Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SmartPak Ultimate Neck Rug

SmartPak
- Item #21211
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Battle the elements this winter with our toughest new neck rug, SmartPak Ultimate Neck Rug.
 
Heavy-duty nylon: Originally developed for flak jackets worn by soldiers in WWII to protect them from flying debris, this special weave of nylon is ultra durable and resists rubs and tears. It's the perfect match for the horse that's hard on his blankets.

10 Year Indestructible Guarantee- the fine print:
We are so confident in the toughness and durability of the SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket, that if anything happens to this blanket within 10 years of your purchase, we’ll replace or refund it—no matter what! It’s that easy. However, the guarantee does not cover blankets that have embroidery stitched anywhere other than the surcingle straps, as it compromises the integrity of the blanket.

Imported.

Also Available:
Matching SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Sheet (Fill: 0g)
SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket (Fill: 220g, 360g)

Favorite Features 

  • Medium weight provides 220g of poly-fill keeps your horse warm and comfortable
  • Light provides premium waterproof protection without fill
  • 1050 denier nylon is ultra durable and the toughest blanket material available
  • Nylon outer is waterproof and breathable, so your horse stays dry and protected from the elements without feeling stifled underneath
  • Nylon lining
  • Sturdy snap attachment with two additional VELCRO® brand closures lets you easily attach the rug to your turnout, keeping it secure so that it can work efficiently 
Key Specifications
  • Denier: 1000
  • Fabric: Ballistic nylon
  • Fill: 0g, 220g
  • Closure Style: Hook and loop

Specifications

Denier 1000
Fabric Ballistic nylon
Fill 0g, 220g
Surcingles Low-cross surcingles
Lining Nylon
Closure Style Hook and loop
Neck Style High neck
Neck Rug/Hood Yes
Customizable No
Manufacturer Warranty 10 Year Warranty
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The ultimate in protection! The Stretchies Hood reduces ...
    Description:
    "The ultimate in protection! The Stretchies Hood reduces rubbing on the shoulders, protects the coat from sun bleaching, helps to reduce hair growth, and polishes the coats. Fully adjustable Stretchies Hood has an easy-to-fasten zipper closure. Elastic and center yoke ...
    "Add classic styling to your horse's functional wardrobe. ...
    Description:
    "Add classic styling to your horse's functional wardrobe. This lovely wool dress sheet offers the wicking and drying benefits of natural wool along with attractive and classic detailing. Perfect for cool days, shows, trailering, and more. Imported."
    "The fit and features you need for a ...
    Description:
    "The fit and features you need for a comfortable, warm horse. The Rockin' SP Deluxe Waterproof Neck Rug has a design specific for stock breeds like Quarter Horses. Also Available: Matching Rockin' SP Deluxe Waterproof Turnout Blanket (Fill: 220g, 360g) ...
    "A staple in our Rockin' SP Blanket Collection, ...
    Description:
    "A staple in our Rockin' SP Blanket Collection, the Rockin' SP Fleece Cooler does double duty! Use it alone as a fleece cooler or dress sheet or as a blanket liner on cold, damp nights to keep your horse warm ...
    "The Baker Irish Weave Anti-Sweat incorporates the best ...
    Description:
    "The Baker Irish Weave Anti-Sweat incorporates the best features from both American and European anti-sweat sheets into one timeless design. Unsurpassed for evenly cooling out a horse. The Baker Irish Weave Anti-Sweat can also be used as a blanket liner ...
    "The fit and features you need for a ...
    Description:
    "The fit and features you need for a comfortable, warm horse. The Rockin' SP Hood has a contoured design specific for stock breeds like Quarter Horses. 300g fill"
    "The Amigo Foal Blanket is suitable for foals ...
    Description:
    "The Amigo Foal Blanket is suitable for foals from birth, for outdoor and indoor use. Unique innovative adjustment system to allow the blanket to grow with your foal. Has expanding front & side adjustments allowing expansion by 6 inches in ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Ultimate Neck Rug is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 68.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good materials, except the Velcro I give it a four, because the outer and inner fabric is good, the clips seem decent quality as well, however the Velcro that attaches to the blanket is subpar. The little piece of Velcro is not seen on very well and this is a problem because my horse just peels it off after that. I went through three, with a wear time of between 4 hours and a night out. I gave up after three and got a combo blanket for the cold nights. So if your horse peels clothes off or has a friend that likes to help, this might be a gamble. SMARTPAK CUSTOMER SERVICE ROCKS AND LAUGHED WITH ME! Everything but the Velcro is great.
    Date published: 2017-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value and fits well. I ordered this to go with the matching waterproof turn out sheet. It fits perfectly. I will say that the Velcro is really hard to deal with, though it does keep the rug in place.
    Date published: 2017-02-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could attach more securely Although I haven't found the hood flapping off in the wind, I will say that the hood runs large and it could attach more securely than 2 stretch tabs and a clip. My arab has a size 72'' Ultimate Sheet and I ordered the Medium hood, which looks fine when I first put it on, but normally I find him with his neck half-dirty because the hood has slid down his neck. Going to exchange it if I can for a small hood.
    Date published: 2017-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from really functional I have used this for about a month and I really like it. So far no problems with durability and it's easy to attach. I got a medium for my 15.3 TB who ears a 75 blanket and it is fine, glad I didn't get the large since he is on the cusp of the sizing.
    Date published: 2017-01-21
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality I bought a blanket to match this. The blanket wet totally through on the first night my horse wore it. The blanket and the hoods were sold as water resistant. I will NEVER buy a blanket or hood from Smartpak.
    Date published: 2017-01-18
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Won't Stay On I love smartpak and they have great customer service that helped a ton with this issue, but I cannot give a high rating for this hood. I got a new hood for this winter, I didn't have any issues with the older design. This new however will not stay closed, I find it nearly everyday flapping around barely clinging to the blanket. It all culminated when the hood fell completely off, ripping the D ring off the blanket and tearing the velcro attachments. After uttering a few choice words, I threw the blanket and hood in the wash and shipped it back to smartpak. They gladly took it back and exchanged it for a high neck medium weight. I am very happy with the fit of the high neck, I think it actually fits better than the blanket on my girl.
    Date published: 2017-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits Great I ordered this hood to go along with the matching blanket. I am pleased with purchase. It attaches snugly to the blanket and the Velcro closure secures hood well around neck. So far it has held up great to the abuse of my 4yo and keeps him warm when it temps dip
    Date published: 2016-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from As usual, very tuff stuff! Recently purchased the neck rug to match Casino's Ultimate, heavy blanket. Now he is mostly protected from the winter elements and is hopefully comfortable and that makes me feel comfortable.
    Date published: 2016-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Blanket!!! Fits great and very durable. Great leg straps to withstand the test of time. Surcingle straps are built to allow for movement and stretching. Bought this for my daughter's hard to fit Pont and loved it so much I bought the matching hood!
    Date published: 2016-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The small fits my TWH perfect Love the fit, wasn't sure it would fit him but the small fits my three year old walking horse perfect. Quality is awesome. Thank u smartpak
    Date published: 2016-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's worked really well since I bought it. It keeps my horse warm and dry in all weather
    Date published: 2016-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit with the Ultimate Turnout I purchased the neck cover to go with an 87" Ultimate Turnout blanket. The neck cover is a size large(the biggest option) and it is a bit small for my horse. I wish it was a little longer and wider, but it covers part of his neck. His Thoroughbred toddler-friend can get the attachments off, so it has been destroyed once but thanks to SmartPak's warranty system, I got a new one at no cost. The reason why I got the Ultimate Turnout and neck cover is because of Smartpak's great customer service and 10-year warranty.
    Date published: 2016-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy, Fits great, easy to attach I bought a large medium weight hood to use with a size 78 medium and heavy ultimate TO. Fits perfectly. My guy is a 16.1 h 1200 lb TB/clydesdale. Sturdy construction and quality materials. Couldnt be happier with the set. It is replacing a Smartpak Classic set that was beat to pieces in 2 winters. Quality and construction of the Ultimate set is far better.
    Date published: 2016-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality and love the 10 year warranty. Fits my ZIPPO great and he looks so handsome and seems to keep him toasty warm. Love the velcro straps to attach the hood to the blanket to the hood or visa versa.So far, so good.
    Date published: 2016-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features: 1000 denier nylon, 220 polyfill Needed to replace my missing neck rug. Matches blanket and fits perfectly. SmartPak makes a quality product.
    Date published: 2016-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice neck rug Excellent quality, didn't get to use it long because the blanket I bought at the same time kept her to hot.
    Date published: 2016-11-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from awkward velcro, runs a little small the L fits my horse who usually wears a 75 or 78 blanket and it long enough but tight around the neck for my warmblood who's a 78-80. I wish they made an XL.
    Date published: 2016-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Generous fit and great durability This is my second SmartPak Ultimate blanket purchase, and I love them! They even withstand weanlings!
    Date published: 2016-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! As always, immensely pleased with the fit and quality. My horse is very hard on his blankets and these have stood up to the donkey test! Thank you for an excellent product!
    Date published: 2016-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and great fit Bought this for my playful 4 year old...it has taken a beating and is still in great shape! It also has a great fit.
    Date published: 2016-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm and dry I was very cautious buying this due to the mixed reviews. Maybe my horse is just built perfectly for it, because I've been using the neck rug (in no fill and 220g fill) consistently since November with no problems. No twisting, no moving, no sagging. He comes in warm and dry from his jaw line to his tail. For anyone curious, he's a draft cross, about 16.1, fairly substantial neck that ties in high on his shoulders. I've seen him get down and wallow in the mud, then get up without the rug moving at all.
    Date published: 2016-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Durable Super product! After many blankets...this has held up for a young horse that we call "Wreck it Ralph"! Let your imagination do the rest, you could never come up with more creative ways than him to wear his blankets. Very well made, durable and it looks nice!
    Date published: 2016-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best blanket on the market!! best blanket on the market! great fit, very warm, last forever
    Date published: 2016-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartPak Ultimate Neck Rug Bought this for my horse, Huey, for his first winter in Colorado! It's been exactly what he needed to keep dry and warm!
    Date published: 2016-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This neck hood is exactly what I was hoping for! This is my horse, Huey, first winter in Colorado! This neck hood is perfect for keeping him dry and warm !
    Date published: 2016-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Strong Material A great price with a great warranty. Strong material
    Date published: 2016-01-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love the blanket, but the hood needs some work I bought this to go with the ultimate SP turnout. It's alright, but there could definitely be some improvements made. Like I said for the blanket, I would have liked more color options. Further, the only closures are velcro, which a horse that is hard on blankets would rip up immediately. It would be better with a buckle or something more durable. I wish they made it so that it was actually part of the blanket, too, instead of having to order a separate piece. That being said, it runs quite large, but stays in place and does the job. I think it is overpriced for the quality.
    Date published: 2016-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great but a little big This is a great blanket and neck attachment! Only thing is the neck attachment runs a bit big but otherwise it's an amazing product!
    Date published: 2015-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice fit & seems sturdy I bought a large for my WB even though she is very refined and wears a 75" blanket and I'm glad I went up a size from what they recommended.Pros: Heavy weight, stays in place, doesn't rub.Cons: This will not easily connect to any other blanket I own because of where the D rings on most blankets are located. But it matches perfectly with the SmartPak turnout I bought at the same time!
    Date published: 2015-12-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Rubs out mane I used this to protect my horse's neck from cold rain while she was clipped for the winter, and sadly it rubbed out the entire bottom half of her mane. Probably just the fit or from grazing, but the quality is great and the waterproofing held up well. If it fits your horse you'll be in good shape.
    Date published: 2015-12-03
    • y_2017, m_3, d_24, h_17
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_65
    • loc_en_US, sid_11211, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders