Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Thinsulate Dog Coat

Item #13877

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing dog

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Keep your dog warm and dry this winter with our Thinsulate lined waterproof/breathable coat.

The SmartPak Thinsulate Dog Coat's 220 grams of fill provide superior warmth while the 600 denier nylon shell is durable enough to withstand even the toughest play. The SmartPak Thinsulate Dog Coat features VELCRO® brand chest and belly closures allow for easy on and off. Imported.

Please note: Waterproofed items should not be tumble dried.

Dogs are measured from between the shoulder blades (highest part) to the base of the tail. Round up to the nearest size.
Small (13"), Medium (15"), Large (18"), X-Large (21"), XX-Large (24"), XXX-Large (27")



 

You Might Like
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Thinsulate Dog Coat is rated 4.7535 out of 5 by 215.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Two paws up! My name is Fern and I'm an active young Australian Cattle dog. My mom bought me this coat because I am out at the barn in all kinds of weather and in the winter I sometimes end up wet and shivering. This coat is easy to run and play in and the green looks sharp with my blue heeler markings! The easy Velcro closures mean I don't have to sit still for very long while my people put it on, so like that too. My dad worried it might make me look like a pampered poochie but he put it on me for our guys-only camping trip in the Appalachian mountains so I think that speaks volumes about the cool factor. Buy this coat and recieve lots of happy puppy kisses!
    Date published: 2014-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits great! This just came in the mail a few days ago. While the cold weather hasn't hit us just yet, it is definitely on the way. Vixen already has a thick coat, but I wanted a little something extra just in case that nasty Polar Vortex comes back. She is an 85lbs German Shepherd, about 25" from the base of her neck to the start of her tail, so I got her the XXXL which ended up fitting just right. She's tried it on a few times and it hasn't slowed her down and it doesn't seem to bother her. VERY easy to put on and take off. We will be keeping this product!
    Date published: 2014-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Jacket! I just got this in the mail and I love the colors and the quality. It was everything as described. It is a very nice jacket and fits well. I ordered a 3X even though the chart says for my dog a 2X was fine. But the 3X really fits well.
    Date published: 2014-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice coat This helped my boy a lot this winter. He's a big boy, but the wind gets to him.This isn't a blanket, to add insulation, but it does great to keep my dog dry and sheltered from the wind.
    Date published: 2014-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves this coat It keeps him warm, but isn't binding. He runs and plays in it, and it's held up well.
    Date published: 2014-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits We have a freakishly large corgi and the large fits himperfectly. It is simple to put on and take off and comesout of the wash like new.
    Date published: 2014-02-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Adorable but not daycare tough Think halter tag for dogs.... Great looking -- but they don't stand up to dog teeth or mischief Had to get an XL for a 50lb pup to cover to his tail and add Velcro to keep the extra strapping from flapping around
    Date published: 2014-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice coat This coat does run big. I got the large and should of got the medium for my Jack.
    Date published: 2014-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit and features and service! I bought this recently and after a size change we got a great coat and great fit for my dog.
    Date published: 2014-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect weight and easy on/off. I have 3 big dogs and each one has his own smartpak coat. I've had two of the coats for 4 or 5 years. They wear well, are a great weight, and are so easy to get on and off!! Great when we walk in the rain or wind - or when it's really cold!
    Date published: 2014-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog blanket Easy to get on and off!  Dog seems happy/comfortable wearing it!
    Date published: 2014-01-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice looking but not comfortable Had to send this back...it looked really nice and seemed good quality but it was stiff and didn't fit her right, she was not comfortable at all and refused to move or lay down. 
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good dog blanket I'm not into "Dog Clothing"! this is as functional as a turnout  blanket for a horse.  My do works with me and when it's wet and cold this is the ticket and Levi hasn't destroyed it yet!
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fit Looks great, fit perfectly. I wish personalization was available on belly strap as shown in site picture. It is keeping my baby warm, dry and clean.
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful, but lighter weight than I expected. I bought two blankets, one for my smallish Lab and the other for my very small Beagle. They are beautifully made, very pretty and sturdy. They run VERY small. I measured both dogs carefully and ordered the recommended sizes and had to send both back for the next larger size. The return was very easy and I got the replacements fairly quickly. The blankets would have been five stars except that they are lighter weight than I expected, but good for most Central Texas weather. Hind leg loops would help on the larger size.
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I love these blankets for my dogs. I ordered the XL since it said to measure up and they are a little long on my Dobies, but still work fine. I love the easy Velcro features for easy on and off.
    Date published: 2013-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy On, Easy Off, and Easy to Keep Clean Have been very happy with the SmartPak Thinsulate dog coat for my short-haired Border Collie. He's a very active year-old male now living in Wyoming, so protection from wind and cold is important when he is out working or gallavanting. With this active a dog, it was easy to teach him to "get dressed" and "get undressed" with this two-strap coat. It stays in place even when running at full speed. It's light-weight, yet keeps the wind at bay. Highly recommend this product~
    Date published: 2013-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great coat for a fox terrier! It fits! I can't believe it. The back is short enough that it fits a dog with a tail that stands straight up! Good quality. Little pricey, bit I expect it will last.
    Date published: 2013-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from this coat stays clean, stays on and resists tears. I've had two of these for a couple years now. We have 5 dogs at the barn and they run, play and bite each other all day long. This coat keeps my vanilla lab short hair dog warm all day and stays on. Stays dry in the rain.Can't use fleece as it holds all the hay and shavings. The smooth lining on this one sheds all that. He would be miserable without it. Thank you so much for carrying it, please don't ever discontinue this one. The only thing is he's a thin lab build 65 lb and he's in the largest size so I am saying it runs a little small. I used to have a more muscular build lab 90 lb and a taller doberman suzuki cross both with longer backs, and the largest size would have been too small for both of them. So if your dog is really big, maybe Smart Pak would consider offering larger sizes.
    Date published: 2013-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great look and fit! I have a lab puppy that loves to run around in the snow and this blanket keeps her dry and warm and stays in place!
    Date published: 2013-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have 4 and love them! I recently ordered 4 of these blankets, one for each of my dogs and although they run a bit big they are perfect and keep them cozy! I even had each one of them embroidered with their name and they look great! They stay on and are very adjustable with the Velcro.
    Date published: 2013-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! I ordered a jacket for my Spaniel mix and was so impressed with it that I ordered another one for my whippet mix, who is touch sensitive. They fit perfectly, are easy to put on, which my whippet appreciates and they look great. They are warm without being bulky. They are wonderful!
    Date published: 2013-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Dog Loves it! I have an American bulldog, so I was a little worried about the fit. The velcro straps make this jacket adjustable and fits great. My dog has short fur, so not a lot of jackets work great when it's below 0 and windy out... this one sure did! My dog would even wait for me to put it on him, and sometimes would refuse to leave the house just to go potty without it! I've had this jacket all winter long, washed it a few times, my horse even pulls on it, and it's stood up well! No rips, tears or fraying. I would definitely recommend this, and will be buying a new one if the current one ever gets worn out
    Date published: 2013-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cute dog coat We ordered two of these this year for our beagles. The dogs run all over the farm in their coats and these coats have held up well so far. Plus the coats look adorable on the dogs.
    Date published: 2013-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nicer than it looked in the photo This is a really nice dog coat. It is lightweight so my dog moves freely. Even though it is light in weight, it is a nice and warm coat. We also discovered it is water resistant when we got caught about a mile from the barn when a downpour started. The only thing is that it is a bit long in the body for my dog. He was right on the line of sizes and the recommendation was to order the larger size. Several dog owners at my barn ordered these when they went on sale. All had great feedback. Most ordered the monogramming also and it is really nice and good looking. If I had a recommendation for the company, it would be to have the option for a harness hole in the body. I simply added a button hole with my own machine to access the harness lead.
    Date published: 2013-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Value Have bought two for my and a friends boxer. The way the coat goes on is very simple and it doesn't hinder their movement or bother them. Durable, good company to do business with.
    Date published: 2013-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Coat This is her second coat---only because she outgrew her first one. Keeps her warm and dry, excellent fit! Great coat, great value! Thank you, SmartPak!
    Date published: 2013-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from highly recommend I have ordered 3 previous blankets for my dog and none fit him. I saw this blanket on sale before Christmas and decided to give it at try. It fit perfectly! I love the way it fits him and he loves it too!
    Date published: 2013-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Rain Coat Our climate is wet and we live with two large dogs. While the weather doesn't bother them (Great Pyrenees), we do get tired of wet dogs in our small house. This coat fits our small Pyr (80 lbs) pretty well and is easy to get on/off. It really helps to keep them dry--they don't need any insulation but it doesn't bother them. It's not easy to find coats to fit really big dogs and this was also an excellent price.
    Date published: 2013-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice coat I bought this and am very pleased. The sizing was true to the listing online and it fits my 50 pound mutt very well. I was fortunate enough to get it on sale, but I think it's worth the full price. Jack rolls around in it (see pic) and it stays put. I like that all the fastenings are velcro, so it's really fast and easy to put on and take off.
    Date published: 2013-02-03
    • 2016-02-10T15:05CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_195
    • loc_en_US, sid_3877, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.