Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Triple Stitch Halter

SmartPak
- Item #11624
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE GROUND SHIPPING.
(Find out how)

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SmartPak Triple Stitch Halter is a show quality halter at an everyday halter price. Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather. By choosing to add customization to this halter, a nameplate will be attached with your desired text. Don't forget the matching Leather Lead! Made in the USA.

Favorite Features

  • Triple stitched 1” nose and cheek pieces
  • 1” double buckle crown
  • Adjustable chin strap
  • Rolled throat piece
  • Convenient snap at throat for easy on
  • Solid brass hardware
Sizing It Up

Available in Cob, Horse or Oversize


Please note, this leather halter is not a breakaway halter.

Customers Also Shopped For
The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halterfeatures a distinctive ...
Description:
The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halterfeatures a distinctive double raised detailon the noseband and browband enhancing the elegance of this beautifully crafted halter. Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert ...
The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout ...
Description:
The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout with a 1" wide straight chin. Stamped edging and a single buckle designgive this halter avery traditional look, makingit aclassic barn must-have! The beautiful havana leather with brown thread is flattering on ...
Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest ...
Description:
Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship.The Wellfleet Fancy Stitch Padded Halter by SmartPak is elegant and exquisitely detailed,featuring extra fine stitching and supple rich leather. Carefully crafted to ...
TheEquiFit D-Teq Open Front Boots are the epitome ...
Description:
TheEquiFit D-Teq Open Front Boots are the epitome of technology and engineering presented with classic styling! The cutting-edge technology, superior materials, and pioneering design help make D-Teq the best defense on the market today.EquiFit D-Teq Open Front Boots feature ImpacTeq ...
Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with ...
Description:
Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with fine details and stainless steel hardware at an unbeatable value. Traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this price range. Available exclusively at SmartPak.Favorite Features Beautifully crafted with a raised andSoft padded 1"flash ...
The Rockin' SPCustom Overlay halterhas been designed specifically ...
Description:
The Rockin' SPCustom Overlay halterhas been designed specifically to fit Quarter Horses and other like stock breeds! Perfect for turnout and around the barn. Your horse will be as comfortable as ever with a halter made for his needs in ...
The EquiFit D-Teq Open Front Boots are the ...
Description:
The EquiFit D-Teq Open Front Boots are the epitome of technology and engineering presented with classic styling! The cutting-edge technology, superior materials, and a pioneering design help make D-Teq the best defense on the market today. But it's the unyielding, ...
out of 5
94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

SmartPak Triple Stitch Halter is rated 4.758620689655173 out of 5 by 290.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Made I bought this halter about a month ago for my TB race horse. Wanted something durable that looks nice, and a nameplate for race day (:
Date published: 2016-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality product Very happy with the quality of the Halter. Would buy another any time.
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality! I bought a few of these for my show horses and added the personalized nameplate. They look great! Great quality leather, good workmanship.
Date published: 2016-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable enough for my naughty Baby Huey! Big fan. Own two & will own them again! Even my naughty Baby Huey can't bust through them, and believe me: that's saying something!
Date published: 2016-05-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cob size fit my petite TB great! I love the name plate on my halter fits right in at the show but I have to say I am not particularly thrilled with the color the different leather parts are different shades but over all it looks nice. My gelding has a small head he is 15.3HH and the cob size fit nicely I like the adjustability
Date published: 2016-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter Great halter!!!! I have spent a lot more for a halter. But didn't even get half the quality !!! Smartpak leather halter is a must!!!!
Date published: 2016-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous! love this halter, haven't really used it but it is beautiful and the leather is thick/seems well made. I conditioned it once which darkened it and made it much softer.
Date published: 2016-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality! High quality leather, name plate secure and beautiful. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2016-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice halter for a terrific price. All of our show horses (about 15 of them) have one of these for going to shows. Lots of adjustment makes them fit well. They look and fel like much more expensive halters, but at this price, everyone can have one!
Date published: 2016-04-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Okay halter, disappointing nameplate The halter is of decent quality - not as nice as Walsh or Quillin, but certainly serviceable. I was very disappointed by the nameplate - the brass seems thin and flimsy, the engraving is very shallow and barely etches the surface of the metal. The mounting hardware actually made me sigh with regret when I saw it - large, obtrusive flathead screws with the head of the screw facing out. It looks really bad. I am going to have a new nameplate made and have my leather guy mount it.If I could, I would return the halter. But since it has been personalized, I can't.
Date published: 2016-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NO FLAWS - perfect quality- perfect fit- perfect nameplate- perfect shipping- perfectly perfect
Date published: 2016-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warmblood size fits my draft's giant head! I just bought this for my draft who has a ginormous noggin (solid bone, sadly, without any apparent brain inside). I was concerned the "warmblood" would not be big enough but it fits him well, albeit on the larger fittings. Seems like it would likely be too big for my actual warmblood, but maybe on the smaller holes. Very nice feeling leather and nice solid brass to ensure my guy will have to work harder than usual to destroy it.That being said, I also ordered a number of the double stitch halters as well and thought they seemed just as nice at a substantially lower price. However, just because the double stitch is a super deal doesn't mean this one isn't worth the price, it's just not as much of a steal.
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality halter compared to others I purchased this halter for my 26 yo Ch TB Mare because another halter much pricier, not from SmartPak, came apart, actually the brass ring to attach the lead split...being chintzy I "fixed" it with hay twine and used the side ring to lead...In the past I have purchased Stubben padded halters for her and have been happy with t hose, but they are pricier than ever and so was very happy to find a quality halter for less...it arrived soft, but not too soft, fit perfectly, leaving a hole or two for adjustment if necessary, has worn beautifully for a ? month now, the brass nameplate is awesome, it has a wonderful finish, and the barn help thinks it's great...while it is still "new" I anticipate continued satisfaction. My girly girl mare is happy looking so good.
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I just got Full size in mail. Looked small and compared it to triple stitched leather halter from a competitor (which was slightly more expensive) as well as Sportswear breakaway halter I also just got from Smart Pak. It IS small compared to both of these halters in every way except crown piece. The connector from under chin to under the noseband is 2 full inches shorter (rest is half to one inch shorter) - now have to return. It is decently made, hardware reasonable. The leather and hardware on more expensive halter better but this is very decent for price.
Date published: 2016-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Forgot to mention... I forgot to mention in my preview review that I purchased this halter in Havana. My gelding is a 16.2 hh Oldenburg x Arabian. Most people think he is a TB, so that's a pretty good reference for size. I always purchase full size for him so that's what I stuck with here and it fits just right. In the description I believe "full" is referred to as "horse" so hopefully that helps.
Date published: 2016-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved so much, I bought another! Good quality, immediately soft resilient leather. I would recommend cleaning before using (especially with halter fleeces) because there was excess dye on both of mine. After purchasing the first one and loving it, I decided to get a second as a backup when shipping my horse cross-country. Now I switch them out regularly for cleaning and conditioning and a bit of a break. Probably not necessary, they're very well made. My only complaint is that my nameplates scratched very easily, but given the price point of this halter it is a screamin' deal.
Date published: 2016-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price for the value!!! Love this halter.....was going to use it for every day but it is so nice I am saving it for show.
Date published: 2016-03-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful halter but... This was a beautiful halter but the oversized size didnt fit my oversized horse. Runs really small.
Date published: 2016-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality I bought this 5 months ago and love it!! My horse does too!!Thank You,Madi and Millie
Date published: 2016-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Turnout Halter This is the best turnout halter I have ever bought! This halter has certainly outlasted other halters I have purchased for turnout use in the past. I am usually all for buying padded halters, but decided to give this one a try and I am so glad I did! It's soft right out of the package and given one coat of leather conditioner and some break in time, it is softer than any padded halter I have bought previously. My favorite part is that dirt rinses right off w/ water rather than sinking into the leather and getting all grimy, so it's super easy to keep clean and looking new. Would highly recommend this for every day use, although it is certainly nice enough to add a nameplate to and use as a show halter!
Date published: 2016-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the quality Classy and great quality leather halters that are durable and fit all our horses .
Date published: 2016-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great stable halter When it was time for a new halter, I tried the store brand from Smartpak's major competitor in the size they recommended but it just didn't fit right and the leather never really softened. This one, on the other hand, is a beautiful halter. Very adjustable, especially in the nose, which is nice on my fine boned TB/Hano. I measured the pieces on my old nylon halter and the closest match was the full size. It's almost on the smallest holes, but it could go smaller. There seems to be a lot of overlap in the sizes though. See the Q&A for the measurements of the pieces. the leather is nice and soft right out of the package. The havana color has a burgundy cast and bleeds a little dye but after oiling it a few times, it will match my Antares saddle perfectly. I got a nameplate put on just for fun and it also looks great. I would definitely buy again.
Date published: 2016-01-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect for every day This is a great, sturdy halter. It looks nice and fits well on my mare. I like that it is inexpensive but still well made, with nicely finished leather. I ordered it with the name plate-I love that I didn't have to put it on myself!I imagine my mare will get many years of use out of it.The only thing that wasn't super great about this halter, was that it was very oily when it arrived. I didn't dare put it next to any blankets or saddle pads,for fear of stains. A few days of turnout fixed that problem!
Date published: 2016-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice halter for the money! This halter is very nice quality for the price. Leather is soft but quite sturdy, stitching is solid, and the brass hardware is really pretty. Paired with a brass nameplate it's quite a pretty combo.
Date published: 2016-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elegant and economical I bought this halter for my 15.3 Friesian Cross mare. She has a small head so I ordered the cob size. The halter is nicely stitched and is generous in size so it fits her well. I always get compliments on it. I use it under my bridle when trail riding. I will continue to order this halter when I want a new one. The other advantage is that it comes in black which goes with my tack.
Date published: 2016-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from gorgeous! I bought this halter for my 15.2 - 15.3hh dutch warmblood and it looks beautiful! I bought this in the warmblood size (of course) and it fits him perfectly. It broke in easily and has held up very well so far! I love this halter and I am definitely planning on buying another when the time comes!
Date published: 2016-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality! Great for for our horse and well made. Love all the color and script options.
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Triple Stitch Halter I purchased this for my sister and she has had this halter for her warmblood before and loves it.
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great! I bought this for a barn halter for a new mare. I am very impressed by how soft the leather is, the quality of the stiching and the strength of the brass. I will be buying more as needed.
Date published: 2015-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter! This is a beautiful halter. Soft lovely leather with high quality brass. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2015-12-11
  • 2016-07-28T11:14CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_22, tr_268
  • loc_en_US, sid_1624, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders