Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #20621
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Protect your horse from winter’s worst with the ultimate in turnout armor! The SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket is our toughest waterproof blanket yet. This blanket features a heavy-duty nylon that resists rubs and tears, making it the ideal choice for a horse that is tough on blankets. We’re so sure it will last for years to come that we’ve backed it with a 10-Year Indestructible Guarantee. We’ve got you and your horse covered – no matter what!

10-Year Indestructible Guarantee- the fine print:
We are so confident in the toughness and durability of the SmartPak Ultimate Nylon Turnout Blanket, that if anything happens to this blanket within 10 years of your purchase, we’ll replace or refund it—no matter what! It’s that easy. However, the guarantee does not cover blankets that have embroidery stitched anywhere other than the surcingle straps, as it compromises the integrity of the blanket.  

Also Available:
Matching SmartPak Ultimate Neck Rug (Fill: 0g, 220g)
SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Sheet (Fill: 0g)

Imported.

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing

Favorite Features

  • Heavy-duty 1000 denier nylon material features a special weave that is ultra-durable and resists rubs and tears, making it the toughest blanket material available
  • Nylon outer is waterproof and breathable so your horse can stay dry and protected from the elements without feeling stifled underneath
  • Nylon lining   
  • Quick-clip front closures are easily adjustable and allow you to take your horse's blanket on and off effortlessly
  • Two low-cross surcingles and nylon/elastic leg straps allow for freedom of movement while keeping the blanket securely on your horse and preventing shifting
  • Tail flap provides additional protection from the elements so your horse stays warm and dry
  •  Available in Medium (220g) or Heavy (360g)
Key Specifications
  • Denier: 1000
  • Fabric: Ballistic nylon
  • Fill: 220g, 360g
  • Closure Style: Quick-clip

Sizing

Available in sizes 69-87" (3" increments)

How to measure a horse
What Customers Say:

Specifications

Denier 1000
Fabric Ballistic nylon
Fill 220g, 360g
Surcingles Low-cross surcingles
Lining Nylon
Gussets Yes
Closure Style Quick-clip
Neck Style Standard
Leg Straps/Tail Cord Leg straps
Tail Flap Yes
Neck Rug/Hood No
Customizable Embroidery
Manufacturer Warranty 10 Year Warranty
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Keep your horse dry in style with The ...
    Description:
    "Keep your horse dry in style with The Pessoa Alpine 1200D Turnout Sheet! This top of the line waterproof and breathable turnout sheet features a 1200 denier Oxford polyester outer shell and 420D quick-dry nylon lining. Your horse will be ...
    "Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, ...
    Description:
    "Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, and hindquarters of stockier breeds like Quarter Horses, the Rockin' SP Deluxe Waterproof Sheet offers superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. Also Available: Matching Rockin' SP Deluxe Waterproof Neck Rug (Fill: ...
    "Voted the ""Best Summer Turnout"" out by John ...
    Description:
    "Voted the ""Best Summer Turnout"" out by John Lyons ""The Perfect Horse"", the Saratoga Summer Turnout is the best selling flysheet from Saratoga Horseworks. The fabric is non-absorbent and wicks away sweat from the horse allowing it to cool more ...
    "The Amigo Foal Blanket is suitable for foals ...
    Description:
    "The Amigo Foal Blanket is suitable for foals from birth, for outdoor and indoor use. Unique innovative adjustment system to allow the blanket to grow with your foal. Has expanding front & side adjustments allowing expansion by 6 inches in ...
    "The fit and features you need for a ...
    Description:
    "The fit and features you need for a comfortable, warm horse. The Rockin' SP Hood has a contoured design specific for stock breeds like Quarter Horses. 300g fill"
    Why We Love This Designed with the warmth, ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This Designed with the warmth, fit, and comfort of your horse in mind, this contoured quilted stable blanket provides classic Big D fit with the option to customize! Also Available: Matching Big D Custom All American Hood ...
    "The Rambo Newmarket Fleece Quarter Sheet is a ...
    Description:
    "The Rambo Newmarket Fleece Quarter Sheet is a classical addition to your must have winter riding gear! Double layer fleece construction provides durability and wicks moisture away from your horse's body so your horse can warm up effectively. Imported"

    Reviews

    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 607.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough blanket We own 10 horses and I decided to bite the bullet and spend the money on one of these blankets after I had 3 ripped blankets in 1 week. That was a couple of months ago and so far, so good. Actually, after 2 weeks, I decided to get another one while they were on sale. One of our horses destroys any blanket that his stable mates are wearing. He is not mean, he just forces the other horses to "play" with him and grabs on to their blankets with his teeth. This is by far the toughest blanket I own and I love the fact that there is a 10 year warranty! Well worth the money.
    Date published: 2017-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from All I can say is "WOW" This blanket purchase was my first experience ordering from SmartPak. All I can say is "WOW". The shipping was lightning fast, even over a holiday weekend and SmartPak put its money where its mouth is with the 10 year indestructible guarantee. This blanket is made like the company's reputation is riding on it. The quality of workmanship is truly impressive. The first time I used it I couldn't get over the thoughtful design features and the cut is great as well. It's my favorite turnout blanket I have ever bought and I will be buying more.
    Date published: 2017-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Durability! I bought this a couple weeks ago when it got warmer and my horse came in from the pasture bone dry after it raining all! I also love the peace of mind of the 10 year indestructible guarantee.
    Date published: 2017-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible Guarantee I like this blanket! My horse destroys everything, and he has yet to destroy this. If he does, it has the best guarantee in the business. It does run a bit smaller than the Rambo and sits higher on the neck. My horse usually wears an 84 but needed to go one size up. It will NOT fit a wide, thick necked warmblood or a large draft.
    Date published: 2017-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit and great value. Happy I have the ultimate. Both my horses are turned out 24-7 and these are the only blankets that have stood up to the abuse dished out on a daily basis.
    Date published: 2017-03-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Waterproof I bought this turnout sheet 3 weeks ago and a few days ago the sheet soaked through leaving my mare soaking wet. Would not recommend!
    Date published: 2017-03-12
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not happy with this turnout sheet Within the first week of owning this product our mare was soaking wet underneath the blanket
    Date published: 2017-03-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good rip stop. Like the front buckles I really like most of the features of this blanket. I bought it because it has the best policy for returns and we have a horse who is known for shredding blankets. We bought that horse one of these in January and then this second one in the middle of February. I went with a four star rating because this blanket has been used four times and the cording along the edge is coming out. I noticed this to be true on both of these blankets which seems a little ridiculous for the price. Granted it does not impact the effectiveness of the blanket it is a flaw among both we have recently purchased.
    Date published: 2017-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super sheet I've used this for a month and am very happy with this sheet. I wouldn't change a thing. It is very well constructed and fits my Lipizzan great! He has a broad chest and low withers, this does not rub and has plenty of shoulder room.
    Date published: 2017-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit Bought this blanket in medium for a spring coat for my daughter's horse. Weight is perfect for colder March days and nights and spring rains.
    Date published: 2017-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable turnout bkanket I bought this for my gelding that is at the bottom of the pecking order. The other geldings love to try to rip his blanket off! So far so good with the new ultimate turnout!
    Date published: 2017-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent fit and durability! I bought this for my young horse that is VERY hard on his clothing! Not only was this blanket affordable, but the design and materials are high quality! It's been about 1 month and he has not been able to harm this blanket! Plus, the guarantee that goes with this blanket is to DIE FOR!
    Date published: 2017-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket Glad that I bought this blanket. Great fit and durablility.
    Date published: 2017-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why pay more? This is my second "Ultimate Turnout" purchase. The new baby needed a spring jacket. I mean...I could have paid upwards of $300 for a different brand...but why? Fits great, no tight spots, very durable and it looks fab. I'd rather spend that "extra" money on something else. This is going to get dirty! Time to go shop...
    Date published: 2017-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Love this turnout sheet. However, what I really love is the fact that it's guaranteed for 10 years!
    Date published: 2017-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome blanket! This is my third one of theses blankets that I have purchased (3 different horses) I bought these for my geldings. To say they are rough on blankets might be a bit of an understatement. Previous to finding the Ultimate Turnout Blanket, I was having to purchase new ones every Fall (different brands)for them! So far, the blankets are holding up really well in spite of my boys and did I mention, super fast shipping!!! In the future, I will definitely be replacing the rest of the herds blankets with these!
    Date published: 2017-03-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice quality didn't fit The blanket overall seemed good quality. However on my 15.2 standardbred mare the 75 was tight through the shoulders and slightly short on the rump. I loosened the front buckles all the way, which then left a patch of exposed hook Velcro that had i kept the blanket would have been a hair/ hay collector. The neck line running down from the withers to the shoulders was not snug, but left a gaping opening that others commented would pool rain or snow and funnel water under the blanket. SmartPak was great and worked with me to find another blanket to fit better. Typically a 78" weatherbeeta is just a tad big which is why I went for the 75 per reviews of running large.
    Date published: 2017-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turnout happy
    Date published: 2017-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ultimate Turnout Sheet I purchased the heavier model of this blanket last year. This year with all the off and on rain the lighter SP UlitmateT turnout sheet was much lighter and easier to put on and off my tall Irish Warmblood mare. Loved the guarantee as well. It is a great blanket!
    Date published: 2017-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very sturdy! This sheet is very well made, heavy duty, and after 30 days still looks brand new even with her very destructive pasture mates! I will replace all my sheets and blankets with Smartpak Ultimate!
    Date published: 2017-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best there is I bought my first one of these 3 years ago and now all 3 of my horses and my two boarders have them. Everyone lives outside so having a top quality blanket is very important. These things hold up to the nastiest stickiest mud, biggest blizzards, high altitude sun, and driving rain. AND they come with the 10 year guarantee. I've tried many other brands, but I'll never buy anything else. Comfort, fit, and performance is head and shoulders above the rest. Good one, Smartpak!
    Date published: 2017-02-21
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not waterproof My horse wore this blanket 3 times, twice when it was a little rainy out. Last night we got about 1/4 inch of rain and the blanket was soaked through and my poor horse was wet underneath. Don't know if this one blanket was defective or if it is a general problem but I will be sending it back. I liked the sheet otherwise. Quality for waterproof poor, quality for every thing else good to excellent.
    Date published: 2017-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful blankets! I wanted something durable. since this is the first time my colt has had a blanket I wasn't sure if he'd be good with it. The quality is great, fits perfect and doesn't shift when he rolls.
    Date published: 2017-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Slows down a blanket shredder! Thank god for this blanket and the warranty! I have a horse who thinks it's fun to ruin his buddies blankets-- we are talking he drags everyone around by the chest strap and tail flap! He has ruined SEVEN blankets this winter, including 2 of these, BUT, he could only ruin them when he got a hold of the inside. The outside is nearly bullet-proof, in this case hellion-proof! They are so heavy duty, it stands up to multiple bites from that mischievous horse. Thank you SmartPak for this amazing guarantee and a sturdy blanket!
    Date published: 2017-02-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fit and hardware I bought the deluxe medium weight two years ago. Loved it. So this year I upgraded to the ultimate heavyweight for colder weather. Couldn't be happier.
    Date published: 2017-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blanket of iron!! Still going strong! Blankets last about 2 weeks without some sort of rip or tear from my little angel. And we're talking Rambos & Rhinos, not the cheap stuff that you'd expect to shred. We've had this on for a couple months, with NO RIPS! I can see the areas he's been working on, but has not had success!! So glad I bought this!!!!
    Date published: 2017-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable, beautiful sheet. Needed a sheet for my thoroughbred, who is a blanket destroyer. Destroyed two other sheets in the past two months--both I found in a pile of shreds in the pasture--one he even pooped on. But enter the Ultimate Turnout Sheet: and we are going strong so far! It is beautiful on him, easy to brush dirt off of, and the 10 year guarantee brings me peace of mind. Thank you Smartpak--I'll keep you posted!
    Date published: 2017-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket! I bought this blanket a couple of months ago because my mare out grew her other one. It is durable, fits great, looks great and most of she is comfortable in it!
    Date published: 2017-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome blanket My Christmas Eve rescue (an Appaloosa gelding) needed a complete set of clothes--sheet, midweight and heavyweight turnouts--and nothing I had fit him. I decided to splurge and get him a nice new waterproof sheet and blankets. I ordered the sheet and heavyweight blanket first, and they fit his narrow shoulders perfectly, with no big gap at the base of his neck. The drop is long enough to cover his stifles, and the cut allows him freedom of movement out in the pasture. I also ordered the same blanket in a midweight. These stay in place despite him rolling and running around, and repel the rain well enough that I'm not worried about him getting soaked. My horses live out 24/7, so a sturdy blanket is a must, and these fit the bill perfectly.
    Date published: 2017-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic turnout Super durable, warm and waterproof! Really nice turnout and kept my boy warm through the blizzard last month!
    Date published: 2017-02-14
    • y_2017, m_3, d_24, h_13
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_25, tr_582
    • loc_en_US, sid_10621, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders