Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

SmartPak Soft Padded Leather Halter

SmartPak
- Item #13155
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather.

Don't forget the matching Padded Leather Lead w/ Chain to complete your horse's look!

Made in the USA.

Please note, this leather halter is not a breakaway halter.

By choosing to add customization to this halter, a nameplate will be attached with your desired text

Favorite Features

  • Double stitched 1” nose and cheek pieces with contrasting soft padding
  • Adjustable chin strap
  • Rolled throat piece, convenient snap at throat for easy on
  • 1” double buckle
  • Havana halters have solid brass hardware. Black halters have stainless steel hardware
Key Specifications
  • Material: Leather
  • Breakaway: No
  • Metal Type: Solid Brass, stainless steel
  • Customizable: Engraving

Sizing

Cob, Horse, Oversize
What Customers Say:

Specifications

Material Leather
Breakaway No
Metal Type Solid Brass, stainless steel
Width 1"
Special Features Soft padding with a rolled throat latch
Customizable Engraving
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Hybrid Halter genius design was invented by ...
    Description:
    "The Hybrid Halter genius design was invented by Kalley Krickeberg's Horse Education Company. The Hybrid Halter is a combination halter for universal use. With the Hybrid Halter you will have improved training results, better control, and more convenience when compared ...
    "The SmartPak Beta and Cotton Breakaway Halter gives ...
    Description:
    "The SmartPak Beta and Cotton Breakaway Halter gives breakaway a whole new look! Heavy cotton webbing combined with brightly colored, and durable beta make this halter sturdy and eye catching. The easily replaceable break-away tab makes it safe and convenient! ...
    "Why We Love This Each halter is handmade ...
    Description:
    "Why We Love This Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather. Favorite Features Double stitched 1” nose and cheek pieces with contrasting soft padding Adjustable chin strap Rolled throat piece, convenient snap at throat ...
    "The Hamilton Nylon Halter is made using only ...
    Description:
    "The Hamilton Nylon Halter is made using only the highest quality durable nylon webbing, thread, and hardware to ensure practical durability for years to come. Hardware includes solid brass buckle square and snap along with brass-plated rings. Please note, this ...
    "The Walsh British Triple Stitch Halter will elevate ...
    Description:
    "The Walsh British Triple Stitch Halter will elevate any horse's look whether it's just around the stable or at a show! The British Halter is made of English hand rubbed bridle leather in 1""two-ply leather for lasting durability. Havana leather ...
    "This halter received the royal treatment with the ...
    Description:
    "This halter received the royal treatment with the addition of the Newmarket pattern. The Rambo Newmarket Halter is made with durable polypropylene webbing and cozy Newmarket fleece on the headpiece and the noseband. Adjustable crown and throat clip made for ...
    "The Professional's Choice Clinician Halter is designed by ...
    Description:
    "The Professional's Choice Clinician Halter is designed by professionals, this custom-made halter features two strategically placed knots that trigger pressure points on the horse's nose to help maintain control of a difficult or young horse. The halter is slightly rigid, ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Soft Padded Leather Halter is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 286.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful halter, great price I bought the turquoise/black halter for my Palamino Paint. Not only did it look great, but the quality was excellent. I was so satisfied that I bought a second one in red/black for my buckskin the following week !
    Date published: 2016-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The padding is a nice soft leather, Don't have photo- could possibly send a couple this afternoon, since I bought a black cob size and it would be good for others to see the fit on a long nosed horse. She is a six year old Hanoverian mate.
    Date published: 2016-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect halter! I absolutely LOVE this halter! The quality is wonderful and it fits my horse perfectly because it's so adjustable! The engraving team at smartpak was also able to handle my request of having one line bigger than the other lines. I would highly recommend this product. Crossing my fingers smartpak starts making the matching lead in the black and turquoise colors.
    Date published: 2016-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! I ordered this for my OTTB Bay gelding. He looks wonderful in this and the leather is so soft on his head. The Name plate I had done was beautiful and really shows off the halter which was Black/Havanna.
    Date published: 2016-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and Great Quality! I absolutely LOVE this halter. Having the ability to adjust both sides of the crown and around the noseband gave the halter a custom-type fit for my 16.2hh TB. The hardware seems durable and attractive, the leather is nice quality and I was pleased with the color (I bought the brown with royal blue padding).
    Date published: 2016-04-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and strong! I got this for my birthday about a year ago and not only does it stay soft year round but it's strong and looks great too. I got her name on it with a personalized name plate and i personally love it. It fits her head nicely, as it's a horse size, and it seems to run true to size. I would really recommend this halter for any kind of use.
    Date published: 2016-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it! It's very pretty! It's comfortable with the padding and very adjustable.
    Date published: 2016-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Supple, gorgeous, and durable Purchased for myself and again later for a friend in another color. The leather is durable and can withstand some tough love while still being gorgeous. Got Havana with blue and black with purple both with name plates. Pricey but worth it.
    Date published: 2016-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice padding! Love it with the name plate. A very nice Halter that works well on a qhorse
    Date published: 2016-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful quality and details! I bought this as a "special occasions" halter for my horse and loved it as soon as I put it on him. Great quality!
    Date published: 2016-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter! This is my third time buying this halter This time I bought the black and red It looks so good on my friesian! Really soft and well made
    Date published: 2016-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from saddlebred Bought for a friend and they like it. Going to use it for Show season
    Date published: 2016-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great Got the oversized for my dutch warmblood, looks and fits great, soft leather!
    Date published: 2016-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful I love this halter. It is so soft and fancy looking. My mom has the same one that she bought 4 years ago and hers has held up great and still looks amazing!
    Date published: 2016-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this halter I am always hesitant about buying leather halters online in fear of getting them home and looking "cheap". Needless to say, there is not disappointment with this halter. I liked that I got to choose an underlay color for a pop of color and it doesn't look cheap! Fits true to size and seems like it will hold up well. I can't say if it is as durable as it looks as I've only used it once to try it. Can't wait to use it to kick off the first show of the season.
    Date published: 2016-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful leather and look I purchased this for my QH gelding and it fit perfect. The leather is great, no horrible smell like something made elsewhere. I absolutely love it
    Date published: 2016-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter!!! I've had my halter for a few weeks now and am SO completely in love with it. The leather is great quality, butter soft, and strong. I got the black with purple underlay and it's just enough color to be a nice accent.
    Date published: 2016-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super nice leather. Good fit. Just beautiful! Bought this halter for my daughters horse, love the color choice, leather is high quality, great fit. It's just beautiful!
    Date published: 2016-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this halter! Purchased this a few weeks back, ans could not be happier. It's nicely padded, absolutely beautiful and very well made. the name plate adds a little touch of fancy that makes my handsome boy even more gorgeous. Love it
    Date published: 2016-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter for the price Bought this halter and am absolutely in love with the softness of the leather and the color. I was unsure as to the quality when I bought it thinking it would look "cheap" but it is a stunning and sturdy halter.
    Date published: 2016-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter!!!! I bought this halter a few months ago and I can say that it's amazing!!! It was soft and subtle right out of the bag. I got the black leather and white padding, on my black Arabian it contrasted so well the other people at the barn were jealous. The cob size fit perfect for my Arabian, I didn't need to adjust anything. It is a little pricey, but the leather is so soft and it's very durable, in the end it's definitely worth it. I clean it with leather cleaner and conditioner and a damp paper towel for the padding.
    Date published: 2016-02-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value Great looking halter, very good fit and soft feel!
    Date published: 2016-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it ! Great quality, even the leather shop commented on the quality of it when I had him put the name plate on it :)
    Date published: 2016-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks super on my horse! Purchased this with personalization for my horse when we go to shows. Very nice quality, and even with two lines of text on the metal plate it is still easy to read.
    Date published: 2016-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Halter I have been using this as his daily turn out halter since it arrived. If it gets dirty I wipe it with a damp cloth and it looks like new. The leather was soft and supple from day one and the cob size after adjustment fit my large pony just fine. I did put some weather proofing on it to protect the leather. My boy looks quite dapper in his new halter. The SmartPak logo on the buckle doesn't bother me a bit and the metal fixtures are good and strong. With care we hope to enjoy this halter for a good long time
    Date published: 2016-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, soft leather!!! I bought this halter to replace a fairly new nylon halter that was cutting into his snout. I bought the Havana/Havana color, horse size and it fits perfectly and looks gorgeous! It is super soft and wearing it right away did not leave any rub spots. It cleans up really nicely with a little leather cleaner.
    Date published: 2016-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from padded leather halter Love it! Soft padding - good quality - reasonably priced!
    Date published: 2016-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Leather Halter
    Date published: 2015-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing halter!!!! I got this about a month ago and I just love it, I got it with the black leather and white padding for my black Arabian and it looks stunning on him. I got a cob size for my Arabian, and most halter a don't fit him, surprisingly cob sizes, but this fit his well! I'd suggest this halter to anyone who wants the best for their horse, it is also really soft and subtle right out of the bag!!!
    Date published: 2015-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter This halter is extremely nice. I bought it based off how soft and durable the leather is said to be in the reviews. I had a name plate added and the whole halter looks really good!
    Date published: 2015-12-21
    • y_2017, m_2, d_23, h_3
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_278
    • loc_en_US, sid_3155, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders