Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #20621
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Protect your horse from winter’s worst with the ultimate in turnout armor! The SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket is our toughest waterproof blanket yet. This blanket features a heavy-duty nylon that resists rubs and tears, making it the ideal choice for a horse that is tough on blankets. We’re so sure it will last for years to come that we’ve backed it with a 10-Year Indestructible Guarantee. We’ve got you and your horse covered – no matter what!

10-Year Indestructible Guarantee- the fine print:
We are so confident in the toughness and durability of the SmartPak Ultimate Nylon Turnout Blanket, that if anything happens to this blanket within 10 years of your purchase, we’ll replace or refund it—no matter what! It’s that easy. However, the guarantee does not cover blankets that have embroidery stitched anywhere other than the surcingle straps, as it compromises the integrity of the blanket.  

Also Available:
Matching SmartPak Ultimate Neck Rug (Fill: 0g, 220g)
SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Sheet (Fill: 0g)

Imported.

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing

Favorite Features

  • Heavy-duty 1000 denier nylon material features a special weave that is ultra-durable and resists rubs and tears, making it the toughest blanket material available
  • Nylon outer is waterproof and breathable so your horse can stay dry and protected from the elements without feeling stifled underneath
  • Nylon lining   
  • Quick-clip front closures are easily adjustable and allow you to take your horse's blanket on and off effortlessly
  • Two low-cross surcingles and nylon/elastic leg straps allow for freedom of movement while keeping the blanket securely on your horse and preventing shifting
  • Tail flap provides additional protection from the elements so your horse stays warm and dry
  •  Available in Medium (220g) or Heavy (360g)
Key Specifications
  • Denier: 1000
  • Fabric: Ballistic nylon
  • Fill: 220g, 360g
  • Closure Style: Quick-clip

Sizing

Available in sizes 69-87" (3" increments)

How to measure a horse
What Customers Say:

Specifications

Denier 1000
Fabric Ballistic nylon
Fill 220g, 360g
Surcingles Low-cross surcingles
Lining Nylon
Gussets Yes
Closure Style Quick-clip
Neck Style Standard
Leg Straps/Tail Cord Leg straps
Tail Flap Yes
Neck Rug/Hood No
Customizable Embroidery
Manufacturer Warranty 10 Year Warranty
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The ultimate all season blanket. 2 rugs in ...
    Description:
    "The ultimate all season blanket. 2 rugs in 1 - Simply detach the removable liner to choose the level of warmth for your horse making this blanket extremely versatile, you'll be using it all season! Made from 1000D ballistic nylon, ...
    "This is the blanket that inspired it all! ...
    Description:
    "This is the blanket that inspired it all! The Rhino SmartPak Collection Wug Turnout was created exclusively for SmartPak by the experts at Horseware Ireland for the most fashionable and functional turnout around. Rhino’s exclusive Barrier Technology means that even ...
    "Blankets with features on their mind. VELCRO® brand ...
    Description:
    "Blankets with features on their mind. VELCRO® brand and double buckle closure reduces sagging and rubs. Rear darts are tailored instead of just folded over. Tough 210 Denier taffeta show coat lining limits coat damage while 240 grams of fiber ...
    "The Amigo® Insulator Stable Blanket was designed to ...
    Description:
    "The Amigo® Insulator Stable Blanket was designed to keep your horse cozy and warm while in the barn. Made from durable 210D ripstop polyester with a smooth polyester lining, this blanket is perfect to use on its own in the ...
    "The Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 Wug is new ...
    Description:
    "The Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 Wug is new to the Bravo range, and features Horseware's high cut neck design and V-front closure for a snug fit. 1200D polyester outer with polyester lining and front leg arch. Imported. Also Available: Matching ...
    "The Rambo Wug Turnout with Leg Arches is ...
    Description:
    "The Rambo Wug Turnout with Leg Arches is the Wug you love but with great new features! This blanket offers high-neck protection from rain and snow providing a snug fit and eliminating wither pressure. Ballistic Nylon outer shell and nylon ...
    "The Rhino SmartPak Collection Stable Blanket will keep ...
    Description:
    "The Rhino SmartPak Collection Stable Blanket will keep your horse looking stylish while staying cozy and warm in the barn this winter. Created exclusively for SmartPak by the experts at Horseware Ireland. Imported Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart"

    Reviews

    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 583.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fit and hardware I bought the deluxe medium weight two years ago. Loved it. So this year I upgraded to the ultimate heavyweight for colder weather. Couldn't be happier.
    Date published: 2017-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blanket of iron!! Still going strong! Blankets last about 2 weeks without some sort of rip or tear from my little angel. And we're talking Rambos & Rhinos, not the cheap stuff that you'd expect to shred. We've had this on for a couple months, with NO RIPS! I can see the areas he's been working on, but has not had success!! So glad I bought this!!!!
    Date published: 2017-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable, beautiful sheet. Needed a sheet for my thoroughbred, who is a blanket destroyer. Destroyed two other sheets in the past two months--both I found in a pile of shreds in the pasture--one he even pooped on. But enter the Ultimate Turnout Sheet: and we are going strong so far! It is beautiful on him, easy to brush dirt off of, and the 10 year guarantee brings me peace of mind. Thank you Smartpak--I'll keep you posted!
    Date published: 2017-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket! I bought this blanket a couple of months ago because my mare out grew her other one. It is durable, fits great, looks great and most of she is comfortable in it!
    Date published: 2017-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome blanket My Christmas Eve rescue (an Appaloosa gelding) needed a complete set of clothes--sheet, midweight and heavyweight turnouts--and nothing I had fit him. I decided to splurge and get him a nice new waterproof sheet and blankets. I ordered the sheet and heavyweight blanket first, and they fit his narrow shoulders perfectly, with no big gap at the base of his neck. The drop is long enough to cover his stifles, and the cut allows him freedom of movement out in the pasture. I also ordered the same blanket in a midweight. These stay in place despite him rolling and running around, and repel the rain well enough that I'm not worried about him getting soaked. My horses live out 24/7, so a sturdy blanket is a must, and these fit the bill perfectly.
    Date published: 2017-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic turnout Super durable, warm and waterproof! Really nice turnout and kept my boy warm through the blizzard last month!
    Date published: 2017-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Totally awesome turnout! Really durable and super waterproof! Great purchase! Got the heavy version too!!
    Date published: 2017-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great and long lasting blanket I bought a Smart Pak Ultimate Turnout blanket a few years ago. My horse wear it every winter and it is still in great condition, nothing torn, still waterproof. Based on this experience I ordered another one!
    Date published: 2017-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Guarantee and Durable blanket I have slowly replaced all three of my horses turnout blankets and sheets with the Smart Pak Ultimate Blankets. I have had one rip when they were at a boarding barn but it was very easy to send it back in and I had a replacement quickly sent back with no issues. My one complaint is that they don't have enough color options for me to tell them all apart easily without looking at the name labels, but if that is my biggest problem, then I think it is a pretty good product.
    Date published: 2017-02-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Have a backup I've had this blanket for two years, but it's not indestructible and the gelding wearing it came up with it totally shredded thanks to his pasture buddies. It took over a month to get it processed and a new one in the mail, and by that I mean I had to call three separate times and finally their lovely support team sent out a new one because they'd had it there for month and still didn't process it. The value is there but the process and turnover time isn't there. If you want to do this, it's worth it if you're buying two or have a backup blanket for when it comes up in shreds.
    Date published: 2017-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is an awsome sheet. I love this sheet. It fits great and is durable and very stylish.
    Date published: 2017-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does just what it is supposed to do! Out here in CA we finally got what we have been asking for in buckets and buckets - rain - like OK, enough already. And does my guy believe in standing in his stall? Noooo.... In the past, I've been driving to and fro the barn with a parade of sorta a dry grubby blankets to trade for smelly, muddy very wet ones. NO MORE! This blanket is terrific! It gets slightly wet around the neck area, but dries quickly if I hang it up inside out while I ride. My horse, who thinks blankets are for sissies, actually doesn't mind this one (I have the no fill) and so we are both happy. I have not needed to swap blankets since I bought this one . Thank you SP for the quick clip front, the generous shoulder gussets, the accurate sizing, the 10 yr warranty and for keeping us both happy in this nasty winter.
    Date published: 2017-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket This is my third purchase of this blanket (three different horses). I love it. The material is solid and tough. It has been tried and tested and IS waterproof (this winter has been incredibly wet) and stays in place. Fits great. Everything works as far as the hardware is concerned and function is excellent. I will definitely buy this blanket again in the future if I need another.
    Date published: 2017-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits perfectly! Arrived faster then I thought. Thanks Smartpak.
    Date published: 2017-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Turnout!! with great Smartpak Warranty I have 3 horses and have purchased SmartPak Ultimate Lites, Medium Weights and Heavy weights for them. I am impressed with the quality of construction and materials. Oh- Have also purchased Neck Covers. I am in Upstate NY so turnout quality is essential!!
    Date published: 2017-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Waterproof and well fitting hood My horse lives out 24/7. It keeps him dry and having the option for the hood is a plus.
    Date published: 2017-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Service This is my first transaction with SmartPak and they all have been so very helpful. The first Ultimate Turnout Blanket proved to be too big once my horse had worn it a few days. SmartPak suggested I return the first blanket and try the same style in a smaller size. Perfect and "Bayley" wears it proudly. The denier nylon is easy to brush off and stays balanced on his back. Kudoos to SmartPak for their prompt sevice and excellent customer satisfaction program. Thank you.
    Date published: 2017-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good I bought this blanket a couple of weeks ago and so far it holds up well. My new horse ripped his other blanket and I fear he's going to be hard on his clothes so I found the free repair option to be very attractive.
    Date published: 2017-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit. Perfect fit for our horse, Troy. He's low man in the pecking order in our pasture and the blanket is withstanding the wear and tear.
    Date published: 2017-02-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fit isn't perfect I have a very average QH. I debated between the SP and the Rocking SP but went with this one after reading lots of reviews and recognizing that my horse is a more modern conformation individual without a lot of width. My mistake - it is too tight in the shoulders. He doesn't seem to mind, but for turnout I put a looser fitting old blanket on him. I would say that the length is pretty true. The warranty can't be beat anywhere so it is still a good investment.
    Date published: 2017-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! My horse is 25 and arthritic so the few cold nights we have in the south really make her stiff. This blanket is perfect for her, and she loves wearing it!
    Date published: 2017-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from UltimateTurnoutBlanket I see looking at it that it's made well and will honor the 10 year guarantee. However the mule I bailed from a kill feedlot is afraid of everything so she has not worn it. I have to take baby steps in convincing her.
    Date published: 2017-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a super heavy duty sheet that is warranted and lined so it will not rip. I couldn't be happier with its quality.
    Date published: 2017-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome sheet Love this turnout sheet. Very durable. Would highly recommend this sheet.
    Date published: 2017-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit Both of my guys are hard on their clothing....the new SmartPak turnouts seem tough....hope they stand up to the horseplay. so far so good
    Date published: 2017-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket! I have this blanket in every weight, sheet, mid-weight and heavyweight. They fit my horse (OTTB) perfectly and I love the rear leg straps rather than the under the tail strap, stays much cleaner and the blanket stays put better.
    Date published: 2017-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from We are so happy we bought this product! It's fits perfect, awesome fabric! We are going to order 2 more! Would recommend Ultimate Turnout Blanket!
    Date published: 2017-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from super tough blanket This blanket is super tough, and I am interested to see if I even have to use the 10 year warranty
    Date published: 2017-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the fit and the lastability It fits nicely on my mare and I like that I can order a neckpiece to attAch at this price point, the matierial feels nice and it's more flexible and light rather than a lot of the no fill sheets out there.
    Date published: 2017-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great waterproof sheet Horse stayed dry in pasture in multiple storms no shelter. Stayed put on horse as he lays down and plays with other horses. High neck helps,no h2O down neck.Excellent so far!!
    Date published: 2017-01-26
    • y_2017, m_2, d_24, h_14
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_24, tr_559
    • loc_en_US, sid_10621, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders