Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Solstice Waterproof Leather Boot

SmartPak
- Item #21358
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This
Fashion, comfort, performance - the Solstice Waterproof Leather Boot has it all! These incredibly versatile crossover boots are just as perfect for barn chores as they are around town as a fashionable, functional footwear choice across the seasons. And they're affordable to boot!

Favorite Features

  • Full leather boot is designed with a classic equestrian look and feel
  • Waterproof interior booty keeps the boot waterproof to the high ankle
  • Thermoregulation interior fabric keeps your feet comfortable in a range of temperatures - from cold, to cool, to warm
  • Full side zipper makes the boot easy to take on and off
  • Discrete, interior calf gussets accommodate a variety of calf sizes while still providing a clean, fitted look and feel
  • Durable sole is riding appropriate and built to withstand a variety of conditions

Sizing It Up

You Might Like
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Solstice Waterproof Leather Boot is rated 4.4013 out of 5 by 152.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy sole and footbed The footbed is very comfy and this boot "walks" really well. The waterproof sock part can bunch a little against your ankle which I didn't expect but it's not uncomfortable. I have ridden in them three times now and they are ok to ride in casually, but if you are going to do some serious schooling, get your real riding boots on... I find that you don't have the most flexible ankles, IMO. The leather is great, didn't need to break them in, they really have a waterproof foot. I wear a size 9 and sized up to a 10 and it's perfect. Zipper is nice quality. I like these sooooo much better than even my dubarrys, because the look is less slouchy and more tailored. And just as comfortable to walk in. Based on how I feel in them when I walk, the toes are a little rolled for easier break over. The perfect walking boot AND casual riding boot.
    Date published: 2015-02-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Truly Warm Winter Boots I bought these boots in the winter of 2013/2014 and have worn them 4 to 5 days a week for 2 brutally cold winters in New York state. I spend a lot of time riding horses out (keeping fox hunters going) and training horses in all sorts of terrain & weather. They have held up very well. More importantly, my feet are warm after hours in the saddle. Usually:-). I'm tall and lean so I would love for Smartpak to offer better fit- tall & slim calf- but the ability to stay warm and dry through all the snow suffices for now. FYI, the foot bed runs small, the calves run large and short. They are also very comfortable if you're on your feet for any length of time.
    Date published: 2015-02-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great Value I think this is a great boot for the price. I wear a size 9 1/2 and had to order a size 10. Fits okay!
    Date published: 2015-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots! I'm incredibly happy with these boots. Comfortable, functional and they look great. I am petite with more muscular calves and always have trouble finding tall boots that fit correctly. These were comfortable the first time that I rode in them! So far they are waterproof and seem as they will be good to wear year round.
    Date published: 2015-02-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as comfy as I hoped I keep hoping I'll like these more as I wear them and its turning out to be the opposite. They are well made and have been holding up well thus I gave them 3 stars, but they are not as comfortable as a "down time" barn boot as I hoped. I need something I can go from walking in mud and snow to riding in. Honestly these feel like I'm still wearing my tall boots, but I do manage to get my jeans in them so I don't have to only wear them with breeches...which is what I wanted for winter. But I would recommend skinny jeans or legging/breeches only...when I try to tuck my boot cut jeans in its sometimes takes me 10 minutes to get all the fabric situated so they're not bunched up and get the zippers up. Probably due to tight calf size, and I don't have big calves. Going back to Dublins for the next pair. As a comparision with the Dublins, I think the Dublins kept my feet dryer than these. Not so much a waterproof problem as a sweaty feet problem. My feet are always sweaty and then cold in these and I didn't have that with the Dublins.
    Date published: 2015-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, comfortable boot! I bought this boot to use as a dress boot and it fit my size, 10, perfectly. It is the exact height and calf diameter for wearing my jeans. I have gotten so many compliments, even from strangers and especially friends. They are gorgeous leather boots! Then I rode in them and my goodness they are warm and comfortable. I'm trying not to get them mucky, so they will stay nice, but I want to wear them all the time. This is the first boot I have ever bought without trying it on first, but Smartpak made it easy. I love these boots!
    Date published: 2015-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wear Them from October to April Love love love these boots. Im on my second winter now in the midwest and the are warm, comfortable and waterproof. I wish they made an unlined version for the warmer months...will immediately buy another pair if they ever wear out.
    Date published: 2015-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful boots! I was so excited when I saw these boots! They are the perfect mix of utility and beauty, just what I wanted for mucking in the barn or going to town. Unfortunately, I have calves like a linebacker and, even with the calf gussett, they just refused to zip. With a heavy heart, I returned them. The entire ordering/return process has been super easy. I hope to order from them again soon.
    Date published: 2015-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality and fit. very happy with the quality of the leather and the fit. streamlined style, very comfortable for the barn or shopping. Have worn in the snow and mud, clean up easily and still look great.
    Date published: 2015-02-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from unfortunately,overall fit not as good as hoped I have larger feet, and a slimmer calf, so the boots were loose even with jeans stuffed in. The fit over the ball of my foot was too tight on one foot due to arthritic joint. The boots themselves are great, I has have harder fitting problems. You need to include carriage drivers in your discipline options, as many of us ride also!
    Date published: 2015-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from sturdy and attractive Needed boots that could go from cleaning stalls to riding and these are great. Two friends tried them on with much larger calves did not work for them. But I think they are great.
    Date published: 2015-01-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for slim calves I really wanted to love these, but alas, had to return them. Nice leather, waterproof foot, good styling, but their small foot & wide calf were not a good combination for me. My toes touched the end in the 7 (I wear 6 1/2 in most boot brands) and the calf was a little wide. Customer Service said next size was only 1 cm bigger in leg so I exchanged for the 8 (have never worn an 8 before!) - the foot was fine but there was a HUGE gap at the top of the calf. If you have shapely calves they might be great but be sure to order up in size! Nice thing is that Smartpak is always so great about exchanges and returns!
    Date published: 2015-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from super cute and great price! I love these boots! Comfy straight away and will be broke in quickly. Not too heavy but well made. I ordered a size up. I wear a 9.5 in Keen/Merrell so I originally ordered the 10 in these boots. They were too small :-( switched for the 11 and they fit perfectly!! They will be great for going out with the girls or trudging across the cross country course!
    Date published: 2015-01-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not the best fit. I loved these boots the second I took them out of the box. They fit perfectly in the foot but unfortunately, the calf was way too big. So I have to send them back.If you have fuller calves, they might work for you.
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These have broken in fabulously! I was initially skeptical about how these would break in- I have a larger calf and they were initially tough to zip up. After about a week they feel like they were made for me! Love these boots!!
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit, very comfortable, sharp looking. Excellent customer service. Free return shipping means SmartPak cares. The Solstice boot is brushed leather for a attractive quality leather look. Boots were broken-in the first time wearing them. Excellent protection on trail.
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My daughter loves these boots I purchased the solstice waterproof leather boots for my daughter for Christmas. I ordered them one size up, as suggested by several of the reviews.They fit her perfectly and she says they are super comfortably and warm. They are also Beautiful with very nice quality leather !,She wears them to the barn everyday and they deal with the mud and muck quite well !
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfort, Style and hopefully durability A new pair of boots each year for my lady. These fit her look to a "T". Half the price of the Tufa's and Dubarrys so I don't mind her taking them to the barn before a couple of nights out on the town. Didn't rate the durability...too new. She reports exceptional warmth for New England winters.
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solstice Waterproof Leather Boot I got this boot and was happy with everything except the calf was tight when zipped. Hoping that the elastic and leather stretch some to accommodate leggings being worn under them. Other wise, the boot is an exceptional value and is constructed very well.
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from comfort plus I wanted a nice crossover boot as I am always on the run from the barn to town etc. These boots are perfect, and were comfortable from the get go. I wish they came in black as well. Nice fit. Not the best for super cold weather, but great for when it is not too cold.
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots! I have now worn these boots 8 times since they arrived. The first few days I wore them in town and liked them so much I almost considered making them a non-barn pair. They are super cute with jeans and they are extremely comfortable. I purchased these with the hopes of wearing them to the barn when it was snowy, wet and cold. My normal "snow riding boot" was too bulky to wear riding even though it was designed for riding. I would end up swapping from one boot to the next before I got on my horse. That was a pain. I have ridden in these boots twice now and they were great. They are a few inches shorter than my half chaps but that wasn't an issue. They are also wider at the top than my snug half chaps but that wasn't an issue either. I wouldn't say these are abnormally wide at the top. I have very narrow calfs so this is always a challenge for me, anyways. I have not jumped in these boots but I probably would. The sole is a slightly more "chunky" than I would like for riding but not too bad if you keep your stirrup positioned more towards your toes. The width of the boot is fine in the stirrups. I think the chunky base is actually great in the snow and muck. I also wore spurs without a problem. These boots are also super warm. It has been a cold winter for us and while my hands have been freezing, even in gloves, my feet have been really toasty. I love these boots and would buy another pair in BLACK if they ever made them available.
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from These boots were nice but much to tall and wide for my petite leg. My calves are about 13 inch circumference and height 15.
    Date published: 2015-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots These boots were all I wanted for Christmas. I like them very much and consider them a great value.
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Runs super small...and is not great quality. They are stiff in the sole and don't feel like a $200 boot. Returning again... after going up two sizes.
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Boot for the Barn or out in Public! I love this boot! I originally bought a size 10, but had to return for a size 11. The size ten I found to fit too tight in the foot bed, and wouldn't zip all the way up my calf. The size 11 is a bit too big in the footbed, but with two pairs of socks I get the perfect fit. The calves fit perfectly in the bigger size though. If you wear half sizes, I recommend ordering up one size.Now, on durability and function: I find these boots to be very flattering. Some reviews say the boot feels/looks chunky, but I don't think so. I've only had these boots a week or two, but they are breaking in nicely. They slouch a little in the ankle, so be prepared for that. They also clean up nice, however they are very easy to scuff, especially from riding in a saddle. I have found you can buff out most of the scuffs with a leather cleaner and conditioner. But they are comfy once they break in. They also are waterproof so far, as advertised, but I'm not sure how long that will last.
    Date published: 2014-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this boot! Good looking, comfortable, loads of compliments. I have very thin calves and the top with jeans tucked in works great.
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots! It's hard for me to buy boots and not be able to try them on first due to my "fatter" calves... these were snug at first but have broken in fabulously! I haven't ridden in them yet bc I am enjoying wearing them to work! I do look forward to riding in them tho :)
    Date published: 2014-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing boots! I absolutely love these boots! I went to Equine Affaire and asked about boots that would accommodate western and possibly a dabble in intro english and would be warm and waterproof. Rachael, an employee, helped me find exactly what I wanted! These boots are so comfortable and help me feel more stable in my western stirrups. I had told Rachael that my feet always slip around in my stirrups and she suggested these. I am thrilled as I could never have figured out which boots to buy. Thank you Smartpak Equine!
    Date published: 2014-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These boots are A-MAZ-ING and they LAST I bought these boots back in Feb of 2014. I'm a professional and have worn these boots 6 - 10 hours a day, EVERY DAY since then. Working in the barn, outside, riding 3 - 8 horses a day, I'm beyond impressed by these boots. If these were Ariats they'd have been in tatters long ago, with holes in the leather (on the ball of the foot-- you know what I mean) and about 18 zipper replacements. These boots take whatever I throw at them and keep on going! I've probably only even cleaned them 3 or 4 times since I got them. They're one of my all time best horse purchases (after my Stubben saddle), and far and away my best ever pair of boots. I love that I can take them on and off faster than my sneakers! They're amazing quality for the price, and show no sign of breaking down yet. If you're on the fence, or looking at more expensive boots-- BUY THESE! You'll be so glad you did.Now the minor criticisms: no spurs rests. What?! Oh well, I keep my spurs on all the time and they don't seem to move around too much without the rests, but I'd still prefer them. These boots really aren't any warmer than normal boots as far as I can tell. If it's freezing out, your feet will get cold. I wouldn't buy them specifically to keep your feet toasty in the cold. On the plus side, I wore these through the summer without feeling like they were too hot. The foot bed is too wide and bulky for me, from an aesthetic standpoint. They fit great, but I wish they looked a little more streamline-- but that's just me being vain. However, it does mean I can wear 2 pains of socks to mitigate the fact that the boots aren't all that warm.However, when these wear out (which looks like it will be way, way down the road) I'm 100% getting another pair of these, they are AMAZING.
    Date published: 2014-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable from the minute I first put them on! These boots are terrific. They were comfortable from the first time I put them on and have only gotten better with wearing. Based on the reviews I had read at the time of my purchase, I did buy one size larger than I would normally and that appears to have been the correct way to go. Well made, excellent quality, and great value for the price.
    Date published: 2014-12-12
    • 2015-05-26T10:24CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_151
    • loc_en_US, sid_11358, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.