Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Ultimate Neck Rug

SmartPak
- Item #21211
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE GROUND SHIPPING.
(Find out how)

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Battle the elements this winter with our toughest new neck rug, SmartPak Ultimate Neck Rug.
 
Heavy-duty nylon: Originally developed for flak jackets worn by soldiers in WWII to protect them from flying debris, this special weave of nylon is ultra durable and resists rubs and tears. It's the perfect match for the horse that's hard on his blankets.

Favorite Features 

  • Medium weight provides 220 g of polyfill keeps your horse warm and comfortable
  • Light provides premium waterproof protection without fill
  • 1050 denier nylon is ultra durable and the toughest blanket material available
  • Nylon outer is waterproof and breathable, so your horse stays dry and protected from the elements without feeling stifled underneath
  • Nylon lining
  • Sturdy snap attachment with two additional VELCRO® brand closures lets you easily attach the rug to your turnout, keeping it secure so that it can work efficiently 

10 Year Indestructible Guarantee- the fine print:
We are so confident in the toughness and durability of the SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket, that if anything happens to this blanket within 10 years of your purchase, we’ll replace or refund it—no matter what! It’s that easy. However, the guarantee does not cover blankets that have embroidery stitched on the barrel as it compromises the integrity of the blanket. 

Imported.

Matching SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket also available.

Sizing It Up

Customers Also Shopped For
The Mio Fly Sheetis made froman ultra breathableSoft ...
Description:
The Mio Fly Sheetis made froman ultra breathableSoft knitted polyester fabric with UVProtectionto keep your horse cool andProtected from the sun and bugs all summer long. Favorite Features Classic Horseware cut with patented front leg arches Integrated (non-removable) neck cover ...
Horseware Ireland introduces the greatest innovation in fly ...
Description:
Horseware Ireland introduces the greatest innovation in fly sheets! The Amigo BugBuster providesNo-Fly ZoneProtection from flies, mosquitoes, ticks and fleas. Unlike many conventional insect repellents, which can have a strong odor and other unfavorable characteristics,No-Fly Zone insectProtection is odorless, dry ...
The Weatherbeeta Freestyle 122D Standard Neck Turnoutcombines innovative ...
Description:
The Weatherbeeta Freestyle 122D Standard Neck Turnoutcombines innovative fabric technologies with leading functionality to adapt to the weather and all its conditions while performing at its best.This blanket gives your horse the ultimateProtection while allowing it the freedom to move. ...
The Weatherbeeta Original 1680D Detach-A-Neck Turnout has a super ...
Description:
The Weatherbeeta Original 1680D Detach-A-Neck Turnout has a super strong 1680 denier teflon-coated, ballistic nylon outer shell to keep your horse warm and dry all winter! Imported. Favorite Features Original side gusset design Larger tail flap Quick-clip front closure 210D Oxford polyester ...
Provide your horse with the ultimateprotection from flies ...
Description:
Provide your horse with the ultimateprotection from flies this seasonand save 10%! The Rockin SP Quarter Horse Cut Deluxe FlyBundleincludes theRockin SP Deluxe Fly Sheet, SmartPak Classic Fly Maskand theSmartPak Deluxe Fly Boots! Favorite Features TheRockin' SPQuarter Horse CutFly Sheet ...
Save with a blanket bundle! Specifically designed to ...
Description:
Save with a blanket bundle! Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, and hindquarters of stockier breeds like Quarter Horses, Rockin' SP blankets offer superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. This coordinating set includes key pieces of your ...
Save with a blanket bundle!Includes the Rockin' SP ...
Description:
Save with a blanket bundle!Includes the Rockin' SP Quilted Stable Blanket (220 g of fiber fill) and Rockin' SP Nylon Stable Sheet.Use individually or layer, depending on the temperature! Favorite Features Unique Rockin' SPcut with broader chest andshoulders, broader hindquarters, ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

SmartPak Ultimate Neck Rug is rated 4.0638297872340425 out of 5 by 47.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Durable Super product! After many blankets...this has held up for a young horse that we call "Wreck it Ralph"! Let your imagination do the rest, you could never come up with more creative ways than him to wear his blankets. Very well made, durable and it looks nice!
Date published: 2016-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best blanket on the market!! best blanket on the market! great fit, very warm, last forever
Date published: 2016-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartPak Ultimate Neck Rug Bought this for my horse, Huey, for his first winter in Colorado! It's been exactly what he needed to keep dry and warm!
Date published: 2016-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This neck hood is exactly what I was hoping for! This is my horse, Huey, first winter in Colorado! This neck hood is perfect for keeping him dry and warm !
Date published: 2016-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Strong Material A great price with a great warranty. Strong material
Date published: 2016-01-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love the blanket, but the hood needs some work I bought this to go with the ultimate SP turnout. It's alright, but there could definitely be some improvements made. Like I said for the blanket, I would have liked more color options. Further, the only closures are velcro, which a horse that is hard on blankets would rip up immediately. It would be better with a buckle or something more durable. I wish they made it so that it was actually part of the blanket, too, instead of having to order a separate piece. That being said, it runs quite large, but stays in place and does the job. I think it is overpriced for the quality.
Date published: 2016-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great but a little big This is a great blanket and neck attachment! Only thing is the neck attachment runs a bit big but otherwise it's an amazing product!
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice fit & seems sturdy I bought a large for my WB even though she is very refined and wears a 75" blanket and I'm glad I went up a size from what they recommended.Pros: Heavy weight, stays in place, doesn't rub.Cons: This will not easily connect to any other blanket I own because of where the D rings on most blankets are located. But it matches perfectly with the SmartPak turnout I bought at the same time!
Date published: 2015-12-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Rubs out mane I used this to protect my horse's neck from cold rain while she was clipped for the winter, and sadly it rubbed out the entire bottom half of her mane. Probably just the fit or from grazing, but the quality is great and the waterproofing held up well. If it fits your horse you'll be in good shape.
Date published: 2015-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great neck cover I've used the Ultimate Turnout for two seasons now and it's one of my favorites. I picked up the neck cover this fall to use should it get really cold for my clipped horse. The fit is good and has a nice overlap on the blanket. I expect it will be as durable as the blanket has been since it's the same material.
Date published: 2015-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horses are outside most of the time. They have to work hard as staff horses for hunting, but I want them protected from the elements. The material this neck cover and blanket are made from is fantastic. You can just feel the superior quality. Thank you.
Date published: 2015-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Fit I was surprise with my hard to fit Blanket destroyer has left this perfectly still for the past few weeks during a lot of rain. Excellent.
Date published: 2015-11-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hasn't held up as well as the turnout... I bought this product about a month ago and have not been impressed with it. I loves the matching turnout sheets and blankets I bought, but the neck covers are not as durable. In the first few days my horses had already destroyed one hood and ripped the stitching on another.
Date published: 2015-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Keeps my thin coated mare much warmer. Exactly what I had hoped for.
Date published: 2015-10-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ultimate neck rug, ultimate failure I really like SmarkPak and use them quite often for just about everything horse-related. So writing a bad report for one of their products brings me no joy at all.I am returning the Ultimate neck rug (unlined) for the third time. There are quality control issues with this item that could be remedied rather quickly. The fault lies with the stitching on all of the connecting pieces (velcro closures, connecting straps). Most of these pieces are attached with a single line of stitching that are not backstitched over to lock the pieces down to the rug. Double or triple stitching (or strong thread) is a requirement for horse turnout gear - they are big animals and they are tough on their clothes!My first neck rug was just plain demolished in 2 days. The second survived for about a week before all of the strapping came unstitched. The third I reinforced all of the stitching on the velcro and the elastic connecting straps. The center (unreinforced) strap came unstitched. Unfortunately, what I didn't reinforce was the strapping on the blanket! Those pulled loose so the neck rug became unanchored. My horse's pasturemates then proceeded to "help" my horse pull the flapping hood over his head.I know the neck rug and turnout blankets have a 10 year warranty, which I truly appreciate, but at this point I think I'm going to have to bail on replacing the neck rug for a 4th time. Maybe over the summer SmartPak can make adjustments to have the stitching quality issue fixed (neck rugs and blanket anchors). I'd be more than happy to purchase something that would last longer than 2 weeks!
Date published: 2015-03-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good coverage but doesn't stay on The neck rug has good coverage but my horse can take it off because the attachments are not strong enough. A better design of the way the rug attaches to the blanket and the way it closes in front is needed.
Date published: 2015-02-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great blanket but my TB is on his 4th neck cover I bought this blanket because of the guarantee and the fabric has so far proven indestructible, BUT the stitching on the Velcro closures on the neck cover are another matter. It is just not adequate to hold. The straps pull off the hood at the stitching when any pressure is applied. That being said Smart Pak has promptly replaced the Hood each time. But they need to redesign the stitching.Smart Pak is a great company and I would purchase this blanket again and will. The neck cover however just does not measure up.
Date published: 2015-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice hood I bought this hood to fit a blanket that I have to help keep my horse dryer. It fits my horse well and does keep her neck dry
Date published: 2015-02-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm, but front closure needs changed I bought 2 of these neck covers for my 2 horses to match their blankets. I am going to be on my 3rd neck cover in 2 months. The first 2 I had lasted almost 2 months, then 1 of my horses ripped the Velcro, Smartpak was great and sent me another one right away, and I returned that one. I received the replacement on Tuesday, by Friday one of the Velcro piece that closes the neck has become detached, it looks like the sewing just came off, it's not damaged, so I am going to send that one back, once the return on my other processes, as I was charged when Smartpak sent me the other right away. I noticed tonight that my other horses Velcro attachment on the inside is coming unstitched, so that one will be going back too. My younger horse has opened the Velcro front closure several nights in a row. I would love to see Smartpak change this design. I think it would be great if they made the closure for the neck piece with the clasps like in the front of the blanket. If it doesn't change I see many returns during the 10 years! The actual material of the neck cover is very sturdy and stays clean. I haven't had one problem with the blankets either!! I think this neck cover could be greatly improved with a new closure!!
Date published: 2015-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!!! I bought 2 of these to go on our Ultimate blankets. With the weather getting colder and wetter, our babies needed the extra warmth on their necks. Love them and would buy another if we get another horse :)
Date published: 2015-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the job I bought this neck cover with my Ultimate blanket. I really like it i would just tweak a few things with the cover. I think it should have velcro or a zipper to attach it to the blanket as it flips up whenever they put their head down, so he gets a little we when it rains. Also the stitching on the velcro should be reinforced. Mine has already popped off without him even tugging or running around in it.
Date published: 2014-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great neck rug! I love this neck rug, it has lots of coverage and is well put together, I have one with no fill and just ordered one with 200g fill to replace my old one!
Date published: 2014-12-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Neck closures need help After one week the Velcro neck closures completely unstitched.
Date published: 2014-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy!!! Great Blanket hood! Keep the neck warm without rubbing the mane out!!!
Date published: 2014-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from can't seem to keep it on This product is tuff material but doesn't like to stay on.
Date published: 2014-11-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A little dissapointed Unfortunately I am dissapointed with this neck. It twists immediately and just won't stay on straight. Slides back as well. Also don't love the velcro closures on it.
Date published: 2014-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Snug and Warm!!! I bought this to add to my horses blanket so that he can retain more body heat from his neck and shoulder area. What a great fit and great warmth for him.
Date published: 2014-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased My horse managed to damage the item in less than 1 hour of owing, Smartpak returned with no questions asked and shipped new!!!!!!
Date published: 2014-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Value Purchased this for a horse with a pasture mate that is very hard on blankets. So far it is still in great shape and the guarantee gives peace of mind :-)
Date published: 2014-03-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fit and nice looking! I bought this to go with the SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket. This hood fit my 14.3 hand Mustang the best of any of any that I've tried on him. The hood matched his blanket perfectly. The hood did a great job of staying put and keeping my horse warm and dry. I think the design of the Velcro closures could be improved so that they are more durable. Overall though I really like the hood and think it s a great value.
Date published: 2014-02-23
  • 2016-07-29T11:03CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_45
  • loc_en_US, sid_11211, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders