Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #20621
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
AutoShip and Save Time (Details)

days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Protect your horse from winter’s worst with the ultimate in turnout armor! The SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket is our toughest waterproof blanket yet. This blanket features a heavy-duty nylon that resists rubs and tears, making it the ideal choice for a horse that is tough on blankets. We’re so sure it will last for years to come that we’ve backed it with a 10-Year Indestructible Guarantee. We’ve got you and your horse covered – no matter what!

Material:
1050D Nylon Cordura HTY

10-Year Indestructible Guarantee- the fine print:
We are so confident in the toughness and durability of the SmartPak Ultimate Nylon Turnout Blanket, that if anything happens to this blanket within 10 years of your purchase, we’ll replace or refund it—no matter what! It’s that easy. However, the guarantee does not cover blankets that have embroidery stitched anywhere other than the surcingle straps, as it compromises the integrity of the blanket.  

Also Available:
Matching SmartPak Ultimate Neck Rug (Fill: 0g, 220g)
SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Sheet (Fill: 0g)

Imported.

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing

Favorite Features

  • Heavy-duty 1000 denier nylon material features a special weave that is ultra-durable and resists rubs and tears, making it the toughest blanket material available
  • Nylon outer is waterproof and breathable so your horse can stay dry and protected from the elements without feeling stifled underneath
  • Nylon lining   
  • Quick-clip front closures are easily adjustable and allow you to take your horse's blanket on and off effortlessly
  • Two low-cross surcingles and nylon/elastic leg straps allow for freedom of movement while keeping the blanket securely on your horse and preventing shifting
  • Tail flap provides additional protection from the elements so your horse stays warm and dry
  •  Available in Medium (220g) or Heavy (360g)
Key Specifications
  • Denier: 1050D
  • Fabric: Nylon
  • Fill: 220g, 360g
  • Closure Style: Quick-clip

Sizing

Available in sizes 69-87" (3" increments)

How to measure a horse
What Customers Say:

Specifications

Denier 1050D
Fabric Nylon
Fill 220g, 360g
Surcingles Low-cross surcingles
Lining Nylon
Gussets Yes
Closure Style Quick-clip
Neck Style Standard
Leg Straps/Tail Cord Leg straps
Tail Flap Yes
Neck Rug/Hood No
Customizable Embroidery
Manufacturer Warranty 10 Year Warranty
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Baker Tartan Blanket is 100% triple weave ...
    Description:
    "The Baker Tartan Blanket is 100% triple weave acrylic fabric which provides strength, color fastness, and allows for easy laundering. Comes with 2"" Dark Green Binding, Dark Green Bias Surcingles with Stainless Steel Hardware, 2 Dark Green Front Straps, and ...
    "Keeping your horse turned out appropriately for your ...
    Description:
    "Keeping your horse turned out appropriately for your climate will be easy. This breathable liner quickly and easily attaches to selected Rambo®, Rhino® and Amigo® Blankets. The Horseware® Liner is available in 100g or 200g of thermobonded fiberfill. All you ...
    "Since 1944, Mayatex has provided durable saddle blankets ...
    Description:
    "Since 1944, Mayatex has provided durable saddle blankets of original design woven with the finest materials. Two generations of design and manufacturing experience enables Mayatex to meet the Equine Industry's demand for quality saddle blankets. Whether it is stylish show ...
    "The Catalina Saddle Blanket is one of the ...
    Description:
    "The Catalina Saddle Blanket is one of the new Competition Series show blankets. Enjoy the show-stopping color combinations. It is woven with New Zealand wool. Approx. weight: 6.0 lbs."
    "The Rambo® Deluxe Dog Blanket features an adjustable ...
    Description:
    "The Rambo® Deluxe Dog Blanket features an adjustable neck closure, leg arch for freedom of movement and elasticated surcingle for a snug fit. A must for any dogs winter wardrobe! Material: Double bonded anti-pilling fleece with thermal and wicking properties. ...
    "With excellent thermal and wicking qualities, the Rambo ...
    Description:
    "With excellent thermal and wicking qualities, the Rambo Deluxe Fleece features the classic Rambo cut with a smart checked inner available in the classic Newmarket colors. This super quality fleece effectively wicks moisture keeping your horse warm while allowing to ...
    "The Rambo Ionic Stable Blanket by Horseware Ireland ...
    Description:
    "The Rambo Ionic Stable Blanket by Horseware Ireland is a sturdy 1000 D option that will keep your horse nice and cozy while wearing. Classic cut blanket includes thermobonded fiberfil which prolongs heat retention keeping your horse warmer longer. Double ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 655.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Completely non-functional for my horse Because of the fit of this blanket, water drained straight down under the blanket and soaked my horse in addition to rubbing his shoulders. It's nicer for him to have no sheet than to use this one. Beware owners of horses with big shoulders and upright necks!
    Date published: 2017-04-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good fit, front hardware could be more durable We'll see how this holds up - it seems quite well constructed. my horse has removed one front buckle keeper after only 1 week of wear though. At least I have the guarantee to fall back on! I'd recommend heavier hardware for the front closure snaps.
    Date published: 2017-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! So happy that SmartPak is offering a 10 year guarantee on their turnouts. Love the front closure system and the fit. Thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 2017-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this sheet This really is the ultimate turnout sheet. Well constructed, durable, functional and well designed hardware. Two thumbs up!
    Date published: 2017-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent blanket No rips or tears with my horse that is very hard on blankets. He is also tough to fit and prone to blanket rubs in the shoulders. Blanket fits him beautifully and I'm not even using a shoulder guard- no rubs at all. Love the chest clips for ease of use. Good breathability of the blanket so they don't get too hot when blankets stay on a little too long in the spring. This is the only blanket I will buy for our other horses from now on.
    Date published: 2017-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why wouldn't you? My horses are not hard on their sheets and blankets. They can wear the same ones for many years except for the fact that most of them fail in the waterproofing department. I live in the Pacific NW and we get A LOT of rain. Most sheets last 3 years before they will not shed water any more. And I have them re-water proofed every year. So, when I could get a 10 year warranty on water proof-ness WHY WOULDN'T I? Plus, they are nice, well made sheets. Thanks Smartpak!
    Date published: 2017-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best value! Amazing blanket and replacement guarantee for an incredible price! Will ALWAYS buy these blankets from here on out!
    Date published: 2017-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very durable nice fit Bought this for my 4 yr old mare who has a slight build, 15 hands. Bought the 72" sheet for her and sized up for the medium weight blanket to 75". Very pleased with this purchase. The material and stitching are very durable and are regularly tested by this athletic mare when she is out with the other horses. Except for mud, it shows no sign of wear and has kept her dry (with the neck cover that I share between the sheet and blanket) during the frequent cold rain, sleet, etc weather that we have had this winter. Very happy with the med weight for an unclipped horse. Even if she is clipped the med weight should suffice in southcentral PA where most daytime temps are between 20 and 40 degrees in the winter.
    Date published: 2017-03-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from The go-to turnout for spring rain Very durable material, easy on and off (for me not the horse), nice hardware. I bought 2 of these for the wierd warm weather this winter to reduce the amount of mud that I need to clean off of the horses. Works so well that I added a neck cover to one for better protection. The best part is the 10 year warranty, not that I should need it. This sheet has stood up to the wild antics of my young mare and doesn't shift and shows no wear except a good layer of mud! The mare's sheet had to be washed several times last fall to remove skunk odor after she investigated too closely in the pasture. Had one of the snaps quit opening all the way but Smartpak replaced it right away. So far so good!
    Date published: 2017-03-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from 10 yr. guarantee makes them the best! The ultimate rugs fit well, stay waterproof and breathe well, so they don't sweat under them. The thing that really sets them apart though is that smartpak is wonderful about honoring their 10 yr. guarantee. We have lots of young horses and ponies that can be tough on rugs-- these rugs hold up to them better than any others. All 12 of our own have them and I always recommend them to clients.
    Date published: 2017-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable Turnout! I bought this blanket for a new mare I got. I wanted something that could withstand my gelding that loves to rip other horses blankets. I have bought other blankets in the past that couldn't pass the rip test my gelding would give them. However, this blanket has lasted two winters with no rips. The only I would change is to order a size smaller because it does run a little big compared to blankets like Weatherbeta.
    Date published: 2017-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what you want. I needed a sheet that would act just like a windbreaker for my fat, clipped TB. He loves to Houdini out of blankets and be covered in mud. This sheet has stayed with him, kept him clean, warm (but not too warm if you make sure it hangs like a skirt) and quite happy. Excellent, sturdy quality.
    Date published: 2017-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough blanket We own 10 horses and I decided to bite the bullet and spend the money on one of these blankets after I had 3 ripped blankets in 1 week. That was a couple of months ago and so far, so good. Actually, after 2 weeks, I decided to get another one while they were on sale. One of our horses destroys any blanket that his stable mates are wearing. He is not mean, he just forces the other horses to "play" with him and grabs on to their blankets with his teeth. This is by far the toughest blanket I own and I love the fact that there is a 10 year warranty! Well worth the money.
    Date published: 2017-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from All I can say is "WOW" This blanket purchase was my first experience ordering from SmartPak. All I can say is "WOW". The shipping was lightning fast, even over a holiday weekend and SmartPak put its money where its mouth is with the 10 year indestructible guarantee. This blanket is made like the company's reputation is riding on it. The quality of workmanship is truly impressive. The first time I used it I couldn't get over the thoughtful design features and the cut is great as well. It's my favorite turnout blanket I have ever bought and I will be buying more.
    Date published: 2017-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Durability! I bought this a couple weeks ago when it got warmer and my horse came in from the pasture bone dry after it raining all! I also love the peace of mind of the 10 year indestructible guarantee.
    Date published: 2017-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible Guarantee I like this blanket! My horse destroys everything, and he has yet to destroy this. If he does, it has the best guarantee in the business. It does run a bit smaller than the Rambo and sits higher on the neck. My horse usually wears an 84 but needed to go one size up. It will NOT fit a wide, thick necked warmblood or a large draft.
    Date published: 2017-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit and great value. Happy I have the ultimate. Both my horses are turned out 24-7 and these are the only blankets that have stood up to the abuse dished out on a daily basis.
    Date published: 2017-03-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Waterproof I bought this turnout sheet 3 weeks ago and a few days ago the sheet soaked through leaving my mare soaking wet. Would not recommend!
    Date published: 2017-03-12
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not happy with this turnout sheet Within the first week of owning this product our mare was soaking wet underneath the blanket
    Date published: 2017-03-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good rip stop. Like the front buckles I really like most of the features of this blanket. I bought it because it has the best policy for returns and we have a horse who is known for shredding blankets. We bought that horse one of these in January and then this second one in the middle of February. I went with a four star rating because this blanket has been used four times and the cording along the edge is coming out. I noticed this to be true on both of these blankets which seems a little ridiculous for the price. Granted it does not impact the effectiveness of the blanket it is a flaw among both we have recently purchased.
    Date published: 2017-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super sheet I've used this for a month and am very happy with this sheet. I wouldn't change a thing. It is very well constructed and fits my Lipizzan great! He has a broad chest and low withers, this does not rub and has plenty of shoulder room.
    Date published: 2017-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit Bought this blanket in medium for a spring coat for my daughter's horse. Weight is perfect for colder March days and nights and spring rains.
    Date published: 2017-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable turnout bkanket I bought this for my gelding that is at the bottom of the pecking order. The other geldings love to try to rip his blanket off! So far so good with the new ultimate turnout!
    Date published: 2017-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent fit and durability! I bought this for my young horse that is VERY hard on his clothing! Not only was this blanket affordable, but the design and materials are high quality! It's been about 1 month and he has not been able to harm this blanket! Plus, the guarantee that goes with this blanket is to DIE FOR!
    Date published: 2017-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket Glad that I bought this blanket. Great fit and durablility.
    Date published: 2017-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why pay more? This is my second "Ultimate Turnout" purchase. The new baby needed a spring jacket. I mean...I could have paid upwards of $300 for a different brand...but why? Fits great, no tight spots, very durable and it looks fab. I'd rather spend that "extra" money on something else. This is going to get dirty! Time to go shop...
    Date published: 2017-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Love this turnout sheet. However, what I really love is the fact that it's guaranteed for 10 years!
    Date published: 2017-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome blanket! This is my third one of theses blankets that I have purchased (3 different horses) I bought these for my geldings. To say they are rough on blankets might be a bit of an understatement. Previous to finding the Ultimate Turnout Blanket, I was having to purchase new ones every Fall (different brands)for them! So far, the blankets are holding up really well in spite of my boys and did I mention, super fast shipping!!! In the future, I will definitely be replacing the rest of the herds blankets with these!
    Date published: 2017-03-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice quality didn't fit The blanket overall seemed good quality. However on my 15.2 standardbred mare the 75 was tight through the shoulders and slightly short on the rump. I loosened the front buckles all the way, which then left a patch of exposed hook Velcro that had i kept the blanket would have been a hair/ hay collector. The neck line running down from the withers to the shoulders was not snug, but left a gaping opening that others commented would pool rain or snow and funnel water under the blanket. SmartPak was great and worked with me to find another blanket to fit better. Typically a 78" weatherbeeta is just a tad big which is why I went for the 75 per reviews of running large.
    Date published: 2017-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ultimate Turnout Sheet I purchased the heavier model of this blanket last year. This year with all the off and on rain the lighter SP UlitmateT turnout sheet was much lighter and easier to put on and off my tall Irish Warmblood mare. Loved the guarantee as well. It is a great blanket!
    Date published: 2017-03-03
    • y_2017, m_12, d_15, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_31, tr_624
    • loc_en_US, sid_10621, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 31ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders