Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Soft Padded Leather Halter

SmartPak
- Item #13155
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

  • Why We Love This
    Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather.

Favorite Features

  • Double stitched 1” nose and cheek pieces with contrasting soft padding
  • Adjustable chin strap
  • Rolled throat piece, convenient snap at throat for easy on
  • 1” double buckle
  • Havana halters have solid brass hardware. Black halters have stainless steel hardware

Made in the USA.

Sizing It Up
Available in Cob, Horse or Warmblood

Please note, this leather halter is not a breakaway halter.

By choosing to add customization to this halter, a nameplate will be attached with your desired text

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Soft Padded Leather Halter is rated 4.7911 out of 5 by 158.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Shows I got the black and teal halter as an early Christmas present. It is a great for for my 15h NSH mare. I got a cob size. I also got a nameplate, and it is beautiful on the halter. I'm using the halter for some barn use, but am mainly using it for shows and for clinics, etc. I'm going to get a leather lead to go with it.
    Date published: 2013-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonderful halter Totally worth every penny. Really pretty. I have the Black with red. It looked so good with the name plate. Appears to be very good quality
    Date published: 2013-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter I have searched high and low to find a black padded halter that had stainless fittings....and smartpak delivered. Great quality, great fit.
    Date published: 2013-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am in love... This is the most amazing leather halter I've had! Probably one of the least expensive ones too. I've had mine for about a month and I absolutely love it! It was really soft and pliable right out of the box. My chestnut mare looks great in havanna and green. A name plate is just the icing on the cake! This is a very, very beautiful halter!
    Date published: 2013-06-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it I tried to convince myself that I didn't need this halter, but I loved it so much I did end up getting it. I love it!! It looks great on my horse (blue on a bay) and the leather is nice and soft. It was so convenient that I could order the name plate with the halter, and it even came a day early!
    Date published: 2013-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter! Ordered this for my friend's birthday, and I wish I got one for myself too! The leather was super soft right out of the box, and I love the color choices! Definitely worth the money.
    Date published: 2013-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous Halter Excellent value. Supple leather, brass hardware, and looks like a million bucks on the horse. SmartPak rocks!
    Date published: 2013-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Special Day Halter This halter is way too nice for every day turnout. I am very happy with the name plate and it was great to have it already on the halter before delivery. My warmblood wears an oversize and this was just perfect.
    Date published: 2013-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter Love this halter! Well made, soft, just a touch of color so it looks good on your horse.
    Date published: 2013-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Beautiful Halter! This halter is so well made and much less expensive than some other brand's comparable styles. The new color options for the padding are so attractive against the leather overlay. I particularly LOVE the Pumpkin on Brown! The quality of the harness leather is very high and the fastenings sturdy. I also love the way it looks on my horse and adding a nameplate really completes the halter beautifully.
    Date published: 2013-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter We purchased one like this at the Quarter Horse Congress in October and were so excited to see them in your catalog! We wanted one for our new Friesian mare. The black with red is perfect on her. They are so well made and the leather is so soft! Well worth the price!
    Date published: 2013-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! I bought this as a gift for a friend and she absolutely loved it and it fit her horse perfectly!!!
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved It I loved this halter, fit great, looked fabulous. I got the havana/blue one, cob sized. Unfortunately, my horse decided to break my heart and drag this brand new halter, not even a day out of the box, into his pen and destroy it. I found its mangled and broken body lying in the dirt and nearly wept at the injustice of this cruel world. Never hanging a new halter where my horse can grab it ever again. Even pawed to death and beaten to a pulp with a bent name plate, it still looks pretty darn good. If I ever get a new halter i'll get this one, and my horse won't be allowed to wear it except on show days!
    Date published: 2013-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Nice Halter! I received this halter for Christmas for my friesian gelding in black. Love it!
    Date published: 2013-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fancy Halter This halter is great quality for the price. The leather is super soft right out of the box. It does run small. I first purchased the regular horse size for my 15.3h 1280lb tb/paint gelding, based on the size recommendation on the product page. He does have a large head, but I took a chance. I ended up having to exchange it for the oversize. The cheek pieces seem to be short. If your horse has a long head, this halter probably would not fit.
    Date published: 2013-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Halter! I received this for Christmas for my friesian gelding. Really nice!
    Date published: 2012-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this halter! Easy to use, beautifully made, and looks like it will hold up well. Nice to be able to have quality that is affordable.
    Date published: 2012-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter This is a beautiful halter- and the leather is soft right away. I got the havana with blue and it looks great on my chestnut mare. I had Smartpak do the name plate and it looks perfect on the halter. I don't think of my horse as having a particularly large head, but this halter just barely fits. If your horse has a large head, I'd recommend sizing up.
    Date published: 2012-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Halter! Though slightly smaller than my last O/S halter, when I expanded the crown to the last hole it still fit my 17.3 boy perfectly. I like the silver metal and the overall quality and softness of this padded leather halter is great.I purchased it to replace my horse's everyday halter... but it's so nice I'm tempted to keep it for show. Though given the quality I expect it will last for quite a few years to come even used daily.
    Date published: 2012-10-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous halter! I got the black and red halter. It is gorgeous! We were at a different barn for a clinic this weekend and got tons of compliments.
    Date published: 2012-10-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely soft leather this is the softest and most beautiful leather head collar I have ever purchased. It is almost too nice to put on the horse...!
    Date published: 2012-10-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Halter I couldn't say anything negative about this product even if I was paid. I bought two (black and brown) and both came supple and the padding was so soft. Within a week they were totally broken in.
    Date published: 2012-10-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Halter I had such a hard time finding a black, leather halter with stainless hardware at a reasonable price. I was so excited to find this. It's beautiful and the leather is such nice quality. The nameplate is the icing and my horse looks so handsome!!
    Date published: 2012-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Halter Envy" is now a thing These Soft Padded Leather Halters are absolutely gorgeous. The leather is soft and supple right from the start, and the padding is stunning in the colors I have seen. I have the havana and blue for my chestnut, and he looks like a million bucks at horse shows. I bought the black and red for a friend with a gray horse and she loves it, too! It fits true to size and doesn't drown my horse's small features or leave him with the saggy-diaper halter look. I wish I could afford to use it every day, but it's too nice!
    Date published: 2012-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this halter! I love everything about this halter, I use it as an everyday halter and it is holding up well to daily use and being rained on. Love the stainless steel hardware on it, it really looks unique and the padding is very soft! I would definitely buy another in a heartbeat!
    Date published: 2012-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I purchased the black and turquoise in OS for my draft cross. It fits on the very last holes of the crown, but looks good! I have another in black/black, but this one is extra beautiful!
    Date published: 2012-09-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good Name plate looks absolutely gorgeous. Padding is soft. It was pretty soft when I got it, but the head piece and throat piece were super stiff. Oiled it at least five times, but it's still stuff as all get up. Hopefully it'll break in nicely with time. Everyone has complimented me on how nice it looks.
    Date published: 2012-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The cob size was absolutely the right choice for my Morgan mare. After using it for awhile, I'm not sure I am completely sold on the padded leather halter being worth the extra money it costs relative to a high-quality "regular" leather halter. I do appreciate it's made in the USA though. It came with lightening speed- literally the next day- complete with the engraved nameplate.As others have said, I don't love that it says "Smartpak" on the buckles. Makes me feel a little silly.
    Date published: 2012-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Great quality and fit. Nice soft leather and adjustable parts
    Date published: 2012-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well done Smartpak! Have to say I was so reticent to purchase this halter, as I was really thinking I wanted something more classic for my 18.1hh++ Dutch boy. But after much discussion about almost every halter Smartpak carries (lol) decided to go for it after Jaime (Smartpak Customer Service Rep extraordinaire) talked me into it. She really listened to what I was looking for, how I described my horse, and said it would be perfect for him. And boy was she right! It is GORGEOUS and looks stunning on him. The nameplate was perfect (Roman font all caps, of course) and the quality is just top notch. Let me say this halter is not for those that don't want their horse to get noticed, but that said it is still understated enough for any classic H/J's style. Perfect for those of us that want a little 'flair' but nothing too over the top. The girls at my barn are going gaga for it, which let's face it, we all love!One other note: it does say 'Smartpak' on the buckle-- doesn't bother me at all, but you should be aware of that.
    Date published: 2012-06-30
    • 2015-05-26T10:12CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_151
    • loc_en_US, sid_3155, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.