riding even though it was designed for riding. I would end up swapping from one boot to the next before I got on my horse. That was a pain. I have ridden in these boots twice now and they were great. They are a few inches shorter than my half chaps but that wasn't an issue. They are also wider at the top than my snug half chaps but that wasn't an issue either. I wouldn't say these are abnormally wide at the top. I have very narrow calfs so this is always a challenge for me, anyways. I have not jumped in these boots but I probably would. The sole is a slightly more "chunky" than I would like for riding but not too bad if you keep your stirrup positioned more towards your toes. The width of the boot is fine in the stirrups. I think the chunky base is actually great in the snow and muck. I also wore spurs without a problem. These boots are also super warm. It has been a cold winter for us and while my hands have been freezing, even in gloves, my feet have been really toasty. I love these boots and would buy another pair in BLACK if they ever made them available.
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from These boots were nice but much to tall and wide for my petite leg. My calves are about 13 inch circumference and height 15.
    Date published: 2015-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots These boots were all I wanted for Christmas. I like them very much and consider them a great value.
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    • 2015-08-29T12:56CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_155
    • loc_en_US, sid_11358, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.