Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SmartPak Triple Stitch Halter

SmartPak
- Item #11624
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SmartPak Triple Stitch Halter is a show quality halter at an everyday halter price. Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather. By choosing to add customization to this halter, a nameplate will be attached with your desired text. Don't forget the matching Leather Lead with Solid Brass Snap or Leather Lead with Brass Plated Chain! Made in the USA.

Please note, this leather halter is not a breakaway halter.
Favorite Features
  • Triple stitched 1” nose and cheek pieces
  • 1” double buckle crown
  • Adjustable chin strap
  • Rolled throat piece
  • Convenient snap at throat for easy on
  • Solid brass hardware
Key Specifications
  • Material: Leather
  • Breakaway: No
  • Metal Type: Brass
  • Customizable: Engraving

Sizing

Available in Cob, Horse or Oversize

What Customers Say:

Specifications

Material Leather
Breakaway No
Metal Type Brass
Width 1"
Special Features Leather crown piece is adjustable on both sides
Customizable Engraving
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Make sure you are prepared for worst case ...
    Description:
    "Make sure you are prepared for worst case scenarios with the Emergency Halter. This halter is combined with a lead rope so it is ready to use if ever faced with an urgent situation. Perfect to place in the front ...
    "The Hybrid Halter genius design was invented by ...
    Description:
    "The Hybrid Halter genius design was invented by Kalley Krickeberg's Horse Education Company. The Hybrid Halter is a combination halter for universal use. With the Hybrid Halter you will have improved training results, better control, and more convenience when compared ...
    "The SmartPak Beta and Cotton Breakaway Halter gives ...
    Description:
    "The SmartPak Beta and Cotton Breakaway Halter gives breakaway a whole new look! Heavy cotton webbing combined with brightly colored, and durable beta make this halter sturdy and eye catching. The easily replaceable break-away tab makes it safe and convenient! ...
    "Why We Love This Each halter is handmade ...
    Description:
    "Why We Love This Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather. Favorite Features Double stitched 1” nose and cheek pieces with contrasting soft padding Adjustable chin strap Rolled throat piece, convenient snap at throat ...
    "Rockin' SP tack is all about delivering quality ...
    Description:
    "Rockin' SP tack is all about delivering quality tack and the Rockin' SP Foal Halter is no exception! This Hermann Oak leather halter provides a high-quality, well-fitting option for your foal. It really is smarter gear for smarter riders! Made ...
    "The Hamilton Nylon Halter is made using only ...
    Description:
    "The Hamilton Nylon Halter is made using only the highest quality durable nylon webbing, thread, and hardware to ensure practical durability for years to come. Hardware includes solid brass buckle square and snap along with brass-plated rings. Please note, this ...
    "Why We Love This The fashion-forward designs of ...
    Description:
    "Why We Love This The fashion-forward designs of this halter is made with premium materials and attention to detail such as fashion hardware and colors. Box-stitching at stress points for added strength and a rolled throat for comfort. This halter ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Triple Stitch Halter is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 320.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from triple stitch halter I purchased this for my grandsons pony and it was affordable but very nice quality. I am very pleased with everything I have purchased from SmartPak. Our trainer at the barn recommended many of the items.
    Date published: 2017-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice soft leather! I have been wanting a nice leather halter for my mare and I decide to order this one from Smartpak. When it came I was very impressed with the quality of the leather and how supple it is. Great leather halter!! Also the brass plate is very beautiful!
    Date published: 2017-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Nice! Love the quality of this halter! Exactly what I was hoping for :)
    Date published: 2016-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality! I got this for myself as a Christmas present and I love it. The leather is super soft right out of he box. Fits my horse perfectly and looks great paired with a nameplate.
    Date published: 2016-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice halter! I purchased this halter for my 14.2 QH to show him in schooling Halter and Showmanship Classes. It fits perfectly! The leather is good quality, and the buckles are sturdy.
    Date published: 2016-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice halter! Nice soft leather very ajustable, Fits good and beautiful!
    Date published: 2016-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter I bought this for a gift. This halter is very well made and it has 2 adjustable side which I like.
    Date published: 2016-12-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great halter to the price This halter was soft right out of the bag and seems to be holding up to turnout without any issues. My only concern was the bleeding initially, luckily I don't have a grey.
    Date published: 2016-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome halter for the price! Bought this for a Christmas gift. Love the quality of the leather, stitching and nameplate. Couldn't resist trying it on my daughters horse and the horse size fit her Hungarian Warmblood perfectly (his head is not super large). Bought to be an everyday halter and she is going to LOVE it!
    Date published: 2016-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality halter!
    Date published: 2016-11-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great workmanship Beautifully fininished leather, oiled also. Great fit
    Date published: 2016-10-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well made but had to return :( Very Nice leather halter.at a good price. Soft out of the box. Cob size true to size if looking for show halter. However , I needed a general purpose halter and found the chin was 2" to short for grazing on my Rocky Mountain Horse.
    Date published: 2016-09-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Really great halter, but not solid brass hardware This is an update to my previous review. I've been using this halter everyday and have been impressed with how it has softened and the dye has not bled. It's a beautiful halter, and I've gotten many compliments at the barn. My major annoyance is that the hardware is not solid brass as stated in the specs, it's brass plated and has already started to rub off after only 2 weeks. (I included a pic) At this point, I won't return it because I already threw away return stuff and she's been wearing it, but I probably won't be buying one again. So disappointing! I'm hoping it will only rub in that one spot, otherwise it's going to be a garbage stay-at-home halter. Looks like next time I'll have to buy the $120 Walsh triple stitch from Dover :(If you don't mind some rubbed off brass on your halter, this a nice economical choice. I would recommend this halter to someone that wanted to pay <$100. The leather is nicer than a lot of other halters I've seen, and the engraving is nice too. If you want perfection, however, this is probably not the halter for you.
    Date published: 2016-08-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Quality! I bought this for my rather large headed Warmblood and it fits with room to spare. Great leather and it was already oiled up a little bit. I would definitely recommend this halter!
    Date published: 2016-08-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from well made and supple When my old leather halter needed replacing, I shopped around and was shocked at how expensive leather halters are now and how the quality varies. I was pleased to find this halter on Smartpak's website and that it was on sale. The quality of the leather and fittings is very nice. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is, because like some other reviewers, I found the Havanna color to be quite red at first and the leather to be very oily and it tended to come off onto my hands, etc. and it had a peculiar oil odor. I cleaned the halter with saddle soap and those problems are now fading.
    Date published: 2016-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and Supple This halter is just lovely and definitely comparable to Walsh and other more expensive halters. However the leather has more of a reddish tone than is shown in the picture, but I think it is a pretty shade. Very adjustable and true to size. The horse size fits my 16h thoroughbred's long slender head nicely.
    Date published: 2016-08-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice for the price I usually buy Walsh leather halters, which are fantastic and butter-soft. They're also like $120 and don't come with engraving (DIY). So I thought I'd give this a try. I'm concerned about leaving the halter on my horse for long periods of time, because the leather dye seems to bleed and my horse is light grey. (The tag and bag were stained red when I received it. ) The leather is nice and pretty soft, although not as soft as my old Walsh. The buckle is slightly too small, so it's hard to put the leather through the buckle. Hopefully it will soften with age and become easier. When I ordered, they sent me the double stitch instead, TWICE! Make sure if you order, you pay attention to which one you receive. Overall, this is a nice halter for the price. I'm going to see how it wears before I decide if I'll buy it again or splurge on the Walsh. It's definitely nicer than the other leather halters I've seen in person (besides Walsh). I ordered a cob for my 16h TB-QH appendix and it fits correctly.
    Date published: 2016-08-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great quality I bought this halter within the last month. The quality is very nice. The leather is pre oiled and flexible--ready to use. Horse size fits my horse who is a 16.1 3 year old, fairly refined warmblood but a larger size would be needed if the horse is larger or less refined.
    Date published: 2016-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very well made and nice looking looks very nice on the gelding like all our horses to have matching leather halters when we travel to shows and these fit the bill
    Date published: 2016-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Triple stitch halter Love it! Great quality leather. Beautiful name plate added. Everyone at the barn was jealous!
    Date published: 2016-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality and Value! I love this halter! I had purchased one a few years ago for a horse I had, and when I brought a new baby in I ordered one for him too. This halter fits true to size (I have ordered both cob and horse), and the adjustability on it is really great. The leather is a good quality, and holds up to constant wear and abuse. Bonus points that it is so beautiful too. I ordered both halters in the Havana color. When they arrived they both had a very red hue to them and the oil was fresh and got everywhere. However, it doesn't take long to clean off and stop bleeding onto everything, and the color darkens to a rich true Havana color. In my opinion a great product that I will most likely order again.
    Date published: 2016-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pretty halter. Couldn't believe how fast it was ready with his name engraved on it.
    Date published: 2016-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautifully Made Looks great on her horse, my daughter is delighted!
    Date published: 2016-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the adjustability of this leather halter. Bought 2 of these to have on hand. They are still wearing the previously purchased triple stitch halters.
    Date published: 2016-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Halter Love this halter. It is made of very supple and tuck leather with impeccable stitching.
    Date published: 2016-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality! Love it! Arrived as promised. Made well. Nice leather and brass fixtures. Adjustable!
    Date published: 2016-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these halters Great quality at a great price. Can't beat these for show halters. :)
    Date published: 2016-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter! I bought this halter and got it personaluzed for my horse. Everyone at the barn that sees it loves it. It is very classy looking and is holding up well!
    Date published: 2016-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superior quality I bought this halter for trailering and loved it so much I decided to purchase another for everyday use. It's super high quality. Color does have a red tone to it, but I love it. The keeper was slightly difficult on both halter I purchased to feed the leather thru when adjusting the nose piece, but I did eventually work it thru.
    Date published: 2016-06-09
    • y_2017, m_2, d_20, h_10
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_24, tr_296
    • loc_en_US, sid_1624, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders