Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Winter Jacket

Item #20732
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SmartPak Winter Jacket will be your workhorse all winter long. This waterproof, breathable, and insulated jacket will keep you warm and dry.

Favorite Features

  • Detachable hood with elastic drawstring adjustment
  • Adjustable snap riding vents
  • Fitted cuffs with thumbholes to help keep out drafts
  • Adjustable snap fitted waistband make this jacket perfect for the barn and in the saddle
  • Armpit vents allow you to quickly cool down without removing a layer- priceless!
  • SmartPak logo on left chest
  • Pair it with the SmartPak Winter Overpants for the ultimate in winter warmth!

Imported.

Sizing It Up
Chest Measurements: XS - 30", S - 32", M - 34", L - 36", XL - 38", 2XL - 40"

The jacket is more fitted, so consider sizing up if you'll be doing a lot of layering!

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Piper Polka Dot Waterproof Jacketis the prefect ...
    Description:
    The Piper Polka Dot Waterproof Jacketis the prefect lightweightjacket to add toyour outerwear collection! Also features a concealed full zip front closure for addedProtection from the elements. Favorite Features Storable hood inside collar Two zip security pockets Waterproof construction Lightweight ...
    This jacket offers an awesome value and will ...
    Description:
    This jacket offers an awesome value and will be perfect for everyone in your barn. The full front zip 100% nylon taslon shell is wind and water-resistant. The anti-pill black microfleece lining keeps you nice and cozy. The outside zip ...
    The EQology Jacket by SmartPak is from the ...
    Description:
    The EQology Jacket by SmartPak is from the EQology Collection by SmartPak - look good, do good, feel great. You'll feel great wearing EQology by SmartPak because every piece is builtfor performance with an athletic fit andconstructed with abreathable andmoisture ...
    The Ariat Barron QuiltedCoat is chic with an ...
    Description:
    The Ariat Barron QuiltedCoat is chic with an equestrian flair. Featuring a quilted shell with alightweight polyfill insulation, this coat provides you with warmth while allowing you to look your best. Additionally, the Ariat Barron Quilted Coat has an adjustable ...
    TheHorseware Platinum Bella Jacket is the perfect jacket ...
    Description:
    TheHorseware Platinum Bella Jacket is the perfect jacket in and out of the saddle! This jacket will quickly become your go-to outerwear this season. 100% polyester. Machine washable. Favorite Features Water repellent and breathable material keeps youProtectedwithout trapping in excess ...
    The latest in technical fabrics, this sportySoft shell ...
    Description:
    The latest in technical fabrics, this sportySoft shell goes from corporate to casual with ease, so you can show off your SmartPak pride wherever you go! Get warmth without the bulk in all types of weather.Favorite Features Hi-techProtection with a ...
    Fight off chills in this stylishly smart women's ...
    Description:
    Fight off chills in this stylishly smart women's fleece jacket!Fitted cut and princess seams flatters your figure Unlined, anti-pill Loftex fleece keeps you cozy and comfortable Embroidered logo on the left chest and jacket back shows off your SmartPak love ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Winter Jacket is rated 4.4348 out of 5 by 115.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this coat! I received this coat for Christmas and have worn it twice so far - once in low 30-degree weather and once in upper 30-degree weather. It is warm (even a bit too warm for the upper 30s!) and comfortable, and allows for full-range movement.I love the adjustable waist - I am small, so I moved the snaps to the last setting for a better fit and more stylish look. Overall, I am really happy with this coat!
    Date published: 2015-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great winter riding & barn coat! My daughter has been wearing this coat to the barn for a couple of months now, and she loves it! The fabric is durable enough for barn chores and there are many great features that make it a great riding coat - snaps in back to open vents for riding, plenty of room in shoulder, and venting in many areas keep you from overheating. Thanks SmartPak!!
    Date published: 2015-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great jacket I was in need of a winter jacket and this jacket fit the bill. It is light, non-bulky, has lots of deep zippered pockets, and is very warm in 30 degree weather. This jacket does run "small". I am a size petite 6 and usually order a small size but will order medium so that I can layer my clothing. In this case, I ordered a medium and it's a perfect fit which meant I had to be careful on the layering. Example I could not wear my down vest under this jacket. I would have exchanged this for a larger size, but was afraid that the sleeves would be too long. Besides I was in desperate need of a winter jacket so sending this back was not an option. With that being said, this jacket is worth every penny and is get lookng , too.
    Date published: 2015-12-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect for Virginia Winters I bought this for my wife and she loves it. She said it is perfect for cross country and trail rides.
    Date published: 2015-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just right! I received this just in time for a late-fall clinic and it was perfect! After reading the reviews I decided to size up (I'm usually a XS or S but ordered the Medium), and am very happy with the fit. Some favorite features: nice long sleeves with fitted wrists to keep out the cold air, detachable hood, under-arm vents for those hour-long hacks, zippered pockets, and back flaps that give a little more freedom of movement in the saddle. This jacket was clearly designed with equestrians in mind, you can tell that from the many little details that make this ideal for the barn. I've only worn it down to about 35F so far, but it seems like it'll hold up well to colder weather- it's warm without being bulky, and fairly windproof. I'm very happy with my purchase and would definitely recommend this for anyone looking for a versatile winter riding coat!
    Date published: 2015-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very versatile. Not just for riding. Bought solely for riding, but wore for my sons last football game as we had rain snow mix and very cold. I was warm, dry and comfy. So happy with my purchase. Love it! :)
    Date published: 2015-11-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good! I love this jacket and am really psyched to have it this winter. I did size up and I'm glad I did so, because I'm not sure this jacket was cut for girls with hips, or for girls who are tall. I LOVE the adjustability of the fit, though, and the fact the coat is waterproof and seems to be resistant to tearing. I would have liked some deeper pockets in the front, because I like to put my hands in there and I find them to be shallow. I guess shallow pockets won't collect a lot of hay though, so that's a plus! I ordered the overpants as well and can't wait to see how the outfit holds up to a Colorado winter.
    Date published: 2015-10-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Barn Jacket - Runs Small I love this jacket but consider sizing up. I am a slender 5'8" and typically would wear a medium. This medium was too constrictive through the shoulders and would limit mobility when riding. I returned for a large and the jacket fits great.
    Date published: 2015-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great winter jacket Received as a Christmas gift and it is a great jacket. I normally wear a Mountain Horse jacket for barn chores but it is too bulky for riding. This jacket is perfect for Maryland winters. I layer with a couple of light layers and am very comfortable even in a cold indoor. Jacket runs a bit small. Had to return Med for Large to allow for layering
    Date published: 2015-01-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent, Simple Jacket! This tough SmartPak jacket has stood up to the -10 degrees, snowing... AKA winter in Maine! Well done SmartPak!
    Date published: 2015-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for cold weather barn work and riding! My 13 year old daughter asked for this jacket for Christmas. It was at a great price and it was exactly what she needed for winter barn work and riding. She would normally wear an XS, but we ordered the small based on the other reviews. It fits perfect. The snaps on the side also allow her the room to add layers underneath. She absolutely loves this jacket.
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rider is Happy and Warm Bought this as a Christmas gift for my daughter. She and my husband take care of horses here on oiur farm and she rides one that she leases. Her old coat was old and not comfortable to ride in. This coat was stylish enough for a teen and yet had all the right features to be useful as well. She even wore it inside.
    Date published: 2015-01-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love this active jacket I bought this because most of the women at my barn, including staff, all wear it and love it. I read some of the reviews about the zipper being poor quality but I have had it a month, wearing it daily, and so far so good! I ordered a large, (i'm 5'6", athletic 150 lbs), because I needed the room in my shoulders and back. I did then take in the elastic waist strap a bit myself. I think a med would have fit fine, it just would have been a little more snug though my shoulders. I'm a bit of a jacket junkie and I really like this one!
    Date published: 2015-01-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice and warm I purchased this jacket at a great price during the 12 days of Christmas specials. It is a nice jacket. However, you cannot be in a hurry to get it on, as the zipper is very tricky to get started. Also, the side pockets are very small, and you really can't put anything in them or it falls out. Otherwise, it is nicely constructed and fits perfectly.
    Date published: 2015-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great jacket I bought this jacket as a Christmas gift. It is wonderful Really warm so had to wait for colder Ohio weather.
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Jacket This jacket keeps you very warm. Fits great. I reccomend you buy it.
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my Jacket My new jacket fits great looks great and is warm and comfortable.
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super value winter jacket I did have to exchange the medium for a Large because of broad shoulders (no doubt from throwing bales of hay) but I loved the quality of the jacket.
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Fit! I recently purchased this jacket as a Christmas present for myself. I absolutely love it. It is lightweight, breathable and most importantly doesn't restrict movement. And, being a curvy woman, I appreciate the fit on the waist and hips. True to size. Definitely recommend for anyone thinking about purchasing a winter riding jacket or just for barn chores.
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great jacket bought a size 'S' for my 10 yr. old granddaughter and it fits her very well. She has a litle trouble with the zipper, but I find this to be true with other jackets that have the two-way zipper. Bought one for myself as well, but the jacket runs small. I could have used 2 sizes bigger than my usual size. I would have exchanged it, but my daughter wanted it!
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well built jacket with A+ embroidery! Love the fit and style! Great to ride, teach and work in! Lots of compliments!
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Considering another! Just bought it last month and so far it has been great! The zippers haven't been a problem with me, and word of advice for future buyers: do size up! I'm small but got a medium instead and it's so easy to get on over my light layers. So far I've gotten family complaints that it's very smelly so I plan on buying another for casual wear outside of the barn.
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from strange fit I bought a medium and also a large in this jacket...despite some of the reviews on the zipper etc. I am 5/6" & 127lbs...both were too small! I sized way up because of the reviews & wanted enough room to layer if I needed to. the medium was hands down too small & tight across the chest (by the way, I am small busted) the Large fit fine across the chest, but the arms/sleeves were strangely tight & tight across the shoulders. I sent both back-sadly. I wanted one of them to work!
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice and Warm! I bought this jacket last month and have worn it 4 times to the barn on very cold days. It is exceptionally warm and comfortable and not overly bulky for riding. I love the detachable hood and the wrist warmers with thumb holes. I also really like all the pockets, but some of them are too small to be really useful. I haven't had any problems with any of the zippers yet, they work great so far.
    Date published: 2015-01-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Winter jacket without the bulk The jacket is well constructed and has a lot of nice features. I normally wear a size medium Columbia jacket, so ordered the medium in the SmartPak Winter Jacket. Unfortunately, I had to return it for the size large. I'm hoping the large will provide more room for layering. Layering is beneficial to keeping warm.
    Date published: 2014-12-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sizes run small. Quality of the zipper isn't great for the price. Nice jacket overall.
    Date published: 2014-12-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well thought out design I returned this jacket because I realized quickly after opening it that it was not going to have enought insulation for a MN winter. Other wise I liked the design and qualities.
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the sale price! I bought this coat for $94 on sale with free shipping, so it was a great deal to begin with. I listened to other reviews who said it runs very small. I ordered an XXL when I usually wear an XL, and it fit perfectly. I like all the adjustable parts of this jacket. The zippers can be a bit fussy, but it does not bother me too much. The armpit vents are great, but the zipper sometimes sticks up and pokes you under your arm. Very warm and definitely waterproof. I wouldn't recommend it for full price, but if you can get it on sale, it's totally worth it!
    Date published: 2014-12-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice jacket I bought this jacket last winter and love it for the warmth. I've warn this in 10 degree weather with a few layers (under armor and fleece) and my core was never cold. I am not too excited about the fit in the arms though. I do not have stick arms and yet it is made for people with skinny limbs, so the arms are bit snug. The snaps on the wrist come undone all the time too, but that doesn't bother me as much. I've never had a problem with the zipper. Wish I had exchanged it for a larger size when I had the chance. Otherwise, I love this jacket. It's very well made.
    Date published: 2014-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Covers all bases for cold weather I got to test my jacket this am at 23 degrees. I was cozy warm and did not feel bulky
    Date published: 2014-11-14
    • 2016-05-25T18:14CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_111
    • loc_en_US, sid_10732, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders