Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #20621
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Protect your horse from winter’s worst with the ultimate in turnout armor! The SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket is our toughest waterproof blanket yet. This blanket features a heavy-duty nylon that resists rubs and tears, making it the ideal choice for a horse that is tough on blankets. We’re so sure it will last for years to come that we’ve backed it with a 10-Year Indestructible Guarantee. We’ve got you and your horse covered – no matter what!

10-Year Indestructible Guarantee- the fine print:
We are so confident in the toughness and durability of the SmartPak Ultimate Nylon Turnout Blanket, that if anything happens to this blanket within 10 years of your purchase, we’ll replace or refund it—no matter what! It’s that easy. However, the guarantee does not cover blankets that have embroidery stitched on the barrel as it compromises the integrity of the blanket.  

Also Available:
Matching SmartPak Ultimate Neck Rug (Fill: 0g, 220g)
SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Sheet (Fill: 0g)

Imported.

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing

Favorite Features

  • Heavy-duty 1000 denier nylon material features a special weave that is ultra-durable and resists rubs and tears, making it the toughest blanket material available
  • Nylon outer is waterproof and breathable so your horse can stay dry and protected from the elements without feeling stifled underneath
  • Nylon lining   
  • Quick-clip front closures are easily adjustable and allow you to take your horse's blanket on and off effortlessly
  • Two low-cross surcingles and nylon/elastic leg straps allow for freedom of movement while keeping the blanket securely on your horse and preventing shifting
  • Tail flap provides additional protection from the elements so your horse stays warm and dry
  •  Available in Medium (220g) or Heavy (360g)
Key Specifications
  • Denier: 1000
  • Fabric: Ballistic nylon
  • Fill: 220g, 360g
  • Closure Style: Quick-clip

Sizing

Available in sizes 69-87" (3" increments)

How to measure a horse
What Customers Say:

Specifications

Denier 1000
Fabric Ballistic nylon
Fill 220g, 360g
Surcingles Low-cross surcingles
Lining Nylon
Gussets Yes
Closure Style Quick-clip
Neck Style Standard
Leg Straps/Tail Cord Leg straps
Tail Flap Yes
Neck Rug/Hood No
Customizable Embroidery
Manufacturer Warranty 10 Year Warranty
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Kensington Platinum Turnout offers 1680 denier outer ...
    Description:
    "The Kensington Platinum Turnout offers 1680 denier outer shell making it 100% waterproof with Teflon® and Lami-Cell® coatings, while keeping the blankets looking newer longer with fade and stain resistance. This blanket can also be used in combination with the ...
    "Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, ...
    Description:
    "Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, and hindquarters of stockier breeds like Quarter Horses, the Rockin' SP Deluxe Waterproof Sheet offers superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. Also Available: Matching Rockin' SP Deluxe Waterproof Neck Rug (Fill: ...
    "This is a staple in our beautiful SmartPak ...
    Description:
    "This is a staple in our beautiful SmartPak Blanket collection. This piece does double duty ! It can be used alone as a beautiful fleece cooler or dress sheet or as a blanket liner on cold, damp nights to keep ...
    "Battle the elements this winter with our toughest ...
    Description:
    "Battle the elements this winter with our toughest new neck rug, SmartPak Ultimate Neck Rug. Heavy-duty nylon: Originally developed for flak jackets worn by soldiers in WWII to protect them from flying debris, this special weave of nylon is ultra ...
    Description:
    "Why We Love This Add to your SmartPink ® and SmartBlue ® collection with these fun sheets exlusively from SmartPak! Favorite Features Polished stainless steel hardware Detachable elastic leg straps Nylon lined shoulders to prevent rubs Fleece at withers Double ...
    "Designed with the warmth, fit, and comfort of ...
    Description:
    "Designed with the warmth, fit, and comfort of your horse in mind, this contoured quilted stable blanket provides classic Big D fit with the option to customize! Also Available: Matching Big D Custom All American Hood Imported."
    "The All American features the Big D Diamond ...
    Description:
    "The All American features the Big D Diamond Pattern and contoured design for added warmth, fit, and comfort. This stable blanket is a Big D classic! Open or closed front, forest w/ beige trim or navy w/ silver trim. Also ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 532.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent durability Briefly, my gelding's pasture mate ripped my boy's blanket/sheet up at the rate of 2 in one week. I got this for the warranty. Despite severe yanking, biting, and tugging at it, there is no sign of rough use in the month we/ve used it. The fit is great, the material is sturdy. the leg straps are really nicely soft and elastic, and it looks really good on him. No rubs, no overheating.
    Date published: 2016-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality as Always Received this turnout sheet quickly and it fit perfectly. Good quality as well.
    Date published: 2016-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best turnout sheet EVER!! I have bought at least 6 different brands of sheets over the last 8 years, as my horse lives outside. Every other vendor's sheet has ripped or stopped being water repellent in one winter season. My horse is going into his 4th winter in this turnout sheet and it is still working GREAT! no rips, tears or fraying. all hardware is intact. still water repellent. I have replaced the leg straps twice, as they stretch (like all other leg straps on the planet.) I cannot recommend this product highly enough!! price is good. warranty is unprecedented. Just try it - you will be SO HAPPY, and so will your horse!
    Date published: 2016-12-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ultimate turnout sheet Looks good, fits well, but binding already coming off after less than 2 weeks use on my quiet 19yo...comparable to much cheaper sheets like Saxon. Expected more durability for the price...will be making use of the ten yr warranty on this one I think!
    Date published: 2016-12-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits great! Lots of shoulder room. I had to put the chest straps on the smallest adjustment for my OTTB and now it's perfect. Nice drop, so his belly stays warm. Good sturdy materials. I expect it'll last.
    Date published: 2016-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just Right My 16.1 draft cross measures an 80. The 81 was huge (2015 ordered and returned). The 78 was perfect (2016 order- perhaps their sizing issues have all been remedied). Quality of materials, construction and design, makes me very happy. So does the guarantee. Love the clips and velcro closures- quick, snug and sturdy. Gussets and lining and cut over the shoulders means no rubs this year. The hood is easy to attach, stays put and was designed well. I bought a medium weight too, same story. More color choices would be nice. Negative 12 degrees today- big guy is hunter clipped and he is comfortably warm to my hand in the heavy.
    Date published: 2016-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect weight and looks very durable I can't wait to put this blanket to the test! I did have to try a couple of sizes to get the right fit but I think we are ready to test this bad boy for the winter and see how it preforms. All of the hardware looks incredibly well made and it looks like they took extra care to make sure everything was as safe as possible.
    Date published: 2016-12-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok light turnout sheet. Needs a staydry lining Love the guarantee because of well they're horses. However it is beautifully made and sturdy. To make it better a light stay dry lining would render it perfect. Thanks!
    Date published: 2016-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! The guarantee is why I bought this, but it is so much better than I could have imagined! Fit perfectly and really really well made.
    Date published: 2016-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect versatility for my mare! Received this blanket just before our first Arctic Blast of the winter. Adding a fleece liner under the medium weight kept my senior TB mare toasty in near zero temps with well below zero windchills. The medium weight is warm enough for her in spring and fall with milder temps, then add a fleece layer for colder winter temps. Had a SP Deluxe blanket for her before, but it lost it's waterproofing & nothing I tried remedied that. Like this one better as it comes a little higher on her neck to keep withers warmer, something she needs. Hangs slightly lower on her to wrap under her belly for more warmth. Could be narrower in the back end for her, but then, she is very narrow. Resolved that with a shorter butt strap. Leg straps have been a problem for this mare, so I don't use them. The legs straps do, however, work pretty good as butt straps when shortened enough. Basically this blanket fits very similar to the old Deluxe with a slightly higher neck, and slightly lower sides. Shoulder pleats are a bit different. It was suggested they should reduce shoulder rubs for this mare. Love the quick-clip front closures.The Midnight Blue color is a nice change from black. My old SP Deluxe was 5 years old. This one seems to be a bit nicer, sturdier, so am looking forward to a much longer useful life with this one.
    Date published: 2016-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket I got the blanket just in time for the below zero temps. I don't have to worry about my horse being cold. It's a very sturdy blanket also. My other horse likes to play and I have seen him tug on it a couple times. No holes yet. Very happy with this blanket.
    Date published: 2016-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits great Beautiful color, cozy, and looks as if it will hold up very well.
    Date published: 2016-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from For a Blanket-Tearing Mare - Withstood the test! I bought this for my TWH Mare who loves to tear up blankets. I've been through 3-4 in one year and finally found one that lasts. With the 10-year guarantee, it's well worth the money. This is the only brand of blanket that I have found that she cannot tear up. Also, I don't have to readjust it every day. I will continue to buy Smartpak brand for all of my blankets. As much as I would like to spend less money on it, I've found that this brand is well worth the money!
    Date published: 2016-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits great! I haven't used this long yet,but made very well. Fits my warmblood great and like the ease of the front snaps for fast on and off.
    Date published: 2016-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Love Love Love these blankets. They fit great and wear like IRON! How can you beat a 10 year warranty? You can't go wrong. I have three of them and want to pick up a 4th.
    Date published: 2016-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always a great reliable turnout I believe that these turnouts are such a good deal an such good quality. I love having an extra of these..
    Date published: 2016-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fit! Stays in place so far! For my new-to-me 13 yo QH, I tried Big D, Rockin' SP, the high neck cut, and this turnout. This one fit him the best. He is 15.3h and very stocky, with high withers and a bit of a dippy back. The 78" fit him best. His first night out he obviously rolled a lot, and although he and the blanket were covered in dirt, it was still nicely in place! I'm happy about the 10-year-guarantee, and optimistic that this will be a great sheet for years to come.The only slight concern I have is my gelding sweated under the sheet while outside on a rainy 40 degree night, but he gets hot/sweats really easily, so he probably just didn't need the sheet.
    Date published: 2016-12-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Made it only two days. Both the metal front chest snaps broke within 48 hours. I'm not giving it a one star, because Smartpak is replacing it. I do have to pay to have it laundered though, as it got trampled in the paddock and is too gross to do in our machine (per my spouse), so that is a hassle. My horse is back in her lightweight from another company while we wait. This would have been bad had I not had another blanket to fall back on. She is not hard on blankets in general. The quality of the rest of the blanket appears good.
    Date published: 2016-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Snap front is the best! I just bought this blanket for my Clydesdale. I wasn't sure it was going to fit (I got an 84") but it does! The front doesn't velcro over his chest but the chest straps with buckles are great, as is the length. I've bought several other Smartpak brand blankets for my other horses (TBs) and love them. They've held up well and the fit is great. I love that this one comes with the replacement guarantee. I had to get the black because the blue was backordered, but it looks really nice. I was also glad to see them on sale in the time of year that we all start thinking about blankets!
    Date published: 2016-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not sure why you would buy anything else! I have three of these blankets. They are tougher than nails! They fit great, don't rub, and wear like iron. My boys are pretty tough on each other. I had three tiny holes on one of the blanket from Granite's teeth...and SmartPak relaxed it with no questions. Amazing customer service and guarantee. Why would you bother with buying a lesser quality blanket or a more expensive blanket that you have to replace every year?? I am buying a heavy weight for my mare.
    Date published: 2016-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I love the 10 year guarantee, it gives me some security for my lovely mare who does get bit in the field.
    Date published: 2016-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievable value and protection! This is the fourth horse I have outfitted in SmartPak Ultimate turnout blankets; from heavy weight to sheets. They fit various horses great at the neck, with adjustable snaps. The quality is excellent and each generation of blanket gets better. Behind all this value is the best customer service! Never disappointed.
    Date published: 2016-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough blanket with a perfect fit I had trouble finding a blanket/sheet that fit my narrow horse. This was the 3rd product that I decided to try, and I am glad that I did! The buckles, and straps on the chest of the blanket allowed me to fit the blanket perfectly to my horse. He also lives outside so I wanted a product that had great durability to last many years, and this product has held up very well thus far.
    Date published: 2016-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! Fantastic- our new go to blanket. Looks great, wears great.
    Date published: 2016-11-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Feels like a tough sheet! Haven't had to use mine yet, but it sure does feel tough and well made. We shall see as my Arab is the Master of Destructrion with any kind of blanket!
    Date published: 2016-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket! This is the second SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket I've purchased (two different horses). I really like this blanket. It fits well, is made of quality material and hardware and seems to be durable. I will definitely buy this blanket for my other horses as well when theirs wear out!
    Date published: 2016-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Blanket Bought it only for emergency situations, so it is not in use a lot at all. But I love the Blanket. It fits my horses perfect and looks very sturdy! The Warranty makes it even more worth to buy.
    Date published: 2016-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best!! I have 3 of these and 1 got a large tear in the shoulder and Smartpak had no problem with a return. I decided to keep it until it ripped more since it didn't render the blanket useless. Has not ripped any further which shows the quality that these blankets are. I am very happy with these and will probably buy a 4th so I will have an extra one for washing or replacement. My horses would go through blankets in a couple months before and better quality ones in a year. It's been about 2 years with these and still holding up and keeping them dry! Don't waste your money replacing blankets every 1-2 yrs. Buy this one and be worry free for a guarantee 10 yrs. I'm sure there will be horses that damage these before that time but they will be replaced, and I would really like to know what kind of monster could do it since my monsters haven't. .lol
    Date published: 2016-11-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Turnout Sheet Seems Well made and fits well. Anxious to see how it hold up.
    Date published: 2016-11-18
    • y_2017, m_1, d_19, h_1
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_24, tr_508
    • loc_en_US, sid_10621, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders