Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Stable Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #11969

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This
All the features you need for a comfortable and warm horse!  The SmartPak Stable Blanket has 640 Denier nylon outer shell with a full nylon lining, perfect for use in the barn or as an additional layer when the temperature drops.

Favorite Features

  • Polished stainless steel hardware
  • Removable leg straps
  • Dual belly surcingles
  • Fleece at withers
  • Available in Medium weight (220g) or Heavy weight (400g)

Imported.

Sizing It Up
Sizes: 51-84 in 3" increments

How to measure a horse

You Might Like
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Stable Blanket is rated 4.6369 out of 5 by 157.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Great blanket at a great value, I have 3 of these in my barn, and they are wonderful. The heavy weight was too warm for my fuzzy gelding, but my mare who lives in an outside shed barn really appreciates it! The medium weight blanket was plenty warm for my inside horses. The colors are very classic and don't show stains easily. I love the velcro front closures and don't use the included leg straps. They are super light weight and haven't rubbed any horses yet. Only flaw is I haven't found any pony size ones in the black and grey color yet...would like all to match :) Very classy, traditional blanket with a great price!
    Date published: 2016-01-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice blanket As a stable blanket, this is a nice blanket. I use it to layer under a turnout on very cold days. My only complaint is the hook on the side for the back leg straps needs to be higher up so the straps don't hang below the hocks. It is stitched too low.
    Date published: 2016-01-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality blanket for the money Overall this is a good blanket but a couple of drawbacks. These run very big, at least a whole size, and also are not shaped the best for horses. They seem to keep horses warm enough though
    Date published: 2016-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality!!! I bought this stable blanket to layer under my horse's turnout blanket. When it arrived I was surprised at the quality of the blanket. It is extremely well made and strong. It fits just like SmartPak blankets and is a great blanket especially for the price.
    Date published: 2016-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Blanket; Great Quality; Affordable Price I bought this blanket about a month ago and couldn't be happier with the quality! Excellent fit for our dutch warmblood and is keeping him nice and toasty as the temperatures drop.
    Date published: 2016-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, this is my second one! This is a great blanket. I bought one for my other horse and it has held up well. Runs true to size.
    Date published: 2016-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit, but definitely size down! Got this blanket for my Canadian sport horse who has a tendency to run hot so I hate putting him in turnouts to sleep. This blanket is super breathable, fits exceptionally well and is very well designed with quality in mind. I got the 400 gram for cold nights and on the package, it says it actually 440 grams...the warmer the better for these awful New England nights! My only piece of advice is that my guy is between a 81 and an 84 and I went with the 81 and he has some room to spare, definitely size down! I mean I think the picture says it all...
    Date published: 2016-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extraordinary Buy!!! I bought this a month ago as a back up to my most favorite blanket. I was so thrilled with the quality and ease of putting it on my big guy. And they even had an 87. The price was just outstanding when you are used to spending a lot more. Great Job SmartPak. Oh and it has been through the wash twice and looks great.
    Date published: 2016-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely Durable and Stays Clean! This is my first time buying a stable blanket for my gelding. I was worried at first to purchase the item because my gelding is disgusting in his stall and I wondered how a stable blanket would hold up compared to a waterproof sheet. It stays so clean and is so easy to simply hard brush away anything my gelding tries to stick to it. It keeps him warm and dry and fits well underneath the smartpak turnout I also have.
    Date published: 2016-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classy blanket I bought this for my National Show Horse and it fits perfectly and looks elegant
    Date published: 2015-12-31
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nicely made Its a good fit but I expected it to be a bit heavy from the reviews- had to use a blanket liner for my body clipped horse.
    Date published: 2015-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality! Love this blanket! My horse is hard to fit with a high set neck and wide shoulder and a deep girth. This blanket fits him perfectly and doesn't pull anywhere. I was impressed with the high quality and I loved how heavy it is as a stable blanket.
    Date published: 2015-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Perfect fit (76 fits my 15.2 Dutch Warmblood) and nice quality! Very happy with this purchase!
    Date published: 2015-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stable Blanket My only issue with this stable blanket is that I now have 5 different pieces of horse clothing and am convinced I could not live without a single one. This blanket is awesome for when Starscream is in his stall. He is a 16.1hh OTTB and the 75" fits him very well. I originally ordered the 81" and it was huge on him, but Smartpak is amazing and had no issues getting me the right size. I would definitely recommend this stable blanket.
    Date published: 2015-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nuce quality! Just bought this medium weight about three weeks ago- its cozy and fits very well. I also did the monogram option and love the way it turned out. Great value!
    Date published: 2015-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket I love this blanket. It runs true to size and is high quality with nice trim detail. I got the heavy for my horse and it's very thick and warm. It seems to me that the fit is very similar cut to Rambo and Rhino, so if your horse fits well in those, go for same size in these.
    Date published: 2015-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! Great blanket! Excellent cut in the shoulders and wither and a great length from chest to tail. Perfect weight for a horse that tends to run warm bodied.
    Date published: 2015-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit! Loved the fit and weight of this stable blanket. Perfect alone or as a second layer for those extra frigid Maine days and nights.
    Date published: 2015-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality
    Date published: 2015-12-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect for the stall I bought this for me Reining horse to have in the stall. It is a great weight. I do have an issue with the location is the back leg straps. The straps are rather low. I thought about sending it back but likes the weight and cloth so I kept it. In the future they need to look at the back leg straps.
    Date published: 2015-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality for the price! I debated this blanket vs. Baker and I'm so happy I went w this one! I also had it engraved w my horse's name and it looks high end without the high end price! Definitely recommend if you are looking for a nice blanket but would like a reasonable price too!
    Date published: 2015-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I really like this blanket. It repels water like a turnout blanket and keeps my horses warm like a stable blanket. Good fit, easy to launder and stays nice looking.
    Date published: 2015-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super fit I bought this for my big shouldered Warmblood. And I was not sure it would fit him, since it did not have should gussets. It fits beautifully. I did downsize. He is always an 84 and the 81 was perfect. Washs very well. This blanket really stays in place. Just bought another for my other horse. Would highly recommend!
    Date published: 2015-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent workmanship Have only tried it on for fit and couldn't be happier.
    Date published: 2015-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful The blanket is a perfect weight and very classy colors! Love it!
    Date published: 2015-10-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Even thicker than expected This is a "medium weight" blanket but it is really more like a medium/heavy, which I really like. I got it embroidered and the letters are about 3" high. My mare is a 15.3 hh thoroughbred, kind slim build and a 75" fits her perfect! The straps and buckles all seem to be very high quality and the blanket itself is good quality and warm.
    Date published: 2015-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this! I bought this for my large bay pony in the black with gray trim. He looks great in it, and it fits him perfectly. I am very impressed with the quality of this blanket and am happy I will be able to wash it at home.
    Date published: 2015-08-06
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't even last one winter Very sad to write a less than happy review on this blanket, which has not even lasted me 6 months. The blanket looks gorgeous and is very warm, which is the only reason I'm giving this more than one star. My horse is not hard on blankets and has had the same blanket for 4 years prior to this one with no problems. However, this blanket, in less than 6 months of use, already has multiple tears and loose stitching. Sad to give this a negative review. :(
    Date published: 2015-03-13
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed I got SRF monogrammed on the belly and you need a microscope to see it.
    Date published: 2015-03-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Rubbed my horse's mane bald Blanket was used for 1 week. Came back following weekend to see my horse and the fleece had rubbed a 3" strip completely bald on his mane. It looks awful. The blanket sat higher on his neck than in the photo, so the bald swath is quite prominent. Really unhappy with this product. It's too bad because it is an attractive, nice-quality blanket otherwise.
    Date published: 2015-03-02
    • 2016-02-10T14:44CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_137
    • loc_en_US, sid_1969, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.