Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

SmartPak Ultimate Neck Rug

SmartPak
- Item #21211
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Battle the elements this winter with our toughest new neck rug, SmartPak Ultimate Neck Rug.
 
Heavy-duty nylon: Originally developed for flak jackets worn by soldiers in WWII to protect them from flying debris, this special weave of nylon is ultra durable and resists rubs and tears. It's the perfect match for the horse that's hard on his blankets.

Favorite Features 

  • Medium weight provides 220 g of polyfill keeps your horse warm and comfortable
  • Light provides premium waterproof protection without fill
  • 1050 denier nylon is ultra durable and the toughest blanket material available
  • Nylon outer is waterproof and breathable, so your horse stays dry and protected from the elements without feeling stifled underneath
  • Nylon lining
  • Sturdy snap attachment with two additional VELCRO® brand closures lets you easily attach the rug to your turnout, keeping it secure so that it can work efficiently 

10 Year Indestructible Guarantee- the fine print:
We are so confident in the toughness and durability of the SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket, that if anything happens to this blanket within 10 years of your purchase, we’ll replace or refund it—no matter what! It’s that easy. However, the guarantee does not cover blankets that have embroidery stitched on the barrel as it compromises the integrity of the blanket. 

Imported.

Matching SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket also available.

Sizing It Up

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Ultimate Neck Rug is rated 3.7931 out of 5 by 29.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great neck rug! I love this neck rug, it has lots of coverage and is well put together, I have one with no fill and just ordered one with 200g fill to replace my old one!
    Date published: 2014-12-08
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Neck closures need help After one week the Velcro neck closures completely unstitched.
    Date published: 2014-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy!!! Great Blanket hood! Keep the neck warm without rubbing the mane out!!!
    Date published: 2014-11-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from can't seem to keep it on This product is tuff material but doesn't like to stay on.
    Date published: 2014-11-12
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from A little dissapointed Unfortunately I am dissapointed with this neck. It twists immediately and just won't stay on straight. Slides back as well. Also don't love the velcro closures on it.
    Date published: 2014-10-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Snug and Warm!!! I bought this to add to my horses blanket so that he can retain more body heat from his neck and shoulder area. What a great fit and great warmth for him.
    Date published: 2014-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased My horse managed to damage the item in less than 1 hour of owing, Smartpak returned with no questions asked and shipped new!!!!!!
    Date published: 2014-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Value Purchased this for a horse with a pasture mate that is very hard on blankets. So far it is still in great shape and the guarantee gives peace of mind :-)
    Date published: 2014-03-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fit and nice looking! I bought this to go with the SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket. This hood fit my 14.3 hand Mustang the best of any of any that I've tried on him. The hood matched his blanket perfectly. The hood did a great job of staying put and keeping my horse warm and dry. I think the design of the Velcro closures could be improved so that they are more durable. Overall though I really like the hood and think it s a great value.
    Date published: 2014-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Beautifully compliments the smartpak ultimate turnout. Fits well.
    Date published: 2014-02-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Functions well The neck cover seems durable and waterproof so far. I have not had any issues with the velcro tabs like some of the other reviewers. The large fits my TB that wears a 78 blanket well. My only complaint is that the straps to attach it are too long. Unless I tie a knot in them to take up some of the length, the neck cover often flips forward leaving a gap between it and the blanket, making it not effective. Once I shortened them though, it has been working wonderfully, so it could use a re-design on the way it attaches in my opinion.
    Date published: 2014-01-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice neck rug, poor velcro closing! I bought this neck rug last year. It matched the turnout blanket perfectly. The second time I used this neck rug I found it hanging off my horse's withers by the only snap on it. The velcro closure isn't enough. It either needs a snap closure on each side as well as the back of the neck or much stronger velcro. The snap size could be smaller as well. Seems to run big. I intend to keep it but am disappointed in its performance.
    Date published: 2014-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as advertised I bought this just before multiple snow storms and sub zero temps. My horse lives outside with a loafing shed shelter shared with other horses. The neck rug worked beautifully in keeping snow from working down the front of the blanket. It is easy to put on and stays in place well. The fabric is water proof and tear resistant. 
    Date published: 2014-01-08
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Velcro straps ripped off.....again! Sending back my second neck cover because the velcro closure is just not good enough.  Upon inspection they are barely sewn on at all.  Two simple lines of stitching is not going to cut it.  I love the durability of the nylon, it fits well and matches the blanket perfectly, but if it doesn't stay together it does no good.  Think I'll get a refund instead of an exchange until they improve the design.  Again, thank goodness for Smartpak's reputable customer service.
    Date published: 2014-01-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from fits well, but broke fast. In fairness, SmartPak's guarantee means there's a new one on the way, but within three weeks, my boy managed to lose the Velcro closure on the front.  I went with this line of blankets because he's out with the roughest bunch of geldings and as a 3 year old, he plays. Rough. I was becoming annoyed with the amount of blankets I was going through, so I ordered the ultimate and the neck cover to go with it. It fits beautifully, is easy to attach to the blanket, sized well and keeps him warmer in the frigid New England winter. I would have given the neck cover a 1 star if it was not for the 10 year replacement, which is why I afforded it 4. It did break, but the company is rectifying it.
    Date published: 2013-12-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Well designed neck cover!! Great fit & design, true to size!!  Can't beat the warranty!!  
    Date published: 2013-12-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love the guarantee because I needed it right away. I had this neck cover for about one week before one of the velcro closures was completely ripped off.  I also found the neck cover hanging from the blanket on several occassions.  I think they could have put a little more thought into the design.  the straps that attach it to the blanket allow too much movement in my opinion and the velcro closure needs improvement.  Fortunately Smartpak's service is great and they facilitated and easy exchange....well it would have been but this product is on backorder.  
    Date published: 2013-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect with the blanket The medium size (75 blanket) fit my 15.2h morgan's neck perfectly. I was a bit worried about the size based on other reviews but it really was just right. Thankfully I didn't need to use the free return shipping but that is always nice :) It looks smashing with the blanket and I love the warranty. The attachment clip is a bit large, but the location is such that a horse really should never ever roll onto it. I prefer the clip to velcro since it can be replaced over the years more easily.
    Date published: 2013-10-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from for thick necks only My horse has a long neck, but average thickness. He has no trouble wearing Horseware Rambo turnouts with neck options, nor Rambo or Amigo flysheets with neck options. I ordered this neck cover to go with the awesome 10yr guarantee blanket (which I liked) but the neck cover while long enough, had WAY too much material under his neck. Reminded me of a turkey's gobble. It was a medium which was the size recommended for his size 75 blanket and 15.2hh size (see photo). I did order a small to see if it was better and while it was actually perfect in the neck, it only went up half his head in length. Because I keep him clipped, I need the neck cover and therefore had to forgo on the whole blanket as well. I also did not care of the ginormous clip attachment right at his withers - ow! that seems like it would hurt when horses roll.
    Date published: 2013-09-09
    • 2015-05-25T10:42CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_27
    • loc_en_US, sid_11211, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.