Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #20621
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Battle the elements this winter with the SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket, our toughest waterproof blanket yet! With heavy-duty nylon, this blanket is great for a horse that is tough on blankets. We're so sure it will last for years to come that we've backed with a 10-Year Indestructible Guarantee. We've got you and your horse covered - no matter what! Imported.

10 Year Indestructible Guarantee- the fine print:
We are so confident in the toughness and durability of the SmartPak Ultimate Nylon Turnout Blanket, that if anything happens to this blanket within 10 years of your purchase, we’ll replace or refund it—no matter what! It’s that easy. However, the guarantee does not cover blankets that have embroidery stitched on the barrel as it compromises the integrity of the blanket.  

Favorite Features

  • Heavy-duty nylon:  This special weave of nylon is ultra durable and resists rubs and tears.
  • 1000 denier nylon is ultra durable and the toughest blanket material available
  • Available in Light (no fill), Medium (220g), Heavy  (360g)
  • Nylon outer is waterproof and breathable, so your horse stays dry and protected from the elements without feeling stifled underneath
  • Nylon lining
  • Two low-cross surcingles keep the blanket secure on your horse
  • Quick-clip front closures are easily adjustable and allow you to take your horse's blanket on and off effortlessly
  • Nylon/elastic leg straps allow freedom of movement and keep the blanket from shifting
  • Tail flap provides additional protection from the elements so your horse stays warm and dry

Matching SmartPak Ultimate Neck Rug also available.

Sizing It Up

Available in sizes 69-87" (3" increments)

How to measure a horse

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproof

You Might Like
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket is rated 4.6062 out of 5 by 259.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth the money I bought this blanket 2 yrs. ago & was very skeptical. My horses are related to "Wreck It Ralph"! But 2 seasons later all I had was a small tear on one & a broken buckle on another. When I called about the buckle they were going to send me a new one, but didn't have any in stock. So instead they told me to pack it up & ship it out. One week later I have a brand new blanket. Can't beat that for service! I would recommend this blanket to anyone. It's a great deal!
    Date published: 2015-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this blanket! You can tell the rip-stop quality of this blanket when you take it out of the package. My gelding is terrible on blankets, he is responsible for MANY blanket fatalities in the 9 years I have had him. He usually starts ripping at them right away, but this one has held up so far with no tears. I love the 10 year warranty because it is a better investment for my horse to have this blanket that SmartPak will replace, rather than buying a new blanket every other year.
    Date published: 2015-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy and attractive Ordered the turnout sheet as a top layer for my mare and pony gelding, both of which live out 24/7, in small herds that can get a little rambunctious at times. My mare's made it through the winter in one piece, was completely waterproof, and fit her well--no ugly shoulder rubs despite her shark fin TB withers! I've been using it this spring as well, on it's own, and no issues. I haven't put the pony's on yet, as he had an old beat on but still waterproof sheet as his top layer. He'll be the real test, as he has completely shredded 3 blankets in 2 years. The 10 year warranty absolutely makes these worth the extra cost. I'd been spending $80/year on cheaper options, knowing that I would probably have to throw them away before the next season. My TB gelding will have one as well when autumn hits us.
    Date published: 2015-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart Pak stands behind the product 100% I have a barn full of horses, all ages...from mares and foals to all ages of show horses. Some of them are very hard on their blankets. This blanket fits well, stays on straight, does not rub the hair off and is very durable. I have returned a few of them due to rips and Smart Pak sends a new one out, no questions asked. Impossible to find something like this elsewhere....NO more patched up blankets with this product. I will buy more of these for sure.
    Date published: 2015-04-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Blanket The blanket is made very well. I ordered the wrong size at first but I sent it back and Smartpak sent me the right size very fast and it didn't cost me a cent.
    Date published: 2015-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from super durable I bought this blanket for my mare that has destroyed all her blankets in the past and this one has held up now for over a month! I am very happy with this product!
    Date published: 2015-04-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from True to advertising I am now using my second Ultimate Turnout Blanket, as my young OTTB removed all the straps from the first one. True to their promise, I returned the first for a replacement. The second one is so-far, holding up. My horse is extremely rough on his blankets, ripping and shredding at every chance, and enlisting help as needed. I believe that the second one will eventually tear, but with the return policy, it's worth it for me. Otherwise, does the job, fits well, high quality materials.
    Date published: 2015-04-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well made My biggest compliment of this turnout sheet (I bought it in lite - no fill) is that it is well made and seems very durable. I also love the warranty on it. I do wish it came in a color other than black though, just because turnout sheets are meant for mud season and black constantly looks dirty. It also is cut for a bulky build..like a large quarter horse. My 16.2 TB swims in it. All in all I would recommend it to a friend if they had a stockier built horse, just wouldn't re-purchase for my own.
    Date published: 2015-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great turnout blanket! I bought this turnout a couple months ago for my horse after he had ripped his old one. It fits as expected, seems to be well made and has held up well so far! The only downside is it is not currently available in heavy weight for those of us in northern climates ... I bought the medium weight and used a liner for really cold days, and my horse stayed warm.
    Date published: 2015-04-03
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did not last 2 weeks I have the lite turnout and the lite neck rug. Have used them about 2 weeks. Tail flap came off within a week while the horse had one pasture mate. Neck rug attachment came unseen after 2 weeks, while the horse was pastured alone. Very disappointing as I ordered 4 lite, 4 medium, and 5 neck rugs; only these 2 have been used so far. There is a 10 year warranty but what I really want is a blanket that does not come apart. Not the case here.
    Date published: 2015-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ultimate Blanket survives the ultimate test. My younger guy has had this blanket on for the last 2 months. He is turned out with an incredibly pushy, mouthy, intrusive young gelding who grabs whatever he can with his mouth and hangs onto it. The blanket has survived!! And if it has made it this far I'm satisfied it will make it another season and more. And if not? It's guaranteed for another 9 years and 10 months!I am thrilled with this program.
    Date published: 2015-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Turnout Sheet! I have 3 geldings and I bought this after the "gang of 2" thoroughbreds ripped a brand new turnout sheet off of my "low man" quarter horse. The quality and fit is excellent. It stays in place and is waterproof and breathable. On top of that - the warranty is unequaled!!! Thanks for such a great product.
    Date published: 2015-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from so far so good! Fits my stocky TB well. Straps don't hold water like the cheaper smartpak blanket does. Feels almost rubbery, but more breathable. Only been out twice, so not sure about durability yet. Also wish there were more color options.
    Date published: 2015-03-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from WORTH THE INVESTMENT! I purchased this blanket about 3 weeks ago, so far it is withstanding use. My horse is pastured with many geldings during the day and they play rough. The hardware seems lightweight, and the leg straps have already stretched. Hope it will hold up. The Velcro at the front of the chest had 1 strip placed up and down, the other placed sideways. Doesn't keep the chest area in place securely. I think the product should cost less, but suspect that takes into account the 10 year guarantee.
    Date published: 2015-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! This blanket fits great and is well made. The ten year warranty is a great deal!
    Date published: 2015-03-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice blanket Nice blanket. Love that it's quite lightweight for a mid-weight blanket. Seems to keep my horse warm.
    Date published: 2015-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far beyond tough! ! Several other brand names lasted less than 24 hours with my 5 year old OTTB. On month 2 and not a mark on it or him. No more shoulder rubs!!! Going to start a collection of both weights for all horses. Thank you Smart Pak.
    Date published: 2015-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket It fits really well and I am excited to see how it holds up next winter. The shell seems very durable, but I have yet to actually have it turned out with the 4 playful rascals.
    Date published: 2015-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Turnout Sheet! This sheet was recommended since my mare is a very big bodied Warmblood. Most sheets simply are too narrow for her. This sheet is long enough and has sufficient room in the shoulders. I also like the adjustable front clasps.....much easier than buckles! My mare loves to roll and so far no issues! Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2015-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough I am loving this blanket! It fits great and it is definitely tough! It is still in perfect condition and that is really saying something with my boys!!
    Date published: 2015-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this blanket! I bought this blanket as a replacement after my horse's deluxe version was destroyed during turnout. I liked the Deluxe, but the Ultimate is awesome, especially for the difference in price. The fit is great as usual. The outer shell has been great in repelling the snow and blocking the wind. The leg straps are improved. My horse is comfortable. I can't ask for anything more. I love it!
    Date published: 2015-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from ABSOLUTELY THE BEST DEAL AND BLANKET EVER!!!!! I have 23 horses that are turned out in groups and they play hard. I love this company and the blankets! They fit really well, hold up spectacularly well, and no matter what breaks or tears, I wash it, send it back free with the enclosed label and they immediately either refund my cc or send me replacements no questions asked. I've sent boxes of blankets back about 5 times over the past year, and they have always been a pleasure to work with.I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THESE TO EVERYONE
    Date published: 2015-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ultimate Turnout Blanket Excellent Blanket and very durable. My horse loves to roll and this blanket can take it. Cleans up easily and appears to have a the toughness to last. My horse runs warm and with the snow and cold temps this winter, this blanket is serving him well.
    Date published: 2015-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tougher than my tough 6-year-old My horse makes a game out of destroying his blankets, but this one has stood up to his destructive habits and still manages to look brand new. The hardware is sturdy and great quality. I use this indoors and out. Of course, the 10-year warranty is a great perk!
    Date published: 2015-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great hooks and snaps I got this blanket a few weeks ago. Fits my boy great. Easy to get on and off. A person at my barn has one and told me I would love it. I do! Thanks
    Date published: 2015-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartPak had our size in stock ... It meant a lot to us that SmartPack had our size in stock and shipped it right out to us. It was mid January and everywhere else we looked our size was sold out. When you need it now, SmartPak comes through for you.
    Date published: 2015-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best turnout blanket ever! I purchased 2 of these blankets last year for my 'piranhas' disguised as horses-! This blanket was everything promised and more. They look like new even after a year of abuse of pasture rough housing and tug-of-war with teeth!!An amazing blanket for the price so was a no Brainer when it came time to fit my youngest with a blanket.
    Date published: 2015-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit My horse is tough on his turn out gear. I am hoping this blanket stands up to his playfulness
    Date published: 2015-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The ONLY one to get! This is the only blanket out there with a 10 year guarantee for any reason! We have one for each of our two riding horses, one with medium fill and one with no fill. They look great, fit great, and are quality constructed. Yes, they will fall apart eventually (like any blanket will), so have a backup blanket while it is off to SmartPak, which can take up to 3 weeks depending on how far you are from NorthEast USA. If only they offered different piping colors...
    Date published: 2015-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT blanket! Warm, simple, guaranteed, (have others) and looks terrific!
    Date published: 2015-02-05
    • 2015-08-30T15:12CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_248
    • loc_en_US, sid_10621, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.