Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Ultimate Turnout

SmartPak
- Item #20621

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Battle the elements this winter with the SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket, our toughest waterproof blanket yet! With heavy-duty nylon, this blanket is great for a horse that is tough on blankets. We're so sure it will last for years to come that we've backed with a 10-Year Indestructible Guarantee. We've got you and your horse covered - no matter what! Imported.

10 Year Indestructible Guarantee- the fine print:
We are so confident in the toughness and durability of the SmartPak Ultimate Nylon Turnout Blanket, that if anything happens to this blanket within 10 years of your purchase, we’ll replace or refund it—no matter what! It’s that easy. However, the guarantee does not cover blankets that have embroidery stitched on the barrel as it compromises the integrity of the blanket.  

Favorite Features

  • Waterproof Heavy-duty nylon:  This special weave of nylon is ultra durable and resists rubs and tears.
  • 1000 denier nylon is ultra durable and the toughest blanket material available
  • Available in Light (no fill), Medium (220g), Heavy  (360g)
  • Nylon outer is waterproof and breathable, so your horse stays dry and protected from the elements without feeling stifled underneath
  • Nylon lining
  • Two low-cross surcingles keep the blanket secure on your horse
  • Quick-clip front closures are easily adjustable and allow you to take your horse's blanket on and off effortlessly
  • Nylon/elastic leg straps allow freedom of movement and keep the blanket from shifting
  • Tail flap provides additional protection from the elements so your horse stays warm and dry

Matching SmartPak Ultimate Neck Rug also available.

Sizing It Up

Available in sizes 69-87" (3" increments)

How to measure a horse

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproof

You Might Like
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Ultimate Turnout is rated 4.6209 out of 5 by 401.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits great, all made Since it's been so warm here I've only used it a few times. It's very well made. Fits my hard to fit Quarter Horse well.
    Date published: 2016-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best blanket on the market! I bought this over a month ago for my 5 year old OTTB. I was worried about him tearing up a blanket with his pasture pal. I loved how this has a 10 year warranty. I have used it almost everyday for a month and not one rip or hole! He has high withers and is on the skinny side so I was worried about it rubbing. No rubs what so ever! I am very impressed because he got rubs with a Rambo last year.
    Date published: 2016-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best blanket on the market! I bought this over a month ago for my 5 year old OTTB. He was moving to a new farm, and his soon to be pasture mate is very mouthy. I wasn't sure what blanket to get that was affordable yet would still hold up to his playful pal. I purchase this one because of the great price but also the 10 year warranty. I have never been less than thrilled with it! Definitely a great buy, an amazing price but a great blanket too!
    Date published: 2016-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smartpak turnout rivals Rambo What is first impressive about this turnout is the excellent fit on my very solidly built Trakehner mare. Plenty of shoulder room and it allows for her playful antics in the pasture. Definitely breathable as she tends to be a warm horse. Liked it so much I got her the medium weight with the hood. So far it's super durable and washed up well in a cold water wash with white vinegar after an especially muddy week. Finally the style, color combo, and durability make this turnout exceptional for the price. It's right up there with the Rambo turnout we purchased for our other mare!
    Date published: 2016-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent value! I bought this blanket because my waterproof turnouts weren't doing their job any longer. My mare wore it during the unusual rain/snow storms in Oklahoma and stayed dry.
    Date published: 2016-01-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality build, good price This is a constant addition to my winter blanket routine, I use rain sheets to keep my other blankets dry and clean. This should really do the trick
    Date published: 2016-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great turnout! This sheet worked so well, I bought the identical in medium weight! Now so many people at our barn have it, we hope they'll start making more colors!!
    Date published: 2015-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific blanket Great blanket for the price! Fits my short back TB really well and kept him dry so far. Highly recommend!!
    Date published: 2015-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I bought this blanket for my four year old OTTB who is very very hard on blankets. We have had it for over a month now and it is still in perfect condition! This is the only blanket I want to buy ever again!
    Date published: 2015-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Compared to Many Others Love this turnout for my size 87 boy. Had almost every brand shipped from several other retailers and this one fit him best and definitely was the best value. Plus it is super stylish on a dark chesnut. It's a relief to know it will be replaced if it doesn't hold up - especially after all that blanket shopping! Don't want to do that for another 10 years!
    Date published: 2015-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the gussets My horse has deep shoulders and the large gussets help her stay comfy even in cold weather
    Date published: 2015-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST turnout blanket I've wasted so much money over the years on other blankets. Those blankets end up with rips, or bent buckles within months. I've been using the SmartPak Ultimate turnout for two or three years now, and they are still in great shape. Thanks for making a product that holds up to real horses and doesn't bankrupt us owners!
    Date published: 2015-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best blankets ever! We bought an uninsulated Ultimate Turnout after having a waterproofing problem with another brand of turnout. This blanket fits my daughter's mare great - plenty of room in the shoulder and great coverage. The 10 year guarantee gives peace of mind that should we have any problems, SmartPak will stand behind their product. In fact, we liked it so much, we purchased the medium weight also. Thank you SmartPak!!
    Date published: 2015-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket!! The material of this blanket is awesome, really tough and with stands hard play. Made very well with lots of extras and fits well.
    Date published: 2015-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket! It's a great quality blanket, and you can't beat the guarantee!
    Date published: 2015-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome blanket I bought this blanket over a month ago. I already had the medium weight one. But wanted a lite weight for those warmer days. It fits great, I love the front snaps, and the buckles for adjustment. I will be buying these blankets for all my horses as they need replacing.
    Date published: 2015-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality Good quality turnout blanket, midweight blanket has good amount of warmth without being too heavy and bulky. So far the other horses were not able to rip or tear the outer shell of the blanket.
    Date published: 2015-12-26
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed Ordered this a few weeks ago in time to try it for that spell of rain we recieved. After 1 day it had soaked through the blanket and my horse was wet. Would not recommend to anyone.
    Date published: 2015-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket at a good price. I purchased this blanket for my new mare and I absolutely love it. The fit is perfect and so far seems very durable
    Date published: 2015-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lives up to Name! I purchased this bc horses kept ripping my horse's turnout. It been about a month now and NO TEARS! plus it's SmartPak so I knew it would be great and they would stand by their warranty!
    Date published: 2015-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket I bought this for my elderly horse and liked it so much I bought a second one for my other horse. I like that it's guaranteed against rips (no signs of any damage) The fit is good for my Arabs but I did go down a size for the second blanket (both horses wear the same size). We've had lots of rain and the blankets have kept the horses dry. I hope that I can report that they're still waterproof at the end of the season.
    Date published: 2015-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite turnout these are basically indestructible - horses seem to be very comfortable in them and they stay in place. They wash up great.
    Date published: 2015-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't Beat the Warranty I think Rambos are still a nicer blanket than these, but they hold up well (my pony had was in the sheet with the Rambo layers 24/7 last year and it's still going) and the replacement, which I have already had to use, was fantastic. They fit well, though I had to size down 3" from his Rambo size. All in all, a great blanket I'd recommend to anyone.
    Date published: 2015-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket! I have three of these blankets - two sheets and 1 medium fill. They look very nice and are durable. The quality is great. The Guarantee
    Date published: 2015-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality! Bought this blanket for my TB a few weeks ago. Very happy with the quality and fit! Well made, tough blanket, stays in place, no rubs, keeps him warm and dry! No snags or issues at all so far, in spite of being on a TB who lives out 24/7 in a field with 15-20 others. Best blanket I've had so far!
    Date published: 2015-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy with this blanket, overall. This blanket stands up to rolling horses and scrubbing off the resulting mud. I have used these blankets two winter seasons now and no rips. The only thing I don't like is that the hardware seems to be nickel plated and is starting to rust. Otherwise, this seems to be a great blanket for the long haul. I'm glad they added heavy weight this year. I use lightweight for early winter, switching to heavyweight over our extremely cold winters in the mountains of far northeast Oregon. I buy them on sale because I use two weights per horse and I blanket 6 horses.
    Date published: 2015-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pyrhana tough! This is the 3rd Ultimate turnout I have purchased. The first 2 survived the 'pyrhanas' masquerading as my horses, so I got one for Manny, notorious destroyer of anything within teeth range! The fit is great, the ability to withstand my horse's antics outstanding, and the value is unbeatable. Absolutely would recommend this product
    Date published: 2015-12-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Different fit from the Deluxe You can't beat the warranty on this blanket, which is why I chose it. At 40% off, why not?!I ordered the no fill (sheet) in a 75 for my stocky built, 16.1, Thoroughbred gelding because I already have a SP Deluxe sheet, which I love, that's a tad too big on him in a 78. Well, the Ultimate 75 was just a bit too small and fit sort of weird in the neck. It gaps outward on the side of his neck, but pulls across his shoulders. His Deluxe sheet fits his shape perfectly, so I sent the 75 back to exchange it for a 78 Rockin SP to see if that fixes the fit issue. I also bought an 81 for my 17 hand Shire/TB cross, which I sent back for an 84. (She wears an 81 in Weatherbeeta and an 84 in Dover, so I never know...) The fit seemed to be okay on her though.The Ultimate sheet is beautiful. It's thick without a mesh inner lining, like the Deluxe has. (I like the mesh lining) It has sturdy, thick but soft, leg straps. The snap front closure is great, but I wish they'd make the strap so that you can replace the snap. As it is, you have to replace the strap and the snap because it is one attached piece. (But, hey, there's a ten year warranty, remember??)I can't comment on the durability since it hasn't been used. I will say that my three year old Deluxe sheet came in after two inches of solid rain with the horse soaking wet. Only a tiny dry area was on her back. It's toast as far as being waterproof anymore, which is why I'm going for the Ultimate!SmartPak is always great on returns and sales, so buy this blanket/sheet and you should find a good match with either this Ultimate or the Rockin SP.TEN year warranty!!
    Date published: 2015-12-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Didn't work for us Unfortunately this didn't work my horse. He's an APHA but not super wide or bulky so I order this blanket instead of the other version because reviewers were saying that the neck opening on that one was too big. He measures a 75 and I ordered a 72. The size was good but it was way too big in the neck opening. Being so big and not having a cupped shoulder caused it to rub his shoulders quite badly.The material, straps and fittings were very nice and overall it looked quite durable.
    Date published: 2015-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doesn't slip So far so good. I had to replace an old blanket that kept slipping. This one is the straightest I've ever had in 18 years.
    Date published: 2015-12-23
    • 2016-02-07T15:07CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_18, tr_383
    • loc_en_US, sid_10621, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.