Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Solstice Tall Waterproof Leather Boot

SmartPak
- Item #21358

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This
Fashion, comfort, performance - the Solstice Waterproof Leather Boot has it all! These incredibly versatile crossover boots are just as perfect for barn chores as they are around town as a fashionable, functional footwear choice across the seasons. And they're affordable to boot!

Favorite Features

  • Full leather boot is designed with a classic equestrian look and feel
  • Waterproof interior booty keeps the boot waterproof to the high ankle
  • Thermoregulation interior fabric keeps your feet comfortable in a range of temperatures - from cold, to cool, to warm
  • Full side zipper makes the boot easy to take on and off
  • Discrete, interior calf gussets accommodate a variety of calf sizes while still providing a clean, fitted look and feel
  • Durable sole is riding appropriate and built to withstand a variety of conditions

Imported

A note about these boots: Everyone has a favorite pair of boots that are well-worn and full of memories. Every time you wear them, you’re adding wear that tells the story of where they’ve taken you. Instead of making you wait years for that unique, well-worn look, every Solstice boot intentionally looks weathered and broken in right from the start. As soon as you take them out of the box, they’re ready for you to continue telling their story.

Sizing It Up

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Dublin Medway Thisulate Tall Boots are made ...
    Description:
    The Dublin Medway Thisulate Tall Boots are made for cold weather with a breathable Thinsulate insulation lining and a comfort range of -9 F to -34 F. Constructed of full grain waterproof leather upper with a quilted pattern goes great ...
    The Ariat Extreme Tall H20 Insulated Boot is ...
    Description:
    The Ariat Extreme Tall H20 Insulated Boot is a part of Ariat's extreme weather footwear featuring advanced technology for enduring comfort, waterproof construction and insulation engineered for maximum warmth and protection. Favorite Features Waterproof, full-grain leather and suede combined with ...
    With many features of a riding boot and ...
    Description:
    With many features of a riding boot and a twist of elegance, the Dubarry Clare boot feels equally at home around town and at the barn. Crafted from DryFast-DrySoft&trade crushed and smooth performance leathers and fully lined with GORE-TEX , ...
    The Dubarry Leitrim Boot is made from Dubarry's ...
    Description:
    The Dubarry Leitrim Boot is made from Dubarry's water resistant DryFast-DrySoft&trade leathers. Lined with GORE-TEX , these boots have a waterproof and breathable membrane. Adding to why we love the Dubarry Leitrim Boot, they have an inner fill that absorbs ...
    Dubarry's iconic signature boot is now available in ...
    Description:
    Dubarry's iconic signature boot is now available in a slim fit! The Dubarry Galway Boot is the original waterproof, breathable boot from Dubarry, perfect all purpose outdoor footwear for any weather. Raved about in Europe for years due to the ...
    The Ariat Youth Heritage Contour Field Boot is ...
    Description:
    The Ariat Youth Heritage Contour Field Boot is designed specifically for young riders and offers long lasting performance and comfort. With the removable Ariat Booster Bed featured in all Ariat's kids' boots, a child can keep their favorite boots even ...
    The Dubarry Galway ExtraFit Boot allows about 2 ...
    Description:
    The Dubarry Galway ExtraFit Boot allows about 2 inches extra width in the calf as well as more room across the instep to make entry to the boot easier! The ultimate in all weather, all purpose outdoor footwear from Dubarry. ...
    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Solstice Tall Waterproof Leather Boot is rated 4.3125 out of 5 by 192.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not a good fit for wide calves These are gorgeous boots, but sadly do not come through on the sizing for wide calves.
    Date published: 2016-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I wear these EVERYWHERE I bought these less than a year ago because I had a pair of winter riding boots and prefered them to paddock boots with half chaps. I wanted something like that for the summer: that I could muck out stalls in and then get on a horse. I do just that. I also wear them out, to work, to the mall, out to dinner..... I get complements ALL the time. The only down side is the footbed leaves a little to be desired. There wasn't much padding. I have to have orthotics, though, so this worked in my favor. I'm thinking about getting a second pair that stays clean for everyday wear and if they ever make a black pair, Ill be the first in line.
    Date published: 2016-01-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Look great but did not quite fit I needed a 1/2 size larger but not available. Seemed comfortable and look great.
    Date published: 2016-01-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from GREAT BOOTS!!!! I bought these at Equine Affaire as an early Christmas present. I LOVE them. I normally wear a 9.5M but these are sized 9 or a 10. The foot is a smidge big but I wear thicker socks in the winter anyways. The legs do fit snug but they have stretched out with use over winter breeches. The only down side was that I sprayed them with a waterproofer and the color ran on the shaft of the boot. My mistake. I still love them!!!
    Date published: 2016-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally love these I bought these boots a couple years ago, and it's taken me a while to get them just right. I'm a 7 or 7.5 med calf reg height in an Ariat, and I bought these in a 38. They are a little big in the foot and were too tall at first. I have compensated by adding heel lifters and a cushy insole. Now I absolutely love them! They could be a little tighter around the very top (they kind of stick out like wings), but I can live with that.
    Date published: 2016-01-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful leather. I hesitated to buy these because my feet are so hard to size. At first, they felt a little tight, but with wearing have become comfortable. Really nice boots.
    Date published: 2016-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So comfortable and really attractive. I love them so much! They are functional and so handsome. I look forward to wearing them a lot.
    Date published: 2016-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great look and fit I am so glad you carry this boot in a size for tall ladies! I ordered the 42, and it fits great. My advice is if you wear a size 11, as I do, to get the 42.I wear a size 11 in Justin boots, and my size 11 Ariat paddock boots fit with thicker socks or an insert, without that they are just wee bit too loose.my experience with the sizing. 42 is a size 11.On another note I am so so glad you offer these boots for tall ladies! Too many times a cute boot is only offered up to a size 10..they are as cute as they are in the picture. I finally have a pair of cute boots, that FIT! I have honestly been looking for a size 11 in a cute go everywhere boot for a long time!I would definitely recommend these boots!
    Date published: 2015-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent work boots. These boots are well made, durable, and beautiful. The waterproofing works perfectly. If you know how to treat boots they will last you for many years.
    Date published: 2015-12-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too big for me :( I really wanted to like these boots unfortunately they're too big and roomy for my size 6 1/2 foot and also too big for my small calf circumference. They were taller then I could wear going up to the crease where my knee bend is(I am 5'2"). I really wanted to like these because they are beautiful boots and very well made, unfortunately they just weren't for me.
    Date published: 2015-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Workmanlike but also stylish enough for my office Sturdy, excellent tread, and nice leather quality. Ordered a 10, which is already a size up from my usual, and will be exchanging for an 11 to accommodate winter socks. They come up to the back of my knee just like regular tall boots, and the calf is slim enough even for my slim calves. Planning to wear to my office job as well as around town, with the occasional trip to the barn.
    Date published: 2015-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfort and style! These boots seem to be true to size, and were comfortable from first minute - no break in period. They stay tall to the knee without being stiff, and no slouching down to mid calf like other"tall" boots I have. Nice grippy leather and supportive footbed for riding, good medium fit around the calf. Love them so far!
    Date published: 2015-12-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed I ordered these books twice, trying to get the right size. They ran extremely small in the foot and large in the calf. In the end, I had to return both pairs and go to a different brand.
    Date published: 2015-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots! (Please add a black version!) These are wonderful boots - comfortable for both riding and walking. I really would buy them in black, as well as any other color made available.
    Date published: 2015-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love these boots Great fit and so comfortable after a short break in period. I have worn only for casual use and fashion but live in wet weather climate and these keep me warm and dry. Many complements from my friends.
    Date published: 2015-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally found my dream boots! Great fit, foot bed as comfy as sneakers with good traction. Just moved to US after a long stint in UK and this is the first pair of footwear I bought. Felt stiff when I first donned them but they broke in quickly after keeping them on for about 30 min. Very pleased with the rich dark brown colour and the quality of leather. They look very chic without compromising the comfort. Will be really glad if they turn out to be as durable as they look. I'm 5'8" tall with long, lean athletic legs and usually wear a size UK-7 (US-9 according to conversion charts). In UK, I mostly had to size it up to UK-8 in boots. So going by that and most of the reviews here, I ordered a size up (US-10) and I'm glad I did! Very comfy fit with just the right amount of room around the legs and in the foot bed for tucking in skinny jeans & medium socks respectively. My foot length is 25.4 cm, calf circumference is 13.5 inches, the back of my knee is 18.5 inches from the floor. Hope that helps along with the pictures in picking your size. I placed the order on 16th and they arrived very well packaged on 19th. Thanks for the excellent service, Smartpak!
    Date published: 2015-11-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't fit but a cool boot I liked the boot itself, it seemed sturdy and I was excited to try it. But I have a 15" calf with a smaller top near my knee and it was huuuuuge at the top. :( I returned them.
    Date published: 2015-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Balance of Comfort and Cute I bought these about a year ago. I am, by no means, a horse rider. I bought this pair so that I would have something comfortable and water resistant for the winter. These boots a perfect! I wore them every day walking around Europe last winter and they are still kicking it! I would absolutely recommend these boots (based on style and comfort)! I'm not sure about riding, but for walking use they are wonderful and super cute. I read a review of someone saying that the calf should be tighter, but I have about medium width calves and they are tight. I wouldn't recommend if you have large calves. For me, they run true to size. There were some issues with the ankle rubbing for a bit, but it just required some adjustment (make sure you break them in well). I love these boots and will be purchasing again!
    Date published: 2015-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy I bought this boot After my sister wire a pair through months of rain snow and mud last winter, with no deterioration of the boot. So far, comfortable and sturdy. Wish they made half sizes.
    Date published: 2015-11-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Comfortable I bought these boots hoping to be able to both work and ride in them. Unfortunately the sole is so thick that it kept getting stuck on the stirrup. I think they might be ok for work and sometimes a ride, but not safe for more.
    Date published: 2015-10-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice all around boot! Out of the box they have a waxy coating. Kinda hazy. I cleaned and conditioned them and now the leather is rich looking and much softer. They are made of a thicker leather but it's the perfect balance between rugged enough for chores yet nice enough to ride in. I even wear them as a casual boot with leggings. Rubbed my ankle at first, fine after a few days.
    Date published: 2015-10-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful boot...but runs a bit small w/ wide calf Oh, these are SO beautiful out of the box, but they unfortunately run small. I read the reviews and ordered a size up, but they were still too short in the foot. Would have ordered the next size up, as the leg was the perfect height, and they were comfy and they are waterproof. But sadly, these are not for us stick-legged girls. SmartPak, please, please, please have your designers make this in a slim calf. These are such lovely boots!
    Date published: 2015-10-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from cute and comfy I like the streamlined look of these a lot and much prefer the smooth leather for riding. They are quite comfortable and taller than some of the competition. I found they are pretty much a year-round boot though they won't be quite warm enough for serious winter weather and will be a bit hot in the full summer. I did find my pair looked quite weathered from the start but I admit to not cleaning them too often. They wear well but did stretch a bit and ended up giving me blisters. I wouldn't be opposed to trying these again, but would try going down a size.
    Date published: 2015-10-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Classy boots, comfortable and look great! Bought these boots a few weeks ago. They are comfortable and fit true to size, if not a tad small in footbed. They are a little wide up top, but comfortable and not suppose to hug like riding boots anyways.Comfortable for all day walking at horse show, and look great cleaned up!
    Date published: 2015-10-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Weird fit-sending back I consistently wear a 6.5-7. I ordered these boots in a size 7 and the foot bed is WAY too small !!! Calf fit great but there is a weird gap below the knee area. Unfortunately, I am sending them back.
    Date published: 2015-10-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from run very small I ware a 6.5 us shoe but need a 15" calf to go over breeches. First I order the 7 I couldn't get my foot in them and no way they would zip. Next I got the nine yes a nine. I can zip these over socks only and are tight. The foot is good in length but a lil wide. I chose to ware them around house being the good saddle leather should stretch. They did slouch and start to settle much like dress show boots. Order a size or two up and not for big legs.
    Date published: 2015-10-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome boots! Most of the "fashion boots" at the department stores are flimsy and bad knock-offs of real riding boots, so I wanted to find something that didn't offend me (in the hunt field, only Masters and men with colors wear dress boots with brown cuffs on top!!!!) and I could wear 3 seasons a year. I couldn't justify spending more on fashion-equestrian boots than on my actual riding boots, so I decided to try these. They were exactly what I needed. Durable, attractive, and well-fitting. I didn't have a problem fitting them over skinny jeans and tall wool socks, and I have athletic calves. I got them in the 39 and I typically wear an 8.5-9 in Ariat, depending on the style. I have very long legs, and these have a nice height for me as a fashion boot, falling a few inches below my knee.
    Date published: 2015-09-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Looks nice, fits oddly Firstly, these boots look and feel great. The footbed is very comfortable and I love the tough tred on the bottom. My problem with them is the fit along my calf. I ordered two pairs to compare sizes. The 8's fit my foot perfect but were painfully tight along my calf. The 9's were a little roomy, but not bad, and zipped up my calf easily. But they were too tall and hit my knee. These boots also gapped oddly (in both sizes) below my knee. Maybe I have a bad combination of slim ankles and knees with large calves.Overall, they're a very nice boot but they might not fit you as well as they do the model in the photo.
    Date published: 2015-09-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice boot It was a nice looking, well-made boot but it was too small in the calf to wear over jeans so I returned it.
    Date published: 2015-09-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good boot, but inside wears quickly Great boots! The outside wears like iron and they are super light weight with excellent zippers and snaps. The only drawback is that the inside wears out quickly. I had worn holes in the footbed in just a few months and now there are major holes in the heel area, and the heel cup is breaking down. (I've had them for 18 mos) I would love to have another pair, but I'll go with something else because of this issue.
    Date published: 2015-08-13
    • 2016-02-13T14:58CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_189
    • loc_en_US, sid_11358, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.