Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Thinsulate Dog Coat

Item #13877
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing dog

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Keep your dog warm and dry this winter with our Thinsulate lined waterproof/breathable coat.

The SmartPak Thinsulate Dog Coat's 220 grams of fill provide superior warmth while the 600 denier nylon shell is durable enough to withstand even the toughest play. The SmartPak Thinsulate Dog Coat features VELCRO® brand chest and belly closures allow for easy on and off. Imported.

Please note: Waterproofed items should not be tumble dried.

?Sizes: Small (13""), Medium (15""), Large (18""), X-Large (21""), XX-Large (24""), XXX-Large (27"").

You Might Like
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Thinsulate Dog Coat is rated 4.7437 out of 5 by 199.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great coat for a fox terrier! It fits! I can't believe it. The back is short enough that it fits a dog with a tail that stands straight up! Good quality. Little pricey, bit I expect it will last.
    Date published: 2013-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from this coat stays clean, stays on and resists tears. I've had two of these for a couple years now. We have 5 dogs at the barn and they run, play and bite each other all day long. This coat keeps my vanilla lab short hair dog warm all day and stays on. Stays dry in the rain.Can't use fleece as it holds all the hay and shavings. The smooth lining on this one sheds all that. He would be miserable without it. Thank you so much for carrying it, please don't ever discontinue this one. The only thing is he's a thin lab build 65 lb and he's in the largest size so I am saying it runs a little small. I used to have a more muscular build lab 90 lb and a taller doberman suzuki cross both with longer backs, and the largest size would have been too small for both of them. So if your dog is really big, maybe Smart Pak would consider offering larger sizes.
    Date published: 2013-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great look and fit! I have a lab puppy that loves to run around in the snow and this blanket keeps her dry and warm and stays in place!
    Date published: 2013-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have 4 and love them! I recently ordered 4 of these blankets, one for each of my dogs and although they run a bit big they are perfect and keep them cozy! I even had each one of them embroidered with their name and they look great! They stay on and are very adjustable with the Velcro.
    Date published: 2013-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! I ordered a jacket for my Spaniel mix and was so impressed with it that I ordered another one for my whippet mix, who is touch sensitive. They fit perfectly, are easy to put on, which my whippet appreciates and they look great. They are warm without being bulky. They are wonderful!
    Date published: 2013-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Dog Loves it! I have an American bulldog, so I was a little worried about the fit. The velcro straps make this jacket adjustable and fits great. My dog has short fur, so not a lot of jackets work great when it's below 0 and windy out... this one sure did! My dog would even wait for me to put it on him, and sometimes would refuse to leave the house just to go potty without it! I've had this jacket all winter long, washed it a few times, my horse even pulls on it, and it's stood up well! No rips, tears or fraying. I would definitely recommend this, and will be buying a new one if the current one ever gets worn out
    Date published: 2013-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cute dog coat We ordered two of these this year for our beagles. The dogs run all over the farm in their coats and these coats have held up well so far. Plus the coats look adorable on the dogs.
    Date published: 2013-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nicer than it looked in the photo This is a really nice dog coat. It is lightweight so my dog moves freely. Even though it is light in weight, it is a nice and warm coat. We also discovered it is water resistant when we got caught about a mile from the barn when a downpour started. The only thing is that it is a bit long in the body for my dog. He was right on the line of sizes and the recommendation was to order the larger size. Several dog owners at my barn ordered these when they went on sale. All had great feedback. Most ordered the monogramming also and it is really nice and good looking. If I had a recommendation for the company, it would be to have the option for a harness hole in the body. I simply added a button hole with my own machine to access the harness lead.
    Date published: 2013-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Value Have bought two for my and a friends boxer. The way the coat goes on is very simple and it doesn't hinder their movement or bother them. Durable, good company to do business with.
    Date published: 2013-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Coat This is her second coat---only because she outgrew her first one. Keeps her warm and dry, excellent fit! Great coat, great value! Thank you, SmartPak!
    Date published: 2013-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from highly recommend I have ordered 3 previous blankets for my dog and none fit him. I saw this blanket on sale before Christmas and decided to give it at try. It fit perfectly! I love the way it fits him and he loves it too!
    Date published: 2013-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Rain Coat Our climate is wet and we live with two large dogs. While the weather doesn't bother them (Great Pyrenees), we do get tired of wet dogs in our small house. This coat fits our small Pyr (80 lbs) pretty well and is easy to get on/off. It really helps to keep them dry--they don't need any insulation but it doesn't bother them. It's not easy to find coats to fit really big dogs and this was also an excellent price.
    Date published: 2013-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice coat I bought this and am very pleased. The sizing was true to the listing online and it fits my 50 pound mutt very well. I was fortunate enough to get it on sale, but I think it's worth the full price. Jack rolls around in it (see pic) and it stays put. I like that all the fastenings are velcro, so it's really fast and easy to put on and take off.
    Date published: 2013-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Dog Turn-Out! I have a 77 pound goldendoodle. I bought this specifically to cut down on the snow balls and the wet coat that he always came in with, especially on stormy days. I bought the XXLarge and it came just to the beginning of where his tail is. He probably could have gotten the next size up but I was afraid that it would drive him nuts over his tail. The coat is lightweight and repels the water perfectly. We don't even unstrap the neck portion. We fit it to him once then just pull it over his head and attache belly. Takes seconds and dries quick. Highly recommend.
    Date published: 2013-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great blanket My (large) Golden Retriever loves this coat as much as I do. It keeps him warm and dry, and is a snap to get on & off. It also stays in place because of the hip darts- and my guy really puts that to the test while rolling around in the snow!
    Date published: 2013-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well-made Dog Coat Two of our farm dogs were needing new coats so we bought a green and a blue. The coats are well-made, fit the dogs nicely, and they are easy to put on and take off. One dog has been running all over farm and through the woods and has yet to loose her coat to a local coyote.
    Date published: 2013-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great dog blanket Keeps my vizla warm enough to stay out and play with the hairy dogs.
    Date published: 2013-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cody loves it! I bought this for my border collie when it is raining. I should mention that he is a house dog as much as an outdoor dog. This well made dog coat keeps him dry and less muddy. As a picky border collie, I find that he likes wearing his dog coat on trips to the mailbox and the barn. I guess Cody just has good fashion sense.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality for the money The fit of this jacket is perfect. Plenty of room in the chest and comes just down over his tail. The shell is water and wind proof. Just like a good quality horse blanket. Lots of velcro for a custom fit. Not as insulated as I would have liked. Feels more like a shell with a nylon liner. He seems to stay warm until we hit single digits.
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Protects from wind & rain!!! Bought this coat for my young Dobie. Due to the blanket type style, it should fit him quite a while. Quick and easy to put on and take off. Quality made. THANKS SMARTPAK :-)
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value - great blanket! I have two Giant Schnauzers that get a good clip so get chilly. These dog blankets fit great, my dogs don't rip them off each other, and they look great. Size chart was right on and plenty of velcro strap for a great fit on both. Loved them so much I got an extra one for each for the horse trailer!
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic Style The quality seems great, the style is classic and simple, and it is easy to get on and off. **make sure you look at the size chart for measurements**I only had 4 stars for durability because we have only had this for a short time.The fit is great but I would not expect a large to fit the dog I got this for. SHe is a pound mix and probably weighs about 35-40lb and she wears a large. I couldn't Imagine how many X's you would have to put before the L to fit a german sheperd or a Lab.
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartPak Thinsulate Dog Coat Great product. Durable and keeps by two dogs warm in all types of weather. Very easy to take on and off the dogs. They also look great, we are getting alot of coments on how well the dogs look in their winter coats. This site was a great find.
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well with fleece liner coat I got this for our rat terrier in a size small. The darts that are supposed to make the coat sit down over her hips and bottom actually hold the coat up on her back, allowing a bit of a draft. However, it does keep her warmer and on super cold days, this coat in combination with the fleece liner coat works very well. Lately, I've taken to putting this coat on our larger standard dachshund as a handicap because having a coat on her slowed her down and he was able to catch her and hang onto the coat, pulling her into the snow. So, now I put the fleece coat on her, thinsulate coat on him and things are a little more even. He's a pup and he tugs and pulls on the coats mercilessly. Neither coat shows any signs of wear yet. The coat is way too small on him--it ends halfway down his back. Even so, it does keep him warmer. Bottom line--there is a pretty huge size range that these coats will work with if you are willing to tolerate a less than optimum fit. If in doubt, or if your dog's tail stands straight up, you might want to go to a smaller size.
    Date published: 2013-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Despite measuring my dog per the instructions, this blanket is about 3" too short. I like that it has velcro at the chest. However, because it is too small when he puts his head down, the whole blanket goes up in the air off his back.However, it is a nice blanket. I just wish it would have fit.
    Date published: 2013-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sooo happy I have a smaller golden retriever and the XL fits her really well. She loves it too!! The one strap makes it easy to put on and off and it's just overall a nice coat for the amount of money it is. I absolutely love it !
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Superdog! So, my puppy looks like superdog in this. That alone makes it a fun-enough-to-be-worth-it kind of purchase. :) But, that aside, it's a lightweight coat that provides medium warmth. I like the fact that the underside is slick (vs. fuzzy like previous coats) because I would suspect that it would ruffle her fur -- annoying!! :) -- less. It fits her perfectly. As a note, if you want to measure a wiggly dog for a coat but they don't hold still very well, here's a trick: put their current coat on them. Decide if it's an inch too short, two inches too big, etc. Then take the coat off and measure it down the spine (and add or subtract, as appropriate). :)
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm Weim Ordered xxxl for my very long Weimerianer and it covers him from chest to tail. Keeps him warm without a lot of bulk.Easy to put on and take off
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Coat! Before purchasing this coat I went to the everyday supermarket and bought a cheep one. My little boy is short and stalky, that being said it was long enough but would not go around his neck and chest. I love this coat because it is soo adjustable. There is more than enough velcro to go around his thick neck and chest. Great coat for the odd shaped dogs! :) plenty warm for his thin coat and very durable to stand up to him running through thick brush.
    Date published: 2013-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for price Bought an XXL for my daughter's Italian Mastiff. Fits great. Lightweight but still keeps dog warm on freezing nights in Central California!
    Date published: 2013-01-17
    • 2015-05-25T10:17CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_18, tr_181
    • loc_en_US, sid_3877, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.