Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Triple Stitch Halter

SmartPak
- Item #11624
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SmartPak Triple Stitch Halter is a show quality halter at an everyday halter price. Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather. By choosing to add customization to this halter, a nameplate will be attached with your desired text. Don't forget the matching Leather Lead! Made in the USA.

Favorite Features

  • Triple stitched 1” nose and cheek pieces
  • 1” double buckle crown
  • Adjustable chin strap
  • Rolled throat piece
  • Convenient snap at throat for easy on
  • Solid brass hardware
Sizing It Up

Available in Cob, Horse or Warmblood


Please note, this leather halter is not a breakaway halter.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Triple Stitch Halter is rated 4.7647 out of 5 by 238.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple and Pretty Workmanship is outstanding on this halter. Name plate is well done also. Highly recommend this halter for the long run. For the price it should last for a long long time with an oiling once a year.
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Triple Stitch Halter Beautiful, well made halter looks great on my horse!
    Date published: 2014-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice Very good quality for the money. Not extremely stiff like some can be in the beginning. Fits good and the name plate looks sharp.
    Date published: 2014-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter I bought this halter and had a name plate attached for my newest addition in black leather and it looks stunning on her. It really makes her stand out when we travel, not just by looking pretty but you can tell that it is also a fine quality item as well. Thanks again to Customer Service for their assistance in choosing this item over another brand as I don't think I would have been as happy with my purchase in the long run. :-)
    Date published: 2014-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great everyday and show halter I bought this halter a month ago and it was supple the day I received it. I got the customized name plate and I get compliments all of the time. My horse is a 16.2 QH with a larger head. The 'horse' size fit well. I use this every day, bathing and all. It is holding up well. I am going to order a second one.
    Date published: 2014-06-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Runs Large! and brass fittings are weak I bought this halter a few months ago, and have been using it since. If you order it, take into consideration that I believe it runs very large. It looks very nice and the name plate adds a great touch. I've had trouble adjusting it; I've added holes and actually had to cut leather (yikes!) to try and tighten up the nose. It seems to be still getting bigger (stretching out?) and I'm not sure if that's an issue of leather quality or what. The Brass ring under the throat latch cracked and I pinched it back together with pliers ... I've never had that happen with a leather halter before. Ii would purchase something different next time ...
    Date published: 2014-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartPak Triple Stitch Halter Such an awesome halter! This is one of those products that you get and can't believe the quality and price. Fits and looks great.
    Date published: 2014-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elegant It's beautiful and functional. What more could you want?
    Date published: 2014-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice halter for my big gelding ! This over sized halter fit my over sized QH gelding perfect ! Nice , soft leather that seems very durable so far ! I am very happy with the workmanship !
    Date published: 2014-05-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice halter especially for the price I haven't had the halter long enough to comment on durability, but the material and workmanship are top notch. The brown color lookes more like a dark chestnut. Not sure if it will darken up with wear. Looks really nice on my all brown horse.
    Date published: 2014-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter! I am really pleased with this halter! It is so soft and has a nice leather feel. I've been using it as a "special occasion" halter for shows and it is holding up super nicely in the past 6 months I've had it. The nameplate turned out super nice as well. One thing I would mention is that the throatlatch part was a tad small on my my horse. I got the full size and probably should have checked out the warmblood since instead (he is a warmblood, but not a big jowled, thick headed warmblood)... That's a customer issue, not a product issue! But it's not a huge deal and he looks very sharp in it. Excellent bang for your buck, as well. This is by far my favorite halter!
    Date published: 2014-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely GORGEOUS. A must buy. I had received this halter as a present and I am beyond happy with it. I got it in black with a personalized name plate on it for my TB. He looks even more gorgeous than usual in it. I have had it for 4 months using it every day and it has held up WONDERFULLY. It does collect dust though and I clean it weekly just because I always want it to stay supple and looking shinny as new. It does run **slightly** big but with all the adjustable options that is not problem. To sum it up; a MUST buy for anyone who wants a classy looking halter without spending much money.
    Date published: 2014-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks fantastic! Extremely happy with my purchase! Looks and fits great! Also love the nameplate, very classy looking!
    Date published: 2014-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Quality Halter with a Reasonable Price Tag The leather on this halter is really nice and pliable right out of the box. The havana color of the different pieces (noseband, cheekpieces, crownpiece) did not all match exactly but once I oiled the halter, it came out looking uniform. The only thing that I would change is that the Smartpak logo is a bit too prominent on the brass buckles. Other than that, nice product!
    Date published: 2014-04-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice leather halter I bought this leather halter a few weeks ago and I love it! It has good quality leather and nice solid clips and buckles. The only thing I would have liked is the lettering to be a bit more bolded so it would be easier to read, but overall I would recommend this product to everyone!
    Date published: 2014-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So supple! This halter was super soft right out of the box! It's a lovely color and it's the best quality. I wouldn't expect anythin less from Smartpak!
    Date published: 2014-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this halter! I got this halter mainly to use as a show halter for my thoroughbred and it is beautiful! I couldn't afford to pay a lot for a leather halter but I wanted it to be high quality and thisone certainly is. Haven't had it for that long but it looks very sturdy and isn't stiff at all.
    Date published: 2014-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Will Never Buy A More Expensive Halter This is seriously one of the best purchases I've ever made. I've bought exclusively Walsh halters for years, but this halter looks just as good, is similar quality and is half the price. Additionally I think it fits my horse (a narrow-faced TB) better than his Walsh ever did. I get compliments on it daily and my trainer is now telling clients to buy this halter as a show halter instead of a Walsh! Also- SmartPak's customization was ridiculously quick (came within the same week of ordering and just did the FREE ground shipping) and as a completely unexpected bonus - it came with the nameplate already installed. Thank you SmartPak, you never fail to disappoint!
    Date published: 2014-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter This was a purchase for my new horse. It is a great halter, with all the nice features. I included a custom nameplate in my order, and it turned out very nicely. I am using this as an every day/turnout halter, but it would probably make a very nice show halter, especially with the nameplate.
    Date published: 2014-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter! I bought this in Havana in the cob size for my fine-boned TB, and it fits him perfectly! The leather is supple and a gorgeous color, and the hardware seems like it'll last a long time. I love the adjustable noseband. It's very classy looking and definitely looks more expensive than it is :) Great buy!
    Date published: 2014-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic leather halter for show or barn! In the past I've bought leather halters from all sorts of price ranges and I have to say this one is the best so far. I bought the havana with a personalized nameplate and it looks very classy. Leather is supple and not hard or unbendable. I appreciate the fact also that SmartPak is so great with personalization items and always ships so quickly. I'm going to buy a second one to use exclusively at shows.
    Date published: 2014-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from triple stitch halter i like the halter very much. my only concern is the throat strap buckle, which was irritating my horse's cheek/jaw muscle. i reversed the buckle latch to face away from my horse and he appear's to be more comfortable. i recommend a product re-design for this halter
    Date published: 2014-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stylish! Great halter that looks super on our newest addition!  The nameplate we added sets the halter off really well!
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Luxurious halter at a great price I just purchased this halter for my hunt seat gelding and I love it. I have in the past purchased much more expensive, name brand halters but the reviews posted about this one convinced me to give it a try. I thought I would buy it as a new show halter but could use as a barn halter if it wasn't as expected. Having said this I was pleasantly surprised! The leather is supple and quality as is the stitching. The fit was nice as well. I can definitely use this as both barn and show halter. Another SmartPak quality product! Oh yes, I got the personalization and the plate was done nicely and arrived already attached.
    Date published: 2013-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter for the price The quality of the leather is much nicer than you would normally find for this price! The halter is nice and supple right out of the bag. I bought the cob size for my 15.2hh Paint and it just fits him (almost too small; last or second to last hole on all the buckles), but judging from the leather and what other reviewers have said, I expect it to stretch a little.
    Date published: 2013-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super value and quality This halter is really very nice. My new horse needed a halter, so I ordered this with a nameplate. I was very pleased when it arrived. Solid hardware, substantial leather, and the name plate looks great. I'm using this as an every day halter, but it IS nice enough to use as a show halter.
    Date published: 2013-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality @ an affordable price!! I bought this halter last March...It's still going strong. Bought it as an everday halter after my horse had lost in a few games of "halter tag". Another product that is very high quality from smartpak. Would've ordered another one for shows if it came with a silver snap. Halter came out of the box soft and supple, it has held up to almost 8 months of abuse out in turnout and is still going strong. Highly recommend.
    Date published: 2013-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Handsome!! Bought a month ago, came soft and supple - did not need to treat leather in anyway. It looks so handsome on this guy! Beautiful and durable - love that it is a USA product and a great one at that. It is kept outside on horses paddock and still looks new, even with the snow and dirt that it has encountered so far (simple wipe and it's perfect again). I will treat it every so often but it's such great quality I am not too worried. I ordered with engraving - love it, font is Helvetica in picture.
    Date published: 2013-10-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Halter for the Price! I ordered this halter when it was on sale, because a similar one from another company was almost twice the price. When it arrived, I felt the quality was very good for what I'd paid, and I like that the throat is rolled AND shaped -- sometimes they're just rolled and they take a little longer to break in. I also really appreciate that the nameplate was attached and they used chicago screws! (And it didn't hurt that the screws were both centered and facing the same direction -- I'm very picky about appearances, and I was pleasantly surprised by that little detail!) When I tried it on Max, I found that it did run fairly large, so I needed to adjust it smaller, but I'm very satisfied with the way it fits him. It also seems to be breaking in very quickly! I'd definitely buy another one of these, and will recommend it to anyone looking for a nice halter at an affordable price.
    Date published: 2013-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter for the price! Just got this halter last week and couldn't be more pleased! The leather is decent quality for the price, the buckles seem sturdy and the personalization is clear, easy to read and stands out. I highly recommend getting it personalized - it really looks nice. The fit seems to be about right - I ordered "horse" for my TB gelding and it fits with some room to spare. Overall, very pleased with this purchase!
    Date published: 2013-09-17
    • 2015-08-26T13:13CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_19, tr_219
    • loc_en_US, sid_1624, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.