Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SoloComb

Item #11626
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

AutoShip and Save Time (Details)

days
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SoloComb is an essential item for a tidy mane and tail. Create a natural look without the tedious job of pulling. Back comb the hair as usual and then instead of pulling the hair simply press the lever and the hair is instantly and painlessly clipped.
Favorite Features
  • High impact plastic SoloComb is extremely lightweight and easy to use.
  • The SoloComb even works on the whiskers and is great for grooming dogs too!
  • We also carry the Replacement Blades

Sizing

6 ½” X 3”
What Customers Say:

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Start with a clean, tangle free mane and tail. It is recommended that you start at the withers and work your way up the mane. Then prepare the mane as you would with a pulling comb. Steps: 1. Back comb into the mane the holding the hair (under tension) with one hand, comb in the other and push top hairs back until the desired amount of under hairs to be removed is in the teeth of the comb. 2. At this point DO NOT PULL THE COMB DOWN; raise the hair held in your hand up into the blades so that the hair is under tension. Then press the lever down on the handle and the hair will be clipped. (For medium/thick manes go closer to the roots). 3. Comb out the tangles for the next cut. When the desired length is reached you may want to pinch or nip off ends of the hairs with your fingers to complete the look. Cleaning the comb: 1. Remove the two fixing screws and lift off the blade cover. 2. Remove the blade fixing. 3. Lift blades off the mounting pins and clean off debris. 4. Separate blades and rinse with water. 5. Dry with cloth and spray sparingly with WB40. To replace the blades: 1. Follow steps 1 & 2 under cleaning instructions. 2. Lift blades off mounting pins. 3. Insert new blades. 4. Replace blade fixing plate. 5. Replace blade cover and screws.
You Might Like

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SoloComb is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 155.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Super easy to use, even on very thick manes. Takes minutes to clean up mane, a little longer for show quality look.
    Date published: 2017-04-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Did what I needed Worked as expected. My Mare HATES mane pulling. She either needs to be drugged, or twitched, or possibly both. Last year I roached her mane and let it grow out again over the winter. Come Spring she was looking a little feral. Even though I would rather pull the mane because hers is naturally SO thick, this comb did what I needed and gave her the haorcut she needed. I will say, a few timed, the gaurd tried to slip off. Not a big deal, but I did have to make sure I used SMALL sections of hair that it could easily cut through to prevent this.
    Date published: 2017-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy So easy to use especially with fussy horses. Would recommend to anyone with a horse who doesn't respond well with traditional mane pulling or if you just don't want to stand with your arms in the air for an hour.
    Date published: 2017-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING I just received this a few days ago. I have a TB with a thin mane. If I were to pull it, he would have no mane left. This past winter he rubbed a section of mane out. He had 5 hairs in a huge section of mane. YES I freaked! SOOO I have babied his mane to grow that section out. FINALLY it grew in and "kinda" looks good. BUT!!! The rest of his mane also grew longer so the difference was TERRIBLE. It drove me nuts. I was embarrassed to take him in public! LOL I saw the Solo Comb & read the reviews, watched some YouTube videos & I was sold. I just used it tonight AND it worked AMAZING!!! OMG his mane looks so good. I can take him in public now! I wish I would have taken a before & after pic.
    Date published: 2016-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this thing I wish I'd gotten one of these years ago. My TB/Hano gelding has the saddest mane I've ever seen. Thin and straggly, if I pulled it traditionally, there would be nothing left. I had been using a mane comb and scissors, but juggling two instruments when he got antsy was such a pain and it took forever. One day I saw my trainer using one of these and I had to have one. Now, I get his mane done in less than 10 minutes, even when I haven't touched it for 3 months. I use it on my Dutch/TB mare now too and love it for her too. She has a much more normal mane and it still only takes me 15 minutes when I'm being picky. I've heard that the blades wear out really fast, but I haven't had that problem yet, and replacement blades are always good to have on hand anyway. I won't go back to the scissors.
    Date published: 2016-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't Live Without It!!! <3 I don't know how I lived life before the SoloComb! I can't imagine it without it now! It makes pulling manes a breeze and the horses don't mind it at all! I've been doing all the manes of horses at my barn and have turned many other people to the SoloComb as well! We all LOVE it!
    Date published: 2016-09-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hate pulling manes? SoloComb makes it better. My horse protests when I pull her mane, and I'm really not sure how painless it is. The SoloComb, with its cutting action, sounded like a good alternative, providing the look of a pulled mane, and it's much easier (on me and my horse) than pulling. I haven't been using it very long or very much yet, so I can't speak to the durability or how easy the blade changing is. It does seem like a sturdy, quality product, and I think it will make life a little better for my horse and me.
    Date published: 2016-08-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Did the job but a bit flimsy for the price I bought this comb to help thin a percheron mares mane for an upcoming show. She had a lot of mane due to just being out to pasture for 1.5 years. It worked but it took forever due to the blades dulling quickly and I felt like I was going to break it if I wasn't careful since its made of very flimsy plastic. Also the blade guard kept coming off.
    Date published: 2016-08-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So easy, and pain-free I have two horses who will barely tolerate mane-pulling. I had a Solo comb years ago when they first came out, and thought I'd try again. The horses look great and are much happier.
    Date published: 2016-07-29
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Messed my horses mane up. Bought this because it looked cool and like a quicker way to tidy up my horse's mane but all it did was make it look choppy and uneven. And I followed the instructions exactly. I will stick with traditional pulling.
    Date published: 2016-07-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broke on first use Poorly designed. Three snips and it broke (would no longer cut).
    Date published: 2016-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use A friend has one of these and I kept borrowing it so I finally bought my own. Terrific for horses that don't like their mane pulled. It is costly but I think still a good value.
    Date published: 2016-03-23
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Such a bummer I thought this was going to be so awesome but it sucked. Haha. I was able to get through the my horses mane, but that was it. I couldn't even do my moms horse after. It was totally dull?! I'm annoyed but I just had to try it. Judging by a lot of the reviews it works for people somehow. What I found was the bad reviews all rang to be true as to what I had experienced. I'm so bummed. I loved it the one time I was able to use it. It's not that cheap so think really hard about buying this before you do.
    Date published: 2016-03-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use and works!!! I bought the SoloComb because my horse absolutely hates his mane pulled. My big guy is very easy going but gets very nervous and quit a handful when it comes time to pull his mane. The SoloComb is great and made pulling his mane a positive experience for him and for me!!!
    Date published: 2016-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from mane looks great always Works quickly and very easily . Mo.excuse for sloppy mane now
    Date published: 2016-01-06
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Works great...while it works SmarkPak came through as always with quick shipping. Due to a health condition that prevents me from pulling manes by hand, I was so excited to get this. I got about halfway done with my mare's mane, and the SoloComb was doing a great job. The look was natural and lovely. Then - alas - the comb broke. The part that holds the blade in simply popped off, broken. I could still use the comb, but had to hold it so that the blade wouldn't fall out. VERY disappointing and frustrating! This is a great idea, but the concept needs to be further developed into a tougher product.
    Date published: 2015-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE LOVE LOVE I cannot give this enough stars. I will never go back to pulling another mane! I was a little worried because my trainer is super picky about manes looking like they've been cut, but my new mare was not going to let me pull her mane. I gave it a go, and you can't even tell! It looks exactly the same, horses who were running backwards when I pulled their mane are now standing still, and it takes half the time! The mane in the picture is pretty thin, but it was super long, and it only took me 30 minutes to do. I have only used it on thin manes, so I can't say how it does with thick manes, but I've used it 5 times and I'm just now noticing the blade becoming duller. Worth it to me. I'm happier and my horses are a million times happier. Best invention ever.
    Date published: 2015-11-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Breaks Ive used this maybe four times and it broke. I only got to change the blades one time. They get dull very quickly and really arnt worth the price to pay every time you need to pull a mane. My horse hates getting pulled but I'm definatly going to find another alternative to this. It does work okay with brand new blades when it's not broken, but it doesn't last.
    Date published: 2015-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great Mane looks like it had been pulled. Perfect for those horses who will not tolerate their mane being pulled.
    Date published: 2015-10-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does its job I'm not a fan of these types of combs, I prefer the classic metal ones, but when I can't find the metal one, I use this. It's good quality. I've used other combs that make me feel like the plastic comb will fall off, but this one is really sturdy. The blades get dull, yes, but they can be replaced. I also use this before I start to just thin the mane out, combing the mane like you would just comb it, and squeeze the handle to thin the mane out a little easier (it's easier on my hands). The only thing that really bugs me is that the hair gets stuck in between the blades, making them a little harder to squeeze than normal.
    Date published: 2015-09-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Useful! As someone who doesn't have much experience pulling/trimming manes, this comb made my job pretty easy. I've used it twice now for lengthy periods of time and found the blades intact and functioning fine. I was nervous about it breaking, but so far so good! My boy hates having his mane pulled, so this item is a great alternative.
    Date published: 2015-07-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Makes thinning easier! I have a horse with a very thick mane that was really becoming unruly. Since not showing this year, decided to use this instead of pulling. Worked great, took very little time. Not sure how it'll look when it all grows out, but I'm happy with the results right now!
    Date published: 2015-06-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I love it but it broke I've used SoloCombs over the years and have always gotten a nice finish on my horses' manes. But the most recent one I bought (the red one) broke within 3 uses. I do not mean it got dull, they always do that and you have to replace the blade, but this one physically broke on only the 3rd mane. I'm hesitant to buy another.
    Date published: 2015-06-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broke the first time I used it. Very disappointed. Didn't even make it through one mane. Blades broke off leaving my horses mane uneven and chopped. Had to finish with a clipper blade. Wrote to customer service, emailed pictures, never heard back. Disappointed, will be returning ASAP.
    Date published: 2015-05-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Concept - Quality Seems to Be Declining I've been using SoloComb for years now, and I think it's a great product for horses that object to pulling or have thin manes. I think it works better on thin manes than on thick ones. One thing I have noticed is that the quality of the blade has declined over time. A SoloComb used to last me quite a few mane "pulls" without getting dull. Now I maybe get 2 or 3 pulls, and I have to replace the blade. I have multiple horses that I use this on, so it gets annoying having to replace it so often. I would start with a relatively clean mane to make sure that you don't dull the blade even faster.
    Date published: 2015-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful tool I bought one of the original Solocombs about 16 years ago. I thought I'd break my Morgan colt into having his mane pulled by going slowly and taking a few hairs at a time when he was really young, but he wouldn't tolerate pulling at all. I bought the comb and have never been disappointed with the results. It works easily and looks like a pulled mane without any discomfort to my horse. He stand quietly and we have a nicely kept mane. I had to buy a new one last month, but I think 16 years is a good long time for something I use a lot, to last. I like that the blades can be replaced and SmartPak carries the replacements, also. Great product.
    Date published: 2015-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My gelding has a Fresian-thickness mane... and does NOT tolerate traditional pulling without heavy sedation (picture enough sedation to do a complex tooth extraction...anything less and he's unmanageable). He'll stand all day, sound asleep, for the solo comb. I just did his super long and thick mane yesterday, after letting it grow for about a year because an injury took us out of riding. It took about as much time as pulling would, but my arms were less tired and my gelding was much happier. Final result looks the same as pulled, and I'm VERY pleased. I recommend this to everyone I know!
    Date published: 2015-03-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not quite what I expected If you need to do touch-ups on a mane or you're working with fine hair, this product will do its job. But if you're looking to use it in place of pulling a mane with any thickness to it, it doesn't work nearly as well as I expected based on things I've heard about it.
    Date published: 2015-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes a hard job easier! Love the ease of using this...so does my horse. A tip....go slow...follow the directions. Small pieces at a time. Really does a nice job.
    Date published: 2014-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally one that works! I have gone through several similar combs, but they never worked (and so always had to resort to the regular pulling comb). This one actually feels sturdy and substantial in your hand, and the blade actually cuts through the hair like it's supposed to! As long as you cut only the amount of hair you would pull at one time, it gives the overall finished look of a pulled mane. If you try to cut a chunk of mane at one time, obviously it will look choppy. I have a Paint who has the thinnest, most straggly mane you have ever seen, and using this I was able to make it look presentable in 10 minutes. I also have a pony with a mane that was all one length, and I was able to shorten it and make it look like a regular pulled mane with this. I used it on an opinionated 4 year old OTTB who until now would have to be twitched to pull his mane (and he would still try to rear). After he realized that there wasn't going to be a yank following the back-pull, he stood patiently in the crossties and let me finish. I will never use anything but this to pull manes ever again.
    Date published: 2014-11-13
    • y_2017, m_12, d_14, h_22
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_145
    • loc_en_US, sid_1626, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 63ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders